DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Five information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted: one on 09/12/2024; one on 10/04/2024; one on 10/29/2024; one on 04/23/2025; and one on 02/03/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 10, 12-13, 15-17, 21-22, 26-27, 29, 31-34 are pending in this application. Claims 3,6, 8-9, 11, 14, 18-20, 23-25, 28, and 30 have been cancelled by Applicant.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 33 is allowed.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5, 10, 12-13, 15-17, 21-22, 26-27, 29, 31-32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the ligand is selected from…" There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim or in claim 4, from which claim 7 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS 1068709-24-9; CAS Registry Accessed May 7th, 2026 from STN; Entered into STN Oct. 31st, 2008.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS 1021325-54-1; CAS Registry Accessed May 7th, 2026 from STN; Entered into STN May 16th, 2008.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS 121887-11-4; CAS Registry Accessed May 7th, 2026 from STN; Entered into STN July 28th, 1989.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS 7342-11-2; CAS Registry Accessed May 7th, 2026 from STN; Entered into STN Nov. 16th, 1984.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WO 2020/118113 A1 – Int. Pub. Date: Dec. 5th, 2019 – cited in IDS) (“Yan”); in view of Roberts et al. (Obtained from libretexts.org [obtained on 05/11/2026] <URL: https://chem.libretexts.org/Bookshelves/Organic_Chemistry/Basic_Principles_of_Organic_Chemistry_(Roberts_and_Caserio)/13%3A_Polyfunctional_Compounds_Alkadienes_and_Approaches_to_Organic_Synthesis/13.10%3A_Protecting_Groups_in_Organic_Synthesis> From Basic Principles of Organic Chemistry, second edition – 1977) (“Roberts”).
Regarding instant claims 1-2, Yan discloses a similar deprotection to afford the instant compound 1, in methanol and with Cs2CO3 as base.
While Yan’s reaction is for the removal of an acetate (Ac) protecting group, rather than benzoyl (Bz) as in the instant claims; the teachings of Roberts are relied upon for these disclosures.
Roberts teaches different hydroxyl protecting groups in organic synthesis, including Ac and Bz. Roberts discloses both of these groups can be removed with an acid or base (section 13.10.1, page 1), and while they do state that Bz is more stable than Ac, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to try Yan’s basic conditions for the removal of Bz.
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare the instant compound 1 by deprotection of the Bz-protected alcohol with cesium carbonate and a solvent (such as methanol) as taught by Yan in view of Roberts. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to utilize a benzoyl protecting group instead of acetate because it is more stable, as taught by Roberts. One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Yan teaches an Ac-deprotection reaction with cesium carbonate and methanol to afford instant compound 1; further because Roberts teaches Ac and Bz as removable under basic conditions. A person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue known options within his or her technical grasp. Note: MPEP 2143(E) KSR,550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
Conclusion
/JACKSON J HERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627