DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 12/19/2025 does not put the application in condition for allowance.
Examiner withdraws all rejections in the prior office action due to the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Oh (US Pub No. 2016/0149064)
Regarding Claim 1, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell assembly [Fig. 1-2, 0063-0064] comprising:
a layered structure [111 and 113, Fig. 2, 0066] comprising a photovoltaic element [111, Fig. 2, 0066] and a conductive surface [113, Fig. 2, 0066]; and
an electrode assembly [125, Fig. 2, 0065] comprising a plurality of longitudinally extending [Fig. 4, 0065], laterally spaced conductive elements arranged side by side, the plurality of conductive elements comprising one or more first conductive elements [see annotated figure below],
each of the one or more the first conductive elements having a first cross-sectional area defined by one of the one or more first conductive elements
and one or more second conductive elements, each of the one or more second conductive elements laterally spaced from each of the one or more first conductive elements, each of the one or more second conductive elements having a second cross sectional area defined by one or the one or more second conductive elements,
wherein the second cross-sectional area is larger than the first cross-sectional area, the electrode assembly arranged on the conductive surface of the layered structure such that the conductive elements are in ohmic contact with the conductive surface [In figure 2 and 4, each 125 comprises 125a and 125b, 0074, see annotated figure]
The squares show the outermost conductive elements (first conductive elements), the circle shows the intermediate conductive elements (second conductive elements). The first cross sectional area is 125b in the square, and the second cross section area is the 125a in the circles.
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Regarding Claim 2, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein the plurality of conductive elements comprises two outermost conductive elements and a plurality of intermediate conductive elements disposed between the two outermost conductive elements [See annotated figure].
Regarding Claim 3, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein the second conductive element is an outermost conductive element of the plurality of conductive elements [See annotated figure].
Regarding Claim 4, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein the first conductive element is an intermediate conductive element [see annotated figure].
Regarding Claim 5, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches comprising a third conductive element having a third cross-sectional area that is larger than the first cross-sectional area [Fig. 2, 0065-0067, and the annotated figure].
Regarding Claim 6, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein the third conductive element is an outermost conductive element of the plurality of conductive elements [see rejection of claim 5].
Regarding Claim 7, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein the two outermost conductive elements each have a cross-sectional area that is larger than that of each of the intermediate conductive elements [See annotated figure, and Fig. 4, 0074].
Regarding Claim 8, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein a distance between an outermost conductive element of the plurality of conductive elements and an adjacent edge of the layered structure is equal to or larger than a distance between two adjacent conductive elements of the plurality of conductive elements [See annotated figure].
Regarding Claim 9, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein the plurality of conductive elements are evenly spaced [0105].
Regarding Claim 13, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein each conductive element has a circular transverse cross-sectional shape [see annotated figure].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pub No. 2016/0149064)
Regarding Claim 10, within the combination above, above, Oh et al. teaches the first cross sectional area with a width of [250-12 to 500-12 um, 0077] and the second cross sectional area with a width of [250 to 500 um, 0077], which would result in a radius of 238/2 um to 488/2 um the first cross sectional area and 250/2 um to 500/2 um radius for the second cross sectional area. This results in a cross sectional area of 0.044 mm^2 to 0.19 mm^2 for the first cross sectional area and 0.049 to 0.20 mm^2 for the second cross sectional area which overlaps wherein the first cross-sectional area is between 0.03 mm^2 and 0.07 mm^2.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding Claim 11, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches the first cross sectional area with a width of [250-12 to 500-12 um, 0077] and the second cross sectional area with a width of [250 to 500 um, 0077], which would result in a radius of 238/2 um to 488/2 um the first cross sectional area and 250/2 um to 500/2 um radius for the second cross sectional area. This results in a cross sectional area of 0.044 mm^2 to 0.19 mm^2 for the first cross sectional area and 0.049 to 0.20 mm^2 for the second cross sectional area which overlaps wherein the second cross-sectional area is between 0.05 mm^2 and 0.1 mm^2.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding Claim 12, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches the first cross sectional area with a width of [250-12 to 500-12 um, 0077] and the second cross sectional area with a width of [250 to 500 um, 0077], which would result in a radius of 238/2 um to 488/2 um the first cross sectional area and 250/2 um to 500/2 um radius for the second cross sectional area. This results in a cross sectional area of 0.044 mm^2 to 0.19 mm^2 for the first cross sectional area and 0.049 to 0.20 mm^2 for the second cross sectional area which overlaps wherein the second cross-sectional area is between 0.01 mm^2 and 0.03 mm^2 larger than the first cross-sectional area.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding Claim 15, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. is silent on wherein the second conductive element has a greater effective served area than the first conductive element, and wherein effective served area is determined for:
an intermediate conductive element by summing half of a first area with half of a second area, the first area defined as the area between the intermediate conductive element and a first adjacent conductive element, and the second area defined as the area between the intermediate conductive element and a second adjacent conductive element; and
an outermost conductive element by summing half of a third area with a fourth area, the third area defined as the area between the outermost conductive element and an adjacent conductive element, and the fourth area defined as the area between the outermost conductive element and an adjacent edge of the layered structure.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the area of the first and second conductive elements, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the area of the first and second conductive elements are changed, the precise the area of the first and second conductive elements would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “wherein the second conductive element has a greater effective served area than the first conductive element, and wherein effective served area is determined for: an intermediate conductive element by summing half of a first area with half of a second area, the first area defined as the area between the intermediate conductive element and a first adjacent conductive element, and the second area defined as the area between the intermediate conductive element and a second adjacent conductive element; and
an outermost conductive element by summing half of a third area with a fourth area, the third area defined as the area between the outermost conductive element and an adjacent conductive element, and the fourth area defined as the area between the outermost conductive element and an adjacent edge of the layered structure.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the area of the first and second conductive elements to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pub No. 2016/0149064) in view of Nishikawa (US Pub No. 2004/0244828) as applied above in addressing claim 1, in further view of Ishimura (WO2016125882, Machine Translation)
Regarding Claim 14, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. is silent on wherein the electrode assembly comprises an insulating optically transparent film for retaining the plurality of conductive elements on the conductive surface of the layered structure.
Ishimura et al. teaches an insulating optically transparent film [first adhesive layer 22, Fig. 3, 0076] used to reliably bond the wire electrode 21 to the underlaying electrodes [0075-0076], the insulating optically transparent film also provides higher utilization of ultraviolet light effective providing improved efficiency [0072].
Since Oh et al. teaches a electrode assembly comprising wire electrodes on an underlying electrode, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to apply the insulating optically transparent film of Ishimura et al. with the electrode assembly 125 of Oh et al. in order to provide reliable bonding [0075-0076] and higher utilization of ultraviolet light effective providing improved efficiency [0072].
Claim(s) 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pub No. 2016/0149064) in view of Ishimura (WO2016125882, Machine Translation)
Regarding Claim 16, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell assembly [Fig. 1-2, 0063-0064] comprising:
a layered structure [111 and 113, Fig. 2, 0066] comprising a photovoltaic element [111, Fig. 2, 0066] and a conductive surface [113, Fig. 2, 0066]; and
an electrode assembly [125, Fig. 2, 0065] comprising a plurality of longitudinally extending [Fig. 4, 0065], laterally spaced conductive elements arranged side by side, the plurality of conductive elements comprising one or more first conductive elements [see annotated figure below],
each of the one or more the first conductive elements having a first cross-sectional area defined by one of the one or more first conductive elements
and one or more second conductive elements, each of the one or more second conductive elements laterally spaced from each of the one or more first conductive elements, each of the one or more second conductive elements having a second cross sectional area defined by one or the one or more second conductive elements,
wherein the second cross-sectional area is larger than the first cross-sectional area, the electrode assembly arranged on the conductive surface of the layered structure such that the conductive elements are in ohmic contact with the conductive surface [In figure 2 and 4, each 125 comprises 125a and 125b, 0074, see annotated figure]
The squares show the outermost conductive elements (first conductive elements), the circle shows the intermediate conductive elements (second conductive elements). The first cross sectional area is 125b in the square, and the second cross section area is the 125a in the circles.
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Modified Oh et al. is silent on an insulating optically transparent film.
Ishimura et al. teaches an insulating optically transparent film [first adhesive layer 22, Fig. 3, 0076] used to reliably bond the wire electrode 21 to the underlaying electrodes [0075-0076], the insulating optically transparent film also provides higher utilization of ultraviolet light effective providing improved efficiency [0072].
Since modified Oh et al. teaches a electrode assembly comprising wire electrodes on an underlying electrode, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to apply the insulating optically transparent film of Ishimura et al. with the electrode assembly 125 of Oh et al. in order to provide reliable bonding [0075-0076] and higher utilization of ultraviolet light effective providing improved efficiency [0072].
Regarding Claim 17, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein the plurality of conductive elements comprises two outermost conductive elements and a plurality of intermediate conductive elements disposed between the two outermost conductive elements [see annotated figure].
Regarding Claim 18, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein the second conductive element is an outermost conductive element [see annotated figure].
Regarding Claim 19, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein the first conductive element is an intermediate conductive element [see annotated figure].
Regarding Claim 20, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein a distance between an outermost conductive element of the plurality of conductive elements and an adjacent edge of the film is equal to or larger than a distance between two adjacent conductive elements of the plurality of conductive elements [See annotated figure].
Regarding Claim 21, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein the conductive elements are evenly spaced [0105].
Regarding Claim 22, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches the first cross sectional area with a width of [250-12 to 500-12 um, 0077] and the second cross sectional area with a width of [250 to 500 um, 0077], which would result in a radius of 238/2 um to 488/2 um the first cross sectional area and 250/2 um to 500/2 um radius for the second cross sectional area. This results in a cross sectional area of 0.044 mm^2 to 0.19 mm^2 for the first cross sectional area and 0.049 to 0.20 mm^2 for the second cross sectional area which overlaps wherein the second cross-sectional area is between 0.01 mm^2 and 0.03 mm^2 larger that the first cross sectional area.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding Claim 23, within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches wherein each conductive element has a circular transverse cross-sectional shape [See annotated figure].
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pub No. 2016/0149064) in view of Nishikawa (US Pub No. 2004/0244828)
Regarding Claim 28, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell assembly [Fig. 1-2, 0063-0064] comprising:
a layered structure [111 and 113, Fig. 2, 0066] comprising a photovoltaic element [111, Fig. 2, 0066] and a conductive surface [113, Fig. 2, 0066]; and
an electrode assembly [125, Fig. 2, 0065] comprising a plurality of longitudinally extending conductive elements arranged side by side [see annotated figure below],
Oh et al. is silent on a first conductive element comprising a first core and one or more first coatings, the first
conductive element having a first cross-sectional area defined by a first core cross-sectional area
of the first core and a first coatings cross-sectional area of all of the one or more first coatings;
and
a second conductive element laterally spaced from the first conductive element, the
second conductive element comprising a second core and one or more second coatings, the
second conductive element having a second cross-sectional area defined by a second core cross-
sectional area of the second core and a second coatings cross-sectional area of all the one or
more second coatings, wherein the second cross-sectional area is larger than the first cross-
sectional area, the electrode assembly arranged on the conductive surface of the layered structure
such that the first conductive element and the second conductive element are in ohmic contact
with the conductive surface.
Nishikawa et al. teaches a electrode assembly comprising a conductive element which comprises a core [1 and 2, Fig. 5, 0046] and a coating [3, Fig. 5, 0046]. The wiring member of Nishikawa et al. is a elliptical cone shape which reduces partial connection defects [0047, 0050]. The electrode assembly also provides improved flexibility [0058].
Since Oh et al. teaches an electrode assembly comprising a core and a coating, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the conductive elements of the electrode assembly of Oh et al. with the composition of the conductive elements of Nishikawa et al. in order to provide a conductive element with improved flexibility [0058].
Within the combination above, 125b of modified Oh et al. is modified with a core comprising 1 and 2 in figure 5 of Nishikawa et al. and 125a is modified with a coating comprising 3 in figure 5 of Nishikawa et al. This would result in a structure comprising 1/2/3. Examiner is reading 1 in the first conductive elements as the first core [see squares in annotated figure], for the first conductive elements, and examiner is reading 1 and 2 in the second conductive elements as the second core [see circles in the annotated figure].
The squares show the outermost conductive elements (first conductive elements), the circle shows the intermediate conductive elements (second conductive elements).
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches the plurality of conductive elements comprising:
a first conductive element comprising a first core and one or more first coatings, the first
conductive element having a first cross-sectional area defined by a first core cross-sectional area
of the first core and a first coatings cross-sectional area of all of the one or more first coatings;
and
a second conductive element laterally spaced from the first conductive element, the
second conductive element comprising a second core and one or more second coatings, the
second conductive element having a second cross-sectional area defined by a second core cross-
sectional area of the second core and a second coatings cross-sectional area of all the one or
more second coatings,
wherein the second cross-sectional area is larger than the first cross-
sectional area, the electrode assembly arranged on the conductive surface of the layered structure
such that the first conductive element and the second conductive element are in ohmic contact [See annotated figure]
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pub No. 2016/0149064) in view of Nishikawa (US Pub No. 2004/0244828) and Ishimura (WO2016125882, Machine Translation)
Regarding Claim 29, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell assembly [Fig. 1-2, 0063-0064] comprising:
a layered structure [111 and 113, Fig. 2, 0066] comprising a photovoltaic element [111, Fig. 2, 0066] and a conductive surface [113, Fig. 2, 0066]; and
an electrode assembly [125, Fig. 2, 0065] comprising a plurality of longitudinally extending conductive elements arranged side by side [see annotated figure below],
Oh et al. is silent on a first conductive element comprising a first core and one or more first coatings, the first
conductive element having a first cross-sectional area defined by a first core cross-sectional area
of the first core and a first coatings cross-sectional area of all of the one or more first coatings;
and
a second conductive element laterally spaced from the first conductive element, the
second conductive element comprising a second core and one or more second coatings, the
second conductive element having a second cross-sectional area defined by a second core cross-
sectional area of the second core and a second coatings cross-sectional area of all the one or
more second coatings, wherein the second cross-sectional area is larger than the first cross-
sectional area, the electrode assembly arranged on the conductive surface of the layered structure
such that the first conductive element and the second conductive element are in ohmic contact
with the conductive surface.
Nishikawa et al. teaches a electrode assembly comprising a conductive element which comprises a core [1 and 2, Fig. 5, 0046] and a coating [3, Fig. 5, 0046]. The wiring member of Nishikawa et al. is a elliptical cone shape which reduces partial connection defects [0047, 0050]. The electrode assembly also provides improved flexibility [0058].
Since Oh et al. teaches an electrode assembly comprising a core and a coating, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the conductive elements of the electrode assembly of Oh et al. with the composition of the conductive elements of Nishikawa et al. in order to provide a conductive element with improved flexibility [0058].
Within the combination above, 125b of modified Oh et al. is modified with a core comprising 1 and 2 in figure 5 of Nishikawa et al. and 125a is modified with a coating comprising 3 in figure 5 of Nishikawa et al. This would result in a structure comprising 1/2/3. Examiner is reading 1 in the first conductive elements as the first core [see squares in annotated figure], for the first conductive elements, and examiner is reading 1 and 2 in the second conductive elements as the second core [see circles in the annotated figure].
The squares show the outermost conductive elements (first conductive elements), the circle shows the intermediate conductive elements (second conductive elements).
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Within the combination above, modified Oh et al. teaches the plurality of conductive elements comprising:
a first conductive element comprising a first core and one or more first coatings, the first
conductive element having a first cross-sectional area defined by a first core cross-sectional area
of the first core and a first coatings cross-sectional area of all of the one or more first coatings;
and
a second conductive element laterally spaced from the first conductive element, the
second conductive element comprising a second core and one or more second coatings, the
second conductive element having a second cross-sectional area defined by a second core cross-
sectional area of the second core and a second coatings cross-sectional area of all the one or
more second coatings,
wherein the second cross-sectional area is larger than the first cross-
sectional area, the electrode assembly arranged on the conductive surface of the layered structure
such that the first conductive element and the second conductive element are in ohmic contact [See annotated figure]
Modified Oh et al. is silent on an insulating optically transparent film.
Ishimura et al. teaches an insulating optically transparent film [first adhesive layer 22, Fig. 3, 0076] used to reliably bond the wire electrode 21 to the underlaying electrodes [0075-0076], the insulating optically transparent film also provides higher utilization of ultraviolet light effective providing improved efficiency [0072].
Since modified Oh et al. teaches a electrode assembly comprising wire electrodes on an underlying electrode, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to apply the insulating optically transparent film of Ishimura et al. with the electrode assembly 125 of Oh et al. in order to provide reliable bonding [0075-0076] and higher utilization of ultraviolet light effective providing improved efficiency [0072].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Oh (US Pub No. 2016/0149064), Nishikawa (US Pub No. 2004/0244828) and Ishimura (WO2016125882, Machine Translation) are the closest prior art.
Modified Oh et al. teaches limitations of the claims but does not disclose the limitations of “wherein each of the one or more first conductive elements is in direct ohmic contact with the conductive surface; and wherein each of the one or more second conductive elements is in direct ohmic contact with the conductive surface.” in claim 26, and “wherein each of the one or more first conductive elements is configured to be in direct ohmic contact with a conductive surface of the solar cell; and wherein each of the one or more second conductive elements is configured to be in direct ohmic contact with the conductive surface of the solar cell.” in claim 27.
These references, nor any other reference or combination of references in the prior art suggest or render obvious the limitations of “wherein each of the one or more first conductive elements is in direct ohmic contact with the conductive surface; and wherein each of the one or more second conductive elements is in direct ohmic contact with the conductive surface.” in claim 26, and “wherein each of the one or more first conductive elements is configured to be in direct ohmic contact with a conductive surface of the solar cell; and wherein each of the one or more second conductive elements is configured to be in direct ohmic contact with the conductive surface of the solar cell.” in claim 27 in conjunction with the remaining limitations of the claims
Therefore; claims 1 and 16 are allowed once the limitations of claim 26 and 27 are incorporated into the independent claims respectively.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23, and 26-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728