DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “device is contained within at least one spoke” as set forth in claim 14, and “the reservoir extends circumferentially about the radially outer side of the rim” as set forth in claim 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imamiya et al. (JP 2012011905 A; hereinafter “Imamiya”; previously cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Imamiya discloses a passive tire inflation device, comprising: a reservoir 8, a migration chamber (comprised of unlabeled chamber/passage within outer cylinder 11 and passage 12C within inner cylinder 12) containing a migration plug 14, and a post-plug outlet at 10e, wherein the migration chamber is fluidically connected to the reservoir (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph [0026]), wherein the migration chamber is fluidically connected to the post-plug outlet (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph [0026]), and wherein the migration plug is formed from a rubber compound (paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 3, Imamiya further discloses the reservoir contains an inert gas (paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, Imamiya further discloses a pre-plug inlet at 10i oriented between the reservoir and the migration chamber (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, Imamiya further discloses the post-plug outlet is fluidically connected to a tire air chamber 2IS (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Imamiya further discloses at least one restriction plate 15 oriented within the migration chamber between the migration plug and the post-plug outlet (Fig. 2; paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 7, Imamiya further discloses the restriction plate includes at least one orifice (evident from the plate being “porous” per paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, Imamiya discloses a tire and wheel assembly including a passive tire inflation device, comprising: a vehicle wheel 3 including a rim 4 and at least one spoke 6, a tire 2 mounted on the vehicle wheel forming a tire air chamber 2IS (Fig. 1), the device comprising: a reservoir 8, a migration chamber (comprised of unlabeled chamber/passage within outer cylinder 11 and passage 12C within inner cylinder 12) containing a migration plug 14, and a post-plug outlet at 10e, wherein the post-plug outlet is fluidically connected to the tire air chamber (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 10, Imamiya further discloses a pre-plug inlet at 10i oriented between the reservoir and the migration chamber (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 11, Imamiya further discloses at least one restriction plate 15 oriented within the migration chamber between the migration plug and the post-plug outlet (Fig. 2; paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 12, Imamiya further discloses the restriction plate includes at least one orifice (“porous” per paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Imamiya further discloses the device is contained within at least one spoke (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Imamiya further discloses the post-plug outlet extends through the rim (Figs. 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 16 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamiya in view of Kurz et al. (DE 102016221815 A1; hereinafter “Kurz”; previously cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 13, Imamiya fails to disclose the device being attached to at least one spoke.
Kurz, however, in the embodiment shown in Fig. 4, teaches a tire inflation device (comprised of 7, 8a/8b and 10) that can be attached to at least one spoke 5.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tire and wheel assembly of Imamiya so that the inflation device is attached to the at least one spoke instead of being contained within the at least one spoke, such as taught by Kurz, as a well-known alternative arrangement that would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing predictable results for allowing the device to be removed or replaced, if needed and/or desired.
Regarding claim 16, Imamiya discloses a tire and wheel assembly including a passive tire inflation device, comprising: a vehicle wheel 3 including a rim 4 and at least one spoke 6, a tire 2 mounted on the vehicle wheel forming a tire air chamber 2IS (Fig. 1), the device comprising: a reservoir 8, a migration chamber (comprised of unlabeled chamber/passage within outer cylinder 11 and passage 12C within inner cylinder 12) containing a migration plug 14, and a post-plug outlet at 10e, wherein the post-plug outlet is fluidically connected to the tire air chamber (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claims 16, 21 and 23, Imamiya fails to disclose the reservoir extending circumferentially about the rim about the radially inner side of the rim or about the radially outer side of the rim. Instead, the reservoir 8 of Imamiya is formed within the at least one spoke 6 (Fig. 1).
Kurz, however, teaches a tire and wheel assembly which comprises a tire inflation device with a reservoir 7 that can extend circumferentially about the rim about the radially inner side of the rim (note Fig. 4 and paragraph [0033]) or about the radially outer side of the rim (note Figs. 3a and 3b, and paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tire and wheel assembly of Imamiya so that the reservoir extends circumferentially about the rim either about the radially inner side of the rim or about the radially outer side of the rim, such as taught by Kurz, as well-known alternative reservoir arrangements that would have a reasonable expectation of success in providing predictable results for providing pressurized gas to the tire air chamber.
Regarding claim 18, Imamiya further discloses a pre-plug inlet at 10i oriented between the reservoir and the migration chamber (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 19, Imamiya further discloses at least one restriction plate 15 oriented within the migration chamber between the migration plug and the post-plug outlet (Fig. 2; paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 20, Imamiya further discloses the restriction plate includes at least one orifice (evident from the plate being “porous” per paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 22, Imamiya further discloses the post-plug outlet extends through the rim (Figs. 1 and 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art shows other examples of tire inflation devices with reservoirs attached to or formed within the wheel.
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615