DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-10 are pending in the instant application and being examined on the merit.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figs. 4, 9 and 11-13 have multiple parts (A, B, etc.), but the Brief Description of the Drawings in the specification do not describe the different parts. Each lettered section must be separately described. See 37 CFR 1.74.
The Brief Description of the Drawings in the specification for Fig. 14 discloses parts A, B, and C, but the drawings do not show these parts.
Specification
The use of the term GolgiStopTM (pg.24, ¶[00160]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Note that “GolgiStop” is merely an example and all improper uses of trademarks in the specification should be identified by Applicant and properly addressed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
regarding instant claim 1, “5.5 to 8.5;” in step 1 should be followed by an “and”;
regarding instant claim 2, “a solvent of the manganese salt solution…” should read “and a solvent of the manganese salt solution…”; and
regarding instant claim 3, “organic acid salts and/or amino acids;” should read “organic acid salts and/or amino acids; and”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claim 1 recites the limitation "the obtained solid reactant" in step 2 of instant claim 1. The metes and bound of the claims are unclear as there is no antecedent basis for the limitation “the obtained solid reactant” in instant claim 1. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Instant claims 2-10 are dependent on instant claim 1, and also require the same limitation, and therefore also indefinite.
Instant claim 4 recites “…the organic acid salt is selected from citric acid and/or salicylic acid; the amino acid is selected from the group consisting of…”. The metes and bounds of the claim are unclear because citric acid and salicylic acid are acids, not organic acid salts. It is unclear whether the claim requires the free acids, their salts, or both. Furthermore, the two clauses are joined without an “and” or an “or”, and therefore unclear whether claim 4 requires both limitations to be met. For examination purposes, claim 4 is interpreted as requiring at least one citric acid or a citrate, salicylic acid or a salicylate, or one of the recited amino acids.
Instant claim 5 recites three clauses separated by semicolons with no conjunctions “and” or “or” and therefore is unclear whether “in the mixture” applies only to the first ratio or both ratios. It is also unclear whether the third clause is a separate limitation or a continuation of the second clause that further defines a term. Furthermore, the third clause recites the total metal ion concentration by separate starting solutions instead of as part of the mixture as in the first and second clauses. For example, Example 1 in the instant specification yields an anionic agent to metal ion ratio of about 0.045:1 on a stock-solution basis (which is outside the claimed range), but about 0.15:1 on a mixture basis (which is within the claimed range) (see pg.11, ¶ [0063]-pg.12, ¶ [0070]). A skilled artisan would not be able to determine the metes and bounds of the claim, and thus is indefinite. For examination purposes, claim 5 is interpreted as requiring either the first ratio of the first clause or the second ratio of the second clause, and that the third clause is a continuation of the second clause.
Instant claim 9 recites “a drug got treating anti-tumor diseases”. “Anti-tumor” diseases” is not a recognized class of diseases, and it is unclear what disease the drug must treat. For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted as a drug for treating tumor diseases, such as those listed on pg.7, ¶ [0034] of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (Zhao et al, CN110665000A, Published on 1/10/2020; IDS entered on 6/27/2024; hereinafter Zhao), and further in view of Zuo (Zuo et al, “MnAl Layered Double Hydroxide Nanoparticles as a Dual-Functional Platform for Magnetic Resonance Imaging and siRNA Delivery”, Chem Eur J, 2017, 23(57):14299-14306; hereinafter Zuo).
Zhao teaches a method of preparing a manganese-aluminum composite adjuvant comprising mixing an aluminum salt solution (AlCl3 in water) and a manganese salt solution, wherein the composite adjuvant is prepared by replacing zinc chloride with equimolar manganese chloride to obtain the composite adjuvant of manganese which are compatible with VZV gE immunized mice. Zhao discloses that Zn/Al molar ratio comprises 0.375 (which results in Al:Mn of 1:0.375) and further shows that the aluminum manganese composite adjuvant was tested for the effect of metal ratio on antibody titers (pg. 13-14, Experimental Example 10; pg.8, Preparation Example 7; pg. 12, Experimental Example 5; Fig. 16). Zhao also teaches that the pH was adjusted by a hydrochloric solution or a sodium hydroxide solution to adjust the pH to 8.0-9.0 before sterilization and 6.5-8.0 after sterilization (pg.3, para 10; pg.9, section (2) of Experimental Example 1), and heating the aluminum manganese composite adjuvants at 121°C for 30-60 minutes (pg 3, para 8-9). Zhao also discloses that the particle size of the metal composite is 1-20µm (pg.4, para 1), which overlaps with the instant specification’s teachings that the instantly claimed nanocrystal comprises the particle size of 20-5000nm (see instant specification pg.5, ¶ [0028]). Furthermore, Zhao teaches a vaccine composition comprising the aluminum manganese composite adjuvant and an antigen (pg. 5 (entire page), pg. 13-14, Experimental Example 10; Fig. 16).
However, Zhao does not teach including an anionic auxiliary agent in the mixture and washing the obtained composite.
The deficiency is resolved by Zuo.
Zuo teaches preparing MnAl nanoparticles by co-precipitating manganese and aluminum salts with NaOH (an auxiliary agent solution), then separating the solid and washing it twice with deionized water by centrifugation (§Introduction, pg.14300, right column, §Synthesis of Mn-LDH nanoparticles). Zuo also discloses that the resulting products are crystalline nanoparticles containing Mn and Al, confirmed by XRD, TEM and EDS (pg.14301, left column, §Characterisation).
Regarding instant claims 1-2, 5-8, and 10, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of preparing an aluminum manganese composite adjuvant or a vaccine composition comprising said nanocrystal and an antigen as taught by Zhao to comprise washing the obtained composite with deionized water as taught by Zuo. This is obvious because, Zhao teaches coprecipitating aluminum and manganese salts with an alkaline solution at pH 8.0-9.0 and heating the precipitate at 121°C for 30-60 minutes to form an aluminum manganese composite adjuvant or a vaccine composition comprising said composite and an antigen, wherein the aluminum manganese composite adjuvant comprises a particle size of 1µm, and Zuo teaches washing the co-precipitated MnAl nanoparticle with deionized water to obtain the final crystalline nanoparticles. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant method for preparing an aluminum-manganese composite nanocrystal or a vaccine composition comprising said nanocrystal and an antigen, comprising:
Step 1, mixing an aluminum chloride salt solution, a manganese chloride salt solution, an anionic auxiliary agent solution, and adjusting a pH of the mixture to 8.0;
Step 2, heating the mixture at 121°C for 0.5h for a reaction, and washing the obtained reactant to prepare the aluminum-manganese composite crystal;
wherein in the mixture, the molar ratio of Al:Mn is 1:0.375.
Claim 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (Zhao et al, CN110665000A, Published on 1/10/2020; IDS entered on 6/27/2024; hereinafter Zhao) and Zuo (Zuo et al, “MnAl Layered Double Hydroxide Nanoparticles as a Dual-Functional Platform for Magnetic Resonance Imaging and siRNA Delivery”, Chem Eur J, 2017, 23(57):14299-14306; hereinafter Zuo) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aisawa (Aisawa et al, “Direct Intercalation of Amino Acids into Layered Double Hydroxides by Coprecipitation”, J. Solid State Chem., 2001, 162:52-62; hereinafter Aisawa).
The teachings of Zhao and Zuo are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Zhao and Zuo do not teach a method of preparing an aluminum manganese composite nanocrystal, wherein the anionic auxiliary agent solution comprises an amino acid solution, wherein the amino acid is tyrosine.
The deficiency is resolved by Aisawa.
Aisawa teaches co-precipitating amino acids with manganese and aluminum salts in aqueous solution to form a Mn-Al layered hydroxide, with uptake maximized at a pH of 8-10 (pg.52, Abstract; pg.53, left column, second para). Aisawa also teaches that the degree of co-precipitation varies with the amino acid side chain, e.g. tyrosine (pg.59, first para; Table 2).
Regarding instant claims 3 and 4, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the method of preparing an aluminum manganese composite adjuvant as taught by the combined teachings of Zhao and Zuo to further comprise that the anionic auxiliary agent solution comprises an amino acid solution comprising the amino acid tyrosine as taught by Aisawa. This is obvious because, the combined teachings of Zhao and Zuo teach coprecipitating aluminum and manganese salts with an alkaline solution at pH 8.0-9.0, washing the obtained reactant, and heating the precipitate at 121°C for 30-60 minutes to form an aluminum manganese composite nanocrystal, and Aisawa teaches co-precipitating amino acids with manganese and aluminum salts in aqueous solution to form a Mn-Al layered hydroxide, wherein the amino acid solution comprises tyrosine. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant method for preparing an aluminum-manganese composite nanocrystal, wherein the anionic auxiliary agent solution comprises an amino acid solution wherein the amino acid is tyrosine.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (Zhao et al, CN110665000A, Published on 1/10/2020; IDS entered on 6/27/2024; hereinafter Zhao) and Zuo (Zuo et al, “MnAl Layered Double Hydroxide Nanoparticles as a Dual-Functional Platform for Magnetic Resonance Imaging and siRNA Delivery”, Chem Eur J, 2017, 23(57):14299-14306; hereinafter Zuo) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (Li et al, “Metal-based nano-vaccines for cancer immunotherapy”, Coordination Chemistry Reviews, 455(214345):1-23, IDS entered on 4/7/2026; hereinafter Li) and Jiang (Jiang et al, US20220193125A1, Priority to April 19, 2019; hereinafter Jiang).
The teachings of Zhao and Zuo are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Zhao and Zuo do not teach an anti-tumor pharmaceutical composition comprising said aluminum manganese composite nanocrystal and a drug for treating tumor disease.
The deficiency is resolved by Li and Jiang.
Li teaches using metal-based nanomaterials in cancer vaccines and cancer immunotherapy, because a wide variety of metals can be incorporated in the formulations of nanovaccines for enhanced immunity (pg.1, Abstract). Li teaches that aluminum-based nanomaterials are widely used in immunotherapy to effectively enhance antigen cross-presentation and greatly improve the anti-tumor efficacy of tumor cells derived from phagosomes, and these nanomaterials can be used alone or in combinations (§3.1. Aluminum-based nanomaterials starting on pg.4; Table 1). Li also teaches Manganese-based nanomaterials for their use in biomedical applications, such as tumor treatment due to their unique physical and chemical properties, and discloses that these nanomaterials are often used together with anticancer agents (§Manganese-based nanomaterials starting on pg.6; Table 2).
Regarding instant claim 9, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the aluminum manganese composite adjuvant as taught by the combined teachings of Zhao and Zuo to further comprise a drug for treating tumor disease as taught by Li to form an anti-tumor pharmaceutical composition. This is obvious because, the combined teachings of Zhao and Zuo teach a process of forming an aluminum manganese composite nanocrystal, and Li teaches that aluminum- and manganese-based nanomaterials are widely used in biomedical applications, e.g. treating cancer, and are often used in combination with anticancer agents. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant anti-tumor pharmaceutical composition comprising the aluminum-manganese composite nanocrystal and a drug for treating tumor disease.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643