DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of claims
Claim 13 is cancelled.
Claims 1-12, 14-21 are pending.
Response to arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 07/16/2026; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Applicant remarks:
The cited references fail to teach the amended claims 1, 17 and 18 “dynamically adjusting the first….reality view”.
Office response:
Please find the new mapping specifically for the independent claims 1, 17 and 18.
Applicant further argues that the other independent claims which recite similar features are allowable and the dependent claims are also allowable since they depend on allowable subject and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore, the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20170336212A1 to Zhao et al. (herein after “Zhao”) in view of Google Maps AR indoor navigation (Article “ Google Maps gets AR indoor navigation, new eco-friendly route options”, MAR 30,2021, Google Maps platforms).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches A method for selecting and presenting level-change way points for indoor navigation systems(See Zhao abstract methods, apparatuses and systems for indoor navigation), the method comprising: receiving at a client device from a user(See Zhao para[0037] by a front-end device, a current location of a moving object at a current building level and a destination location at a destination building level.), a request for navigation directions from a starting point to a destination point(Zhao figure step 201); identifying, by one or more processors(See Zhao para[0013] In another embodiment, an apparatus is disclosed which includes one or more processors;) a plurality of level-change way points based on a starting level associated with the starting point(See Zhao paras[0047]-[0052], figure 2 step 203);: determining, by one or more processors, a subset of two or more of the plurality of level- change way points based on a destination level associated with the destination point(see Zhao elevators 1,2,3 para[0057] in accordance with the labeling for Elevator 2, the front-end device labels and displays the corresponding routes (301, 303) to the destination for elevators 1 to 3 on the indoor map respectively. If the used cross-level tool types are not specified, e.g., the moving object is not limited to using elevators only, the front-end device may label all available cross-level tools and their corresponding routes to the destination, figure 7); selecting, by one or more processors, a selected level-change way point from the subset based upon one or more criteria(see Zhao paras[0088]-[0092] To improve the passing efficiency of the moving objects, this embodiment filters the routes and identifies the optimal route and then recommends the selection to the moving object. Specifically, the back-end device gathers statistics of the transfer frequencies of each route. );
a first indication of a location of the selected level- change way point (See Zhao para[0035] The human-shaped icon shown in this figure indicates the current location of a moving object (101) at a current building level, ) and a second indication of a direction of the destination point relative to a current location of the user (See Zhao para[0060] the new building level is taken as the current building level and steps 201 through step 204 are repeated; then all the available cross-level tools of the new building level and their corresponding routes (e.g., 401, 403) to the destination location (103) are displayed, ).
However, Zhao does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach presenting via the client device in an augmented reality view over a real-time image or video, dynamically adjusting the first indication and the second indication based on a change in a facing direction of the user, wherein when the selected level-change way point or the destination point is located beyond a boundary of the augmented reality view, the respective first indication or second indication moves on the display to an edge of the augmented reality view. Nevertheless, the Google Maps AR indoor navigation (in Article published in arsTECHNICA on MAR,30,2021,and Google Maps Platform for waypoint types and options) that presenting via the client device in an augmented reality view over a real-time image or video (see AR indoor navigation in iPhone/Andriod)
, dynamically adjusting the first indication and the second indication based on a change in a facing direction of the user, wherein when the selected level-change way point or the destination point is located beyond a boundary of the augmented reality view, the respective first indication or second indication moves on the display to an edge of the augmented reality view
(See The feature rolled out to iPhone and Android devices in select cities in 2019 and uses AR Core-based 3D sensing and Google’s trove of street-view imagery to determine your direction via the camera and what it is pointed at. Outdoors, the feature ended up being the world’s most complicated replacement for a compass, but compasses in phones (especially Android phones) just aren’t that accurate and are prone to interference, so getting the initial walking direction right using only a compass can be a challenge. AR Navigation, in addition to the cool 3D visuals overlaid on a camera, really is a big help.).
Figure from Article based on Google Maps AR indoor navigation
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Zhao’s methods, apparatuses and systems for indoor navigation with Google Maps’s AR indoor navigation with an arrow depend on the facing of the user in order to allow to help determine which direction is user is facing and based on that, show the location of destination if the destination is located beyond by the augmented reality interface.
Regarding claim 2, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. Zhao teaches wherein determining the subset based on the destination level includes: determining, for each of the plurality of level-change way points, a plurality of levels served by the level-change way point; and determining, for each of the plurality of level-change way points, to include the level- change way point in the subset when its plurality of levels includes the destination level (See Zhao para[0082] After receiving the location of the current building level and the location of the destination building level, the back-end device traverses the direct or indirect routes to the location of the destination building level via the cross-level tools of the current building level based on a provided topological graph showing indoor passages or a relation table of building level passages., para[0083] The topological graph showing indoor passages and the relation table of building level passages will then be generated according to the configuration information of all the cross-level tools. ).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. Zhao teaches wherein determining, for each of the plurality of level-change way points, the plurality of levels served by the level-change way point is based on metadata for the level-change way point that defines the levels served by the level-change way point. (See Zhao para[0083] For example, the configuration information of elevator 1 is ‘the building levels to stop=F1, F2, F3, F4, F5, F6’; the configuration information of the escalator 2 is ‘the building levels to stop=F1, F2’. ).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. Zhao teaches wherein determining the subset based on the destination level includes: determining, for a first level-change way point of the plurality of level-change way points (See Zhao para[0047] Among all the cross-level tools at the first level, the cross-level tool that can be used to go directly to the destination building level is elevator 1, and the cross-level tools that can be used to go indirectly to the destination building level are elevator 2, elevator 3, escalators 1 to 3, and staircase 1.), a second level-change way point that serves at least one level that is also served by the first level-change way point (See Zhao figure 1 where destination level (103) is elevators 1) ; and determining to include the first level-change way point in the subset when the second level-change way point serves the destination level. (see Zhao figure 1 where elevator 1 is a common way point that serves both first and second(destination level))
Figure: Zhao’s indoor navigation diagram
Regarding claim 5, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. However, Zhao does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein selecting the selected level-change way point from the subset based upon the one or more criteria includes determining which of the two or more of the plurality of level-change way points of the subset satisfy a user-defined preference. Nevertheless, Google Maps AR indoor navigation teaches wherein selecting the selected level-change way point from the subset based upon the one or more criteria includes determining which of the two or more of the plurality of level-change way points of the subset satisfy a user-defined preference (see The feature rolled out to iPhone and Android devices in select cities in 2019 and uses AR Core-based 3D sensing and Google’s trove of street-view imagery to determine your direction via the camera and what it is pointed at. Outdoors, the feature ended up being the world’s most complicated replacement for a compass, but compasses in phones (especially Android phones) just aren’t that accurate and are prone to interference, so getting the initial walking direction right using only a compass can be a challenge. AR Navigation, in addition to the cool 3D visuals overlaid on a camera, really is a big help.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Zhao’s methods, apparatuses and systems for indoor navigation with Google Maps’s AR indoor navigation with an arrow depend on the facing of the user in order to allow to help determine which direction is user is facing and based on that, show the location of destination if the destination is located beyond by the augmented reality interface.
Regarding claim 6, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. Zhao teaches wherein selecting the selected level-change way point from the subset based upon the one or more criteria includes determining which of the two or more of the plurality of level-change way points of the subset represents a fastest path between the starting point and the destination point. (see Zhao para[0088] Furthermore, the back-end device of this embodiment is able to identify the optimal route to the destination from all the found routes, and send the information to the front-end device for labeling. The optimal route is the route having the lowest building level transfer frequency or the shortest route distance).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. Zhao teaches wherein selecting the selected level-change way point from the subset based upon the one or more criteria includes determining which of the two or more of the plurality of level-change way points of the subset represents a most popular path between the starting point and the destination point. (see Zhao para[0116] its application value focuses more on the inquiring process; that is, the moving object wants to use a specific cross-level tool (such as a cross-level escalator from building level one to building level six) but does not know the exact location of the cross-level tool.).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. Zhao teaches wherein selecting the selected level-change way point from the subset based upon the one or more criteria includes applying a machine learning algorithm. (see Zhao para[0085]After determining all the cross-level tools on the current building level, the back-end device takes each cross-level tool as the starting point and runs a routing algorithm against the topological graph. The algorithm is used to traverse the routes to the destination building levels in the topological graph so that all the possible routes of the cross-level tools are gathered.).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. However, Zhao does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the first indication includes a symbol representative of a type of the selected level-change way point. Nevertheless, Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” teaches wherein the indication includes a symbol representative of a type of the selected level-change way point (see The feature rolled out to iPhone and Android devices in select cities in 2019 and uses AR Core-based 3D sensing and Google’s trove of street-view imagery to determine your direction via the camera and what it is pointed at. Outdoors, the feature ended up being the world’s most complicated replacement for a compass, but compasses in phones (especially Android phones) just aren’t that accurate and are prone to interference, so getting the initial walking direction right using only a compass can be a challenge. AR Navigation, in addition to the cool 3D visuals overlaid on a camera, really is a big help.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Zhao’s methods, apparatuses and systems for indoor navigation with Google Maps’s AR indoor navigation with an arrow depend on the facing of the user in order to allow to help determine which direction is user is facing and based on that, show the location of destination if the destination is located beyond by the augmented reality interface.
Regarding claim 10, Zhao and Google Maps AR indoor navigation remain applied as claim 1. However, Zhao does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the indication includes an off- screen indicator representative of the selected level-change way point being located beyond a boundary of the navigation system user interface. Nevertheless, Google Maps AR indoor navigation teaches wherein the indication includes an offscreen indicator representative of the selected level-change way point being located beyond a boundary of the navigation system user interface (see article In the demo, it tells someone where the escalator is and to go down a level to reach their terminal. Google says it wants to roll this technology out to “airports, transit stations, and malls,” where it will be able to “help you find the nearest elevator and escalators, your gate, platform, baggage claim, check-in counters, ticket office, restrooms, ATMs and more.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Zhao’s methods, apparatuses and systems for indoor navigation with Google Maps’s AR indoor navigation with an arrow depend on the facing of the user in order to allow to help determine which direction is user is facing and based on that, show the location of destination if the destination is located beyond by the augmented reality interface.
Regarding claim 11, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. Zhao teaches wherein the directions include a set of navigation directions from the starting point to the destination point. (See Zhao para[0047] The moving object may directly reach the destination building level through elevator 1; the moving object may reach the second level or the third level through elevators 2 or 3 and then use elevator 1 to reach the destination building level).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. Zhao teaches wherein identifying the plurality of level-change way points based on the starting level includes identifying all level-change way points that serve the starting level. (see Zhao para[0057] In practical application, in accordance with the labeling for Elevator 2, the front-end device labels and displays the corresponding routes (301, 303) to the destination for elevators 1 to 3 on the indoor map respectively., figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao and Google Maps AR indoor navigation remain applied as claim 1. However, Zhao does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the augmented reality view includes a second indication of a location of another level-change way point. Nevertheless, Google Maps AR indoor navigation teaches wherein the augmented reality view includes a second indication of a location of another level-change way point (See Google Maps AR indoor navigation waypoint types and options in Google map platform).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Zhao’s methods, apparatuses and systems for indoor navigation with Google Maps’s AR indoor navigation with an arrow depend on the facing of the user in order to allow to help determine which direction is user is facing and based on that, show the location of destination if the destination is located beyond by the augmented reality interface.
Regarding claim 15, Zhao and Google Maps AR navigation remain applied as claim 14. Zhao teaches wherein the first indication represents a type of the recommended or suggested level-change way point, and the second indication represents a type of the another level-change way point. (See Zhao claim 12 displaying the available cross-level tools and the routes to the destination location;, claim 3 recommending the available cross-level tool closest to the moving object and the corresponding routes to the destination, see Zhao alternative solution, it is obvious to display the alternative solution, see See Google Maps AR indoor navigation waypoint types and options in Google map platform).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Zhao’s methods, apparatuses and systems for indoor navigation with Google Maps’s AR indoor navigation with an arrow depend on the facing of the user in order to allow to help determine which direction is user is facing and based on that, show the location of destination if the destination is located beyond by the augmented reality interface.
Regarding claim 16, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. Zhao teaches wherein the one or more criteria do not include a criteria to select a closest level-change way point. (see Zhao para[0144] The current user profile includes “do not take stairs” and “using baby stroller”; para[0138] route guide information corresponding to route guides that were previously selected by the user from a plurality of route guides displayed on the mobile terminal (101)).
Regarding claim 17, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. Zhao teaches A computing client device, comprising: configured to implement the method of claim 1.one or more processors, configured to: (See Zhao para[0013] In another embodiment, an apparatus is disclosed which includes one or more processors);
receive, from a user, a request for navigation directions from a starting point to a destination point; (See Zhao para[0037] by a front-end device, a current location of a moving object at a current building level and a destination location at a destination building level.);
identify a plurality of level-change way points based on a starting level associated with the starting point; (See Zhao paras[0047]-[0052], figure 2 step 203);
determine a subset of two or more of the plurality of level-change way points based on a destination level associated with the destination point; (see Zhao elevators 1,2,3 para[0057] in accordance with the labeling for Elevator 2, the front-end device labels and displays the corresponding routes (301, 303) to the destination for elevators 1 to 3 on the indoor map respectively. If the used cross-level tool types are not specified, e.g., the moving object is not limited to using elevators only, the front-end device may label all available cross-level tools and their corresponding routes to the destination, figure 7);
select a selected level-change way point from the subset based upon one or more criteria (see Zhao paras[0088]-[0092] To improve the passing efficiency of the moving objects, this embodiment filters the routes and identifies the optimal route and then recommends the selection to the moving object. Specifically, the back-end device gathers statistics of the transfer frequencies of each route)
a first indication of a location of the selected level-change way point and a second indication of a direction of the destination point, relative to a current location of the user. (see Zhao step 204 in figure 2, para[00440Displaying the plurality of available cross-level tools and corresponding routes to the destination location; and step 606 in figure 6 ,para[0108] Displaying, by the front-end device, the plurality of available cross-level tools and the corresponding routes to the destination location.).
However, Zhao does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach presenting via the client device in an augmented reality view over a real-time image or video, dynamically adjusting the first indication and the second indication based on a change in a facing direction of the user, wherein when the selected level-change way point or the destination point is located beyond a boundary of the augmented reality view, the respective first indication or second indication moves on the display to an edge of the augmented reality view. Nevertheless, the Article published in arsTECHNICA about indoor Google Maps published in Mar,30,2021 that presenting via the client device in an augmented reality view over a real-time image or video (see AR indoor navigation in iPhone/Andriod)
, dynamically adjusting the first indication and the second indication based on a change in a facing direction of the user, wherein when the selected level-change way point or the destination point is located beyond a boundary of the augmented reality view, the respective first indication or second indication moves on the display to an edge of the augmented reality view
(See Google’s trove of street-view imagery to determine your direction via the camera and what it is pointed at. Outdoors, the feature ended up being the world’s most complicated replacement for a compass, but compasses in phones (especially Android phones) just aren’t that accurate and are prone to interference, so getting the initial walking direction right using only a compass can be a challenge. AR Navigation, in addition to the cool 3D visuals overlaid on a camera, really is a big help.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Zhao’s methods, apparatuses and systems for indoor navigation with Google Maps’s AR indoor navigation with an arrow depend on the facing of the user in order to allow to help determine which direction is user is facing and based on that, show the location of destination if the destination is located beyond by the augmented reality interface.
Regarding claim 18, Zhao teaches A system comprising:
one or more processors (See Zhao para[0013] In another embodiment, an apparatus is disclosed which includes one or more processors;: and
non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to
receive, at a client device from a user, a request for navigation directions from a starting point to a destination point; (See Zhao para[0037] by a front-end device, a current location of a moving object at a current building level and a destination location at a destination building level.);
identify a plurality of level-change way points based on a starting level associated with the starting point; (See Zhao paras[0047]-[0052], figure 2 step 203);
determine a subset of two or more of the plurality of level-change way points based on a destination level associated with the destination point; (see Zhao elevators 1,2,3, para[0057] in accordance with the labeling for Elevator 2, the front-end device labels and displays the corresponding routes (301, 303) to the destination for elevators 1 to 3 on the indoor map respectively. If the used cross-level tool types are not specified, e.g., the moving object is not limited to using elevators only, the front-end device may label all available cross-level tools and their corresponding routes to the destination, figure 7);
select a selected level-change way point from the subset based upon one or more criteria(see Zhao paras[0088]-[0092] To improve the passing efficiency of the moving objects, this embodiment filters the routes and identifies the optimal route and then recommends the selection to the moving object. Specifically, the back-end device gathers statistics of the transfer frequencies of each route. );
a first indication of a location of the selected level-change way point and a second indication of a direction of the destination point relative to the current location of the user. (see Zhao step 204 in figure 2,para [00440Displaying the plurality of available cross-level tools and corresponding routes to the destination location; and step 606 in figure 6 ,para[0108] Displaying, by the front-end device, the plurality of available cross-level tools and the corresponding routes to the destination location.).
However, Zhao does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach presenting via the client device in an augmented reality view over a real-time image or video, dynamically adjusting the first indication and the second indication based on a change in a facing direction of the user, wherein when the selected level-change way point or the destination point is located beyond a boundary of the augmented reality view, the respective first indication or second indication moves on the display to an edge of the augmented reality view. Nevertheless, the Article published in arsTECHNICA about Google Maps published in aug,08,2019 that presenting via the client device in an augmented reality view over a real-time image or video (see AR navigation in iPhone/Andriod)
, dynamically adjusting the first indication and the second indication based on a change in a facing direction of the user, wherein when the selected level-change way point or the destination point is located beyond a boundary of the augmented reality view, the respective first indication or second indication moves on the display to an edge of the augmented reality view
(See The feature rolled out to iPhone and Android devices in select cities in 2019 and uses AR Core-based 3D sensing and Google’s trove of street-view imagery to determine your direction via the camera and what it is pointed at. Outdoors, the feature ended up being the world’s most complicated replacement for a compass, but compasses in phones (especially Android phones) just aren’t that accurate and are prone to interference, so getting the initial walking direction right using only a compass can be a challenge. AR Navigation, in addition to the cool 3D visuals overlaid on a camera, really is a big help.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Zhao’s methods, apparatuses and systems for indoor navigation with Google Maps’s AR indoor navigation with an arrow depend on the facing of the user in order to allow to help determine which direction is user is facing and based on that, show the location of destination if the destination is located beyond by the augmented reality interface.
Regarding claim 19, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 18. Zhao teaches wherein to determine the subset based on the destination level, the instructions cause the system to: determine, for each of the plurality of level-change way points, a plurality of levels served by the level-change way point; and determine, for each of the plurality of level-change way points, to include the level- change way point in the subset when its plurality of levels includes the destination level. (See Zhao paras[0082]-[0083] After receiving the location of the current building level and the location of the destination building level, the back-end device traverses the direct or indirect routes to the location of the destination building level via the cross-level tools of the current building level based on a provided topological graph showing indoor passages or a relation table of building level passages., The topological graph showing indoor passages and the relation table of building level passages are generated according to the configuration information of the building levels that the cross-level tools stop by.).
Regarding claim 21, Zhao and Google Maps “AR indoor navigation” remain applied as claim 1. Zhao teaches a set of navigation directions to from the starting point to the destination point including selected level- change way point(See Zhao para[0098] The turn-back mode of the building levels is used to represent a route direction relationship between the building levels in the route to the destination); identifying, by the one or more processors (See Zhao para[0161] one or more processor), an alternate level-change way point used by the user, wherein the alternate level-change way point is different than the selected level-change way point; (see Zhao para[0057] All the corresponding routes (301, 303) to the destination for Elevator 2 labeled on the navigation map are shown in FIG. 3. In practical application, in accordance with the labeling for Elevator 2, the front-end device labels and displays the corresponding routes (301, 303) to the destination for elevators 1 to 3 on the indoor map respectively. If the used cross-level tool types are not specified, e.g., the moving object is not limited to using elevators only, the front-end device may label all available cross-level tools and their corresponding routes to the destination, para[0139] where different routes are provided to the same user depending on the time of day and the condition of the user, in accordance with an aspect of the present invention)
However, Zhao does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach, presenting, via the client device in the augmented reality view, updating, by the one or more processors, user-preferences specific to the user based on the alternate level-change way point used by the use. Nevertheless, Google Maps indoor navigation teaches presenting, via the client device in the augmented reality view (see Google Maps AR indoor navigation), updating, by the one or more processors, user-preferences specific to the user based on the alternate level-change way point used by the use (See In the demo, it tells someone where the escalator is and to go down a level to reach their terminal. Google says it wants to roll this technology out to “airports, transit stations, and malls,” where it will be able to “help you find the nearest elevator and escalators, your gate, platform, baggage claim, check-in counters, ticket office, restrooms, ATMs and more.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Zhao’s methods, apparatuses and systems for indoor navigation with Google Maps’s AR indoor navigation with an arrow depend on the facing of the user in order to allow to help determine which direction is user is facing and based on that, show the location of destination if the destination is located beyond by the augmented reality interface.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over Zhao in view of Google Maps AR navigation and US 20120021762 A1 to Garin et al. (herein after “Garin”).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao and Google Maps AR navigation remain applied as claim 18. Zhao teaches wherein to determine, for each of the plurality of level-change way points, the plurality of levels served by the level-change way point (See Zhao paras[0047]-[0052], figure 2 step 203); (see Zhao elevators 1,2,3 para[0057] in accordance with the labeling for Elevator 2, the front-end device labels and displays the corresponding routes (301, 303) to the destination for elevators 1 to 3 on the indoor map respectively. If the used cross-level tool types are not specified, e.g., the moving object is not limited to using elevators only, the front-end device may label all available cross-level tools and their corresponding routes to the destination, figure 7).
However, Zhao does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach the instructions use metadata for the level-change way point that defines the levels served by the level-change way point. Nevertheless, Garin same field of endeavor teaches the instructions use metadata for the level-change way point that defines the levels served by the level-change way point (see para[0011] and providing at least a portion of the encoded metadata to at least one function for use in estimating a location of the mobile station. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Zhao’s methods, apparatuses and systems for indoor navigation with Garin’s use of metadata for the level change way point in order to allow to provide position assistance data and/or the like to a mobile station with regard to at least one of a plurality of different indoor regions (See Garin para[0004]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666