DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 11/7/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each patent listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 13-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Schwab et al., US Patent No. 6,433,240 (hereinafter referred to as Schwab).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-7, 13-17 and 20, Schwab discloses a process comprising, among other elements, a reactor R01 wherein a mixture of 1-butene and 2-butene (raffinate II) is reacted in the presence of the metathesis catalyst including alumina/aluminum oxide. The product stream is fed to distillation column K101, wherein propene and ethene are removed at the top and 2-pentene, 3-hexene and high boilers are taken off at the bottom. Unreacted raffinate II is taken off at the middle offtake of the column and some of it is returned to said reactor R01. Said reactor R01 and distillation column K101 correspond to the first side reactor and distillation column of instant claim 1 (see Abstract and see Figure 1 and Col. 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 13-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Schwab et al., US Patent No. 6,646,172 (hereinafter referred to as Schwab ‘172).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-7, 13-17 and 20, Schwab ‘172 discloses a similar process as disclosed above wherein a process for the preparation of propene by metathesis of i-butene in the presence of a Re₂O₇/AI₂O₃ catalyst and wherein the reactor R1 and the distillation column D1 of figure 3 correspond to the side reactor and column of the present invention (see Abstract and see Claim 1 of Schwab ‘172 and see Examples 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 8-12 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwab in view of Van Geem et al., EP Publication No. EP0664776B1 (hereinafter referred to as Van Geem).
Regarding claims 4-5, 8-12 and 18-19, Schwab discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose the isomerization reactions or claim 4, nor the reaction conditions and configurations of claims 8-12.
Van Geem discloses a process wherein a mixture of butenes is fed to a reactive distillation column wherein a metathesis and an isomerization reaction takes place. Ethylene and propene are obtained in the top stream, while the bottom stream contained mainly C5 and C6 olefins. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the process steps of Van Geem in the process of Schwab as it is a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 8-12 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwab ‘172 in view of Van Geem et al., EP Publication No. EP0664776B1 (hereinafter referred to as Van Geem).
Regarding claims 4-5, 8-12 and 18-19, Schwab ‘172 discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose the isomerization reactions or claim 4, nor the reaction conditions and configurations of claims 8-12.
Van Geem discloses a process wherein a mixture of butenes is fed to a reactive distillation column wherein a metathesis and an isomerization reaction takes place. Ethylene and propene are obtained in the top stream, while the bottom stream contained mainly C5 and C6 olefins. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the process steps of Van Geem in the process of Schwab ‘172 as it is a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771