Amendments/Remarks
Filed IDS of 01/14/2025 and 06/28/2024 have been entered and considered.
Claims amendments/remarks filed on 06/28/2024 have been received and entered.
Claims 4-7 have been amended.
Claims 1-7 are currently pending.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112(f)
Claims limitations of “a photographed image acquisition unit”, “an estimation processing unit”, “a representative coordinate derivation unit”, “a position and posture derivation unit”, “an extraction processing unit”, and “a marker image coordinate specifying unit” of (claims 1, and 7) have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “to” coupled with functional language “acquires”, “derives”, “estimates”, or “specifies” (claims 1, and 7) without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitations invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-5, and 7 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification, for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
• (“a photographed image acquisition unit”, “an estimation processing unit”, “a representative coordinate derivation unit”, “a position and posture derivation unit”, “an extraction processing unit”, and “a marker image coordinate specifying unit”) – Specification [0040]– [0042], It appears that the corresponding structure each of which represents components and/or hardware of the host computer 10.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter, because the claim is drawn to a “a program”.
Furthermore, the specification of page 26 and that of para. 0041 cites “computer includes, as hardware, a memory loaded with programs, one or more processors that execute the loaded programs, an auxiliary storage apparatus, and other large-scale integration (LSI) circuits. The processor includes a plurality of electronic circuits including semiconductor integrated circuits and LSI circuits. The plurality of electronic circuits may be installed on one chip or may be installed on a plurality of chips. The functional blocks illustrated in FIG. 8 are realized by cooperation between hardware and software. Therefore, those skilled in the art will understand that the functional blocks can be realized in various forms by only hardware, only software, or combinations of hardware and software.”. Thereby the disclosure indicates that Applicant intends or implied the instruction may possibly in a case not be referred fully as a 'non-transitory computer-readable storage medium' which could include transmission type media, such as wireless or radio waves, etc. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification and Official Gazette Notice (1251 OG 212, made available February 23, 2010), concludes that the claim as a whole covers a transitory signal, which does not fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (In re Nuijten). Therefore, the claim do not fall within a statutory category. In view of the Official Gazette Notice (1251 OG 212, made available February 23, 2010), the examiner suggests amending the claims to recite "a non-transitory computer readable storage medium", and/or “a program embodied in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over Nishikawa et al. (US 2020/0342624, cited in IDS), in view of Onda et al. (JP 2015231445, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nishikawa teaches in at least the Abstract an information processing apparatus comprising:
a photographed image acquisition unit that acquires an image of a photographed device including a plurality of markers (Figs. 7-8 teaches an acquiring unit 210 configured further in at least step S10 of Fig. 8 for acquiring an image of a photographed device 16 of Figs. 1 and 4B including a plurality of markers 30); and
an estimation processing unit that estimates position information and posture information of the device on a basis of a marker image in the photographed image, wherein the estimation processing unit includes a marker image coordinate specifying unit that specifies representative coordinates of the marker image from the photographed image (Figs. 7-8 teaches an estimation unit 220 configured to estimate position information and posture information of the device derived by the derivation unit 226 on a basis of extracted marker image in the photographed image of at least Fig. 5, wherein the estimation processing unit includes a marker image coordinate specifying unit 222 that specifies representative coordinates of the marker image from the photographed image); and
a position and posture derivation unit that uses the representative coordinates of the marker image to derive the position information and the posture information of the device (position and posture derivation unit 226 of Fig. 7);
the photographed image acquisition unit acquires image data Emphasis Added, a case exists where front image data may be obtained as cited in para. 0028 of a second player for display on the display device 15 by the image sensor 14 imaging the front of the second user which as understood in the art would comprise in that case obviously one of a vertically inverted acquired image data)); and the marker image coordinate specifying unit includes an extraction processing unit that extracts connected components of a series of pixels from the image data
Nishikawa teaches at least in Figs. 1-15 the claimed invention except for the above lined-out items such as acquiring specifically image data vertically inverted and read from an image sensor that has photographed a device including a plurality of markers.
Onda teaches at least in Figs. 1-6 a player game system comprising at least a VR headset 1200 worn by a user installed with a plurality light emitting markers 1310 and devices 1200 including similarly markers 1210 configured to be photographed by image sensor 1104 of at least Fig. 1 to generate as understood in the art front facing photographed image data markers of devices 1300/1200 including obviously front facing vertically inverted image data and read from the image sensor 1104 that has photographed the device 1200/1300 including each said plurality of markers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Nishikawa in view of Onda to include wherein specifically said acquiring image data vertically inverted and read from an image sensor that has photographed a device including a plurality of markers, as discussed above, as Nishikawa in view of Onda are in the same field of photographing by an image sensor a photograph image of markers or light emitting units emitted by a user handheld game controller and a user worn headset, for detecting at least a marker image included in a photographed image to ascertain the position and the posture of the devices; furthermore, the one or more acquired front-facing device marker images configuration of Onda indicative of the vertically inverted acquired image data and read from the image sensor 1104 further complements the photograph image markers or light emitting units emitted by the user handheld game controllers 16 and a user worn HMD 100 of Nishikawa, in the sense when combined with the image sensor configuration of Onda further enables the system to obtain and capture front facing user images with the depicted worn devices, said images when combined with the configuration will further comprise vertically inverted images further depicting more accurately said user front facing images to more accurately derive said markers and thus more accurately determine said user worn devices markers, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 2 (according to claim 1), Nishikawa further teaches wherein the extraction processing unit extracts a plurality of sets of connected components within a predetermined upper limit number (extracted set connected pixel components regions of at least para. 0061-0066 are within a predetermined specific luminance upper limit number).
Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 1), Nishikawa further teaches wherein the extraction processing unit ends the extraction process of the connected components when the number of extracted connected components reaches the predetermined upper limit number (para. 0063).
Regarding claim 4 (according to claim 1), Nishikawa further teaches wherein the extraction processing unit includes hardware and extracts the connected components from line data of the image
Regarding claim 5 (according to claim 1), Nishikawa further teaches wherein the image sensor is installed on a head-mounted display (image sensors 14 of at least para. 0028 and Fig. 1 installed in the HMD 100).
Regarding claim 6, Nishikawa teaches a representative coordinate derivation method of the Abstract and Fig. 9 comprising:
acquiring image data which as understood in the art would comprise in that case obviously one of a vertically inverted acquired front image data, said photographed device image data as illustrated further in at least Fig. 5 including a plurality of markers 30);
extracting connected components of a series of pixels from the image data (the Abstract further cites specifying at least connected bounding boxes for obviously extracting connected components of a series of pixels from the image data); and
deriving representative coordinates of a marker image on a basis of the pixels of the extracted connected components (and deriving by the representative coordinates derivation unit 254 of Fig. 9 representative coordinates of a marker image on a basis of the pixels of the extracted connected bounding boxes components).
Nishikawa teaches at least in Figs. 1-15 the claimed invention except for the above lined-out items such as acquiring specifically image data vertically inverted and read from an image sensor that has photographed a device including a plurality of markers.
Onda teaches at least in Figs. 1-6 a player game system comprising at least a VR headset 1200 worn by a user installed with a plurality light emitting markers 1310 and devices 1200 including similarly markers 1210 configured to be photographed by image sensor 1104 of at least Fig. 1 to generate as understood in the art front facing photographed image data markers of devices 1300/1200 including obviously front facing vertically inverted image data and read from the image sensor 1104 that has photographed the device 1200/1300 including each said plurality of markers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Nishikawa in view of Onda to include wherein specifically said acquiring image data vertically inverted and read from an image sensor that has photographed a device including a plurality of markers, as discussed above, as Nishikawa in view of Onda are in the same field of photographing by an image sensor a photograph image of markers or light emitting units emitted by a user handheld game controller and a user worn headset, for detecting at least a marker image included in a photographed image to ascertain the position and the posture of the devices; furthermore, the one or more acquired front-facing device marker images configuration of Onda indicative of the vertically inverted acquired image data and read from the image sensor 1104 further complements the photograph image markers or light emitting units emitted by the user handheld game controllers 16 and a user worn HMD 100 of Nishikawa, in the sense when combined with the image sensor configuration of Onda further enables the system to obtain and capture front facing user images with the depicted worn devices, said images when combined with the configuration will further comprise vertically inverted images further depicting more accurately said user front facing images to more accurately derive said markers and thus more accurately determine said user worn devices markers, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 7, Nishikawa teaches at least in page a program for a computer comprising:
by a photographed image acquisition unit acquiring image data which as understood in the art would comprise in that case obviously one of a vertically inverted acquired front image data, of the said photographed device image data as illustrated further in at least Fig. 5 including a plurality of markers 30);
by an extraction unit a function extracting connected components of a series of pixels from the image data (extracting further in the Abstract and Figs. 7-8 specified at least connected bounding boxes for obviously extracting connected components of a series of pixels from the image data); and
by a representative coordinate derivation unit deriving representative coordinates of a marker image on a basis of the pixels of the extracted connected components (and deriving by the representative coordinates derivation unit 254 of Fig. 9 representative coordinates of a marker image on a basis of the pixels of the extracted connected bounding boxes components).
Nishikawa teaches at least in Figs. 1-15 the claimed invention except for the above lined-out items such as acquiring specifically image data vertically inverted and read from an image sensor that has photographed a device including a plurality of markers.
Onda teaches at least in Figs. 1-6 a player game system comprising at least a VR headset 1200 worn by a user installed with a plurality light emitting markers 1310 and devices 1200 including similarly markers 1210 configured to be photographed by image sensor 1104 of at least Fig. 1 to generate as understood in the art front facing photographed image data markers of devices 1300/1200 including obviously front facing vertically inverted image data and read from the image sensor 1104 that has photographed the device 1200/1300 including each said plurality of markers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Nishikawa in view of Onda to include wherein specifically said acquiring image data vertically inverted and read from an image sensor that has photographed a device including a plurality of markers, as discussed above, as Nishikawa in view of Onda are in the same field of photographing by an image sensor a photograph image of markers or light emitting units emitted by a user handheld game controller and a user worn headset, for detecting at least a marker image included in a photographed image to ascertain the position and the posture of the devices; furthermore, the one or more acquired front-facing device marker images configuration of Onda indicative of the vertically inverted acquired image data and read from the image sensor 1104 further complements the photograph image markers or light emitting units emitted by the user handheld game controllers 16 and a user worn HMD 100 of Nishikawa, in the sense when combined with the image sensor configuration of Onda further enables the system to obtain and capture front facing user images with the depicted worn devices, said images when combined with the configuration will further comprise vertically inverted images further depicting more accurately said user front facing images to more accurately derive said markers and thus more accurately determine said user worn devices markers, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Claims 1, and 6-7 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable and obvious over Nishikawa et al. (US 2020/0342624, cited in IDS), in view of Raghoebardajal et al. (WO 2019122901, cited in IDS), hereinafter Ragh.
Regarding claim 1, Nishikawa teaches in at least the Abstract an information processing apparatus comprising:
a photographed image acquisition unit that acquires an image of a photographed device including a plurality of markers (Figs. 7-8 teaches an acquiring unit 210 configured further in at least step S10 of Fig. 8 for acquiring an image of a photographed device 16 of Figs. 1 and 4B including a plurality of markers 30); and
an estimation processing unit that estimates position information and posture information of the device on a basis of a marker image in the photographed image, wherein the estimation processing unit includes a marker image coordinate specifying unit that specifies representative coordinates of the marker image from the photographed image (Figs. 7-8 teaches an estimation unit 220 configured to estimate position information and posture information of the device derived by the derivation unit 226 on a basis of extracted marker image in the photographed image of at least Fig. 5, wherein the estimation processing unit includes a marker image coordinate specifying unit 222 that specifies representative coordinates of the marker image from the photographed image); and
a position and posture derivation unit that uses the representative coordinates of the marker image to derive the position information and the posture information of the device (position and posture derivation unit 226 of Fig. 7);
the photographed image acquisition unit acquires image data Emphasis Added, a case exists where front image data may be obtained as cited in para. 0028 of a second player for display on the display device 15 by the image sensor 14 imaging the front of the second user which as understood in the art would comprise in that case obviously one of a vertically inverted acquired image data)); and the marker image coordinate specifying unit includes an extraction processing unit that extracts connected components of a series of pixels from the image data components extracted by the extraction processing unit (para. 0061-0063 and Fig. 9 further illustrates said representative coordinate derivation unit 254 that derives the representative coordinates of the marker image on a basis of the pixels of the connected components extracted by the extraction processing unit employing the above bounding boxes function).
Nishikawa teaches at least in Figs. 1-15 the claimed invention except for the above lined-out items such as acquiring specifically image data vertically inverted and read from an image sensor that has photographed a device including a plurality of markers.
Ragh teaches at least in Figs. 12-15 and the disclosure a player game system comprising at least a user worn HMD 1210 installed with a plurality light emitting markers 1230 and devices 1240 with their respective cited markers, each device comprises camera sensors, and an external camera 1280 configured to photograph the devices of at least Fig. 12 to generate as understood in the art front facing photographed image data markers of devices 1210/1240 including obviously front facing vertically inverted image data and read from the image sensor 1280 that has photographed the devices 1210/1240 including each said plurality of markers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Nishikawa in view of Ragh to include wherein specifically said acquiring image data vertically inverted and read from an image sensor that has photographed a device including a plurality of markers, as discussed above, as Nishikawa in view of Ragh are in the same field of photographing by an image sensor a photograph image of markers or light emitting units emitted by a user handheld game controller and a user worn headset, for detecting at least a marker image included in a photographed image to ascertain the position and the posture of the devices; furthermore, the one or more acquired front-facing device marker images configuration of Ragh indicative of the vertically inverted acquired image data and read from the image sensor 1104 further complements the photograph image markers or light emitting units emitted by the user handheld game controllers 16 and a user worn HMD 100 of Nishikawa, in the sense when combined with the image sensor configuration of Ragh further enables the system to obtain and capture front facing user images with the depicted worn devices, said images when combined with the configuration will further comprise vertically inverted images further depicting more accurately said user front facing images to more accurately derive said markers and thus more accurately determine said user worn devices markers, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 6, Nishikawa teaches a representative coordinate derivation method of the Abstract and Fig. 9 comprising:
acquiring image data which as understood in the art would comprise in that case obviously one of a vertically inverted acquired front image data, said photographed device image data as illustrated further in at least Fig. 5 including a plurality of markers 30);
extracting connected components of a series of pixels from the image data (the Abstract further cites specifying at least connected bounding boxes for obviously extracting connected components of a series of pixels from the image data); and
deriving representative coordinates of a marker image on a basis of the pixels of the extracted connected components (and deriving by the representative coordinates derivation unit 254 of Fig. 9 representative coordinates of a marker image on a basis of the pixels of the extracted connected bounding boxes components).
Nishikawa teaches at least in Figs. 1-15 the claimed invention except for the above lined-out items such as acquiring specifically image data vertically inverted and read from an image sensor that has photographed a device including a plurality of markers.
Ragh teaches at least in Figs. 12-15 and the disclosure a player game system comprising at least a user worn HMD 1210 installed with a plurality light emitting markers 1230 and devices 1240 with their respective cited markers, each device comprises camera sensors, and an external camera 1280 configured to photograph the devices of at least Fig. 12 to generate as understood in the art front facing photographed image data markers of devices 1210/1240 including obviously front facing vertically inverted image data and read from the image sensor 1280 that has photographed the devices 1210/1240 including each said plurality of markers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Nishikawa in view of Ragh to include wherein specifically said acquiring image data vertically inverted and read from an image sensor that has photographed a device including a plurality of markers, as discussed above, as Nishikawa in view of Ragh are in the same field of photographing by an image sensor a photograph image of markers or light emitting units emitted by a user handheld game controller and a user worn headset, for detecting at least a marker image included in a photographed image to ascertain the position and the posture of the devices; furthermore, the one or more acquired front-facing device marker images configuration of Ragh indicative of the vertically inverted acquired image data and read from the image sensor 1104 further complements the photograph image markers or light emitting units emitted by the user handheld game controllers 16 and a user worn HMD 100 of Nishikawa, in the sense when combined with the image sensor configuration of Ragh further enables the system to obtain and capture front facing user images with the depicted worn devices, said images when combined with the configuration will further comprise vertically inverted images further depicting more accurately said user front facing images to more accurately derive said markers and thus more accurately determine said user worn devices markers, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 7, Nishikawa teaches at least in page a program for a computer comprising:
by a photographed image acquisition unit acquiring image data which as understood in the art would comprise in that case obviously one of a vertically inverted acquired front image data, of the said photographed device image data as illustrated further in at least Fig. 5 including a plurality of markers 30);
by an extraction unit a function extracting connected components of a series of pixels from the image data (extracting further in the Abstract and Figs. 7-8 specified at least connected bounding boxes for obviously extracting connected components of a series of pixels from the image data); and
by a representative coordinate derivation unit deriving representative coordinates of a marker image on a basis of the pixels of the extracted connected components (and deriving by the representative coordinates derivation unit 254 of Fig. 9 representative coordinates of a marker image on a basis of the pixels of the extracted connected bounding boxes components).
Nishikawa teaches at least in Figs. 1-15 the claimed invention except for the above lined-out items such as acquiring specifically image data vertically inverted and read from an image sensor that has photographed a device including a plurality of markers.
Ragh teaches at least in Figs. 12-15 and the disclosure a player game system comprising at least a user worn HMD 1210 installed with a plurality light emitting markers 1230 and devices 1240 with their respective cited markers, each device comprises camera sensors, and an external camera 1280 configured to photograph the devices of at least Fig. 12 to generate as understood in the art front facing photographed image data markers of devices 1210/1240 including obviously front facing vertically inverted image data and read from the image sensor 1280 that has photographed the devices 1210/1240 including each said plurality of markers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Nishikawa in view of Ragh to include wherein specifically said acquiring image data vertically inverted and read from an image sensor that has photographed a device including a plurality of markers, as discussed above, as Nishikawa in view of Ragh are in the same field of photographing by an image sensor a photograph image of markers or light emitting units emitted by a user handheld game controller and a user worn headset, for detecting at least a marker image included in a photographed image to ascertain the position and the posture of the devices; furthermore, the one or more acquired front-facing device marker images configuration of Ragh indicative of the vertically inverted acquired image data and read from the image sensor 1104 further complements the photograph image markers or light emitting units emitted by the user handheld game controllers 16 and a user worn HMD 100 of Nishikawa, in the sense when combined with the image sensor configuration of Ragh further enables the system to obtain and capture front facing user images with the depicted worn devices, said images when combined with the configuration will further comprise vertically inverted images further depicting more accurately said user front facing images to more accurately derive said markers and thus more accurately determine said user worn devices markers, according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Conclusion
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 04/15/2026