DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/28/2024 and 11/15/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 15-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, line 4, “wherein the tube gripper and the adapter gripper are both slidably mounted on the support and are slidable along an X direction, a Y direction, and a Z direction respectively” should read “wherein the tube gripper and the adapter gripper are both slidably mounted on the support and are slidable along an X direction, a Y direction, and a Z direction
Claim 15-18, each recites in lines “wherein the main control system is communicatively connected to the interface control system, the electronic control system, and the centrifuge, respectively” in lines 4-5. It should read “wherein the main control system is communicatively connected to the interface control system, the electronic control system, and the centrifuge.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the sample holder buffering device”, “the reading mechanism” and “the rotary scanning mechanism” in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the reading mechanism” and “the rotary scanning mechanism” in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the reading mechanism” and “the rotary scanning mechanism” in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the reading mechanism” and “the rotary scanning mechanism” in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10-12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bai et al. (CN 112122014 A)(provided in Applicant’s IDS of 06/28/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Bai teaches an online centrifugation system, comprising
a conveying device (all components of conveying system 2 except barcode rotating device 203, second RFID reader 204, barcode scanner 205 and first RFID reader 212), a balancing and weighing mechanism (cache platform/buffering station 5), a manipulator (robotic arm 7), and a centrifuge (4); wherein
the conveying device, the balancing and weighing mechanism, and the centrifuge are arranged in sequence (Fig. 1); and wherein
the conveying device is configured to convey a sample holder (206) (interpreting as a functional limitation. The sample holder is not positively recited. Fig. 3 and para. 0055, conveying system 2, transport holder 206) configured for holding a blood collection tube (10) (sample holder is not positively recited, and thus this limitation does not further structurally limit the invention. Para. 0055, holder 206 carries sample tube 10), the balancing and weighing mechanism (buffer platform 5; alternatively buffer platform 5 not including test tube tray 502) is configured to weigh an adapter (4)(para. 0049), and the centrifuge (3) is configured to centrifuge the blood collection tube (para. 0051).
the manipulator (robotic arm 7) is configured to grip the blood collection tube and the adapter separately (interpreted as functional limitation. Para. 0052, robotic arm 7 is structurally capable of gripping the blood collection tube 10 and the adapter 4), to convey the blood collection tube between the adapter and the conveying device, and convey the adapter between the centrifuge and the balancing and weighing mechanism; and
the centrifuge is provided with an inlet and outlet window (hatch 302) configured to allow the adapter to enter and exit the centrifuge (para. 0067).
Regarding claim 2, Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1.
Interpreting in the alternative that the balancing and weighing mechanism as platform 5 not including test tube tray 502.
Bai further teaches wherein the online centrifugation system further comprises a sample holder buffering device (test tube tray 502), and the sample holder buffering device is configured to supply a vacant sample holder (interpreted as a functional limitation. A vacant sample holder is not positively recited. Para. 0062 Test tube tray 502 is structurally capably of supplying a vacant sample holder such an empty test tube via robot arm 6) to the conveying device.
Regarding claim 3, Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 2. Bai further teaches wherein the sample holder buffering device (502) is arranged to be perpendicular to or parallel with the conveying device (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1. Bai further teaches wherein the balancing and weighing mechanism (5)(Fig. 6) comprises a base plate (weighing tray 503) and a weighing scale (weighing sensor 505 and magnet 504); and wherein the base plate is provided with at least one weighing hole (one of the holes at the bottom of the tray 503 where a screw goes to fixedly connect the weighting sensor and magnet 504, para. 0061) for holding the weighing scale (para. 0061, the hole enables a screw to fixedly hold the magnet 504 and sensor 503 to the tray), and the weighing scale is configured to weigh the adapter (4)(para. 0049).
Regarding claim 11, Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 10. Bai further teaches wherein the base plate (weighing tray 503) is provided with a receiving groove (the recess of 503, Fig. 5) matching the adapter in shape (interpreted as an intended use. The adapter is not positively recited, and the recess of 503 meets the structural limitation of the intended use. Moreover, para. 0060, adapter 4 fits into the tray 50 and thus their shapes match), a bottom of the receiving groove is connected to and in communication with a top of the weighing hole (para. 0061 and Fig. 6, the hole is through hole where a screw goes to fixedly connect the weighting sensor and magnet 504, and thus the top of the hole is at the connected and in communication with the recess of 503), and a top end (magnet 504, Fig. 6) of the weighing scale (weighing sensor 505 and magnet 504) extends into the receiving groove.
Regarding claim 12, Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 10. Bai further teaches wherein the balancing and weighing mechanism further comprises a balancing frame (bracket 506 and counterweight test tube tray 502), and the balancing frame is mounted on the base plate (Fig. 6 and para. 0060) for holding a balancing tube (interpreted as a functional limitation. Fig. 6 and para. 0060, the balancing frame, which includes 506 and 502, is structurally capable of holds a balancing tube, which is not positively recited).
Regarding claim 15. Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1.
Interpreting in the alternative that the balancing and weighing mechanism as platform 5 not including test tube tray 502.
Bai further teaches the system further comprising a main control system (control system, para. 0052), an interface control system (circuit board 507), and an electronic control system (switch panel 8); and wherein the main control system is communicatively connected to the interface control system, the electronic control system, and the centrifuge, respectively (para. 0052); and
the electronic control system (switch panel 8) is configured to control operation of the conveying device (conveying system 2 except 203, 204, 205 and 212), balancing and weighing of the balancing and weighing mechanism (502)(para. 0053 and 0049), action of the manipulator (6)(para. 0053), operation of the sample holder buffering device (test tube tray 502)(para. 0053), action of the reading mechanism (212)(para. 0056), and action of the rotary scanning mechanism (203 and 205) (para. 0053-0054, switch panel 8 controls conveyor system 2, which includes 212, 203 and 205).
Regarding claim 16. Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 2. Bai further teaches the system further comprising a main control system (control system, para. 0052), an interface control system (circuit board 507), and an electronic control system (switch panel 8); and wherein the main control system is communicatively connected to the interface control system, the electronic control system, and the centrifuge, respectively (para. 0052); and
the electronic control system (switch panel 8) is configured to control operation of the conveying device (all components of conveying system 2 except 203, 204, 205 and 212), balancing and weighing of the balancing and weighing mechanism (502), action of the manipulator (6)(para. 0053), operation of the sample holder buffering device (test tube tray 502)(para. 0053), action of the reading mechanism (212)(para. 0056), and action of the rotary scanning mechanism (203 and 205) (para. 0053-0054, switch panel 8 controls conveyor system 2, which includes 212, 203 and 205).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (CN 112122014 A)(provided in Applicant’s IDS of 06/28/2024) in view of Wu (CN 106908613)(provided in Applicant’s IDS of 06/28/2024).
Regarding claim 2, Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 1.
Bai teaches the online centrifugation system transports sample tube 10 from a first processing unit (previous centrifugal process, para. 0055) to a second processing unit (next centrifugal process) via conveying system 2 (para. 0048). Bai teaches the transport is achieved by holder 206 carrying sample tube 10, wherein holder 206 is being conveyed on belt conveyors main track 215 and operating track 201 of conveyor system 2 (para. 0055 and Fig. 3). Bai further teaches the system further comprises centrifuge 3 and robotic arm 6 (manipulator), wherein during the transport between the two processing units while holder 206 is at the third stop fork/ braking sensor 208 on the operating track 201, robotic arm 6 transports sample tube 10 that needs centrifugation out of holder 206 to the centrifuge for centrifugation. Bai teaches after sample tube 10 is being taken out of holder 206, the vacant holder 206, along with holder 206 that are carrying sample, exit the operation track 201 through the same path to main track 215 to the second unit. After centrifugation, robotic arm 6 transport sample tube 10 back to operating track, while a vacant holder 206 is being sent to the third stop fork/sensor 208 of operating track 201 through main track 215 to receive the centrifuged sample tube 10 (para. 0065).
Bai teaches sample holder 206 whether vacant or carrying sample tube 10 enters and exits the operation track 201 through the same path, and thus Bai fails to teach the online centrifugation system further comprises a sample holder buffering device, and the sample holder buffering device is configured to supply a vacant sample holder to the conveying device (conveyor system).
However, Wu teaches an automated system that transports sample tubes from a first processing unit (initial unit 15) to a second processing unit (subsequent processing unit 16) via input track 2 of a conveyor system (Fig. 1). Wu teaches a sample tube is carried by a sample holder in the conveyor system, and when centrifugation is needed, the sample tube taken out from the sample holder and be transported by a robotic arm (11) for centrifugation (para. 0042). Wu teaches the conveyor system includes a buffer track (Wu, buffer track 3) connected to operating track 201 (Fig. 1, para. 00050), wherein the buffer track includes three parallel lines/tracks (para. 0041) that lies parallel to track 103 (Fig. 1) to provide a buffer structure with enough space for holding vacant holders 206 while sample tube 10 are being centrifuged (paras. 0039, 0041, 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified conveyor system 2 taught by Bai to include a buffer track (Wu, buffer track 3) connected to operating track 201, wherein the buffer track includes three parallel lines/tracks (Wu, para. 0041) that lies parallel to track 103 (Wu, Fig. 1) as taught by Wu in order to provide a buffer structure with enough space for holding vacant holders 206 while sample tube 10 are being centrifuged (Wu, paras. 0039, 0041, 0049) such that vacant holders 206 do not need to needlessly travel to another unit as they wait for centrifugation to be completed with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
The teachings of modified Bai yields the online centrifugation system further comprises a sample holder buffering device (Wu, buffer track 3), and the sample holder buffering device is configured to supply a vacant sample holder to the conveying device (conveying system 2 except 203, 204, 205 and 212, also not including the added buffer track)(interpretated as a functional limitation. The buffer track is structurally capably of supplying vacant sample to the conveying device, see above).
Regarding claim 3, modified Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 2. Modified Bai further teaches wherein the sample holder buffering device (Wu, track 3) is arranged to be perpendicular to or parallel with the conveying device (conveying system 2 except 203, 204, 205 and 212, also not including the added buffer track)(Wu, Fig. 1; also see claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, modified Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 3. Modified Bai further teaches wherein the conveying device (conveying system 2 except 203, 204, 205 and 212, and also not including the added buffer track) comprises a first conveying device (main track 215), a second conveying device (operation track 201 and right connection track), a third conveying device (return track 217), a first diversion mechanism (first stop fork),
wherein the first conveying device (main track 215, which is a belt conveyor, para. 0055) is configured to convey the sample holder(206) holding the blood collection tube (10)(paras. 0048 and 0054), and a first outlet (the opening immediately next to 216 on main track 215)(Fig. 3) and a first inlet (the opening just right of 210 on main track 215) are provided in sequence on a sidewall of the first conveying device along a conveying direction of the first conveying device (Fig. 3), wherein the first outlet is connected to and in communication with an entrance of the second conveying device (Fig, 3), the first diversion mechanism (first stop fork) is arranged at a junction between the first outlet and the entrance of the second conveying device (para. 0054), and is configured to control the sample holder holding the blood collection tube which is not centrifuged to enter the second conveying device (interpreted as functional limitation. para. 0065, the first stop fork is structurally capable of the recited function);
a second inlet (operating track inlet, see below) is provided on a sidewall of the second conveying device along a conveying direction of the second conveying device, the second inlet is connected to and in communication with an exit of the sample holder buffering device (in combining Bai and Wu as applied to claim 2, the connection between the buffer track and operating track includes incorporating in the buffer track an buffer track entrance and an buffer track exit in the buffer track, and incorporating an operating track inlet second inlet and an operating track exit in the operating track, wherein the operating track inlet/second inlet is provided on a side wall of operating track between third stop fork/ braking sensor 208 and baffle 209, and an operating track exit is provided on a side wall of operating track between third stop fork/ braking sensor 208 and baffle 202 and the operating track inlet and the operating track exit are connected to an exit of the buffer track and an entrance buffer track, respectively, so that the vacant holder 206 enters and exits track 201 at locations consistent with the function of track 201 describes in Wu, para. 0065),
an exit of the second conveying device (operating track exit) is connected to and in communication with both an entrance of the sample holder buffering device (buffer track entrance) and the first inlet (as discussed above, buffer track entrance is connected to the exit of operating track 203, which is connection to the first inlet, Bai, Fig. 3).
Modified Bai teaches a first junction between third stop fork/braking sensor 208 and turning 209 of Bai where track 203 can receive a sample holder from two options: the entrance of the buffer track (Wu) or the main track (through the right connecting track)(see above and Bai, Fig. 3); and Bai teaches a second junction between third stop fork/braking sensor 208 and turning baffle 202 where a sample holder 6 has two options: to exit track 201 to the buffer track or to the main track 216 (through the left connecting track). Bai does explicitly teach a mechanism at the first or second junction in directing the holder 6 toward one or the other option, and thus fails to does not teach a second diversion mechanism and a third diversion mechanism, wherein the second diversion mechanism is arranged at a junction between the second inlet and the exit of the sample holder buffering device, and is configured to control the vacant sample holder to enter the second conveying device, and the third diversion mechanism is arranged at a junction among the exit of the second conveying device, the entrance of the sample holder buffering device, and the first inlet, and is configured to control the vacant sample holder to enter the sample holder buffering device, and control the sample holder holding the blood collection tube after centrifugation to enter the first conveying device.
However, Bai teaches a track changing device 216 locates at the junction where holder 6 has two options, to continue on main track 215 or to enter right connecting track toward operating track 201 (para. 0056), and tracking device directs holder 6 toward one or the other option.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first function and the second junction taught by modified Bai to incorporate a track changing device at each junction as taught by Bai (Bai, para. 0056, Fig. 3) in order to direct holder 206 a path between two options at the junction (Bai, para. 0056) with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
The teachings of modified Bai would yield the second diversion mechanism (track changing device at the first junction) is arranged at a junction between the second inlet and the exit of the sample holder buffering device (first junction), and is configured to control the vacant sample holder to enter the second conveying device (interpretated as a functional limitation. Bai, para. 0056, track changing device is structurally capable of directing sample holder); and the third diversion mechanism (track changing device at the second junction) is arranged at a junction among the exit of the second conveying device, the entrance of the sample holder buffering device, and the first inlet (second junction), and is configured to control the vacant sample holder to enter the sample holder buffering device, and control the sample holder holding the blood collection tube after centrifugation to enter the first conveying device (main track) (interpretated as a functional limitation. Bai, para. 0056, track changing device is structurally capable of directing sample holder to the buffer track or the main track 215 ).
Regarding claim 5, modified Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 4. Modified Bai further teaches wherein the first diversion mechanism, the second diversion mechanism, and the third diversion mechanism have a same structure (all are track changing devices) and each comprises a driving part and a diversion part (track changing device comprises a physical structure to block/unblock a track for directing sample holder 206 and an actuator that actuates the physical structure Bai, Fig. 3 and para. 0056. The actuator is a drive part and the physical structure is a diversion part); and wherein the driving part is configured to drive the diversion part to move, and the diversion part is configured to guide the sample holder for diversion of the sample holder (para. 0056).
Regarding claim 6, modified Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 4. Bai further teaches the system further comprising a reading mechanism (first RFID reader 212), wherein the reading mechanism is arranged on a sidewall of the first conveying device (main track 215)(Fig. 3) for reading centrifugation information of the blood collection tube on the first conveying device (paras. 0056 and 0065); and wherein in a case it is read that the blood collection tube is centrifuged, the first diversion mechanism (track changing device 216) is configured to control the first outlet and the exit of the second conveying device to be shut off, to allow the blood collection tube to continue being conveyed along the conveying direction of the first conveying device (interpreted as a functional limitation. para. 0065, track changing device 216 is structurally capable of shutting of entrance of track 201 and consequently directing holder 206 to stay on main track 216); and
in a case it is read that the blood collection tube is not centrifuged, the first diversion mechanism (track changing device 216) is configured to control to allow communication between the first outlet and the exit of the second conveying device, to allow the blood collection tube to enter the second conveying device (interpreted as a functional limitation. para. 0065, track changing device 216 is structurally capable of performing the recited functions, including allowing tube 10 to enter track 201. Moreover, para. 0065, tube 10 needs centrifugation, track changing device 216 is activated, and sample holder 206 diverted to track 201).
Regarding claim 7, modified Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 4, further comprising a rotary scanning mechanism (barcode rotating device 203 and barcode scanner 205), wherein the rotary scanning mechanism is arranged on the sidewall of the second conveying device (Figs. 3) for scanning information of the blood collection tube on the second conveying device (para. 0056); and wherein in a case that there's no blood collection tube being held on the sample holder on the second conveying device, the rotary scanning mechanism is configured to unbind a blood collection tube barcode from the sample holder (interpreted as a functional limitation. para. 0065, the barcode rotating device 203 and barcode scanner 205 with the control system is structurally capable of binding and unbinding barcode from the RFID of sample holder with the scanned information), and the third diversion mechanism (track changing device at the second junction, see claim 4) is configured to control to allow communication between the exit of the second conveying device and the entrance of the sample holder buffering device (interpreted as a functional limitation. The track changing device at the second junction has the same structure at 216, and is structurally capable of allowing communication between the exit of the second conveying device and the entrance of the sample holder buffering device, see para 0056 and claim 4); and
in a case that the sample holder on the second conveying device holds the blood collection tube, the rotary scanning mechanism is configured to bind the blood collection tube barcode to the sample holder (interpreted as a functional limitation. para. 0065), and the third diversion mechanism (track changing device at the second junction) is configured to control to allow communication between the exit of the second conveying device and the first inlet (the opening immediately next to 216 on main track 215)(Bai, Fig. 3)(interpreted as a functional limitation. The track changing device at the second junction has the same structure at 216, and is structurally capable of allowing communication between the exit of the second conveying device and first inlet, see para 0056 and claim 4).
Regarding claim 16, modified Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 2. Bai further teaches the system further comprising a main control system (control system, para. 0052), an interface control system (circuit board 507), and an electronic control system (switch panel 8); and wherein the main control system is communicatively connected to the interface control system, the electronic control system, and the centrifuge, respectively (para. 0052); and
the electronic control system (switch panel 8) is configured to control operation of the conveying device (conveying system 2 except 203, 204, 205 and 212, also not including buffer track), balancing and weighing of the balancing and weighing mechanism (5), action of the manipulator (6)(para. 0053), operation of the sample holder buffering device (Wu’s buffer track is incorporated into conveyor system 2, and thus switch panel 8 controls its operation), action of the reading mechanism (212), and action of the rotary scanning mechanism (203 and 205)(para. 0053-0054, switch panel 8 control conveyor system 2, which includes 212, 203 and 205).
Regarding claim 17, modified Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 4. Bai further teaches the system further comprising a main control system (control system, para. 0052), an interface control system (circuit board 507), and an electronic control system (switch panel 8); and wherein the main control system is communicatively connected to the interface control system, the electronic control system, and the centrifuge, respectively (para. 0052); and
the electronic control system (switch panel 8) is configured to control operation of the conveying device (conveying system 2 except 203, 204, 205 and 212, and not including buffer track), balancing and weighing of the balancing and weighing mechanism (5), action of the manipulator (6)(para. 0053), operation of the sample holder buffering device (Wu’s buffer track is incorporated into conveyor system 2, and thus switch panel 8 controls its operation), action of the reading mechanism (212), and action of the rotary scanning mechanism (203 and 205)(para. 0053-0054, switch panel 8 control conveyor system 2, which includes 212, 203 and 205).
Regarding claim 18, modified Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 5. Bai further teaches the system further comprising a main control system (control system, para. 0052), an interface control system (circuit board 507), and an electronic control system (switch panel 8); and wherein the main control system is communicatively connected to the interface control system, the electronic control system, and the centrifuge, respectively (para. 0052); and
the electronic control system (switch panel 8) is configured to control operation of the conveying device (conveying system 2 except 203, 204, 205 and 212, and not including buffer track), balancing and weighing of the balancing and weighing mechanism (5), action of the manipulator (6)(para. 0053), operation of the sample holder buffering device (Wu’s buffer track is incorporated into conveyor system 2, and thus switch panel 8 controls its operation), action of the reading mechanism (212), and action of the rotary scanning mechanism (203 and 205)(para. 0053-0054, switch panel 8 control conveyor system 2, which includes 212, 203 and 205).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (CN 112122014 A)(provided in Applicant’s IDS of 06/28/2024) in view of Garfield et al. (US 20160206511 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 12. Bai further teaches the manipulator (robotic arm 6) comprises a support (robotic base plate 601) and gripper mechanism 607 and wherein the gripper mechanism 607 is slidably mounted on the support and is slidable along an X direction, a Y direction, and a Z direction (para. 0062);
Bai teaches gripper mechanism 607 (Fig. 7) has a single gripper configured to grip the blood collection tube or the balancing tube and the adapter (para. 0062), and thus fails to teach two grippers, one configured for gripping tube and another configured for gripping an adapter.
However, Garfield teaches an automated system 1000 comprising a gripper mechanism (gripper G)(para. 0154 and Fig. 40) for grasping containers such as vials and syringes. Garfield further teaches by way of hermaphroditic jaws, the gripper mechanism comprises two grippers (gripper of position G1 and gripper of position G2) and each gripper configured to grip a different type of containers (0164).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the single gripper configuration of gripper mechanism 607 taught by Bai with the hermaphroditic jaws configuration of gripper G mechanism taught by Garfield because one of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly have recognized the hermaphroditic jaws configuration was an alternative to a single gripper configuration for a gripper mechanism configured to grasp containers of different types and would provide flexibility, and simple substitution of one known element (single gripper configuration) for another element (hermaphroditic jaw configuration) is likely to be obvious when predictable results (providing a gripping mechanism to grasping containers of different types) are achieved. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The teachings of modified Bai would yield a tube gripper, and an adapter gripper (Garfield, Fig. 40G, a gripper at G1 position and a gripper at G2 position; in modified Bai, the gripper G1 position is made to be configured to grasp sample tube 10 of Bai, and the gripper G1 position is made to be configured to grasp adapter 4 of Bai); and wherein the tube gripper and the adapter gripper are both slidably mounted on the support and are slidable along an X direction, a Y direction, and a Z direction (Bai, para. 0062); the tube gripper is configured to grip the blood collection tube or the balancing tube; and the adapter gripper is configured to grip the adapter.
Regarding claim 14, modified Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 13. Bai further teaches wherein the support comprises an X-axis bracket (602), a Y-axis bracket (603), and a Z-axis bracket (604); and wherein the Y-axis bracket is slidably mounted on the X-axis bracket and is slidable along the X direction, the Z-axis bracket is slidably mounted on the Y-axis bracket and is slidable along the Y direction, and the tube gripper and the adapter gripper are slidably mounted on two sides of the Z-axis bracket respectively and are slidable along the Z direction (para. 0062).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (CN 112122014 A)(provided in Applicant’s IDS of 06/28/2024) in view of Wu (CN 106908613 A)(provided in Applicant’s IDS of 06/28/2024) as applied to claim 2, and in view of Fukugaki et al. (US 20120129673)(provided in Applicant’s IDS of 06/28/2024), and further in view of Itoh (US 20190329983 A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 2.
Modified Bai teaches wherein the sample holder buffering device comprises a plurality of synchronous belts provided in parallel (Wu, Fig. 1, buffer track 3; Bai, para. 0055), but does no teach conveying directions of adjacent synchronous belts of the plurality of synchronous belts are opposite.
However, Fukugaki teaches centrifugation system comprising a buffer track (buffer line 11) for holding sample holder that holds sample tubes (para. 0022). Fukugaki further teaches buffer line 11 comprises a plurality of parallel lanes in a serpentine configuration (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the configuration of plurality parallel synchronous belts of the buffering device taught by modified Bai with a serpentine configuration such that conveying directions of adjacent synchronous belts of the plurality of synchronous belts are opposite because one of ordinary skill in the art would accordingly have recognized the a serpentine configuration would result in the predictable result of providing a configuration for a parallel lanes of a buffer track and would provide a simple single-entry, single-exit design, and simple substitution of one known element (undesignated configuration) for another element (serpentine configuration) is likely to be obvious when predictable results (a configuration for a parallel lanes/belts) are achieved (Fukugaki, Fig. 2). See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The teachings of modified Bai would yield conveying directions of adjacent synchronous belts (Wu, Fig. 1, buffer track 3; Bai, para. 0055) of the plurality of synchronous belts are opposite (Fukugaki, Fig. 2).
Modified Bai does not explicit structural details of the belts and thus fails to the buffering track comprising a steering mechanism, a guide rail, and wherein the guide rail is arranged on each of both sides of the plurality of synchronous belts for guiding the sample holder; and the steering mechanism is arranged between the adjacent synchronous belts for steering the sample holder between the adjacent synchronous belts.
However, Itoh teaches a conveyance system for transport holders that holds a sample container. Itoh teaches the conveyance system comprises a belt conveyor (23) provided between a pair to guide rails (22) around on each side of the belt conveyor (para. 0041) for engaging the sample holder (para. 0044). Itoh further teaches a driving device 25 that moves the belt by rotating conveyor rollers 24 (para. 0041 and Fig. 3). In addition, Bai teaches the use of turning baffles (Bai, Fig. 3, baffle 202 and 209 ) at corners where the track changes directions to direct/steer sample holder 206 (Bai, Fig. 3, para. 0056).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sample holder buffering device taught by modified Bai with a pair of guide rails arranged on each of both sides of the plurality of synchronous belts, a driving device and a set of conveyor rollers for moving the belts as taught by Itoh in order to engage the sample holder and to move the belts (Itoh, 0041) with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G). In addition it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sample holder buffering device taught by modified Bai to have turning baffle at the locations were the buffer track in serpentine configuration changes in direction as taught by Bai in order to direct/steer sample holder 206 (Bai, Fig. 3, para. 0056) with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143)(I)(G).
The teachings of modified Bai would yield a steering mechanism (Bai’s turning baffles and Itoh’s conveyor rollers and driving device), a guide rail (Itoh, guide rail), and a plurality of synchronous belts provided in parallel (Wu, Fig. 1, buffer track 3; Bai, para. 0055); and wherein the guide rail is arranged on each of both sides of the plurality of synchronous belts for guiding the sample holder (Itoh, para. 0041); and conveying directions of adjacent synchronous belts of the plurality of synchronous belts are opposite (Fukugaki, Fig. 2), and the steering mechanism is arranged between the adjacent synchronous belts for steering the sample holder between the adjacent synchronous belts (Bai’s turning baffles are arranged at the locations of the buffer track where there is a direction change, and thus they are arranged between the belts).
Regarding claim 9, modified Bai teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above with respect to claim 8. Modified Bait further teaches wherein the steering mechanism comprises a steering plate (Bai, turning baffle at one of the turns of the serpentine buffer track), a carrying roller (Itoh, conveyor rollers 24), and a driving assembly (Itoh, drive means 25); and wherein the carrying roller is arranged between the adjacent synchronous belts, and the driving assembly is in transmission connection with the carrying roller for driving the carrying roller to rotate (); and
the steering plate is a curved plate (Bai, Fig. 3, turning baffle, see 202 and 209, is a curved plate) arranged above the plurality of synchronous belts, and is configured for guiding the sample holder from one of the adjacent synchronous belts to the other of the adjacent synchronous belts (Bai, para. 0056).
Conclusion
/M.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796