Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-7, 13-19 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu US 20210328630 A1 (cited by applicant).
4. Consider claims 1 and 14. Ryu teaches a method performed between a network device (105) and UE (115), comprising: determining an artificial intelligence model for a user equipment (115) from a plurality of artificial intelligence models for beam prediction (…the base station communications manager 102 may provide the multiple predictive models to the UE 115 for use in determining one or more beamforming parameters for beamformed communications.…) based on a beam measurement result reported by the UE (…the base station communications manager 102 may receive one or more measurement reports from a UE 115, and select one of the predictive models for a function, and provide an indication of the selected model to the UE 115.…) and sending, to the UE, indication information (reads on index value in 0102) associated with the determined artificial intelligence model. For the memory and processor added in claims 13 and 28, see 0005 of Ryu.
5. Regarding claim 2. Ryu teaches wherein the beam measurement result reported by the UE comprises a beam intensity-based base station beam ranking sequence (reads on prioritized list in 0102).
6. Regarding claims 3 and 19. Ryu teaches (0102) receiving, from the UE, information associated with a beam prediction period (reads on delay spread function) of the UE; and determining the artificial intelligence model for beam prediction for the UE based on both the beam measurement result and the information associated with the beam prediction period of the UE.
7. Regarding claim 4. Ryu teaches determining a spatial location of the UE, and determining the artificial intelligence model for beam prediction for the UE based on the spatial location of the UE (from 0102 reads on (…based on the proximity to the base station 105-b, the first predictive model for the first function may be selected…).
8. Regarding claim 5. Ryu teaches (bottom of 0102) sending, to the UE, the indication information associated with the determined artificial intelligence model via at least one of: RRC signaling; or high-layer signaling; or DCI indication.
9. Regarding claim 6. Ryu teaches receiving, from the UE, a request for the artificial intelligence model for beam prediction (reads on the UE request in 0055 where the UE eventually switches to a different predictive model).
10. Regarding claim 7. Ryu teaches (fig 4) receiving, from the UE, capability information (reads on 435), which indicates information of support of the UE for the artificial intelligence model for beam prediction.
Regarding claim 15. Ryu teaches (0098) performing beam prediction between two pre-configured beam measurements by using the artificial intelligence model indicated by the indication information, and performing transmission by using a predicted beam (…UE 115-a may perform measurements on one or more reference signals (e.g., in one or more SSBs) transmitted by the base station 105-a, and the UE 115-a may transmit a measurement report 215 to the base station 105-a. In some cases, based on the measurement report, the base station 105-a may select which predictive models 220 to provide to the UE 115-a, may select which predictive model should be used (i.e. transmitted) at the UE 115...)
Regarding claim 16. Ryu teaches performing beam prediction between two pre-configured beam measurements (0098 as stated above in the rejection of claim 15by using the artificial intelligence model indicated by the indication information, and preferentially measuring one or more predicted beams in a next beam measurement (from 0029….an indication to switch to a second predictive model of the set of predictive models, determining one or more updated parameters for the further beamformed communications based on the second predictive model for the first function, and communicating with the base station using beamformed communications that is based on the one or more updated parameters….)
11. Regarding claim 17. Ryu teaches (0053) determining whether to perform beam prediction using the artificial intelligence model indicated by the indication information according to at least one of a moving velocity (bottom of 0053) of the UE, a current communication link quality (channel conditions in the middle of 0053), or a transmission business requirement (reads on connectivity predictions in 0053).
12. Regarding claim 18. Ryu teaches (0054) wherein the beam measurement result comprises a beam intensity-based (reads on channel measurements) base station beam ranking sequence (reads on prioritized list).
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8. The prior art of record fails to teach or make obvious wherein each artificial intelligence model is defined by one model parameter set, the method further comprising: maintaining a data table, wherein the data table comprises at least: beam intensity-based base station beam ranking sequences and corresponding artificial intelligence model parameter sets; or the beam intensity-based base station beam ranking sequences, beam prediction periods, and corresponding artificial intelligence model parameter sets. Dependent claims 9-12 are objected to as allowable since they either directly or indirectly depend upon claim 8.
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shao et al US 12696109 B2 teaches a method for detecting an artificial intelligence (AI) prediction beam, a node, and a storage medium. The method includes the following: A first communication node receives beam detection configuration information sent by a second communication node, the first communication node performs AI prediction beam quality detection according to the beam detection configuration information to obtain a beam quality value, and the first communication node re-determines a target beam in a case where the first communication node determines that the beam quality value does not meet a beam quality requirement.
Bai et al US 2024/0056833 A1 teaches a UE may receive, from a network, a beam prediction configuration. The beam prediction configuration may be for a machine learning model or algorithm. The UE may receive error statistics for each of a plurality of beam directions. Responsive to the UE identifying a first beam direction of the plurality of beam directions using the beam prediction configuration and based on the error statistics, the UE transmits an uplink (UL) communication to the network in the first beam direction. Responsive to the UE identifying a second beam direction of the plurality of beam directions using the beam prediction configuration and based on the error statistics, the UE transmits the UL communication to the network in a third beam direction different from the second beam direction.
Tsui et al US 2022/0278717 A1 teaches receiving and over a first interface of a radio access network (RAN), first data corresponding to a plurality of user equipment (UEs), wherein the first data is associated with first network parameters, and wherein the first network parameters include scheduled UEs, UE spatial separability, or a combination thereof, transmitting the first data to an artificial intelligence (AI) model, responsive to the transmitting the first data to the AI model, obtaining second data from the AI model, wherein the second data is associated with second network parameters, and wherein the second network parameters include downlink (DL) transmit power allocation, and causing the second data to be provided over a second interface to a control unit to enable use of the second data for the plurality of UEs.
Conclusion
/CURTIS A KUNTZ/Primary examiner, Art Unit 2646