DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to 14 January 2022 under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-15 were previously pending in this application. The amendment filed 29 June 2026 has been entered and the following has occurred: Claims 1 & 14-15 have been amended. Claim 11 has been cancelled. No claims have been added.
Claims 1-10 & 12-15 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 June 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner in this Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations in claim 1 are:
“the first control unit being configured to…”;
“a communication interface simulation unit configured to…”;
“a programmer app unit configured to…”;
“a second control unit configured to…”
Such claim limitations in claim 3 are:
“the dispatch unit is configured to…”.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 & 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1 the following limitations are recited “the first control unit being configured to…”; “a communication interface simulation unit configured to…”; “a programmer app unit configured to…”; “a second control unit configured to…”, thereby invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation of these various “units”. However, Applicant’s Specification and/or drawings do not provide support and/or written description for the associated structure for the “units” recited and therefore do not comply with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a);
Regarding claim 3, the following limitation is recited “the dispatch unit is configured to…”, thereby invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation of these various “units”. However, Applicant’s Specification and/or drawings do not provide support and/or written description for the associated structure for the “units” recited, and therefore do not comply with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a);
Regarding claims 2-10 & 12-13, these claims are dependent from independent claim 1 and thereby inherit the deficiencies thereof by virtue of dependency.
Claim limitations found in claim 1 reciting “the first control unit being configured to…”; “a communication interface simulation unit configured to…”; “a programmer app unit configured to…”; “a second control unit configured to…”, and claim 3 reciting “the dispatch unit is configured to…” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Furthermore, claims 2-10 & 12-13 are dependent from independent claim 1 and thereby inherit the deficiencies thereof by virtue of dependency. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If Applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
As such, for examination purposes, the various “units configured to…” recited throughout claims 1-10 & 12-13 will be hereinafter interpreted as processing components with associated software for performing/executing computerized functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 & 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claims recite subject matter within a statutory category as a process (claim 14), machine (claims 1-10 & 12-13), and manufacture (claim 15) (Subject Matter Eligibility (SME) Test Step 1: Yes) which recite steps of:
transferring the data read out by the communication interface to a back-end communication unit by means of the first control unit;
receiving the data transferred by the first control unit by means of a communication interface simulation unit comprised by the back-end communication unit;
simulating the communication interface by means of the communication interface simulation unit;
reading out data from the communication interface simulation unit by means of a programmer app unit comprised by the back-end communication unit; and
controlling the communication interface simulation unit and the programmer app unit by means of a second control unit comprised by the back-end communication unit in such a way that the data is saved, in particular as a report, in a storage unit communicatively connected to the second control unit and/or the back-end communication unit, said data being accessible by a health care provider.
These steps of transferring the data read out, receiving the data transferred, reading out data, saving the data as a report, and storing said report/making the report accessible by a healthcare provider, as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, includes performance of the limitation in the mind but for recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting steps as performed by the generic computer components, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the transferring data and receiving the transferred data language, receiving transferred data in the context of this claim encompasses a mental process of a user receiving data via a computerized tool or some other digital means. Similarly, the limitation of reading out said received data, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, such as a user either presenting or outputting, such as via vocalization or other means, said received data. For example, but for the saving the data as a report and storing said report/data language, saving and/or storing the data/report in the context of this claim encompasses a mental process of a user either archiving the report and/or filing a report, e.g. a medical report, and could even include storing said data/report in a generic computerized system. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims (such as claims 2-13, reciting particular aspects of how creating reports, receiving/transferring data, encrypting data, and performing data analysis may be performed in the mind but for recitation of generic computer components) (SME Test Step 2A, Prong 1: Yes).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (such as recitation of a front-end communication unit/interface, an implantable medical device, one or more control units, a back-end communication unit, an interface stimulation unit, a programmer app unit, a storage unit, and a computer amounts to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see Applicant’s Spec p. 3, ll. 17-21 for a front-end communication unit/interface; Spec p. 4, ll. 21-23 for an implantable medical device; Spec p. 9, ll. 1-7 for one or more control units; Spec p. 3, ll. 7-15 for a back-end communication unit; Spec p. 6, ll. 25-32 for an interface simulation unit; Spec p. 3, ll. 9-15 for a programmer app unit; Spec p. 5, ll. 7-16 for a storage unit; and Spec p. 2, ll. 27-29 for a computer, see MPEP 2106.05(f); the various “units configured to…” recited throughout claim 1 are interpreted as processing components with associated software for performing/executing computerized functions in accordance with the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) interpretation established above);
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (such as recitation of transferring the data read out by the communication interface to a back-end communication unit; receiving the data transferred by the first control unit, amounts to mere data gathering; recitation of saving the data in the form of a report amounts to selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated; recitation of saving the data in the form of a report in a storage unit amounts to insignificant application, see MPEP 2106.05(g); recitation of reading out, i.e. understood to constitute reading out data by means of a communication interface, simulating the communication interface, making data accessible by a health care provider, such as via a user interface mounts to gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, see TLI Communications and MPEP 2106.05(a)(II)(iii));
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as recitation of communication technology for medical devices, specifically an implantable medical device in particular, see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims (such as claims 2-10 & 12-13, which recite limitations relating to one or more control units, a cloud server, a cloud gateway, a dispatch unit, a back-end communication unit, report creators, a communication interface simulation unit, an implantable medical device, a virtual machine, a programmer app unit, a communication interface, a reading and/or programming head, a certificate and key management system, a communication logic, memory, and a front-end communication unit, additional limitations which amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea; See Applicant’s Specification p. 9, ll. 1-7 for one or more control units; Spec p. 5, ll. 8-16 for a cloud server; Spec p. 5, ll. 8-16 for a cloud gateway; Spec p. 5, ll. 21-24 for a dispatch unit; Spec p. 3, ll. 7-15 for a back-end communication unit; Spec p. 6, ll. 23-32 for report creators; Spec p. 6, ll. 25-32 for a communication interface simulation unit; Spec p. 4, ll. 21-23 for an implantable medical device; Spec p. 6, ll. 23-32 for a virtual machine; Spec p. 3, ll. 9-15 for a programmer app unit; Spec p. 3, ll. 17-21 for a front-end communication unit/interface; Spec p. 12, ll. 6-13 for a reading and/or programming head; Spec p. 7, ll. 16-22 for a certificate and key management system; Spec p. 9, ll. 1-7 for a communication logic; Spec p. 9, ll. 17-24 for a memory; Spec p. 3, ll. 17-21 for a front-end communication unit/interface, see MPEP 2106.05(f), the various “units configured to…” recited throughout claims 2-13 are interpreted as processing components with associated software for performing/executing computerized functions in accordance with the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) interpretation established above; claims 2-4, 6-10, & 12-13, which recite limitations relating to data being transferred, fetching data from a server, receiving/sending metadata, making data available for retrieval, checking for new data in the cloud gateway and downloading said data, acquiring cardiac current curve data, wherein information generated from the data is available for retrieval, wherein the data is accessible by the healthcare provider, communicating with different implantable medical devices to query identification data, transmit information on said memory areas, distribute software updates, notifying the front-end communication unit about the update, additional limitations which add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea which amounts to mere data gathering; claims 4, 6, & 9-10, which recite limitations relating to the metadata comprising certain types of metadata, the data acquired by the medical device including cardiac current curve data, the query identification data comprising a model and/or firmware version, the predetermined memory areas comprise a current programming of the implantable medical device, trend data of the last 24 hours, last measured values, long-term trend data, a list of stored episodes, episode details of the episodes within the last 24 hours, patient data, or a predetermined interval or live IEGM data, additional limitations which add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea by selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated; claims 2-3, 7, & 13, which recite limitations relating to storing data, processing said data and using metadata to determine which report creator the data is sent to, decrypting data via a key/certificate, determining which memory areas the front-end communication unit is to query, maintaining one or more distribution rules, additional limitations which amount to insignificant application; claims 2-10 & 12-13, which recite limitations relating to communication technology for medical devices, specifically an implantable medical device in particular additional limitations which generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (SME Test Step 2A, Prong 2: No).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields (such as transferring the data read out by the communication interface to a back-end communication unit; receiving the data transferred by the first control unit, e.g., receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i); simulating the communication interface, e.g., performing repetitive calculations, Flook, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(ii); saving the data in the form of a report in a storage unit, e.g., storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv); reading out data by means of a front-end communication interface, allowing data to be accessible by a health care provider, such as via a communication interface, e.g., a web browser’s back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(ii); See Diebold Par [0006] which discloses the generally well-known, understood, and/or conventional nature of recording data in regard to the medical device and in regard to its operation occur during operation of a personal medical device, i.e. implantable device, and typically being read out from the implant by a programming device and exchanged between the programming device and a hospital information system).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims (such as claims 2-10 & 12-13, additional limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, claims 2-4, 6-10, & 12-13, which recite limitations relating to data being transferred, fetching data from a server, receiving/sending metadata, making data available for retrieval, checking for new data in the cloud gateway and downloading said data, establishing a connection to a device, acquiring cardiac current curve data, wherein information generated from the data is available for retrieval, wherein the data is accessible by the healthcare provider, communicating with different implantable medical devices to query identification data, transmit information on said memory areas, distribute software updates, notifying the front-end communication unit about the update, e.g., receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i); claims 3, 7, & 13, which recite limitations relating to processing data and using metadata to determine which report creator the data is sent to, decrypting data via a certificate/key, determining which memory areas the front-end communication unit is to query, checking the request of the front-end communication unit to determine whether there is a distribution, e.g. a software update, e.g., performing repetitive calculations, Flook, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(ii); claims 7 & 13, which recite limitations relating to maintaining one or more security certificates and/or keys, such as via a certificate and key management system, maintaining one or more distribution rules based on various data, e.g., electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii); claims 2-10 & 12-13, which recite limitations relating to storing received data, storing metadata, storing report creator instructions/templates, storing application instructions/architecture, storing communication interface instructions/architecture, storing a certificate and key management system instructions, storing computerized instructions for performance of the steps recited by a processor and/or computing device, e.g., storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv); See Diebold Par [0006] which discloses the generally well-known, understood, and/or conventional nature of recording data in regard to the medical device and in regard to its operation occur during operation of a personal medical device, i.e. implantable device, and typically being read out from the implant by a programming device and exchanged between the programming device and a hospital information system). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation (SME Test Step 2B: No).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 & 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forsell et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0355994), hereinafter “Forsell”, in view of DeBates et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0402656), hereinafter “DeBates”.
Claim 1 –
Regarding Claim 1, Forsell discloses implant communication system comprising:
a front-end communication unit comprising a communication interface configured to read out data from an implantable medical device (See Forsell Par [1500] which discloses the external device being configured to transmit data pertaining to the sensed parameter, such that the external device can be configured to add information to the data pertaining to the sensed parameter, such as those described in Forsell Par [1505]-[1513], i.e. implantable medical device data; See Forsell Par [3742] which discloses a computing unit deriving information related to the functional status of an operation device of the implant, i.e. also can be considered implantable medical device data; See Forsell Par [3407] which discloses a communication unit comprising means for communication, such that an external device, i.e. front-end communication unit, can have a display, i.e. front-end, on which information regarding the sensed parameters can be presented, albeit not a “read out” per se), and
a first control unit communicatively connected to the communication interface (See Forsell Par [3407] which discloses a communication unit comprising means for communication, such that an external device, i.e. front-end communication unit, can have a display, i.e. front-end, on which information regarding the sensed parameters can be presented),
the first control unit being configured to transfer the data read out by the communication interface to a back-end communication unit (See Forsell Par [1500] which discloses the external device being configured to transmit data pertaining to the sensed parameter, such that the external device can be configured to add information to the data pertaining to the sensed parameter, such as those described in Forsell Par [1505]-[1513], i.e. implantable medical device data; See Forsell Par [3742] which discloses a computing unit deriving information related to the functional status of an operation device of the implant, i.e. also can be considered implantable medical device data; See Forsell Par [3227] & [3742] which discloses storing authentication data, measured parameters of the patient, and/or functional status of an operation device of the implant in memory of the implant, i.e. back-end storage/communication units, albeit not a “read out” per se); and
the back-end communication unit comprising a communication interface simulation unit configured to receive the data transferred by the first control unit and to simulate the communication interface (“simulating” is understood to merely constitute making use of a communication interface, therefore see Forsell Par [3233]-[03234] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant; See Forsell Par [3227] which discloses storing authentication data and/or measured parameters of the patient in memory of the implant, i.e. back-end storage/communication units; See Forsell Par [3233]-[03234] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant, i.e. back-end communication/read out of data by a back-end communication unit),
the back-end communication unit further comprising a programmer app unit configured to read out data from the communication interface simulation unit (See Forsell Par [3227] which discloses storing authentication data and/or measured parameters of the patient in memory of the implant, i.e. back-end storage/communication units; See Forsell Par [3742] which discloses a computing unit deriving information related to the functional status of an operation device of the implant, i.e. also can be considered implantable medical device data, albeit not a “read out” per se),
the back-end communication unit further comprising a second control unit configured to control the communication interface simulation unit and the programmer app unit in such a way that the data is saved, in particular as a report (See Forsell Par [3227] which discloses storing authentication data and/or measured parameters of the patient in memory of the implant, i.e. back-end storage/communication units; See Forsell Par [3233]-[03234] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant, i.e. back-end communication/read out of data by a back-end communication unit, albeit not recited for the data being saved, in particular, as a “report” per se), in a storage unit communicatively connected to the second control unit and/or the back-end communication unit, said data being accessible by a health care provider (See Forsell Par [3233]-[03234] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant, i.e. back-end communication/read out of data by a back-end communication unit, albeit not recited for the data being saved, in particular, as a “report” per se; See Forsell Par [1017] which discloses that the second external device is operated by a healthcare provider of the patient, thereby rendering accessible the data by the healthcare provider),
wherein the front-end communication unit is configured to send metadata from the implantable medical device to the back-end communication unit (See), wherein
the back-end communication unit is configured to determine which memory areas the front-end communication unit is to query (See), and wherein
the back-end communication unit is configured to transmit information on said memory areas to the front-end communication unit (See).
While Forsell generally discloses transmitting data pertaining to sensed parameters, such that the external device can be configured to add information to the data pertaining to the sensed parameter and/or implant device itself, and a communication unit comprising means for communication, such that an external device, i.e. front-end communication unit, can have a display, i.e. front-end, on which information regarding the sensed parameters can be presented, Forsell does not explicitly mention a “read out” or “read out data” per se and/or the data being saved “as a report” per se.
However, DeBates explicitly discloses providing “read out” or “read out data” from an implant by a programming device (See DeBates Par [0060] which specifically discloses a request for information may be generated to (implantable medical device) IMD, which may include a request for the IMD's serial number, time/date of when the IMD is implanted in the patient (e.g., a timestamp indicative of first implantation and/or subsequent (re)implantations if performed), a measurement or read-out of any device, and more) and data being saved “as a report” per se (See DeBates Par [0075] which discloses a historical record of all such interactions, modifications, reconfigurations, etc., being generated with respect to the IMD and patient device may be maintained and transmitted to server, and a clinician may not only be able to monitor and evaluate the patient based on a number of real-time variables, but also access the historical record of all such interactions, modifications, reconfigurations, etc., and is thereby understood to constitute a “report”). The disclosure of DeBates is directly applicable to the disclosure of Forsell, because both disclosures share limitations and capabilities, such as being directed towards maintenance of one or more implantable medical devices and software, firmware, etc., associated therewith.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Forsell, which already discloses transmitting data pertaining to sensed parameters, such that the external device can be configured to add information to the data pertaining to the sensed parameter and/or implant device itself, to further specifically include a “read out” or “read out data” per se, as disclosed by DeBates, because this allows for tracking operations of a personal medical device, such as an implantable device, over time, and maintenance of said personal medical device, and ensuring a trusted associative relationship between the clinician programmer/device and a patient controller/device, and this being mediated via the corresponding IMD (See Debates Par [0060]). It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Forsell, which already discloses storing data pertaining to sensed parameter and/or operating parameters of an implantable device, to further include data being saved “as a report” per se, as disclosed by DeBates, because this allows for future access of said report/record, e.g. by a clinician, for utilizing information in providing appropriate therapy and IMD operative settings (See DeBates Par [0075]).
Claim 2 –
Regarding Claim 2, Forsell and DeBates disclose the system of claim 1 in its entirety. Forsell further discloses a system, wherein:
the data is transferred from the first control unit to a cloud server, wherein a cloud gateway is configured to fetch the data from the cloud server and store it (See Forsell Par [2734] which discloses the external device having processing power to perform methods and functions needed to provide safe operation of the implant, and may be cloud based or a virtual machine; See Forsell Par [1361]-[1362] which discloses updating a control program adapted to run in a computing unit of an implant when implanted in a patient, such as receiving data by the computing unit, and updating the control program on the basis of the received data), wherein
the cloud gateway is further configured to make the data available for retrieval by a dispatch unit of the back-end communication unit (See Forsell Par [2734] which discloses the external device having processing power to perform methods and functions needed to provide safe operation of the implant, and may be cloud based or a virtual machine; See Forsell Par [2735]-[2736] which discloses updating or amending software of the implant, such that the supplier or producer of the implant may be connected to a database, and the database may be regularly update to provide new or improved functionality of the implant, and said update can be transmitted from the database to the device, i.e. data made available by a dispatch unit to update the implant, such that as in Forsell Par [3685]-[3691] the update may be verified via transmission of logging data and confirming the most recent update; See Forsell Par [1361]-[1362] which discloses updating a control program adapted to run in a computing unit of an implant when implanted in a patient, such as receiving data by the computing unit, and updating the control program on the basis of the received data).
Claim 3 –
Regarding Claim 3, Forsell and DeBates disclose the system of claim 2 in its entirety. Forsell and DeBates further discloses a system, wherein:
the back-end communication unit comprises a plurality of report creators, each report creator comprising a version of the communication interface simulation unit, the programmer app unit and the second control unit (While not “report creator” per se, see Forsell Par [3233]-[03234] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant, i.e. back-end communication/read out of data by a back-end communication unit, albeit not recited for the data being saved, in particular, as a “report” per se; See DeBates Par [0075] which discloses a historical record of all such interactions, modifications, reconfigurations, etc., being generated with respect to the IMD and patient device may be maintained and transmitted to server, and a clinician may not only be able to monitor and evaluate the patient based on a number of real-time variables, but also access the historical record of all such interactions, modifications, reconfigurations, etc., and is thereby understood to constitute a “report”), wherein
the dispatch unit is configured to check at predetermined intervals for new data in the cloud gateway (See Forsell Par [2735]-[2736] which discloses updating or amending software of the implant, such that the supplier or producer of the implant may be connected to a database, and the database may be regularly update to provide new or improved functionality of the implant, and said update can be transmitted from the database to the device, such that as in Forsell Par [3685]-[3691] the update may be verified via transmission of logging data and confirming the most recent update; See Forsell Par [2734] which discloses the external device having processing power to perform methods and functions needed to provide safe operation of the implant, and may be cloud based or a virtual machine), and is further configured to download and process said data and during processing, to use metadata to determine to which report creator the data is sent to (While not “report creator” per se, see Forsell Par [3233]-[03234] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant, i.e. back-end communication/read out of data by a back-end communication unit, albeit not recited for the data being saved, in particular, as a “report” per se; See Forsell Par [2382]-[2398] which discloses updating a control program and logging data relating to an installation of the update, such as relating to the receipt of the update or configuration, i.e. firmware version, of one or more devices; See DeBates Par [0075] which discloses a historical record of all such interactions, modifications, reconfigurations, etc., being generated with respect to the IMD and patient device may be maintained and transmitted to server, and a clinician may not only be able to monitor and evaluate the patient based on a number of real-time variables, but also access the historical record of all such interactions, modifications, reconfigurations, etc., and is thereby understood to constitute a “report”).
Claim 4 –
Regarding Claim 4, Forsell and DeBates disclose the system of claim 3 in its entirety. Forsell and DeBates further disclose a system, wherein:
the metadata comprises an implant serial number, an implant type and/or an implant firmware version (The broadest reasonable interpretation of “and/or” is “or”, therefore only one of the alternatives elected above needs to be met, therefore see Forsell Par [2974] & [3359] which discloses conductive communication may comprise feedback parameters relating to the functionality of the implant including version number of the implant and/or version of the control program, i.e. firmware/software version; While not relied upon, because Forsell discloses one of the alternatives elected, for purposes of furthering prosecution, see DeBates Par [0056] which specifically discloses additional device information associated with CP/CD and/or the remote care application may be included in the relayed/proxied request, such as, device identity, i.e. implant type, application version data, i.e. firmware version, and/or any hard-coded device data, etc. RCSM 306 may be provided as part of a cloud-based service architecture and Debates Par [0060] discloses a request for information may be generated to (implantable medical device) IMD, which may include a request for the IMD's serial number)), wherein
the respective report creator is configured to process data (D) having a predetermined format matching the firmware version of the implantable medical device (see Forsell Par [2974] & [3359] which discloses conductive communication may comprise feedback parameters relating to the functionality of the implant including version number of the implant and/or version of the control program, i.e. firmware/software version; See Forsell Par [2382]-[2398] which discloses updating a control program and logging data, i.e. understood to constitute a report since the data is logged over time, relating to an installation of the update, such as relating to the receipt and confirmation of the update or configuration, i.e. firmware version, of one or more devices being correct).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Forsell, which already discloses storing data pertaining to sensed parameter and/or operating parameters of an implantable device, to further include data being saved “as a report” per se, as disclosed by DeBates, because this allows for future access of said report/record, e.g. by a clinician, for utilizing information in providing appropriate therapy and IMD operative settings (See DeBates Par [0075]).
Claim 5 –
Regarding Claim 5, Forsell and DeBates disclose the system of claim 3 in its entirety. Forsell and DeBates further discloses a system, wherein:
each report creator is a virtual machine (While not “report creator” per se, see Forsell Par [3233]-[03234] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant, i.e. back-end communication/read out of data by a back-end communication unit, albeit not recited for the data being saved, in particular, as a “report” per se; See DeBates Par [0075] which discloses a historical record of all such interactions, modifications, reconfigurations, etc., being generated with respect to the IMD and patient device, such as by the system, and may be maintained and transmitted to server, and a clinician may not only be able to monitor and evaluate the patient based on a number of real-time variables, but also access the historical record of all such interactions, modifications, reconfigurations, etc., and is thereby understood to constitute a “report”; See Forsell Par [2734] which discloses the external device being cloud-based or a virtual machine; See Forsell Par [2382]-[2398] which discloses updating a control program and logging data, i.e. understood to constitute a report being created since the data is logged over time, relating to an installation of the update, such as relating to the receipt and confirmation of the update or configuration, i.e. firmware version, of one or more devices being correct), and wherein
the communication interface simulation unit, the programmer app unit and the second control unit are applications installed in the virtual machine (See Forsell Par [2382]-[2398] which discloses updating a control program and logging data, i.e. understood to constitute a report since the data is logged over time, relating to an installation of the update, such as relating to the receipt and confirmation of the update or configuration, i.e. firmware version, of one or more devices being correct; See Forsell Par [2385] & [2756] which discloses internal and/or external computing units and/or functional units, such that certain components or all components may be implemented as software executed by a processor or as an application specific integrated circuit; See Forsell Par [2734] which discloses the external device being cloud-based or a virtual machine).
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Forsell, which already discloses storing data pertaining to sensed parameter and/or operating parameters of an implantable device, to further include data being saved “as a report” per se, as disclosed by DeBates, because this allows for future access of said report/record, e.g. by a clinician, for utilizing information in providing appropriate therapy and IMD operative settings (See DeBates Par [0075]).
Claim 6 –
Regarding Claim 6, Forsell and DeBates disclose the system of claim 1 in its entirety. Forsell further discloses a system, wherein:
the communication interface is a reading and/or programming head configured to establish a connection to the implantable medical device (The broadest reasonable interpretation of “and/or” is “or”, therefore only one of the alternatives elected above needs to be met, therefore see Forsell Par [2963] which discloses a conductive member configured to be in connection (electrical/conductive or wireless or otherwise) with the external device, and thereby creating increased security for communication between the external device and the implant, for example, when a sensitive update of a control program of the implant is t be made, or if sensitive data regarding physical parameters of the patient is to be sent to the externa device (or otherwise), the conductive member may ensure that the patient is aware of such communication and actively participate in validating that the communication may take place), and wherein
the data acquired by an implantable medical device is cardiac current curve data (See Forsell Par [01473]-[01474] which discloses the implant comprising a cardiac portion that is configured to sense at least one cardiac/heart parameter of the patient, and Forsell Par [1514] discloses the implant being an implantable cardioverter defibrillator, which is understood by Examiner to collect cardiac current curve data).
Claim 7 –
Regarding Claim 7, Forsell and DeBates disclose the system of claim 1 in its entirety. Forsell further discloses a system, wherein:
the data is encrypted by the first control unit (See Forsell Par [2739] & [2748] which discloses communication between external devices and the implant may be encrypted, including symmetric or asymmetric encryption, single or multi-key encryption, etc.), and wherein
the data fetched from the cloud gateway is decrypted using a certificate and key management system located in the back-end communication system (See Forsell Par [2734] which discloses the external device having processing power to perform methods and functions needed to provide safe operation of the implant, and may be cloud based or a virtual machine; See Forsell Par [2739] which discloses communication between external devices and the implant may be encrypted, including symmetric or asymmetric encryption, single or multi-key encryption, etc.; See Forsell Par [03213] which discloses the implant comprising a computing unit configured to update the control program running in the implant using the decrypted data, such that the computing unit may be configured to derive a combined key from the first part of the key and the second part of the key and decrypt the encrypted data using the combined key; ).
Claim 8 –
Regarding Claim 8, Forsell and DeBates disclose the system of claim 1 in its entirety. Forsell further discloses a system, wherein:
information generated from the data stored in the data stored in the storage unit is available for retrieval via a web application (See Forsell Par [2728] which discloses communications occurring via wireless communications, including through IP (internet protocol); See Forsell Par [2942] & [4111] which discloses that the encrypted data may be received from the external device or the second external device or another external device via the internet) wherein
the data is accessible by the health care provider and/or by an intermediary security entity (The broadest reasonable interpretation of “and/or” is “or”, therefore only one of the alternatives elected above needs to be met, therefore see Forsell Par [3233]-[03234] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant, i.e. back-end communication/read out of data by a back-end communication unit, albeit not recited for the data being saved, in particular, as a “report” per se; See Forsell Par [1017] which discloses that the second external device is operated by a healthcare provider of the patient, thereby rendering accessible the data by the healthcare provider; See Forsell Par [2745]-[2746] which discloses a verification unit for two-part authentication, and would therefore constitute the data being accessible by an intermediary security entity that performs said two-part authentication).
Claim 9 –
Regarding Claim 9, Forsell and DeBates disclose the system of claim 1 in its entirety. Forsell further discloses a system, wherein:
the first control unit contains a communication logic configured to communicate with different implantable medical devices in order to query identification data of the implantable medical device, in particular a model and/or firmware version (The broadest reasonable interpretation of “and/or” is “or”, therefore only one of the alternatives elected above needs to be met, therefore see Forsell Par [0758] which discloses a computing unit adapted to communicate with the implant using a network protocol, i.e. “communication logic” under BRI; see Forsell Par [1500] which discloses the external device being configured to transmit data pertaining to the sensed parameter, such that the external device can be configured to add information to the data pertaining to the sensed parameter, such as those described in Forsell Par [1505]-[1513], i.e. implantable medical device data; See Forsell Par [3742] which discloses a computing unit deriving information related to the functional status of an operation device of the implant, i.e. also can be considered implantable medical device data; See Forsell Par [3407] which discloses a communication unit comprising means for communication; see Forsell Par [2974] & [3359] which discloses conductive communication may comprise feedback parameters relating to the functionality of the implant including version number of the implant and/or version of the control program, i.e. firmware/software version; See DeBates Par [0056] which specifically discloses additional device information associated with CP/CD and/or the remote care application may be included in the relayed/proxied request, such as, device identity, i.e. implant type/model version, application version data, i.e. firmware version, and/or any hard-coded device data, etc. RCSM 306 may be provided as part of a cloud-based service architecture and Debates Par [0060] discloses a request for information may be generated to (implantable medical device) IMD, which may include a request for the IMD's serial number)), wherein
the first control unit is further configured, based on the identification data, to read predetermined memory areas of the implantable medical device (see Forsell Par [0758] which discloses a computing unit adapted to communicate with the implant using a network protocol, i.e. “communication logic” under BRI; see Forsell Par [1500] which discloses the external device being configured to transmit data pertaining to the sensed parameter, such that the external device can be configured to add information to the data pertaining to the sensed parameter, such as those described in Forsell Par [1505]-[1513], i.e. implantable medical device data; See Forsell Par [3742] which discloses a computing unit deriving information related to the functional status of an operation device of the implant, i.e. also can be considered implantable medical device data; See Forsell Par [3407] which discloses a communication unit comprising means for communication; see Forsell Par [2974] & [3359] which discloses conductive communication may comprise feedback parameters relating to the functionality of the implant including version number of the implant and/or version of the control program, i.e. firmware/software version, and by accessing said data, would thereby be compatible with the version of the control program when said data established above and throughout Forsell is received).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Forsell, which already discloses transmitting data pertaining to the implant device and/or functional parameters thereof, to further specifically include querying identification data of the implantable device, including a serial number, as disclosed by DeBates, because this allows for tracking operations of a personal medical device, such as an implantable device, over time, and maintenance of said personal medical device, and ensuring a trusted associative relationship between the clinician programmer/device and a patient controller/device, and this being mediated via the corresponding IMD (See Debates Par [0060]).
Claim 10 –
Regarding Claim 10, Forsell and Debates disclose the system of claim 9 in its entirety. Forsell further discloses a system, wherein:
information contained in the predetermined memory areas of the implantable medical device comprises a current programming of the implantable medical device, trend data of the last 24 hours, last measured values from automatic tests, long-term trend data, a list of stored episodes, episode details of the episodes within the last 24 hours, patient data stored in the implant, and/or a predetermined interval of live IEGM data (The broadest reasonable interpretation of “and/or” is “or”, therefore only one of the alternatives elected above needs to be met, therefore see Forsell Par [2974] & [3359] which discloses conductive communication may comprise feedback parameters relating to the functionality of the implant including version number of the implant and/or version of the control program, i.e. current programming of the implantable medical device; See Forsell Par [2974] which discloses physiological parameters being stored in the memory of the implant or sensed in prior to transmitting the conductive communication, i.e. last measured values from automatic tests conducted by the implant, patient data stored in the implant, etc.; See Forsell Par [3455] which discloses measurements comprising recording a parameter event, i.e. episode, such as a movement detected by the sensors, and/or strength/power of a parameter measured exceeding a threshold, and the associated value of the event, constituting stored episodes and/or episode detail; while not IEGM data per se, see Forsell Par [01473]-[01474] which discloses the implant comprising a cardiac portion that is configured to sense at least one cardiac/heart parameter of the patient, and Forsell Par [1514] discloses the implant being an implantable cardioverter defibrillators, which is understood by Examiner to collect IEGM data).
Claim 12 –
Regarding Claim 12, Forsell and Debates disclose the system of claim 1 in its entirety. Forsell further discloses a system, wherein:
the cloud gateway is configured to distribute software updates to the cloud server (See Forsell Par [2736] which discloses external device being able to provide and control program updates and/or instructions, such that a database may be regularly updated to provide new or improved functionality of the implant or to mitigate previously undetected flaws, wherein the updated control program may be transmitted from the database in a push mode and optionally routed via one or more further external devices before received by the implant, such that as described in Forsell Par [2734], the external device may be cloud based or a virtual machine), wherein
the front-end communication unit is configured to query the cloud server for software updates (See Forsell Par [2736] which discloses external device being able to provide and control program updates and/or instructions, such that a database may be regularly updated to provide new or improved functionality of the implant or to mitigate previously undetected flaws, wherein the updated control program may be transmitted from the database in a push mode and optionally routed via one or more further external devices before received by the implant, such that as described in Forsell Par [2734], the external device may be cloud based or a virtual machine).
Claim 13 –
Regarding Claim 13, Forsell and Debates discloses the system of claim 12 in its entirety. Forsell further discloses a system, wherein:
the cloud server is configured to check on request of the front-end communication unit whether there is a distribution rule for the front-end communication unit, in particular based on a serial number and/or country/region of the front-end communication unit (The broadest reasonable interpretation of “and/or” is “or”, therefore only one of the alternatives elected above needs to be met, therefore see Forsell Par [2735]-[2736] which discloses updating or amending software of the implant, such that the supplier or producer of the implant may be connected to a database, and the database may be regularly update to provide new or improved functionality of the implant, and said update can be transmitted from the database to the device, and is understood to thereby include a serial number of the particular implant for updating, such that as in Forsell Par [3685]-[3691] the update may be verified via transmission of logging data and confirming the most recent update; See Forsell Par [2734] which discloses the external device having processing power to perform methods and functions needed to provide safe operation of the implant, and may be cloud based or a virtual machine; See Forsell Par [2974] & [3359] which discloses conductive communication may comprise feedback parameters relating to the functionality of the implant including version number of the implant and/or version of the control program, i.e. firmware/software version; While not relied upon, because Forsell discloses one of the alternatives elected, for purposes of furthering prosecution, see DeBates Par [0056] which specifically discloses additional device information associated with CP/CD and/or the remote care application may be included in the relayed/proxied request, such as, device identity, i.e. implant type/model version, application version data, i.e. firmware version, and/or any hard-coded device data, etc. RCSM 306 may be provided as part of a cloud-based service architecture and Debates Par [0060] discloses a request for information may be generated to (implantable medical device) IMD, which may include a request for the IMD's serial number)), wherein
if a software update is available, the cloud server is configured to notify the front-end communication unit about the update (See Forsell Par [2819] which discloses a communication unit of the implant including a feedback unit representing information relating to when the update of the software has started and when the update has finished, i.e. notifying about the update).
Claim 14 –
Regarding Claim 14, Forsell discloses the computer implemented method for communicating with an implantable medical device comprising the steps of:
reading out data from the implantable medical device by means of a front-end communication unit comprising a communication interface and a first control unit communicatively connected to the communication interface (See Forsell Par [1500] which discloses the external device being configured to transmit data pertaining to the sensed parameter, such that the external device can be configured to add information to the data pertaining to the sensed parameter, such as those described in Forsell Par [1505]-[1513]; See Forsell Par [3407] which discloses a communication unit comprising means for communication, such that an external device, i.e. front-end communication unit, can have a display, i.e. front-end, on which information regarding the sensed parameters can be presented);
transferring the data read out by the communication interface to a back-end communication unit by means of the first control unit (See Forsell Par [3227] which discloses storing authentication data and/or measured parameters of the patient in memory of the implant, i.e. back-end storage/communication units);
receiving the data transferred by the first control unit by means of a communication interface simulation unit comprised by the back-end communication unit (See Forsell Par [3227] which discloses storing authentication data and/or measured parameters of the patient in memory of the implant, i.e. back-end storage/communication units; See Forsell Par [3233]-[03234] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant, i.e. back-end communication/read out of data by a back-end communication unit);
simulating the communication interface by means of the communication interface simulation unit (“simulating” is understood to merely constitute making use of a communication interface, therefore see Forsell Par [3233]-[03234] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant);
reading out data from the communication interface simulation unit by means of a programmer app unit comprised by the back-end communication unit (See Forsell Par [3233]-[03237] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant, i.e. back-end communication/read out of data by a back-end communication unit, albeit not a “read out” per se); and
controlling the communication interface simulation unit and the programmer app unit by means of a second control unit comprised by the back-end communication unit in such a way that the data is saved, in particular as a report (See Forsell Par [3227] which discloses storing authentication data and/or measured parameters of the patient in memory of the implant, i.e. back-end storage/communication units; See Forsell Par [3233]-[03234] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant, i.e. back-end communication/read out of data by a back-end communication unit, albeit not recited for the data being saved, in particular, as a “report” per se), in a storage unit communicatively connected to the second control unit and/or the back-end communication unit, said data being accessible by a health care provider (See Forsell Par [3227] which discloses storing authentication data and/or measured parameters of the patient in memory of the implant, i.e. back-end storage/communication units; See Forsell Par [3233]-[03234] which discloses the system comprising the implant, the external device, and an optional second external device, such that the external device may be configured for receiving the encrypted data from the second external device and relaying the encrypted data to the implant, i.e. back-end communication/read out of data by a back-end communication unit, albeit not recited for the data being saved, in particular, as a “report” per se; See Forsell Par [1017] which discloses that the second external device is operated by a healthcare provider of the patient, thereby rendering accessible the data by the healthcare provider);
sending, via the wherein the front-end communication unit, metadata from the implantable medical device to the back-end communication unit (See Forsell Par [1500] which discloses the external device, front-end communication unit, being configured to transmit data pertaining to the sensed parameter before transmitting to the second external device, back-end communication unit, such that the external device can be configured to add information to the data pertaining to the sensed parameter, such as those described in Forsell Par [1505]-[1513] & [2169], i.e. metadata);
determining, via the back-end communication unit, which memory areas the front-end communication unit is to query (See Forsell Par [3061]-[3066] which discloses including metadata identifying data relating to the previously transmitted set of instructions, including upon determining that the extracted previously transmitted set of instructions equals the previously received instructions stored in the implant, the authenticity of the received first combined set of instructions may be determined as valid, thereby determining which memory areas to query and transmit instructions to); and
transmitting, via the back-end communication unit, information on said memory areas to the front-end communication unit (See Forsell Par [3061]-[3066] which discloses including metadata identifying data relating to the previously transmitted set of instructions, including upon determining that the extracted previously transmitted set of instructions equals the previously received instructions stored in the implant, the authenticity of the received first combined set of instructions may be determined as valid, thereby determining which memory areas to query and transmit instructions to).
While Forsell generally discloses transmitting data pertaining to sensed parameters, such that the external device can be configured to add information to the data pertaining to the sensed parameter and/or implant device itself, and a communication unit comprising means for communication, such that an external device, i.e. front-end communication unit, can have a display, i.e. front-end, on which information regarding the sensed parameters can be presented, Forsell does not explicitly mention a “read out” or “read out data” per se and/or the data being saved “as a report” per se.
However, DeBates explicitly discloses providing “read out” or “read out data” from an implant by a programming device (See DeBates Par [0060] which specifically discloses a request for information may be generated to (implantable medical device) IMD, which may include a request for the IMD's serial number, time/date of when the IMD is implanted in the patient (e.g., a timestamp indicative of first implantation and/or subsequent (re)implantations if performed), a measurement or read-out of any device, and more) and data being saved “as a report” per se (See DeBates Par [0075] which discloses a historical record of all such interactions, modifications, reconfigurations, etc., being generated with respect to the IMD and patient device may be maintained and transmitted to server, and a clinician may not only be able to monitor and evaluate the patient based on a number of real-time variables, but also access the historical record of all such interactions, modifications, reconfigurations, etc., and is thereby understood to constitute a “report”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Forsell, which already discloses transmitting data pertaining to sensed parameters, such that the external device can be configured to add information to the data pertaining to the sensed parameter and/or implant device itself, to further specifically include a “read out” or “read out data” per se, as disclosed by DeBates, because this allows for tracking operations of a personal medical device, such as an implantable device, over time, and maintenance of said personal medical device, and ensuring a trusted associative relationship between the clinician programmer/device and a patient controller/device, and this being mediated via the corresponding IMD (See Debates Par [0060]). It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Forsell, which already discloses storing data pertaining to sensed parameter and/or operating parameters of an implantable device, to further include data being saved “as a report” per se, as disclosed by DeBates, because this allows for future access of said report/record, e.g. by a clinician, for utilizing information in providing appropriate therapy and IMD operative settings (See DeBates Par [0075]).
Claim 15 –
Regarding Claim 15, Forsell and DeBates disclose a computer program with program code stored in non-transitory memory, the program code configured to perform the method of claim 14 when the computer program is executed on a computer (See Forsell Par [2756] which discloses non-transitory media for storing computerized instructions for performance of the methods recited throughout Forsell; See analysis of claim 14 above which is met by Forsell and DeBates).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112(a) & 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1-13, Applicant argues on p. 8-9 of Arguments/Remarks that the Applicant’s disclosure discusses its method as a computer-implemented method which is implemented by a computer program and therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the units as being part of the computer program and therefore at least implicitly discloses these units as including a processor and memory. Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. The legal standard for 35 U.S.C. 112(f) invocation states that “the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is the structure, material or act described in the specification as performing the entire claimed function and equivalents to the disclosed structure, material or act”. Therefore, without sufficient evidence or adequate disclosure for said invocation, the applicant has in effect failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention as required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and/or 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (See MPEP 2181(II)(A). While Applicant argues that the structure may be implicit or inherent in the Specification, there are several embodiments of computer program modules, units, etc., such as processors, microprocessors, processing circuitry, etc., that exist in the prior art, and therefore while one of these embodiments may be “implicitly” disclosed, said embodiments need to be specifically disclosed or claimed to convey possession and/or best mode requirements under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) at the very least. Therefore, Applicant will most likely need to amend the claims to remove the recitation of said “units” and/or functional language for invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Therefore, claims 1-10 & 12-15 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections of claim 15, Applicant argues on p. 9 of Arguments/Remarks that the claim has been amended to overcome previous issues regarding non-statutory subject matter being claimed. That is, the claim has been amended to now recite the computer program code being stored in a “non-transitory memory”. Examiner agrees with Applicant’s arguments. Therefore, this portion of the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection for claim 15 has been withdrawn. However, claim 15 still remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more, as explained below.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections of claims 1-15, Applicant argues on p. 9-10 of Arguments/Remarks that claims 1 & 14 require the back-end communication unit to determine which memory areas the front-end communication unit is to query, and therefore the claims are directed to a system of components wherein the claim limitations prescribe orchestrated operations between the components of the system. Applicant further argues that the claims are not only directed to a system of components acting in concert, a benefit of the claimed invention is the software operating on the front-end communication unit not requiring to be updated with each new implant model or implant firmware, because firmware updates can take a long time and slows down the whole communication process, representing a technical solution to a technical problem. Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. That is, the disclosure is directed towards “an improved implant communication system that is usable not only by medical practitioners but also by untrained medical staff and is generally widely accepted and universally available”. That is, Applicant does not necessarily direct the disclosure towards improvements regarding updates to said systems, and this aspect is not necessarily outlined as a technical problem found in prior art systems as described in Applicant’s Specification. Therefore, this aspect of the software operating on the front-end communication unit not requiring to be updated with each new implant model or implant firmware reads as a mere happenstance occurrence versus the directed improvement or inventive concept. Furthermore, it is generally well-known that keeping communication software separate from the actual operational software for the medical device/implant would thereby result in the communication software not having to be updated every time the operational software is updated, because they are two separate instances or environments of software. Therefore claims 1-10 & 12-15 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-15, Applicant argues on p. 10-11 of Arguments/Remarks that the previously applied Forsell Par [3061]-[3066] applied to claim 11 are applied to verifying authenticity of instructions by extracting a previously transmitted set of instructions that are stored in memory. More specifically Applicant argues that in the Forsell system, the “back-end communication unit” receives instructions and compares the received instructions to previously transmitted instructions, and that even when this operation in Forsell is purportedly misinterpreted as determining a memory area, the “back-end communication unit” is extracting the previously transmitted set of instructions, i.e. there is no determination by the “back end” for the “front end” as required by previous limitations of claim 11 now incorporated in to the amended independent claims. Applicant further reasons that DeBates fails to cure the purported deficiencies of Forsell. Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Applicant seems to be imparting a more specific embodiment than what is actually found in the argued limitations. That is, while Forsell mentions aspects of an authenticity check can very well be determining a memory area at least by performing a check of the software that is stored therein, Examiner contends that these aspects still constitute a back-end component determining a memory area at the front-end to query. That is, Forsell Par [3061]-[3066] discloses including metadata identifying data relating to the previously transmitted set of instructions, including upon determining that the extracted previously transmitted set of instructions equals the previously received instructions stored in the implant, the authenticity of the received first combined set of instructions may be determined as valid, and following this, the flow of information to said implant’s memory is allowed/queried, i.e. the memory area is determined as the appropriate storage for the instructions that match the previous set of instructions. Therefore, this back-end check for authenticity effectively queries and determines what memory is the appropriate storage for the instructions that match the previous set of instructions and constitutes a back-end component determining a memory area at the front-end with which to query/communicate. Additionally, because Forsell reads on the entirety of these limitations, Debates does not have to cure any purported deficiencies of Forsell. As such, independent claims 1 & 14 and claims dependent therefrom remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-15, Applicant argues on p. 11-12 of Arguments/Remarks that because independent claims 1 & 14 are purportedly allowable over the prior art, dependent claims 2-10, 12-13 & 15 which depend from independent claims 1 & 14 are also purportedly allowable over prior art systems, by virtue of dependency. Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. That is, as shown above, independent claims 1 & 14 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments regarding said independent claims 1 & 14 being purportedly allowable over the prior art systems are rendered moot. As such, dependent claims 2-10, 12-13 & 15 also remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Brill et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0262609) discloses a system for programming control circuit for communicating with one or more implantable devices, including at Par [0065] which specifically describes an implantable system, an external system, and a telemetry link providing for wireless communication between implantable system and external system such that instructions between said systems can be transferred, communicated, etc.;
Yoder et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0216611) discloses a telemetry connectivity system between an implantable device and a remote device;
Thompson et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0167587) discloses a system comprising an implantable device with a multi-mode programmer for medical device communication, including front-end and back-end communication instances.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3684
/Shahid Merchant/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3684