Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “21234” in FIGS. 9A and 9B has been used to designate two different components in the figures. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 features a limitation with a missing conjunction “is configured [sic] that the sliding plate opening and the clamping plate opening are sealedly engaged.” The limitation has been construed to be “is configured so that the sliding plate opening and the clamping plate opening are sealedly engaged.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites that “the flexible rubber ring protrudes from an edge of the clamping plate opening.” It is not clear whether the claim is referring to the edge of the clamping plate set forth in claim 1 or declaring a separate edge of the clamping plate. For examination purposes, the claim limitation has been construed to be “the flexible rubber ring protrudes from the edge of the clamping plate opening.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolff (US20190335967A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wolff discloses a dust bag (filter bag 304), wherein the dust bag is configured to be detachably installed on a dust bag holder, (filter bag 304 is detachably installed on receptacle 130; see FIG. 4 and ¶[0086])
and the dust bag comprises: a dust bag body; (see FIGS. 5-6: receptacle 302 of the filter bag 304)
a clamping plate, fixedly connected to the dust bag body, wherein the clamping plate has a clamping plate opening, (collar 312 fixedly connected to filter bag 304, wherein collar 312 has an opening 308) and the clamping plate opening serves as an inlet of the dust bag; (opening 308 serves as an inlet of filter bag 304)
and a sliding plate, slidably connected to the clamping plate and configured to switch between a closed position and an open position, (cover 314 is slidably connected to collar 312 and switches between a closed position and an open position; see ¶[0062]-[0063])
wherein the sliding plate shields the clamping plate opening in response to the sliding plate being in the closed position (cover 314 shields opening 308 when cover 314 is in the closed position) and the sliding plate exposes the clamping plate opening in response to the sliding plate being in the open position, (cover 314 exposes opening 308 when cover 314 is in the open position)
wherein a flexible rubber ring is disposed on an edge of the clamping plate opening, (seal 316 is formed of rubber and disposed on the edge of opening 317) and is configured that, in response to the dust bag being installed on the dust bag holder, the clamping plate opening and a dust outlet interface on the dust bag holder are sealedly engaged (when filter bag 304 is installed in receptacle 302, opening 317 and outlet 119 are sealedly engaged; see FIG. 1 and ¶[0058]).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff further discloses that the sliding plate has a sliding plate opening; (cover 314 has an opening)
in response to the sliding plate being in the closed position, the sliding plate opening and the clamping plate opening do not overlap, such that the sliding plate shields the clamping plate opening; (when cover 314 is in the closed position, the opening of 314 and opening 317 do not overlap, such that cover 314 shields opening 317; see ¶[0062])
and in response to the sliding plate being in the open position, the sliding plate opening and the clamping plate opening substantially coincide, such that the sliding plate exposes the clamping plate opening (when cover 314 is in the open position, the opening of 314 and opening 317 coincide, such that cover 314 exposes opening 317 as shown in FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff further discloses that the flexible rubber ring protrudes from the edge of the clamping plate opening towards the sliding plate; (see ¶[0058]: rubber seal 316 protrudes from the opening 317 towards cover 314;)
and in response to the sliding plate being in the open position, the flexible rubber ring protrudes through the sliding plate opening towards a direction away from the sliding plate, (in response to cover 314 being in the open position, rubber seal 316 protrudes from the opening of cover 314 towards the conduit 114, in a direct away from cover 314) and is configured so that the sliding plate opening and the clamping plate opening are sealedly engaged (the rubber seal 316 results in the opening of cover 314 and opening 317 being sealedly engaged).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff further discloses that the sliding plate is slidable in a first direction relative to the clamping plate; (cover 314 is slidable in a first direction relative to the collar 312, denoted in the annotated FIG. 5 below)
the sliding plate comprises a position limiting bump, (cover 314 has a protruding bump that limits the position of the cover; see annotated FIG. 5 below)
the position limiting bump is disposed on at least one side of the sliding plate and protrudes from the sliding plate in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; (the position limiting bump is disposed on one side of cover 314 and protrudes from cover 314 in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction)
and the clamping plate comprises position limiting components, (collar 312 comprises components that limit the position of the collar 314)
the position limiting components are disposed at two ends of the clamping plate in the first direction, and configured to block the position limiting bump in the first direction (the position limiting components are disposed at two ends of the collar 312 along the first direction and block the position limiting bump in the first direction).
Regarding claim 6, Wolff discloses a self-cleaning dust collection seat (evacuation station 100, a seat for an autonomous cleaning robot), comprising:
a dust bag holder, disposed in a dust collection bin of the self-cleaning dust collection seat; (receptacle 130 disposed in housing 101)
and a dust bag configured to be detachably installed on the dust bag holder, (filter bag 304 detachably installed in receptacle 130; see also ¶[0086]) the dust bag comprising: a dust bag body; (filter bag 304 comprising receptacle 302)
a clamping plate, fixedly connected to the dust bag body, wherein the clamping plate has a clamping plate opening, (collar 312 fixedly connected to filter bag 304, wherein collar 312 has an opening 308) and the clamping plate opening serves as an inlet of the dust bag; (opening 308 serves as an inlet of filter bag 304)
and a sliding plate, slidably connected to the clamping plate and configured to switch between a closed position and an open position, (cover 314 is slidably connected to collar 312 and switches between a closed position and an open position; see ¶[0062]-[0063])
wherein the sliding plate shields the clamping plate opening in response to the sliding plate being in the closed position (cover 314 shields opening 308 when cover 314 is in the closed position) and the sliding plate exposes the clamping plate opening in response to the sliding plate being in the open position, (cover 314 exposes opening 308 when cover 314 is in the open position)
wherein a flexible rubber ring is disposed on an edge of the clamping plate opening, (seal 316 is formed of rubber and disposed on the edge of opening 317) and is configured that, in response to the dust bag being installed on the dust bag holder, the clamping plate opening and a dust outlet interface on the dust bag holder are sealedly engaged, (when filter bag 304 is installed in receptacle 302, opening 317 and outlet 119 are sealedly engaged; see FIG. 1 and ¶[0058])
wherein a hollow cavity is provided inside the dust bag holder, (there is a hollow cavity within receptacle 130) and the hollow cavity serves as part of an air duct of the self-cleaning dust collection seat (the hollow cavity serves as part of air flow 116; see ¶[0050]).
Regarding claim 12, Wolff discloses a dust collection system, (see FIG. 2) comprising: an automatic cleaning device (robot 200) and a self-cleaning dust collection seat (evacuation station 100), the self-cleaning dust collection seat comprises:
a dust bag holder, disposed in a dust collection bin of the self-cleaning dust collection seat, (receptacle 130 disposed in housing 10) and
a dust bag, (filter bag 304) wherein the dust bag is configured to be detachably installed on the dust bag holder, (filter bag 304 is detachably installed on receptacle 130; see also ¶[0086])
and the dust bag comprises: a dust bag body; (see FIGS. 5-6: receptacle 302 of the filter bag 304)
a clamping plate, fixedly connected to the dust bag body, wherein the clamping plate has a clamping plate opening, (collar 312 fixedly connected to filter bag 304, wherein collar 312 has an opening 308) and the clamping plate opening serves as an inlet of the dust bag; (opening 308 serves as an inlet of filter bag 304)
and a sliding plate, slidably connected to the clamping plate and configured to switch between a closed position and an open position, (cover 314 is slidably connected to collar 312 and switches between a closed position and an open position; see ¶[0062]-[0063])
wherein the sliding plate shields the clamping plate opening in response to the sliding plate being in the closed position (cover 314 shields opening 308 when cover 314 is in the closed position) and the sliding plate exposes the clamping plate opening in response to the sliding plate being in the open position, (cover 314 exposes opening 308 when cover 314 is in the open position)
wherein a flexible rubber ring is disposed on an edge of the clamping plate opening, (seal 316 is formed of rubber and disposed on the edge of opening 317) and is configured that, in response to the dust bag being installed on the dust bag holder, the clamping plate opening and a dust outlet interface on the dust bag holder are sealedly engaged, (when filter bag 304 is installed in receptacle 302, opening 317 and outlet 119 are sealedly engaged; see FIG. 1 and ¶[0058])
wherein a hollow cavity is provided inside the dust bag holder, (there is a hollow cavity within receptacle 130) and the hollow cavity serves as part of an air duct of the self-cleaning dust collection seat (the hollow cavity serves as part of air flow 116; see ¶[0050]).
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff further discloses that the sliding plate is slidable in a first direction relative to the clamping plate; (cover 314 is slidable in a first direction relative to the collar 312, denoted in the annotated FIG. 5 in the discussion of claim 4 above)
the sliding plate comprises a position limiting bump, (cover 314 has a protruding bump that limits the position of the cover; see the annotated FIG. 5 in the discussion of claim 4 above)
the position limiting bump is disposed on at least one side of the sliding plate and protrudes from the sliding plate in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; (the position limiting bump is disposed on one side of cover 314 and protrudes from cover 314 in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction)
and the clamping plate comprises position limiting components, (collar 312 comprises components that limit the position of the collar 314)
the position limiting components are disposed at two ends of the clamping plate in the first direction, and configured to block the position limiting bump in the first direction (the position limiting components are disposed at two ends of the collar 312 along the first direction and block the position limiting bump in the first direction).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff further discloses that the sliding plate is slidable in a first direction relative to the clamping plate; (cover 314 is slidable in a first direction relative to the collar 312, denoted in the annotated FIG. 5 in the discussion of claim 4 above)
the sliding plate comprises a position limiting bump, (cover 314 has a protruding bump that limits the position of the cover; see the annotated FIG. 5 in the discussion of claim 4 above)
the position limiting bump is disposed on at least one side of the sliding plate and protrudes from the sliding plate in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; (the position limiting bump is disposed on one side of cover 314 and protrudes from cover 314 in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction)
and the clamping plate comprises position limiting components, (collar 312 comprises components that limit the position of the collar 314)
the position limiting components are disposed at two ends of the clamping plate in the first direction, and configured to block the position limiting bump in the first direction (the position limiting components are disposed at two ends of the collar 312 along the first direction and block the position limiting bump in the first direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (US20190335967A1) in view of Gilbert (WO0135808A1).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff does not further teach that the sliding plate further comprises a handle disposed on an end of the sliding plate in the first direction.
However, Gilbert, in the same or similar field of endeavor related to vacuum dust bags with sliding components teaches a sliding plate with a handle disposed on an end of the sliding plate in the direction the plate slides in (closing plate 7 has a handle P on an end of the closing plate 7 in the direction the plate slides in; see Gilbert FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sliding plate of Wolff to comprise a handle disposed on an end of the sliding plate in the first direction, as taught by Gilbert. One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the user has an ergonomic means of moving the sliding plate for optimum efficiency.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, the rejections of claims 2 and 3 are incorporated in this rejection, respectively. Wolff does not further teach that the sliding plate further comprises a handle disposed on an end of the sliding plate in the first direction.
However, Gilbert, in the same or similar field of endeavor related to vacuum dust bags with sliding components teaches a sliding plate with a handle disposed on an end of the sliding plate in the direction the plate slides in (closing plate 7 has a handle P on an end of the closing plate 7 in the direction the plate slides in; see Gilbert FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sliding plate of Wolff to comprise a handle disposed on an end of the sliding plate in the first direction, as taught by Gilbert. One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the user has an ergonomic means of moving the sliding plate for optimum efficiency.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (US20190335967A1) in view of Morin (US20160183752A1)
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff further discloses a holder side wall of the dust bag holder facing inside of the dust collection bin is provided with the dust outlet interface, (see FIG. 4: a side wall of receptacle 130 is provided with outlet 119)
the dust outlet interface is configured to be engaged with an inlet of the dust bag; (see FIG. 1: outlet 119 is configured to be engaged with an inlet of filter bag 304)
Wolff does not teach that the dust bag holder further comprises a sliding baffle slidable on the holder side wall and configured to switch between a first position and a second position, and the sliding baffle shields the dust outlet interface in response to the sliding baffle being in the first position, and the sliding baffle exposes the dust outlet interface in response to the sliding baffle being in the second position.
However, Morin in the same or similar field of endeavor related to autonomous vacuum docking stations, teaches a dust bag holder comprising a sliding baffle on a holder side wall and is configured to switch between a first position and a second position, (canister 110 comprising flow control device 1250 on a sidewall of conduit 304 switching between a first position, shown in FIG. 12B, and a second position, shown in FIG. 12A; see Morin ¶[0079]-[0081])
and the sliding baffle shields a dust outlet interface in response to the sliding baffle being in the first position, (the flow control device 1250 covers the dust outlet interface, identified in annotated FIG. 12B of Morin below, when the flow control device 1250 is in the first position)
and the sliding baffle exposes the dust outlet interface in response to the sliding baffle being in the second position (flow control device 1250 exposes the dust outlet interface when flow control device 1250 is in the second position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust bag holder of Wolff to comprise a sliding baffle slidable on the holder side wall and configured to switch between a first position and a second position, and the sliding baffle shields the dust outlet interface in response to the sliding baffle being in the first position, and the sliding baffle exposes the dust outlet interface in response to the sliding baffle being in the second position, as taught by Morin. One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the dust collecting pile can also filter the surrounding air when the debris is not being actively transferred into the pile body (see Morin ¶[0050]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (US20190335967A1) in view of Morin (US20160183752A1), further in view of Corney (US20070214755A1).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff further teaches that the dust bag holder comprises a sliding chute, (receptacle 130 comprises conduit 114, a chute in which debris would slide up through)
and at least part of the sliding baffle is located inside the sliding chute, such that the sliding baffle slides along an extension direction of the sliding chute; (as modified by Morin in the discussion of claim 7, at least part of the flow control device of Morin would be located in conduit 114 such that it slides along an extending direction of the conduit 114, shown in annotated FIG. 1 below)
and the clamping plate and the sliding plate are configured to be inserted into the sliding chute to slide along the extension direction of the sliding chute, such that the dust bag is installed on the dust bag holder; (collar 312 and cover 314 are configured to be insertable into the chute to slide in the extension direction so that filter bag 304 is mounted to conduit 308; see also Wolff ¶[0063]),
in response to the dust bag being installed on the dust bag holder, the flexible rubber ring is abutted against an edge of the dust outlet interface, such that the clamping plate opening and the dust outlet interface are engaged (when filter bag 304 is installed in receptacle 130, seal 316 abuts against an edge of outlet 119 such that opening 308 and outlet 119 are engaged).
Wolff, as modified, does not teach that the clamping plate and the sliding plate are configured to be inserted into the sliding chute to push the sliding baffle to slide along the extension direction of the sliding chute, such that the dust bag is installed on the dust bag holder; in response to the dust bag being installed on the dust bag holder, the sliding plate is located in the open position to expose the clamping plate opening, and the sliding baffle is located in the second position to expose the dust outlet interface.
However, Morin teaches that in response to a dust bag being mounted on a dust bag holder, the sliding baffle is in the second position to expose the dust outlet interface (see Morin ¶[0019] and [0073]: when filter bag 1050 is mounted on the end of debris intake conduit 202 shown in FIG. 10B, the flow control device 1250 is the second position shown in 12A during evacuation mode to expose the dust outlet interface).
Additionally, Morin teaches that the dust collection seat will not operate in evacuation mode when the dust bag is not properly mounted on the dust bag holder (see Morin ¶[0073]: “detecting when the filter bag 1050 is not present in the canister 110 prevents the evacuation station 100 from operating in the evacuation mode”). When the dust bag (filter bag 1050) is mounted in the dust bag holder (canister 110), the seat allows the evacuation mode to operate and thereof pushes the sliding baffle (flow control device 1250) into the position shown in FIG. 12B along the extension direction of the chute (conduit 304). When the clamping plate and the sliding plate of Wolff are inserted into the sliding chute, the dust bag is mounted within the dust bag holder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection seat of Wolff, as modified, so that the clamping plate and the sliding plate are configured to be inserted into the sliding chute to push the sliding baffle to slide along the extension direction of the sliding chute and so that in response to the dust bag being mounted on the bag support, the sliding baffle is in the second position, as taught by Morin. One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the debris is contained and does not become dislodged within other parts of the dust collecting pile and causing damage to the motor and fan (see Morin ¶[0073]).
Corney (US20070214755A1) teaches that in response to the dust bag being installed on a dust bag holder, the sliding plate is located in the open position to expose a plate opening (see FIGS. 10A-10D and 11A-11D: when bag 28 is mounted on nozzle 26, top panel 48 of collar 30—shown in FIGS. 2-3—is in a position in which aperture 35 is exposed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collecting pile of Wolff, as modified, so that in response to the dust bag being installed on the dust bag holder, the sliding plate is located in the open position to expose the clamping plate opening, as taught by Corney. One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the debris “may be disposed without concern that dirt within bag (28) will escape” (Corney ¶[0020]).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, does not teach that the dust bag holder is provided with an elastic component, the elastic component is connected to the sliding baffle and configured such that the sliding baffle has a tendency to be in the first position.
However, Morin further teaches that there may be an elastic component connected to the sliding baffle and configured such that the sliding baffle has a tendency to be in the first position (“flow control device 1250 is spring biased towards the first position or the second position”; see Morin ¶[0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust bag holder of Wolff, as modified, to be provided with an elastic component connected to the sliding baffle and configured such that the sliding baffle has a tendency to be in the first position, as taught by Morin. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to keep the baffle firmly in position and prevent the baffle from moving around. As the baffle is used to selectively obstruct the flow of air, the baffle would not be effective in serving its purpose if the baffle moved with the air flow.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (US20190335967A1) in view of Morin (US20160183752A1) and Corney (US20070214755A1), further in view of Gilbert (WO0135808A1).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, does not teach that the clamping plate is provided with a clamping plate slot; a snap fastener is disposed in the sliding chute; and in response to the dust bag being installed on the dust bag holder, the snap fastener is clamped into the clamping plate slot.
However, Gilbert (WO0135808A1), in the same or similar field of endeavor related to dust collection bags, teaches that a clamping plate is provided with a clamping plate slot; (see Gilbert FIG. 1: rigid plate 3 of a dust bag is provided with window 5)
a snap fastener is disposed in the sliding chute; (lug 10, which fastens the plates together by snapping into place, is provided in the fastening device 1 for a passage through opening 4)
and in response to the dust bag being installed on the dust bag holder, the snap fastener is clamped into the clamping plate slot (when the bag is installed in place, lug 10 is clamped into window 5; see also Gilbert Trans. Pg. 2, Lines 37-57 and FIGS. 4, 4a, and 4b)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collection seat of Wolff, as modified, so that the clamping plate is provided with a clamping plate slot; a snap fastener is disposed in the sliding chute; and in response to the dust bag being installed on the dust bag holder, the snap fastener is clamped into the clamping plate slot, as taught by Gilbert.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to use a simple and inexpensive mechanism to keep the openings aligned to prevent leakage of the dust bag contents (Gilbert Trans. Page 2, Lines 32-33).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, does not teach a sliding plate with an unlocking bump configured to disengage the snap fastener from the clamping plate slot during a process of disassembling the dust bag from the dust bag holder.
However, Gilbert further teaches a sliding plate with an unlocking bump, (closing plate 7 has a shoulder 9; see FIGS. 1 and 4, 4a, and 4b)
the unlocking bump is configured to disengage the snap fastener from the clamping plate slot during a process of disassembling the dust bag from a dust bag holder (shoulder 9 disengages lug 10 from window 5 during a process of removing the dust bag from attachment device 1; see also Gilbert Trans. Page 2, Lines 44-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sliding plate of Wolff, as modified, with an unlocking bump configured to disengage the snap fastener from the clamping plate slot during a process of disassembling the dust bag from the dust bag holder, as taught by Gilbert.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to use a simple and inexpensive mechanism to keep the openings aligned to prevent leakage of the dust bag contents (Gilbert Trans. Page 2, Lines 32-33).
Conclusion
/C.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723