Claims 1, 10, 14, 17, 19-21, 23, and 25-26 are pending in this application.
Election with traverse
Applicant's election with traverse of the species prosulfocarb in the reply filed on 6/3/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has “improperly grouped the claimed subject matter into distinct species solely on the basis of the structure of the ‘second herbicide.’” According to Applicant, “the special technical feature lies in the interaction between napropamide … and the selected second herbicide, which yields enhanced and selective weed control.” However, Kotzian (WO 2006/063835) explicitly discloses the synergistic herbicidal combination and composition of napropamide and inhibitors of VLCFAs, including the elected prosulfocarb, which exceeds additive effect, broadens the range of action, reduces rates of application, and achieves a high level of weed control (page 1, lines 30-36; paragraph bridging pages 2-3; page 3, lines 10-11; claims 1-8). Thus, any shared or corresponding technical relationship among the species fails to make a contribution over the prior art, and the species are held as lacking unity of invention.
The requirement to elect a species is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1, 10, 14, 17, 19-21, 23, and 25-26 will presently be examined to the extent that they read on the elected subject matter.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph
Claims 1, 10, 14, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 are directed to a “herbicidal combination” (emphasis added) for controlling weeds, the combination comprising napropamide and a second herbicide. It is unclear what the full scope of "combination" encompasses. U.S. Patent statutes permit inventions directed to a process, machine, article of manufacture, or composition of matter. Here, it appears that a “combination” could be read to include a composition, process and/or article of manufacture (two separate containers, one for napropamide and another for the second herbicide). Applicant must choose one category of invention for each claim. The claim is rejected for being unclear as to which category of invention the claimed invention is directed.
Remaining claims are included in this ground of rejection because they do not cure the deficiency of the base claim.
35 USC 101
Claims 1, 10, 14, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. As stated previously in this Office action, it is unclear which category of invention “combination” encompasses, if any.
Prior art-based grounds of rejection
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kotzian (WO 2006/063835).
Kotzian explicitly discloses herbicidal combination of prosulfocarb + napropamide (page 3, lines 10-11). Claim 1 is thereby anticipated.
Claims 1, 10, 14, 17, 19-21, 23, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotzian (WO 2006/063835) in view of Kotzian (WO 2006/063834).
Kotzian (WO 2006/063835; hereinafter, Kotzian ‘835 discloses herbicidal combination, composition, and weed control method wherein prosulfocarb and napropamide are used together (page 3, lines 10-11; claims 1-8). See also page 1, line 3-17. The combination “exhibits a synergistic action” (page 1, lines 30-36), which exceeds additive effect, broadens the range of action, reduces rates of application, and achieves a high level of weed control (paragraph bridging pages 2-3). 25:1 to 1:25 mixture ratio is disclosed (page 3, lines 23-25). Application rate includes 1-5 kg per hectare (page 3, lines 27-34). Formulation with additives, carriers, solvents, and surfactants (page 5, line 8 to page 7, line 23), and concentration range of 0.1-99 wt%, including preferably 0.1-5% as dusts, 0.5-15 wt% as granules, 10-50 wt% as suspension concentrates,60-90 wt% as emulsifiable concentrates, are disclosed (page 9, line 10 to page 11, line 47). Additional herbicide can be added (page 7, lines 25-26).
Kotzian (WO 2006/063834; hereinafter, Kotzian ‘834) discloses herbicidal combination, composition, and weed control method wherein prosulfocarb and diflufenican (a Group F1, inhibitor of PDS, bleaching herbicide) are used together (page 3, lines 10-11; claims 1, 3-7). See also page 1, line 3-17. The combination “exhibits a synergistic action” (page 1, lines 31-36), which exceeds additive effect, broadens the range of action, reduces rates of application, and achieves a high level of weed control (paragraph bridging pages 2-3). 50:1 to 1:50 mixture ratio is disclosed (page 3, lines 25-27). Application rate includes 1-5 kg per hectare (page 3, lines 29-36). Formulation with adjuvants, carriers, solvents, and surfactants (page 5, line 8 to page 7, line 23), and concentration range of 0.1-99 wt%, including preferably 0.1-5% as dusts, 0.5-15 wt% as granules, 10-50 wt% as suspension concentrates,60-90 wt% as emulsifiable concentrates, are disclosed (page 9, line 10 to page 11, line 45). Additional herbicide can be added (page 7, lines 25-26).
Kotzian ‘835 does not explicitly disclose diflufenican as a third herbicide, the first two herbicides being prosulfocarb and napropamide However, Kotzian ‘835 discloses further addition of another herbicide, and diflufenican is known to exhibit synergistic activity with prosulfocarb from Kotzian ‘834. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to add diflufenican for the multiple advantages of additional synergy and broad spectrum of control. All other claim features would have been obvious from the ratio and application rates taught by the prior art.
Therefore, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, because every element of the invention and the claimed invention as a whole have been fairly disclosed or suggested by the teachings of the cited references.
For these reasons, all claims are rejected. No claim is allowed.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's SPE, Fereydoun Sajjadi, can be reached on (571)272-3311. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/JOHN PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699