DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I (i.e., claims 1 and 9-11) in the reply filed on 9/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicants’ amendment of claim 1 is acknowledged. Applicant’s cancellation of claims 5-8 and 12-24 is acknowledged.
Since the applicant elected group I (i.e., claims 1 and 9-11), therefore, based on that election, claims 2, 3 and 4 are withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected group.
With regards to the applicant’s remarks filed 9/23/2026, the examiner acknowledges the referenced specification paragraph and applicant’s arguments concerning the alleged absence of a teaching of “Au₁₈(L-NIBC)₁₄” in WO 2021/184762 A1 (WUHAN VAST CONDUCT SCIENCE FOUND CO LTD [CN]) 23 September 2021 in view of WO 2021/226736 A1 (SHENZHEN PROFOUND VIEW PHARMACEUTICAL TECH CO LTD [CN]) 18 November 2021, disclosed in the IDS filed 06/28/2024. However, the examiner respectfully maintains the restriction in light of Gautier et al. (“Cyrille Gautier, Thomas Bürgi; Chiral Inversion of Gold Nanoparticles.” Journal American Chemical Society 4 June 2008; 130 (22): 7077–7084.) that explicitly teaches the instant composition and explained in detail below (Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102).
Accordingly, a skilled artisan seeking to obtain a particular L-NIBC-bound gold cluster would have been motivated to investigate variations of the disclosed preparation conditions, isolate the resulting compounds and characterize their compositions using appropriate analytical techniques. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so due to the existence of known synthesis methods and ability to vary reaction parameters that support the feasibility of experimentation. Thus, Gautier’s particular claimed molecular formula would have been an expected result of routine experimentation of Wuhan and Shenzhen disclosed L-N-isobutyryl cysteine (L-NIBC)-bound gold cluster of formula (L-NIBC-AuCs).
The applicant also refers to corresponding Australian, European and Japanese applications that were granted. Those grants may be useful context, but they do not independently establish that the U.S. claims are patentable or unpatentable and are not binding on the USPTO. The underlying claim scope, prior art record and examination reasoning must be assessed in the relevant jurisdiction.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 and 9-11 are pending. The preliminary amendment was filed on 6/28/2024, wherein the applicant amended claims 2-4 and 9-11, and canceled claims 5-8 and 12-24. There are no new claims.
Claims 1 and 9-11 are under consideration in the instant office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gautier et al. (“Cyrille Gautier, Thomas Bürgi; Chiral Inversion of Gold Nanoparticles.” Journal American Chemical Society 4 June 2008; 130(22): 7077–7084.) herein referred to as Gautier.
Regarding claims 1 and 9-11, Gautier teaches the instant composition as the first set of experiments was performed with the gold NPs covered by either N-isobutyryl-L-cysteine (NILC) or N-isobutyryl-D-cysteine (NIDC, Chart 1 on page 7079). These particles were separated by polyacrylamide gel electrophoresis (PAGE) into eight well-defined compounds, i.e., compounds with a precise number of gold atoms and ligands (Para. 1, Lines 1-4, Results and Discussion, Effect of Dissolved Oxygen on Core-Size Retention during the Thiolate-for-Thiolate Ligand Exchange on page 7078). Gautier explicitly teaches Au10(NIC)10, Au15(NIC)13, and Au18(NIC)14 similar to the compound of claim 1 (Para. 1, Line 10, Results and Discussion, Effect of Dissolved Oxygen on Core-Size Retention during the Thiolate-for-Thiolate Ligand Exchange on page 7078). Gautier also discloses that further experiments were performed under an inert atmosphere with the species 2 and 3 of the gold NPs protected with NILC, which correspond, respectively, to Au15(NILC)13 and Au18(NILC)14. These compounds can be isolated again after 1 h of reaction with the ligand of opposite absolute configuration by UF and PAGE in order to eliminate the small contribution of NPs of different sizes (Para. 1, Lines 1-5, Inversion of the Absolute Configuration of the Ligands).
Gautier teaches the thiolate-for-thiolate ligand exchange was performed on well-defined gold nanoparticles under an inert atmosphere without any modification of the core size (Abstract). Gautier teaches the following chemical structures of the thiols used (Chart 1, pg. 7079)
The scope of Gautier’s compounds overlaps with the L-N-isobutyryl cysteine (L-NIBC)-bound gold cluster molecule composition of the instant claims and includes the specific gold cluster molecule recited in Applicant’s claim 1, i.e., Au18(L-NIC)14, which is the same compound that Applicant refers to as Au18(L-NIBC)14.
With regards to claims 10 and 11, the examiner notes the phrases “is used as a component in a mixture of gold cluster molecules in the composition, the L-NIBC-bound gold cluster molecule Au₁₈(L-NIBC)₁₄ has a chromatographic content of at least 7% in the mixture” and “wherein the disease is one selected from the group consisting of multiple sclerosis, Alzheimer's disease (AD), liver cirrhosis, Type 2 diabetes, Parkinson's disease (PD), and glaucoma”. This claim language is not a structural or functional limitation but a statement of intended use. Under MPEP 1504.04, such language is generally given no patentable weight and cannot be used to distinguish prior art or support non-obviousness
Based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed anticipated over the cited art.
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 9-11 are rejected. Claims 2-4 are withdrawn. No claims are allowed.
/SAHAR INAM/
Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622