DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 5 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated Coupland et al. (US 3,498,916) by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Coupland et al. (US 3,498,916)
In regards to claim 1, Coupland teaches a lubricant composition comprising substituted 2-hydroxyphenylamine compounds as antioxidants (abstract). The composition comprises a lubricant base (i.e., basestock) and an antioxidant (column 1 lines 68 – 69). The antioxidant can be a structure analogous to the structure of the claim, wherein in the claimed structure of formula I, R2, R3 are t-butyl, R1 is hydrogen, and taken together the R groups total 8 carbon atoms (column 2 lines 65 – 69). The composition is useful as crankcase oil formulations for engines and can comprise additional additives (column 3 lines 1 – 22). In one embodiment, the compound of the recited structure is present as antioxidant at 0.3% in the composition (Table 7). Since the antioxidant is one of several options, the claim is anticipated or at least obvious.
In regards to claim 5, Coupland teaches the lubricant having the antioxidant in the claimed amount as previously stated.
In regards to claim 6, Coupland teaches the composition having the claimed additives (column 3 lines 19 – 22).
In regards to claim 7 – 12, Coupland teaches the composition which can comprise conventional additives but does not particularly recite the claimed additives at the claimed amounts. As already established on record (see Non-Final Rejection dated 03/18/2025), engine oils are known to conventionally comprise the recited ingredients in the claimed amounts in view of Rowland et al. (US 2018/0079987) and thus the use of the recited additives in the amounts recited by Rowland in the composition of Coupland which allows for the use of conventional engine oil additives would have been obvious.
In regards to claims 13 – 19, Coupland teaches the composition having the claimed composition. The composition does not require the presence of diarylamine or in the recited amounts. The composition is useful for engine oils and thus the when applied to the engines the method of lubricating the engine, improving oxidative resistance of the oil comprising the antioxidant, and reducing viscosity increase of a crankcase during operation and/or testing, and the method of reducing acid number of a crankcase lubricant during operation and/or testing are intrinsically provided.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771