DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (WO 2022177185) in view of Wolff (US PG Pub No. 20220061612).
In regards to claim 1, Song discloses
a self-cleaning dust collection base (cleaner station 10, fig. 1, 3-10), comprising a self-cleaning dust collection base body (station body 120, fig. 1, 3-7), wherein the self-cleaning dust collection base body comprises:
a dust collection chamber (main housing 1210, fig. 3-7) arranged at a top end of the self-cleaning dust collection base body (station body 120, fig. 1, 3-7);
a dust collection hood (dust collector cover 123, fig. 3-7) on the dust collection chamber (main housing 1210, fig. 3-7) to form a dust collection bin; and
a dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9) arranged in the dust collection bin and configured to install a dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10); wherein the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9) has
a hollow cavity (open hole 1294, fig. 7-8) inside, and the hollow cavity is used as a part of an air duct (connection tube 128 and suction tube 126, fig. 4; [0099]) of the self-cleaning dust collection base (cleaner station 10, fig. 1, 3-10).
Song fails to disclose that the hood is “detachably placed” on the bin. However, Wolff, which discloses a floor robot base with self cleaning configuration, discloses a detaching hood/lid atop its dust collection bin:
[0028] The lid 108 can be connected to the outer wall 106 (such as by hinges or other fasteners), such as at a rear portion of the lid 108. The lid 108 can be releasably securable to the outer wall 106, such as at a front portion of the lid 108 and the outer wall 106 (such as via a friction/interference fit, latch, or the like). Removal of the lid 108 or opening of the lid 108 from the top portion of the canister 102 can provide access to both the fan compartment 122 and the debris bin 120.
Song and Wolff are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, floor robot docking station bases with self cleaning means. Therefore, per MPEP 2144.04-IV.C (In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)), it has been held obvious over the prior art to make parts separable before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, where in the instant case, to have a detachable lid, as taught by Wolff, would have been a matter of choice, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to make the lid of Song, serving as the claimed hood, separable, as Song would still operate as floor robot docking station.
In regards to claim 2, Song as modified discloses
the self-cleaning dust collection base according to claim 1, wherein: the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9) is provided with
a dust outlet port (see fig. 8 – ann. 1) on
a support side wall (see fig. 8 – ann. 1) facing an inside of the dust collection bin, and the dust outlet port is configured to interface with an inlet of the dust bag (dust inlet 1223, fig. 10;[0100], [0106]); and
the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9) further comprises
a sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-0120]) capable of sliding on the support side wall, the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-0120]) is configured to be switched between a first position and a second position (a first position of partially inserted, and second position of fully inserted; [0108-0120]), the sliding baffle shields (blocking by not being fully inserted) the dust outlet port in response to the sliding baffle being in the first position, and the sliding baffle exposes the dust outlet port in response to the sliding baffle being in the second position (by being fully inserted and therein ports are aligned and allow airflow through ports).
In regards to claim 3, Song as modified discloses
the self-cleaning dust collection base according to claim 2, further comprising
a dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) detachably installed on the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9), wherein the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) comprises:
a dust bag body (dust collector body 1221, fig. 4-7, 10); and
a fastening plate (catching part 1222, fig. 10; [0104-0112]) fixedly connected to the dust bag body (dust collector body 1221, fig. 4-7, 10), wherein the fastening plate (catching part 1222, fig. 10; [0104-0112]) is provided with a fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1), and the fastening plate opening serves as the inlet of the dust bag (dust inlet 1223, fig. 10;[0100], [0106]); and
wherein the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) is in the first position to shield the dust outlet port in response to the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) not being installed on the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9), and the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) is in the second position to expose the dust outlet port in response to the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) being installed on the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9), so that the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) interfaces with the dust outlet port.
In regards to claim 10, Song discloses
a dust collection system, comprising:
an automatic cleaning device (cleaner 20, fig. 1; [0047-0050]), and
a self-cleaning dust collection base (cleaner station 10, fig. 1, 3-10);
wherein the self-cleaning dust collection base (cleaner station 10, fig. 1, 3-10) comprises a self-cleaning dust collection base body (station body 120, fig. 1, 3-7) and the self-cleaning dust collection base body comprises:
a dust collection chamber (main housing 1210, fig. 3-7) arranged at a top end of the self-cleaning dust collection base body (station body 120, fig. 1, 3-7); a dust collection hood (dust collector cover 123, fig. 3-7) on the dust collection chamber (main housing 1210, fig. 3-7) to form a dust collection bin; and a dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9) arranged in the dust collection bin and configured to install a dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10); wherein the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9) has a hollow cavity (open hole 1294, fig. 7-8) inside, and the hollow cavity is used as a part of an air duct (connection tube 128 and suction tube 126, fig. 4; [0099]) of the self-cleaning dust collection base (cleaner station 10, fig. 1, 3-10).
Song fails to disclose that the hood is “detachably placed” on the bin. However, Wolff, which discloses a floor robot base with self cleaning configuration, discloses a detaching hood/lid atop its dust collection bin:
[0028] The lid 108 can be connected to the outer wall 106 (such as by hinges or other fasteners), such as at a rear portion of the lid 108. The lid 108 can be releasably securable to the outer wall 106, such as at a front portion of the lid 108 and the outer wall 106 (such as via a friction/interference fit, latch, or the like). Removal of the lid 108 or opening of the lid 108 from the top portion of the canister 102 can provide access to both the fan compartment 122 and the debris bin 120.
Song and Wolff are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, floor robot docking station bases with self cleaning means. Therefore, per MPEP 2144.04-IV.C (In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)), it has been held obvious over the prior art to make parts separable before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, where in the instant case, to have a detachable lid, as taught by Wolff, would have been a matter of choice, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious to make the lid of Song, serving as the claimed hood, separable, as Song would still operate as floor robot docking station.
In regards to claim 11, Song as modified discloses
the dust collection system according to claim 10, wherein: the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9) is provided with a dust outlet port (see fig. 8 – ann. 1) on a support side wall (see fig. 8 – ann. 1) facing an inside of the dust collection bin, and the dust outlet port is configured to interface with an inlet of the dust bag (dust inlet 1223, fig. 10;[0100], [0106]); and the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9) further comprises a sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) capable of sliding on the support side wall, the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) is configured to be switched between a first position and a second position, the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) shields the dust outlet port in response to the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) being in the first position, and the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) exposes the dust outlet port in response to the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) being in the second position.
In regards to claim 12, Song as modified discloses
the dust collection system according to claim 11, wherein the self-cleaning dust collection base further comprises a dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) detachably installed on the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9), and the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) comprises:
a dust bag body (dust collector body 1221, fig. 4-7, 10); and a fastening plate (catching part 1222, fig. 10; [0104-0112]) fixedly connected to the dust bag body (dust collector body 1221, fig. 4-7, 10), wherein the fastening plate (catching part 1222, fig. 10; [0104-0112]) is provided with a fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1), and the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) serves as the inlet of the dust bag (dust inlet 1223, fig. 10;[0100], [0106]); and wherein the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) is in the first position to shield the dust outlet port in response to the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) not being installed on the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9), and the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) is in the second position to expose the dust outlet port in response to the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) being installed on the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9), so that the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) interfaces with the dust outlet port.
Claim(s) 3-9 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song and Wolff as applied to claims 3 and 12 above, and further in view of Schmierer (US Patent No. 5468272).
In regards to claim 4, Song as modified discloses
the self-cleaning dust collection base according to claim 3, but fails to disclose the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) further comprises “a sliding plate” connected to the fastening plate (catching part 1222, fig. 10; [0104-0112]) in “a slidable manner and configured to be switched between a third position and a fourth position,” wherein the sliding plate shields the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) in response to the sliding plate being in the third position, and the sliding plate exposes the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) in response to the sliding plate being in the fourth position.
Schmierer discloses a vacuum bag with a sliding plate:
Col. 1 lines 29-41: The fastening of the filter bag on the vacuum cleaner appliance is performed by means of the connection member attached to the filter bag adjacent to its inlet opening, such member being so arranged that the passage openings in the base body layers are in alignment with the inlet opening of the filter bag and all such openings together constitute an intake opening through which the dust laden air is introduced. With the aid of the sliding door it is possible for this intake opening or, respectively, the passage openings of the connection member to be shut, when the filter bag is moved from the vacuum cleaner appliance. It is in this manner that dust-is prevented from escaping from the discarded filter bag into the surroundings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify dust collection bag of Song by a simple substitution, replacing it with the filter bag, as taught by Schmierer, produce the predictable result of capturing dust in a receptacle, and preventing the dust from escape into the environment by closing the dust bag door.
In regards to claim 5, Song as modified discloses
the self-cleaning dust collection base according to claim 4, wherein the sliding plate (sliding door 6 as taught by Schmierer) is provided with a sliding plate opening (opening 11), and in response to the sliding plate being in the third position (see fig. 5 of Schmierer), the sliding plate opening does not overlap with the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) such that the sliding plate shields the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1), and in response to the sliding plate being in the fourth position, the sliding plate opening substantially overlaps with the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) such that the sliding plate exposes the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1).
In regards to claim 6, Song as modified discloses
the self-cleaning dust collection base according to claim 4, wherein the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9) comprises
a socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8), and at least a part of the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) is located inside the socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8) such that the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) slides along an extension direction of the socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8); and
wherein the fastening plate (catching part 1222, fig. 10; [0104-0112]) and the sliding plate are configured to be insertable into the socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8) to slide along the extension direction of the socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8), the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) is pushed to slide along the extension direction of the socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8) such that the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) is installed on the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9),
and in response to the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) being installed on the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9), the sliding plate is in the fourth position to expose the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1), and the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) is in the second position to expose the dust outlet port, so that the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) interfaces with the dust outlet port.
In regards to claim 7, Song as modified discloses
the self-cleaning dust collection base according to claim 6, wherein the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9) is provided with an elastic component (pressing device 1292, fig. 8-9; [0121-0122]), and the elastic component (pressing device 1292, fig. 8-9; [0121-0122]) is connected to the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) and configured to make the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) have a trend to be in the first position (by deforming the pressing device, insertion portion is released from engagement and can be slid out of the slot, trending towards the first position).
In regards to claim 8, Song as modified discloses
the self-cleaning dust collection base according to claim 6, wherein the fastening plate (catching part 1222, fig. 10; [0104-0112]) is provided with a fastening plate slot (see fig. 8/10 – ann. 1), the socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8) is internally provided with a fastening portion (see fig. 8/10 – ann. 1), and the fastening portion is snapped in the fastening plate slot in response to the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) being installed on the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9).
In regards to claim 9, Song as modified discloses
the self-cleaning dust collection base according to claim 8, wherein the fastening plate (catching part 1222, fig. 10; [0104-0112]) is further provided with an unlocking bump (see fig. 10 – ann. 1), and the unlocking bump is configured to make the fastening portion disengage (by pulling upon the unlocking bump) from the fastening plate slot during detachment of the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) from the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9).
In regards to claim 13, Song as modified discloses
the dust collection system according to claim 12, the self-cleaning dust collection base according to claim 3, but fails to disclose the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) further comprises “a sliding plate” connected to the fastening plate (catching part 1222, fig. 10; [0104-0112]) in “a slidable manner and configured to be switched between a third position and a fourth position,” wherein the sliding plate shields the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) in response to the sliding plate being in the third position, and the sliding plate exposes the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) in response to the sliding plate being in the fourth position.
Schmierer discloses a vacuum bag with a sliding plate:
Col. 1 lines 29-41: The fastening of the filter bag on the vacuum cleaner appliance is performed by means of the connection member attached to the filter bag adjacent to its inlet opening, such member being so arranged that the passage openings in the base body layers are in alignment with the inlet opening of the filter bag and all such openings together constitute an intake opening through which the dust laden air is introduced. With the aid of the sliding door it is possible for this intake opening or, respectively, the passage openings of the connection member to be shut, when the filter bag is moved from the vacuum cleaner appliance. It is in this manner that dust-is prevented from escaping from the discarded filter bag into the surroundings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify dust collection bag of Song by a simple substitution, replacing it with the filter bag, as taught by Schmierer, produce the predictable result of capturing dust in a receptacle, and preventing the dust from escape into the environment by closing the dust bag door.
In regards to claim 14, Song as modified discloses
the dust collection system according to claim 13, wherein the sliding plate (sliding door 6 as taught by Schmierer) is provided with a sliding plate opening (opening 11), and in response to the sliding plate being in the third position (see fig. 5 of Schmierer), the sliding plate opening does not overlap with the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) such that the sliding plate shields the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1), and in response to the sliding plate being in the fourth position, the sliding plate opening substantially overlaps with the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) such that the sliding plate exposes the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1).
In regards to claim 15, Song as modified discloses
the dust collection system according to claim 13, wherein the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9) comprises
a socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8), and at least a part of the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) is located inside the socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8) such that the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) slides along an extension direction of the socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8); and
wherein the fastening plate (catching part 1222, fig. 10; [0104-0112]) and the sliding plate are configured to be insertable into the socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8) to slide along the extension direction of the socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8), the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) is pushed to slide along the extension direction of the socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8) such that the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) is installed on the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9),
and in response to the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) being installed on the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9), the sliding plate is in the fourth position to expose the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1), and the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) is in the second position to expose the dust outlet port, so that the fastening plate opening (structure surrounding dust inlet 1223; see fig. 10 - ann. 1) interfaces with the dust outlet port.
In regards to claim 16, Song as modified discloses
the dust collection system according to claim 15, wherein the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9) is provided with an elastic component (pressing device 1292, fig. 8-9; [0121-0122]), and the elastic component (pressing device 1292, fig. 8-9; [0121-0122]) is connected to the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) and configured to make the sliding baffle (insertion portion 1291, fig. 7-8; [0108-00120]) have a trend to be in the first position (by deforming the pressing device, insertion portion is released from engagement and can be slid out of the slot, trending towards the first position).
In regards to claim 17, Song as modified discloses
the dust collection system according to claim 15, wherein the fastening plate (catching part 1222, fig. 10; [0104-0112]) is provided with a fastening plate slot (see fig. 8/10 – ann. 1), the socket (at least one of guide rails 1291a, 1291b, fig. 7-8) is internally provided with a fastening portion (see fig. 8/10 – ann. 1), and the fastening portion is snapped in the fastening plate slot in response to the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) being installed on the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9).
In regards to claim 18, Song as modified discloses
the dust collection system according to claim 17, wherein the fastening plate (catching part 1222, fig. 10; [0104-0112]) is further provided with an unlocking bump (see fig. 10 – ann. 1), and the unlocking bump is configured to make the fastening portion disengage (by pulling upon the unlocking bump) from the fastening plate slot during detachment of the dust bag (dust collector 122; [0103]: selected dust bag; fig. 4-7, 10) from the dust bag support (coupling portion 129, fig. 4, 6-9).
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723