DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality: In paragraph 0018 line 5, “the following is specific embodiments” should read “the following are specific embodiments”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 15-18, 20, 23-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (JP 2004294615 A) in view of Tan et al. (CN 111248815 A), hereinafter Yamada and Tan respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Yamada teaches a method for optimizing three-dimensional (3D) map display (Paragraph 0007 – “a new method capable of simple display is devised so that a three-dimensional house map can be simulated by using general-purpose products used for drawing a two-dimensional house map as map data and tools”), comprising:
acquiring map data of a working region (Paragraph 0026, 0029 – “The hard disk 10 stores digitized map data 11. The map data 11 is divided into multiple layers based on the data type so that desired items can be selected and displayed easily (for example, see Patent Document 1), or divided into blocks for easy reading (for example, see Patent Document 2). Are stored in a searchable manner. For example, it covers an area… The data extraction routine 21 selects a display target portion 12 from the map data 11 by a search or the like, reads it from the hard disk 10, extracts desired data including at least road data and house shape data”; Note: the display target portion of the map data is equivalent to the working region);
analyzing the map data to acquire a first region set and a second region set, wherein the first region set contains one or more passable regions, and the second region set contains one or more impassable regions (Paragraph 0027-0028, 0030 – “The map data 11 including the display target portion 12 (see FIG. 1B) includes at least topographic map data 13 and building data 14, of which at least road data is included in the topographic map data 13 … The building data 14 of the map data 11 includes at least house shape data. The house shape data defines a two-dimensional polygon corresponding to an outer peripheral shape of a base of a house or a building… the road figure is converted into a two-dimensional plane figure by a conventionally known method based on the road data… the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data”; Note: The building/house data are the second region set, because it is implied that those regions are occupied by structures and cannot be traversed. The regions not occupied by building/houses are in the first region set, such as the roads);
determining a display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using a preset height algorithm (Fig. 3b-3d, Paragraph 0030-0031 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data…the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: the height of each building is determined by using an algorithm of multiplying the building base area by a predetermined coefficient. Fig. 3b-3d shows an example of the result after this process is applied to each building/region);
Screenshot of Fig. 3b-3d (taken from Yamada)
and displaying the working region in a 3D map according to the display height (Paragraph 0032 – “The display data generation routine 23 performs such an operation of the first three-dimensional structure means, that is, performs an operation of extruding the two-dimensional shape indicated by the house shape data in the height direction with the bottom as the bottom surface, thereby performing the three-dimensional building… The screen display routine 25 performs processing such as transferring the display data 24 to a predetermined area of the video RAM at an appropriate timing, and displays the image of the display data 24, that is, the three-dimensional simple house map on the screen of the display 30”).
Yamada does not teach the “robot” from the limitation: “wherein the first region set contains one or more passable regions for a robot, and the second region set contains one or more impassable regions for the robot”. However, Tan teaches analyzing the map data to acquire a first region set and a second region set, wherein the first region set contains one or more passable regions for a robot, and the second region set contains one or more impassable regions for the robot (Paragraph 0081-0085, 0089 – “Obtain map data of the working area of the robot vacuum cleaner…Extract the first feature data of the house boundaries in the working area. The primary characteristic data of the building boundary can include the building's length and width, its location, and the thickness of the walls between buildings…Use a pre-trained first deep neural network to identify the house scale information and house shape information represented by the first feature data…Based on the recognition results of the first deep neural network, analyze the size and shape of the working area, predict the function of the house area, define attributes for different areas of the house, and complete the segmentation…extract the second feature data of objects in the working area from the map data”; Note: the building boundaries and objects are equivalent to the second region set, because it is implied that those areas are occupied and cannot be traversed. The areas that are not building boundaries or objects are equivalent to the first region set). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the teachings of Tan to analyze the map data to distinguish regions that are passable and impassable for a robot because maps are commonly used for navigation so it is important for a user of the map to be able to know what locations are accessible. Nowadays, maps are used by both humans and robots. Specifically for a robot, distinguishing the passable and impassable regions is helpful for being able to avoid collisions and move quickly, so that they can perform their tasks efficiently. Additionally, the terms “passable” and “impassable” in the context of Yamada applies to anything or anyone trying to traverse the region of the map. Logically, if a robot were to use the map in Yamada, the robot cannot move through the walls of the buildings, making the buildings “impassable”, while the robot can move on the roads, making the roads “passable”. Therefore, it would be obvious for robots to be considered and applied to invention of Yamada.
Regarding claim 2, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the method according to claim 1. Yamada further teaches wherein the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm comprises: acquiring a region area corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively, wherein the region area is an occupied area of the region in a plane map (Paragraph 0030-0031 – “The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22. The display data 24 stores data obtained by converting a house map into a bit pattern, that is, drawing data of a picture pattern. The house map includes at least a road graphic and a building graphic to be displayed…the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data…the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: it is implied that the area for each region/building is acquired because the area is used to calculate the height, and the process occurs for each building graphic to be displayed. The region is occupied since it is a building and it is represented as a polygon in 2D map data); and determining the display height corresponding to each region respectively according to the region area (Fig. 3b-3d, Paragraph 0030-0031 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data…the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: the display height is determined for each building/region to be displayed, based on the building area. Fig. 3b-3d shows an example of how the display height is applied to each building/region; see screenshot of Fig. 3b-3d above).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the method according to claim 2. Yamada further wherein the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively according to the region area comprises: determining the display height corresponding to each region respectively according to an area range corresponding to the region area and a first mapping relationship between the area range and the display height; or determining a product of an area of each region and a first preset coefficient as the display height of each region (Fig. 3b-3d, Paragraph 0030-0031 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data…the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: a product of the area of a building base, which is a region, and a preset coefficient is determined as the display height for the region. Fig. 3b-3d shows how the height is applied to each region/building; see screenshot above).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the method according to claim 1. Yamada further teaches wherein after analyzing the map data to acquire the first region set and the second region set (Paragraph 0029-0030, 0032 – “The data extraction routine 21 selects a display target portion 12 from the map data 11 by a search or the like, reads it from the hard disk 10, extracts desired data including at least road data and house shape data… The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22… The screen display routine 25 performs processing such as transferring the display data 24 to a predetermined area of the video”; Note: map display data is prepared/analyzed before display or selection of display mode), the method further comprises: outputting a selection request for a user to select a display mode, in response to receiving a 3D map display instruction (Paragraph 0043, 0045 – “the three-dimensional simple house map relating to the area designated by the user is displayed on the display 30…The difference of this map information system from that of the second embodiment is that the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: the user designates an area for display, which is equivalent to a 3D map display instruction. The user can then select a display mode), wherein the display mode contains a second display mode (Paragraph 0045-0046 – “a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure…In the building height standard mode, the height of the building figure is three-dimensionalized while the height of the building figure is the standard value / normal value”; Note: the standard mode is an example of a second display mode), and the second display mode is a mode where the display height is determined based on an area of each region in the working region (Paragraph 0030-0031, 0040, 0046 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient…In the standard value data 15, standard value data of a typical three-dimensional building shape is set for each building type, that is, corresponding to possible values of the building type data…the height of the building figure is three-dimensionalized while the height of the building figure is the standard value / normal value as described above”; Note: the display height is determined by an area of the building. A building is considered to be a region within the working region. In a second/standard display mode, a standard value is used as the display height for the building. It would be obvious to use the display height determined based on the building area as the standard height for that building type because the standard height is already based on the building shape and type data, and the area is a kind of building shape data, so using the area in the calculation of the height would be a simple solution for choosing a standard value); and the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm comprises: determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm (Paragraph 0030-0031 – “The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22…the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: the display height is determined for each building, which is a region, using an algorithm of multiplying the area by a coefficient), in response to receiving response data corresponding to the second display mode (Paragraph 0030-0031, 0042 – “The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22…the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient…generate display data of a building figure using the standard value data 15 in addition to the house shape data of the target building data 14”; Note: the display data, which includes house shape data, is equivalent to the response data. When a standard/second display mode is chosen, the display data corresponds to the standard/second display mode).
Regarding claim 15, Yamada teaches a non-transitory storage medium and a processor to execute operations corresponding to a method for optimizing 3D map display (Paragraph 0007, 0025 – “a new method capable of simple display is devised so that a three-dimensional house map can be simulated by using general-purpose products used for drawing a two-dimensional house map as map data and tools…The hardware employed in this example (see FIG. 1A) is a basic computer system having a stand-alone configuration, which includes a hard disk 10 as storage means, a computer main body 20 as arithmetic means”; Note: a hard disk is a non-transitory storage medium, and it is implied that the computer has a processor because it would not be able to function otherwise), wherein the method comprises:
acquiring map data of a working region (Paragraph 0026, 0029 – “The hard disk 10 stores digitized map data 11. The map data 11 is divided into multiple layers based on the data type so that desired items can be selected and displayed easily (for example, see Patent Document 1), or divided into blocks for easy reading (for example, see Patent Document 2). Are stored in a searchable manner. For example, it covers an area… The data extraction routine 21 selects a display target portion 12 from the map data 11 by a search or the like, reads it from the hard disk 10, extracts desired data including at least road data and house shape data”; Note: the display target portion of the map data is equivalent to the working region);
analyzing the map data to acquire a first region set and a second region set, wherein the first region set contains one or more passable regions, and the second region set contains one or more impassable regions (Paragraph 0027-0028, 0030 – “The map data 11 including the display target portion 12 (see FIG. 1B) includes at least topographic map data 13 and building data 14, of which at least road data is included in the topographic map data 13 … The building data 14 of the map data 11 includes at least house shape data. The house shape data defines a two-dimensional polygon corresponding to an outer peripheral shape of a base of a house or a building… the road figure is converted into a two-dimensional plane figure by a conventionally known method based on the road data… the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data”; Note: The building/house data are the second region set, because it is implied that those regions are occupied by structures and cannot be traversed. The regions not occupied by building/houses are in the first region set, such as the roads);
determining a display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using a preset height algorithm (Fig. 3b-3d, Paragraph 0030-0031 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data…the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: the height of each building is determined by using an algorithm of multiplying the building base area by a predetermined coefficient. Fig. 3b-3d shows an example of the result after this process is applied to each building/region);
and displaying the working region in a 3D map according to the display height (Paragraph 0032 – “The display data generation routine 23 performs such an operation of the first three-dimensional structure means, that is, performs an operation of extruding the two-dimensional shape indicated by the house shape data in the height direction with the bottom as the bottom surface, thereby performing the three-dimensional building… The screen display routine 25 performs processing such as transferring the display data 24 to a predetermined area of the video RAM at an appropriate timing, and displays the image of the display data 24, that is, the three-dimensional simple house map on the screen of the display 30”).
Yamada does not directly teach that the non-transitory storage medium has at least one executable instruction stored therein. However, Yamada separately teaches the non-transitory storage medium (Paragraph 0025 – “The hardware employed in this example (see FIG. 1A) is a basic computer system having a stand-alone configuration, which includes a hard disk 10 as storage means, a computer main body 20 as arithmetic means”; Note: a hard disk is a non-transitory storage medium) and stored executable instructions (Paragraph 0029 – “A data extraction routine 21, a display data generation routine 23, and a screen display routine 25 are installed as programs in the computer main body 20, and areas of the extraction data 22 and the display data 24 are allocated to the data memory”; Note: the programs are executable instructions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the features of the non-transitory storage medium and storing executable instructions in order to store the instructions in a non-transitory storage medium for the benefit of having a persistent and reliable storage so that the processes can be used again in the future.
Additionally, Yamada does not teach the “robot” from the limitation: “wherein the first region set contains one or more passable regions for a robot, and the second region set contains one or more impassable regions for the robot”. However, Tan teaches analyzing the map data to acquire a first region set and a second region set, wherein the first region set contains one or more passable regions for a robot, and the second region set contains one or more impassable regions for the robot (Paragraph 0081-0085, 0089 – “Obtain map data of the working area of the robot vacuum cleaner…Extract the first feature data of the house boundaries in the working area. The primary characteristic data of the building boundary can include the building's length and width, its location, and the thickness of the walls between buildings…Use a pre-trained first deep neural network to identify the house scale information and house shape information represented by the first feature data…Based on the recognition results of the first deep neural network, analyze the size and shape of the working area, predict the function of the house area, define attributes for different areas of the house, and complete the segmentation…extract the second feature data of objects in the working area from the map data”; Note: the building boundaries and objects are equivalent to the second region set, because it is implied that those areas are occupied and cannot be traversed. The areas that are not building boundaries or objects are equivalent to the first region set). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the teachings of Tan to analyze the map data to distinguish regions that are passable and impassable for a robot because maps are commonly used for navigation so it is important for a user of the map to be able to know what locations are accessible. Nowadays, maps are used by both humans and robots. Specifically for a robot, distinguishing the passable and impassable regions is helpful for being able to avoid collisions and move quickly, so that they can perform their tasks efficiently. Additionally, the terms “passable” and “impassable” in the context of Yamada applies to anything or anyone trying to traverse the region of the map. Logically, if a robot were to use the map in Yamada, the robot cannot move through the walls of the buildings, making the buildings “impassable”, while the robot can move on the roads, making the roads “passable”. Therefore, it would be obvious for robots to be considered and applied to invention of Yamada.
Regarding claim 16, Yamada teaches a terminal (Paragraph 0025 – “The hardware employed in this example (see FIG. 1A) is a basic computer system having a stand-alone configuration, which includes a hard disk 10 as storage means, a computer main body 20 as arithmetic means, and a CRT (cathode ray). The display 30 includes a display 30 as a display unit having a screen such as a tube or a liquid crystal panel, and a mouse 31 as an operation input unit”; Note: it is implied that the computer has a terminal since it can take in user input), comprising: a processor, a memory, a communication interface, and a communication bus, wherein the processor, the memory, and the communication interface communicate with each other through the communication bus (Paragraph 0025, 0053 – “The hardware employed in this example (see FIG. 1A) is a basic computer system having a stand-alone configuration, which includes a hard disk 10 as storage means, a computer main body 20 as arithmetic means, and a CRT (cathode ray). The display 30 includes a display 30 as a display unit having a screen such as a tube or a liquid crystal panel, and a mouse 31 as an operation input unit…A data extraction routine 21, a display data generation routine 23, and a screen display routine 25 are installed as programs in the computer main body 20, and areas of the extraction data 22 and the display data 24 are allocated to the data memory…As the electric communication line, the Internet 50 is the easiest to use, but a WAN (Wide Area Network) (not shown) or a telephone line network can also be used. With the Internet 50 interposed, the server and many clients cooperate by dynamically connecting and communicating”; Note: the computer main body is implied to have a processor since it cannot perform the routines without a processor. It is also implied that the computer contains a communication bus because it would not be able to function without one. The internet is equivalent to the communication interface); and the memory is configured to store at least one executable instruction, and the executable instruction causes the processor to execute operations (Paragraph 0029 – “A data extraction routine 21, a display data generation routine 23, and a screen display routine 25 are installed as programs in the computer main body 20, and areas of the extraction data 22 and the display data 24 are allocated to the data memory”; Note: the programs are instructions executed by the computer) corresponding to a method for optimizing 3D map display (Paragraph 0007 – “a new method capable of simple display is devised so that a three-dimensional house map can be simulated by using general-purpose products used for drawing a two-dimensional house map as map data and tools”), wherein the method comprises:
acquiring map data of a working region (Paragraph 0026, 0029 – “The hard disk 10 stores digitized map data 11. The map data 11 is divided into multiple layers based on the data type so that desired items can be selected and displayed easily (for example, see Patent Document 1), or divided into blocks for easy reading (for example, see Patent Document 2). Are stored in a searchable manner. For example, it covers an area… The data extraction routine 21 selects a display target portion 12 from the map data 11 by a search or the like, reads it from the hard disk 10, extracts desired data including at least road data and house shape data”; Note: the display target portion of the map data is equivalent to the working region);
analyzing the map data to acquire a first region set and a second region set, wherein the first region set contains one or more passable regions, and the second region set contains one or more impassable regions (Paragraph 0027-0028, 0030 – “The map data 11 including the display target portion 12 (see FIG. 1B) includes at least topographic map data 13 and building data 14, of which at least road data is included in the topographic map data 13 … The building data 14 of the map data 11 includes at least house shape data. The house shape data defines a two-dimensional polygon corresponding to an outer peripheral shape of a base of a house or a building… the road figure is converted into a two-dimensional plane figure by a conventionally known method based on the road data… the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data”; Note: The building/house data are the second region set, because it is implied that those regions are occupied by structures and cannot be traversed. The regions not occupied by building/houses are in the first region set, such as the roads);
determining a display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using a preset height algorithm (Fig. 3b-3d, Paragraph 0030-0031 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data…the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: the height of each building is determined by using an algorithm of multiplying the building base area by a predetermined coefficient. Fig. 3b-3d shows an example of the result after this process is applied to each building/region);
and displaying the working region in a 3D map according to the display height (Paragraph 0032 – “The display data generation routine 23 performs such an operation of the first three-dimensional structure means, that is, performs an operation of extruding the two-dimensional shape indicated by the house shape data in the height direction with the bottom as the bottom surface, thereby performing the three-dimensional building… The screen display routine 25 performs processing such as transferring the display data 24 to a predetermined area of the video RAM at an appropriate timing, and displays the image of the display data 24, that is, the three-dimensional simple house map on the screen of the display 30”).
Yamada does not teach the “robot” from the limitation: “wherein the first region set contains one or more passable regions for a robot, and the second region set contains one or more impassable regions for the robot”. However, Tan teaches analyzing the map data to acquire a first region set and a second region set, wherein the first region set contains one or more passable regions for a robot, and the second region set contains one or more impassable regions for the robot (Paragraph 0081-0085, 0089 – “Obtain map data of the working area of the robot vacuum cleaner…Extract the first feature data of the house boundaries in the working area. The primary characteristic data of the building boundary can include the building's length and width, its location, and the thickness of the walls between buildings…Use a pre-trained first deep neural network to identify the house scale information and house shape information represented by the first feature data…Based on the recognition results of the first deep neural network, analyze the size and shape of the working area, predict the function of the house area, define attributes for different areas of the house, and complete the segmentation…extract the second feature data of objects in the working area from the map data”; Note: the building boundaries and objects are equivalent to the second region set, because it is implied that those areas are occupied and cannot be traversed. The areas that are not building boundaries or objects are equivalent to the first region set). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the teachings of Tan to analyze the map data to distinguish regions that are passable and impassable for a robot because maps are commonly used for navigation so it is important for a user of the map to be able to know what locations are accessible. Nowadays, maps are used by both humans and robots. Specifically for a robot, distinguishing the passable and impassable regions is helpful for being able to avoid collisions and move quickly, so that they can perform their tasks efficiently. Additionally, the terms “passable” and “impassable” in the context of Yamada applies to anything or anyone trying to traverse the region of the map. Logically, if a robot were to use the map in Yamada, the robot cannot move through the walls of the buildings, making the buildings “impassable”, while the robot can move on the roads, making the roads “passable”. Therefore, it would be obvious for robots to be considered and applied to invention of Yamada.
Regarding claim 17, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the terminal according to claim 16. Yamada further teaches wherein the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm comprises: acquiring a region area corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively, wherein the region area is an occupied area of the region in a plane map (Paragraph 0030-0031 – “The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22. The display data 24 stores data obtained by converting a house map into a bit pattern, that is, drawing data of a picture pattern. The house map includes at least a road graphic and a building graphic to be displayed…the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data…the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: it is implied that the area for each region/building is acquired because the area is used to calculate the height, and the process occurs for each building graphic to be displayed. The region is occupied since it is a building and it is represented as a polygon in 2D map data); and determining the display height corresponding to each region respectively according to the region area (Fig. 3b-3d, Paragraph 0030-0031 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data…the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: the display height is determined for each building/region to be displayed, based on the building area. Fig. 3b-3d shows an example of how the display height is applied to each building/region; see screenshot of Fig. 3b-3d above).
Regarding claim 18, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the terminal according to claim 17. Yamada further wherein the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively according to the region area comprises: determining the display height corresponding to each region respectively according to an area range corresponding to the region area and a first mapping relationship between the area range and the display height; or determining a product of an area of each region and a first preset coefficient as the display height of each region (Fig. 3b-3d, Paragraph 0030-0031 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data…the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: a product of the area of a building base, which is a region, and a preset coefficient is determined as the display height for the region. Fig. 3b-3d shows how the height is applied to each region/building; see screenshot above).
Regarding claim 20, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the terminal according to claim 16. Yamada further teaches wherein after analyzing the map data to acquire the first region set and the second region set (Paragraph 0029-0030, 0032 – “The data extraction routine 21 selects a display target portion 12 from the map data 11 by a search or the like, reads it from the hard disk 10, extracts desired data including at least road data and house shape data… The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22… The screen display routine 25 performs processing such as transferring the display data 24 to a predetermined area of the video”; Note: map display data is prepared/analyzed before display or selection of display mode), the method further comprises: outputting a selection request for a user to select a display mode, in response to receiving a 3D map display instruction (Paragraph 0043, 0045 – “the three-dimensional simple house map relating to the area designated by the user is displayed on the display 30…The difference of this map information system from that of the second embodiment is that the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: the user designates an area for display, which is equivalent to a 3D map display instruction. The user can then select a display mode), wherein the display mode contains a second display mode (Paragraph 0045-0046 – “a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure…In the building height standard mode, the height of the building figure is three-dimensionalized while the height of the building figure is the standard value / normal value”; Note: the standard mode is an example of a second display mode), and the second display mode is a mode where the display height is determined based on an area of each region in the working region (Paragraph 0030-0031, 0040, 0046 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient…In the standard value data 15, standard value data of a typical three-dimensional building shape is set for each building type, that is, corresponding to possible values of the building type data…the height of the building figure is three-dimensionalized while the height of the building figure is the standard value / normal value as described above”; Note: the display height is determined by an area of the building. A building is considered to be a region within the working region. In a second/standard display mode, a standard value is used as the display height for the building. It would be obvious to use the display height determined based on the building area as the standard height for that building type because the standard height is already based on the building shape and type data, and the area is a kind of building shape data, so using the area in the calculation of the height would be a simple solution for choosing a standard value); and the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm comprises: determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm (Paragraph 0030-0031 – “The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22…the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: the display height is determined for each building, which is a region, using an algorithm of multiplying the area by a coefficient), in response to receiving response data corresponding to the second display mode (Paragraph 0030-0031, 0042 – “The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22…the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient…generate display data of a building figure using the standard value data 15 in addition to the house shape data of the target building data 14”; Note: the display data, which includes house shape data, is equivalent to the response data. When a standard/second display mode is chosen, the display data corresponds to the standard/second display mode).
Regarding claim 23, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 15. Yamada further teaches wherein the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm comprises: acquiring a region area corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively, wherein the region area is an occupied area of the region in a plane map (Paragraph 0030-0031 – “The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22. The display data 24 stores data obtained by converting a house map into a bit pattern, that is, drawing data of a picture pattern. The house map includes at least a road graphic and a building graphic to be displayed…the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data…the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: it is implied that the area for each region/building is acquired because the area is used to calculate the height, and the process occurs for each building graphic to be displayed. The region is occupied since it is a building and it is represented as a polygon in 2D map data); and determining the display height corresponding to each region respectively according to the region area (Fig. 3b-3d, Paragraph 0030-0031 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data…the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: the display height is determined for each building/region to be displayed, based on the building area. Fig. 3b-3d shows an example of how the display height is applied to each building/region; see screenshot of Fig. 3b-3d above).
Regarding claim 24, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 23. Yamada further wherein the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively according to the region area comprises: determining the display height corresponding to each region respectively according to an area range corresponding to the region area and a first mapping relationship between the area range and the display height; or determining a product of an area of each region and a first preset coefficient as the display height of each region (Fig. 3b-3d, Paragraph 0030-0031 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data…the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: a product of the area of a building base, which is a region, and a preset coefficient is determined as the display height for the region. Fig. 3b-3d shows how the height is applied to each region/building; see screenshot above).
Regarding claim 26, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 15. Yamada further teaches wherein after analyzing the map data to acquire the first region set and the second region set (Paragraph 0029-0030, 0032 – “The data extraction routine 21 selects a display target portion 12 from the map data 11 by a search or the like, reads it from the hard disk 10, extracts desired data including at least road data and house shape data… The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22… The screen display routine 25 performs processing such as transferring the display data 24 to a predetermined area of the video”; Note: map display data is prepared/analyzed before display or selection of display mode), the method further comprises: outputting a selection request for a user to select a display mode, in response to receiving a 3D map display instruction (Paragraph 0043, 0045 – “the three-dimensional simple house map relating to the area designated by the user is displayed on the display 30…The difference of this map information system from that of the second embodiment is that the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: the user designates an area for display, which is equivalent to a 3D map display instruction. The user can then select a display mode), wherein the display mode contains a second display mode (Paragraph 0045-0046 – “a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure…In the building height standard mode, the height of the building figure is three-dimensionalized while the height of the building figure is the standard value / normal value”; Note: the standard mode is an example of a second display mode), and the second display mode is a mode where the display height is determined based on an area of each region in the working region (Paragraph 0030-0031, 0040, 0046 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient…In the standard value data 15, standard value data of a typical three-dimensional building shape is set for each building type, that is, corresponding to possible values of the building type data…the height of the building figure is three-dimensionalized while the height of the building figure is the standard value / normal value as described above”; Note: the display height is determined by an area of the building. A building is considered to be a region within the working region. In a second/standard display mode, a standard value is used as the display height for the building. It would be obvious to use the display height determined based on the building area as the standard height for that building type because the standard height is already based on the building shape and type data, and the area is a kind of building shape data, so using the area in the calculation of the height would be a simple solution for choosing a standard value); and the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm comprises: determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm (Paragraph 0030-0031 – “The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22…the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: the display height is determined for each building, which is a region, using an algorithm of multiplying the area by a coefficient), in response to receiving response data corresponding to the second display mode (Paragraph 0030-0031, 0042 – “The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22…the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient…generate display data of a building figure using the standard value data 15 in addition to the house shape data of the target building data 14”; Note: the display data, which includes house shape data, is equivalent to the response data. When a standard/second display mode is chosen, the display data corresponds to the standard/second display mode).
Claims 4, 19, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Tan and Zhou et al. (CN 112837412 A), hereinafter Zhou.
Regarding claim 4, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the method according to claim 1. Yamada does not teach wherein after determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm, the method further comprises: ascertaining whether the display height is within a preset height threshold range; and determining a display height of a current region according to a critical value of the preset height threshold range when the display height is not within the preset height threshold range. However, Zhou teaches ascertaining whether the display height is within a preset height threshold range (Paragraph 0085 – “The user can then adjust the size and shape of the entity graphic as needed…To ensure the filling effect of the solid graphics, the size of the solid graphics is limited. That is, when one or more solid graphics are filled into the two-dimensional display area, the maximum size of the solid graphics after being enlarged cannot exceed the wireframe range of the two-dimensional display area”; Note: the display height of solid graphics are checked to ensure that they do not exceed the wireframe range, which is equivalent to a preset height threshold range); and determining a display height of a current region according to a critical value of the preset height threshold range when the display height is not within the preset height threshold range (Paragraph 0085 – “To ensure the filling effect of the solid graphics, the size of the solid graphics is limited. That is, when one or more solid graphics are filled into the two-dimensional display area, the maximum size of the solid graphics after being enlarged cannot exceed the wireframe range of the two-dimensional display area. If the user has not filled the selected 2D display area, or has already filled it and adjusted its size, angle, shape, etc., and then clicks on another 2D display area, the selection state will switch to the most recently clicked 2D display area, and the previously completed filling results will be saved. If the user does not fill the selected 2D display area, but instead clicks on an area other than the 2D display area on the map, the selection of the current 2D display area will be canceled”; Note: when the user attempts to change the display height to exceed the wireframe range, the display height is set to the maximum/filled size, which is equivalent to the critical value). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the teachings of Zhou to check that the display is within a threshold range and change the display height if it exceeds the range for the benefit of ensuring that the display height is at a realistic and visually appealing level. If it is too tall, the region may block the view of other objects. If it is too short, the region may be unrealistic to the actual object.
Regarding claim 19, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the terminal according to claim 16. Yamada does not teach wherein after determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm, the method further comprises: ascertaining whether the display height is within a preset height threshold range; and determining a display height of a current region according to a critical value of the preset height threshold range when the display height is not within the preset height threshold range. However, Zhou teaches ascertaining whether the display height is within a preset height threshold range (Paragraph 0085 – “The user can then adjust the size and shape of the entity graphic as needed…To ensure the filling effect of the solid graphics, the size of the solid graphics is limited. That is, when one or more solid graphics are filled into the two-dimensional display area, the maximum size of the solid graphics after being enlarged cannot exceed the wireframe range of the two-dimensional display area”; Note: the display height of solid graphics are checked to ensure that they do not exceed the wireframe range, which is equivalent to a preset height threshold range); and determining a display height of a current region according to a critical value of the preset height threshold range when the display height is not within the preset height threshold range (Paragraph 0085 – “To ensure the filling effect of the solid graphics, the size of the solid graphics is limited. That is, when one or more solid graphics are filled into the two-dimensional display area, the maximum size of the solid graphics after being enlarged cannot exceed the wireframe range of the two-dimensional display area. If the user has not filled the selected 2D display area, or has already filled it and adjusted its size, angle, shape, etc., and then clicks on another 2D display area, the selection state will switch to the most recently clicked 2D display area, and the previously completed filling results will be saved. If the user does not fill the selected 2D display area, but instead clicks on an area other than the 2D display area on the map, the selection of the current 2D display area will be canceled”; Note: when the user attempts to change the display height to exceed the wireframe range, the display height is set to the maximum/filled size, which is equivalent to the critical value). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the teachings of Zhou to check that the display is within a threshold range and change the display height if it exceeds the range for the benefit of ensuring that the display height is at a realistic and visually appealing level. If it is too tall, the region may block the view of other objects. If it is too short, the region may be unrealistic to the actual object.
Regarding claim 25, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 15. Yamada does not teach wherein after determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm, the method further comprises: ascertaining whether the display height is within a preset height threshold range; and determining a display height of a current region according to a critical value of the preset height threshold range when the display height is not within the preset height threshold range. However, Zhou teaches ascertaining whether the display height is within a preset height threshold range (Paragraph 0085 – “The user can then adjust the size and shape of the entity graphic as needed…To ensure the filling effect of the solid graphics, the size of the solid graphics is limited. That is, when one or more solid graphics are filled into the two-dimensional display area, the maximum size of the solid graphics after being enlarged cannot exceed the wireframe range of the two-dimensional display area”; Note: the display height of solid graphics are checked to ensure that they do not exceed the wireframe range, which is equivalent to a preset height threshold range); and determining a display height of a current region according to a critical value of the preset height threshold range when the display height is not within the preset height threshold range (Paragraph 0085 – “To ensure the filling effect of the solid graphics, the size of the solid graphics is limited. That is, when one or more solid graphics are filled into the two-dimensional display area, the maximum size of the solid graphics after being enlarged cannot exceed the wireframe range of the two-dimensional display area. If the user has not filled the selected 2D display area, or has already filled it and adjusted its size, angle, shape, etc., and then clicks on another 2D display area, the selection state will switch to the most recently clicked 2D display area, and the previously completed filling results will be saved. If the user does not fill the selected 2D display area, but instead clicks on an area other than the 2D display area on the map, the selection of the current 2D display area will be canceled”; Note: when the user attempts to change the display height to exceed the wireframe range, the display height is set to the maximum/filled size, which is equivalent to the critical value). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the teachings of Zhou to check that the display is within a threshold range and change the display height if it exceeds the range for the benefit of ensuring that the display height is at a realistic and visually appealing level. If it is too tall, the region may block the view of other objects. If it is too short, the region may be unrealistic to the actual object.
Claims 6-7, 21-22, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Tan and Kishikawa et al. (JP 2014182671 A), hereinafter Kishikawa.
Regarding claim 6, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the method according to claim 5. Yamada further teaches wherein the method further comprises: outputting the selection request for the user to select the display mode, in response to receiving the 3D map display instruction (Paragraph 0043, 0045 – “the three-dimensional simple house map relating to the area designated by the user is displayed on the display 30…The difference of this map information system from that of the second embodiment is that the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: the user designates an area for display, which is equivalent to a 3D map display instruction. The user can then select a display mode), wherein the display mode contains a first display mode (Paragraph 0045-0046 – “the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: there are two types of display mode), wherein the first display mode is a mode where the display height is determined based on an area of a region (Paragraph 0030-0031, 0040, 0045-0046 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient… the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: the display height is determined by an area of the building. A building is a region. It would be obvious to combine the display modes with the feature of determining the display height by an area of the building for the benefit of having display heights that appear 3D, reasonable to real-life proportions, and allow for visibility of the rest of the map); and the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm comprises: acquiring an area of a region in response to receiving response data corresponding to the first display mode (Paragraph 0030-0031, 0045 – “The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22…the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient… the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: an area of a building is acquired after display data is received. The display data is equivalent to the response data. When the display mode is selected, the display data corresponds to the display mode); and determining a display height corresponding to a region in the second region set according to the area of the region by using the preset height algorithm (Paragraph 0031 – “the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: a product of the area of a building base, which is a region, and a preset coefficient is determined as the display height for the region).
Yamada does not teach “an overall area of the working region” nor “area of the working region” in the limitations: “the first display mode is a mode where the display height is determined based on an overall area of the working region; and the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm comprises: acquiring an area of the working region in response to receiving response data corresponding to the first display mode; and determining a unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set according to the area of the working region by using the preset height algorithm”. Instead, Yamada teaches determining the display height based on a region area of the working region (Paragraph 0031 – “the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: display height is determined based on a building base area). In other words, the limitation discloses an area of the working region, while Yamada discloses an area of a portion of the working region. However, it still would have been obvious to try determining the display height based on an overall area of the working region, as there are a finite number of potential solutions known to persons of ordinary skill in the art. When determining display height based on area, the solutions are: determining display height based on the area of a portion of a working region or determining display height based on the area of the whole working region. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to determine the display height based on the area of the whole working region because in maps where the display heights do not vary, choosing a height that is proportionate to the overall area helps ensure that it is a reasonable height for visibility and aesthetics. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used the method in Yamada to determine the display height based on the area of the whole working region with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of choosing a reasonable and constant height for all occupied spaces in the map. If the method of Yamada can find the area of a region, then it can also find the area of an entire working region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of determining the display height based on the overall area of the working region.
Furthermore, Yamada does not teach determining a unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set. However, Kishikawa teaches determining a unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set (Paragraph 0052 – “The terminal 10 translates this polygon shape in the height direction by a predetermined height H to create a three-dimensional shape as shown on the right side of the figure. This height H is a preset value regardless of the actual height of the building. That is, in the bird's-eye view, all buildings are displayed three-dimensionally at a constant height H”; Note: constant height H is equivalent to the unique display height corresponding to every region. The buildings are the regions in the second region set). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the teachings of Kishikawa to have the display height for all regions in the second region set be the same for the benefit of simplifying the map, which would make rendering quicker and can help ensure visibility in the map.
Regarding claim 7, Yamada in view of Tan and Zhou teaches the method according to claim 6. Yamada further teaches determining a product of the area of a region and a second preset coefficient as the display height corresponding to a region in the second region set (Paragraph 0031 – “the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: a product of the area of a building base, which is a region, and a preset coefficient is determined as the display height). Yamada does not teach the “area of the working region” in the limitation: “determining a product of the area of the working region and a second preset coefficient”. Instead, Yamada teaches determining a product of the area of a portion of the working region and a second preset coefficient (Paragraph 0031 – “the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: a product of the area of a building base, which is a region, and a preset coefficient is determined as the display height). In other words, the limitation discloses an area of the working region, while Yamada discloses an area of a portion of the working region. However, it still would have been obvious to try determining the display height based on an overall area of the working region, as there are a finite number of potential solutions known to persons of ordinary skill in the art. When determining display height based on area, the solutions are: determining display height based on the area of a portion of a working region or determining display height based on the area of the whole working region. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to determine the display height based on the area of the whole working region because in maps where the display heights do not vary, choosing a height that is proportionate to the overall area helps ensure that it is a reasonable height for visibility and aesthetics. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used the method in Yamada to determine the display height based on the area of the whole working region with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of choosing a reasonable and constant height for all occupied spaces in the map. If the method of Yamada can find the area of a region, then it can also find the area of an entire working region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of determining the display height based on the overall area of the working region.
Furthermore, Yamada does not teach the unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set. However, Kishikawa teaches determining the unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set (Paragraph 0052 – “The terminal 10 translates this polygon shape in the height direction by a predetermined height H to create a three-dimensional shape as shown on the right side of the figure. This height H is a preset value regardless of the actual height of the building. That is, in the bird's-eye view, all buildings are displayed three-dimensionally at a constant height H”; Note: constant height H is equivalent to the unique display height corresponding to every region. The buildings are the regions in the second region set). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the teachings of Kishikawa to have the display height for all regions in the second region set be the same for the benefit of simplifying the map, which would make rendering quicker and can help ensure visibility in the map.
Regarding claim 21, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the terminal according to claim 20. Yamada further teaches wherein the method further comprises: outputting the selection request for the user to select the display mode, in response to receiving the 3D map display instruction (Paragraph 0043, 0045 – “the three-dimensional simple house map relating to the area designated by the user is displayed on the display 30…The difference of this map information system from that of the second embodiment is that the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: the user designates an area for display, which is equivalent to a 3D map display instruction. The user can then select a display mode), wherein the display mode contains a first display mode (Paragraph 0045-0046 – “the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: there are two types of display mode), wherein the first display mode is a mode where the display height is determined based on an area of a region (Paragraph 0030-0031, 0040, 0045-0046 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient… the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: the display height is determined by an area of the building. A building is a region. It would be obvious to combine the display modes with the feature of determining the display height by an area of the building for the benefit of having display heights that appear 3D, reasonable to real-life proportions, and allow for visibility of the rest of the map); and the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm comprises: acquiring an area of a region in response to receiving response data corresponding to the first display mode (Paragraph 0030-0031, 0045 – “The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22…the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient… the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: an area of a building is acquired after display data is received. The display data is equivalent to the response data. When the display mode is selected, the display data corresponds to the display mode); and determining a display height corresponding to a region in the second region set according to the area of the region by using the preset height algorithm (Paragraph 0031 – “the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: a product of the area of a building base, which is a region, and a preset coefficient is determined as the display height for the region).
Yamada does not teach “an overall area of the working region” nor “area of the working region” in the limitations: “the first display mode is a mode where the display height is determined based on an overall area of the working region; and the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm comprises: acquiring an area of the working region in response to receiving response data corresponding to the first display mode; and determining a unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set according to the area of the working region by using the preset height algorithm”. Instead, Yamada teaches determining the display height based on a region area of the working region (Paragraph 0031 – “the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: display height is determined based on a building base area). In other words, the limitation discloses an area of the working region, while Yamada discloses an area of a portion of the working region. However, it still would have been obvious to try determining the display height based on an overall area of the working region, as there are a finite number of potential solutions known to persons of ordinary skill in the art. When determining display height based on area, the solutions are: determining display height based on the area of a portion of a working region or determining display height based on the area of the whole working region. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to determine the display height based on the area of the whole working region because in maps where the display heights do not vary, choosing a height that is proportionate to the overall area helps ensure that it is a reasonable height for visibility and aesthetics. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used the method in Yamada to determine the display height based on the area of the whole working region with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of choosing a reasonable and constant height for all occupied spaces in the map. If the method of Yamada can find the area of a region, then it can also find the area of an entire working region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of determining the display height based on the overall area of the working region.
Furthermore, Yamada does not teach determining a unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set. However, Kishikawa teaches determining a unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set (Paragraph 0052 – “The terminal 10 translates this polygon shape in the height direction by a predetermined height H to create a three-dimensional shape as shown on the right side of the figure. This height H is a preset value regardless of the actual height of the building. That is, in the bird's-eye view, all buildings are displayed three-dimensionally at a constant height H”; Note: constant height H is equivalent to the unique display height corresponding to every region. The buildings are the regions in the second region set). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the teachings of Kishikawa to have the display height for all regions in the second region set be the same for the benefit of simplifying the map, which would make rendering quicker and can help ensure visibility in the map.
Regarding claim 22, Yamada in view of Tan and Zhou teaches the terminal according to claim 21. Yamada further teaches determining a product of the area of a region and a second preset coefficient as the display height corresponding to a region in the second region set (Paragraph 0031 – “the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: a product of the area of a building base, which is a region, and a preset coefficient is determined as the display height). Yamada does not teach the “area of the working region” in the limitation: “determining a product of the area of the working region and a second preset coefficient”. Instead, Yamada teaches determining a product of the area of a portion of the working region and a second preset coefficient (Paragraph 0031 – “the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: a product of the area of a building base, which is a region, and a preset coefficient is determined as the display height). In other words, the limitation discloses an area of the working region, while Yamada discloses an area of a portion of the working region. However, it still would have been obvious to try determining the display height based on an overall area of the working region, as there are a finite number of potential solutions known to persons of ordinary skill in the art. When determining display height based on area, the solutions are: determining display height based on the area of a portion of a working region or determining display height based on the area of the whole working region. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to determine the display height based on the area of the whole working region because in maps where the display heights do not vary, choosing a height that is proportionate to the overall area helps ensure that it is a reasonable height for visibility and aesthetics. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used the method in Yamada to determine the display height based on the area of the whole working region with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of choosing a reasonable and constant height for all occupied spaces in the map. If the method of Yamada can find the area of a region, then it can also find the area of an entire working region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of determining the display height based on the overall area of the working region.
Furthermore, Yamada does not teach the unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set. However, Kishikawa teaches determining the unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set (Paragraph 0052 – “The terminal 10 translates this polygon shape in the height direction by a predetermined height H to create a three-dimensional shape as shown on the right side of the figure. This height H is a preset value regardless of the actual height of the building. That is, in the bird's-eye view, all buildings are displayed three-dimensionally at a constant height H”; Note: constant height H is equivalent to the unique display height corresponding to every region. The buildings are the regions in the second region set). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the teachings of Kishikawa to have the display height for all regions in the second region set be the same for the benefit of simplifying the map, which would make rendering quicker and can help ensure visibility in the map.
Regarding claim 27, Yamada in view of Tan teaches the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 26. Yamada further teaches wherein the method further comprises: outputting the selection request for the user to select the display mode, in response to receiving the 3D map display instruction (Paragraph 0043, 0045 – “the three-dimensional simple house map relating to the area designated by the user is displayed on the display 30…The difference of this map information system from that of the second embodiment is that the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: the user designates an area for display, which is equivalent to a 3D map display instruction. The user can then select a display mode), wherein the display mode contains a first display mode (Paragraph 0045-0046 – “the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: there are two types of display mode), wherein the first display mode is a mode where the display height is determined based on an area of a region (Paragraph 0030-0031, 0040, 0045-0046 – “the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient… the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: the display height is determined by an area of the building. A building is a region. It would be obvious to combine the display modes with the feature of determining the display height by an area of the building for the benefit of having display heights that appear 3D, reasonable to real-life proportions, and allow for visibility of the rest of the map); and the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm comprises: acquiring an area of a region in response to receiving response data corresponding to the first display mode (Paragraph 0030-0031, 0045 – “The display data generation routine 23 prepares display data 24 based on the extracted data 22…the architectural figure is once converted into a two-dimensional polygonal figure based on the house shape data… the polygon after the coordinate transformation is adopted as the bottom surface, and then the height is determined based on the polygon. For example, the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient… the function of the display data generation routine 23 is extended and some of the display states of the three-dimensional simple house map can be variably set or switched. The point is that the display mode can be selected. Specifically, a standard mode and a reduced mode are provided for the height of a building figure”; Note: an area of a building is acquired after display data is received. The display data is equivalent to the response data. When the display mode is selected, the display data corresponds to the display mode); and determining a display height corresponding to a region in the second region set according to the area of the region by using the preset height algorithm (Paragraph 0031 – “the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: a product of the area of a building base, which is a region, and a preset coefficient is determined as the display height for the region).
Yamada does not teach “an overall area of the working region” nor “area of the working region” in the limitations: “the first display mode is a mode where the display height is determined based on an overall area of the working region; and the determining the display height corresponding to each region in the second region set respectively by using the preset height algorithm comprises: acquiring an area of the working region in response to receiving response data corresponding to the first display mode; and determining a unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set according to the area of the working region by using the preset height algorithm”. Instead, Yamada teaches determining the display height based on a region area of the working region (Paragraph 0031 – “the height of the building is determined by adopting the longest side or diagonal line or multiplying the average value or area of each side by a predetermined coefficient”; Note: display height is determined based on a building base area). In other words, the limitation discloses an area of the working region, while Yamada discloses an area of a portion of the working region. However, it still would have been obvious to try determining the display height based on an overall area of the working region, as there are a finite number of potential solutions known to persons of ordinary skill in the art. When determining display height based on area, the solutions are: determining display height based on the area of a portion of a working region or determining display height based on the area of the whole working region. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to determine the display height based on the area of the whole working region because in maps where the display heights do not vary, choosing a height that is proportionate to the overall area helps ensure that it is a reasonable height for visibility and aesthetics. One of ordinary skill in the art could have used the method in Yamada to determine the display height based on the area of the whole working region with a reasonable expectation of success and would have done so for the benefit of choosing a reasonable and constant height for all occupied spaces in the map. If the method of Yamada can find the area of a region, then it can also find the area of an entire working region. Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the solution of determining the display height based on the overall area of the working region.
Furthermore, Yamada does not teach determining a unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set. However, Kishikawa teaches determining a unique display height corresponding to each region in the second region set (Paragraph 0052 – “The terminal 10 translates this polygon shape in the height direction by a predetermined height H to create a three-dimensional shape as shown on the right side of the figure. This height H is a preset value regardless of the actual height of the building. That is, in the bird's-eye view, all buildings are displayed three-dimensionally at a constant height H”; Note: constant height H is equivalent to the unique display height corresponding to every region. The buildings are the regions in the second region set). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamada to incorporate the teachings of Kishikawa to have the display height for all regions in the second region set be the same for the benefit of simplifying the map, which would make rendering quicker and can help ensure visibility in the map.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zheng et al. (CN 111514582 A) teaches a method of displaying a 3D game map involving determining viewing heights based on surface elevations.
/MICHELLE HAU MA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2617
/KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617