DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt and entry of the amendment to the specification, of the amended abstract, and of the amended claims via the preliminary amendment filed on June 28, 2024 are acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings filed on June 28, 2024 are objected to because the line quality is generally poor due at least in part due to the drawings not being in black ink as required (the drawings appear to be in grayscale). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the features canceled from the claims: the spacers being located in the vicinity of the at least one head as recited in claim 2 and all claims depending therefrom (i.e., note that no spacers 12 are shown in Figure 1 which shows the head 10 and no head 10 is shown in Figure 2 which shows the spacers 12); the spacers being arranged substantially at one longitudinal end of the body as recited in claim 3; the spacers being arranged in each of the at least two end compartments located at a lower end and upper end of the heat exchanger as recited in claim 8; the spacers being cylindrical in shape as recited in claim 10; and, the spacers being elliptical in shape as recited in claim 11.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it includes acronyms in parenthesis (recommend removing the acronyms entirely), because it does not avoid legal phraseology normally reserved for claims (i.e., “comprising). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “head” appears throughout the specification (i.e., twenty occurrences) but it is not an idiomatically proper or an art-accepted term. This term appears to be used synonymously with the art-accepted term “header”; if this is indeed the case, then it is required that applicant replace the term “head” with the term “header” throughout the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 through 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and contains grammatical and/or idiomatic errors. For example, the phrase “intended to” appears in each of claims 1 and 5, but it is not entirely clear which structures are intended to be included by the limitations including the phrase “intended to” and which ones are intended to be excluded by the limitations including the phrase “intended to”, thus rendering indefinite the metes and bounds of protection sought by claims 1 and 5 and by all claims depending therefrom. Additionally, the term “head” appears in claims 2 and 3 (and in all claims depending therefrom) but it is not an idiomatically proper or an art-accepted term. This term appears to be used synonymously with the art-accepted term “header” but it has not been redefined as such, thus further rendering indefinite the metes and bounds of protection sought by these claims.
There is insufficient antecedent basis in the claims for the limitations “two adjacent compartments” [claim 1, line 6; claim 13, lines 6-7; claim 13, line 7; claim 14, lines 6-7; claim 14, line 7] and “two adjacent separating walls” [claim 1, line 12; claim 13, line 12], thus further rendering indefinite the metes and bounds of protection sought by the claims and by any claims depending therefrom. Note that adjacent compartments and adjacent separating walls are neither previously recited by the claims nor inherently present. Recommend replacing these limitations with “any two adjacent compartments” and “any two adjacent separating walls” or similar for improved clarity.
The limitation “the compartments” [claim 1, line 10; claim 2, line 2] lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims and fails to clearly refer back to a previously recited limitation, thus further rendering indefinite the metes and bounds of protection sought by the claims. In particular, it is not clear whether the limitation “the compartments” is intended to refer back to the limitation “a plurality of compartments” [claim 1, line 2] (and if so, whether it is intended to refer back to all of the compartments of the previously recited plurality of compartments or only to some compartments of the previously recited plurality of compartments, and if the latter, to which ones) or to refer back to the previously recited “at least two end compartments” [claim 1, lines 2-3] or to refer back to the previously recited “two adjacent compartments” [claim 1, line 6]. In order to avoid indefiniteness, consistent terminology should be used throughout the claims for any given element or elements.
The limitations “said spacers” [claim 1, line 11; claim 1, line 12; claim 4, line 3; claim 7, line 3; claim 8, line 3] and “the spacers” [claim 2, lines 1-2; claim 3, line 1; claim 4, line 1; claim 5, line 2; claim 7, line 2; claim 8, line 1; claim 10, line 2; claim 11, line 2; claim 12, line 2] also lack proper antecedent basis in the claims in that only the limitation “a plurality of spacers” is previously recited in the claim and therefore it is not entirely clear whether the limitations “said spacers” and “the spacers” are intended to refer back to any or all or some of the spacers of the previously recited “plurality of spacers”, and if only to some, then to which ones, thus further rendering unclear the metes and bounds of protection sought by the claims.
Claim 1 recites plural alternate limitations and claim 5 which depends from claim 1 recites additional alternate limitations; however, these compounded alternate limitations in dependent claim 5 render the scope of protection sought by claim 5 indeterminable in that the effect is generally the same as having an improper multiple dependent claim.
With regard to claim 2 as written, it is not entirely clear which distances from the at least one head or header are intended to be encompassed by the relative undefined limitation “in the vicinity of” in line 3 of the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “at least two compartments” in line 2 of the claim, but it is again not entirely clear whether or not these “at least two compartments” are intended to refer back to any of the previously recited compartments or to refer to new and additional compartments, for example, thus further rendering indefinite the metes and bounds of protection sought by the claim and by all claims depending therefrom.
The indeterminate term “thereof” [claim 13, line 5; claim 14, line 5] fails to clearly refer back to a previously recited element(s), thus rendering indefinite the metes and bounds of protection sought by the claims.
Note that the above indefiniteness issues are exemplary. Due to the multiplicity of indefiniteness issues throughout the claims, applicant is urged to carefully review and amend the claims as needed to ensure the clarity of the claims as required.
Any claim not specifically rejected is at least rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Aa best can be understood in view of the indefiniteness of the claims, claims 1 through 5, 7 through 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. (DE 20 2008 013 351 U1, made of record via IDS).
Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. discloses a heat exchanger essentially as claimed by independent claims 1, 13, and 14 of the instant application, including, for example: a body 1 provided with a plurality of compartments 6 including at least two end compartments 6 (i.e., the top and bottom ones in Figure 1, for example), each compartment 6 defining an internal volume inside which a fluid is capable of flowing, each compartment 6 comprising at least one opening though which a fluid passes in order to enter or exit said internal volume; a separating wall or plate 2 disposed between two adjacent compartments 6 and separating the internal volumes from one another; a closing wall or plate 2 (i.e., top and bottom ones in Figure 1) arranged on each of said at least two end compartments 6 and intended to close the internal end volumes of the at least two end compartments 6, wherein the heat exchanger comprises a plurality of spacers 4 arranged inside the compartments 6 and along the openings, the spacers 4 being capable of maintaining a distance between two adjacent separating walls or plates 2 and/or being capable of maintaining a distance between the closing wall or plate 2 and the separating wall or plate 2 adjacent to the closing wall or plate 2.
With regard to claim 2 of the instant application, Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. further discloses at least one head or header 8 or 11 for distributing the fluid into the compartments 6, the spacers 4 located in the vicinity of the at least one head or header 8 or 11.
With regard to claim 3 of the instant application, Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. further discloses the spacers 4 as being arranged substantially at one longitudinal end of the body 1, with the longitudinal end being located at the boundary between the at least one head or header 8 or 11 and the body 1 (i.e., see Figure 1 at least).
With regard to claim 4 of the instant application, Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. further discloses the spacers 4 as being provided with at least one perforation 23 allowing a fluid and/or powder to pass through the spacers 4.
With regard to claim 5 of the instant application, Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. further discloses spacers 4 comprising a first face intended to come into contact with a separating wall or plate 2 and a second face intended to come into contact with another separating wall or plate 2 or closing wall or plate 2 (i.e., see Figure 2 at least).
With regard to claim 7 of the instant application, Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. further discloses the spacers 4 as being arranged in at least two compartments 6 adjacent to one another with the spacers 4 being substantially aligned one below the other as (i.e., see Figure 1 at least).
With regard to claim 8 of the instant application, Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. further discloses the spacers 4 as being arranged in each of the end compartments 6 located at a lower and upper end of the heat exchanger and spacers 4 being arranged in a compartment 6 adjacent to each of the end compartments 6 (i.e., see at least Figure 1).
With regard to claim 9 of the instant application, Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. further discloses the spacers 4 as being generally parallelepiped in shape (i.e., see Figure 7 and Figure 11 at least).
With regard to claim 10 of the instant application, Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. further discloses the spacers 4 as being generally cylindrical in shape (i.e., see Figure 8 at least as broadly interpreted as required for pending claims).
With regard to claim 11 of the instant application, Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. further discloses the spacers 4 as being generally elliptical in shape (i.e., see Figure 10 at least as broadly interpreted as required for pending claims).
The reference thus reads on the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As best can be understood in view of the indefiniteness of the claims, claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. (DE 20 2008 013 351 U1, made of record via IDS).
As noted in greater detail above, Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. discloses the inventive heat exchanger of base claim 1 (from which claims 6 and 12 depend) of the instant application. However, Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. does not specifically disclose the particular dimensions and the proportional ratios as recited by claims 6 and 12 of the instant application. Nevertheless, absent a showing of criticality, it is hereby noted that changing the dimensions and proportions of the particular elements of the inventive heat exchanger is an obvious matter of design choice. It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art at or before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the distance between the spacers 4 and to modify the length/width ratio of the spacers 4 of the heat exchanger of Autokuhler Gmbh & Co. to match those of the instant heat exchanger as recited in claims 6 and 12 in order to meet a particular set of design requirements based on the space availability and on the heat transfer rate requirements, for example.
Conclusion
The additional related and/or prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ljiljana V. Ciric/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
LJILJANA (Lil) V. CIRIC
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3763