In the response to Election/Restriction filed 1/2/2025: the attorney elected group I (claims 16-24) without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20240015633 to Yi et al.
Yi et al disclose in Figures 1-23 a network node (third IAB-node) for wireless communication, comprising:
At least one memory (memory 2320).
At least one processor (processor 2310) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network node to:
Receive (step 1200, from first IAB-node) a header rewriting configuration (routing mapping relationship), wherein each entry of the header rewriting configuration indicates an ingress BAP routing ID, an egress BAP routing ID, and a next hop BAP address for the egress BAP routing ID. Step 1200: the third IAB-node receives the routing mapping relationship configuration information transmitted by the first IAB-node. Sections 0106, 0112-0014, 0130, 0153, 0158, 0182, 0187, and Tables 1-2: the routing mapping relationship configuration information indicates configuration indicates an ingress BAP routing ID and an egress BAP routing ID (claimed “an ingress BAP routing ID, an egress BAP routing ID”). Sections 0100, 0123, 0147, 0187, 0255, 0344, and Table 1: the routing mapping relationship configuration information also indicates a mapping relationship between the egress BAP routing ID and a BAP address of the next hop of node (claimed “a next hop BAP address for the egress BAP routing ID”); Table 1 shows the relationship between the egress BAP routing ID of a destination and the corresponding BAP address of the next hop.
Perform (steps 1201-1203) a BAP header rewriting procedure based on the header rewriting configuration (Sections 0023, 0027, 0074, 0100-0108, 0131, 0154, 0169, 0173, 0176-0181, 0187, 0201, 0245-0248, 0259, 0321-0324, and Tables 1-2). Step 1201: the third IAB-node receives a BAP packet. Step 1202: the third IAB-node performs routing identifier rewriting on the header of the BAP packet, wherein the step of rewriting includes replacing a routing identifier in the BAP header with an egress routing identifier in the routing mapping relationship configuration information. Step 1203: the third IAB-node forwards the rewritten BAP packet. Refer to Sections 0003-0011 and 0055-0293.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240015633 to Yi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240334302 to Fujishiro et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63257223).
Referring to claim 17, Yi et al disclose in Figures 1-23 disclose wherein the header rewriting configuration includes a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing (cross-topology BAP routing management and configuration) and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting, or the header rewriting configuration includes a header rewriting configuration for … inter-topology routing (cross-topology BAP routing management and configuration) … Sections 0013, 0027, 0071-0074, 0084, 0086-0088, 0091, 0116, 0137, 0167, 0173, 0201, 0243, and 0259: the third IAB-node receives the routing mapping relationship configuration information transmitted by the first IAB-node, wherein the routing mapping relationship configuration information is used for cross-topology BAP routing management and configuration. Refer to Sections 0003-0011 and 0055-0293.
Yi et al do not disclose wherein the header rewriting configuration includes a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting, or the header rewriting configuration includes a header rewriting configuration for both inter-topology routing and rerouting.
Fujishiro et al disclose in Figures 1-27 and Sections 0110-0324 a BAP header rewriting method for inter-topology routing for rewriting the header of the BAP packet from a previous routing ID to a new routing ID in accordance with a BAP header rewriting table for inter-topology routing. Sections 0380-0465 disclose a BAP header rewriting method for re-routing for rewriting the header of the BAP packet from a previous routing ID to a new routing ID in accordance with the BAP header rewriting table for re-routing. Section 0396: “…the header rewriting table for inter-topology routing described in the first embodiment and the header rewriting table for inter-donor-DU re-routing according to the third embodiment are configured. The two tables may include identifiers for identifying the respective tables.” (claimed “a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting”). Refer to Sections 0033-0564. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the header rewriting configuration includes a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting, or the header rewriting configuration includes a header rewriting configuration for both inter-topology routing and rerouting (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so so to include a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting, thereby enabling different header rewriting processes for inter-topology routing and rerouting.
Referring to claim 18, Yi et al disclose in Figures 1-23 wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network node to receive a data packet; and perform a routing procedure to transmit the data packet … (Sections 0023, 0027, 0074, 0100-0108, 0131, 0154, 0169, 0173, 0176-0181, 0187, 0201, 0245-0248, 0259, 0321-0324, and Tables 1-2). Step 1201: the third IAB-node receives a BAP packet. Step 1202: the third IAB-node performs routing identifier rewriting on the header of the BAP packet, wherein the step of rewriting includes replacing a routing identifier in the BAP header with an egress routing identifier in the routing mapping relationship configuration information. Step 1203: the third IAB-node forwards the rewritten BAP packet. Refer to Sections 0003-0011 and 0055-0293.
Yi et al do not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network node to receive a data packet; and perform a rerouting procedure to transmit the data packet by performing at least one of: (a) an intra-donor-DU rerouting procedure; (b) a header rewriting configuration based rerouting procedure; or, (c) selecting an available egress BH link to transmit the data packet according to a BH routing configuration for the network node.
Fujishiro et al disclose Sections 0078-0087, 0174, 0175, 0436, 0486, 0497, 0539-0558, and Table 1 wherein an IAB-node receives a packet and performs intra-donor-DU rerouting according to an intra-donor-DU rerouting procedure (claimed “(a) an intra-donor-DU rerouting procedure”). Sections 0380-0465 disclose a BAP header rewriting method for re-routing for rewriting the header of the BAP packet from a previous routing ID to a new routing ID in accordance with the BAP header rewriting table for re-routing (claimed “(b) a header rewriting configuration based rerouting procedure”). Sections 0164, 0400-0403, 0452, 0453, 0456, 0546, and 0545: IAB-node performs re-routing using a routing table; when an entry matching the destination and the path ID included in the header of a packet is present in the routing table, and an egress backhaul link corresponding to a next hop BAP address of the entry is available, IAB-node selects the egress backhaul link (claimed “(c) selecting an available egress BH link to transmit the data packet according to a BH routing configuration for the network node”). Refer to Sections 0033-0564. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network node to receive a data packet; and perform a rerouting procedure to transmit the data packet by performing at least one of: (a) an intra-donor-DU rerouting procedure; (b) a header rewriting configuration based rerouting procedure; or, (c) selecting an available egress BH link to transmit the data packet according to a BH routing configuration for the network node. One would have been motivated to do so to facilitate intra-donor-DU rerouting, to facilitate re-routing by rewriting the header of a packet from a previous routing ID to a new routing ID in accordance with a BAP header rewriting table, and to forward packets to an available egress BH link according to a routing table.
Referring to claim 19, Yi et al do not disclose wherein performing the rerouting procedure by performing at least one of (a), (b) or (c) comprises at least one of: performing (a), performing (b) in response to (i) no available egress BH link being selected according to (a), and performing (c) in response to (ii) no available egress BH link being selected according to (b); performing (b) and performing (c) in response to (ii); performing (a) and performing (c) in response to (i); or, performing (a) and performing (b) in response to (i).
Fujishiro et al disclose in Figures 1-27 and Sections 0164, 0167, 0351, 0352, 0354, 0400-404, 0452-0456, 0546, and 0555 disclose a method of IAB-node performing a re-routing using a routing table: IAB-node receives a BAP packet; when an entry matching the destination and the path ID included in the header of the BAP packet is present in the routing table, and an egress backhaul link corresponding to a next hop BAP address of the entry is available, IAB-node selects the egress backhaul link. Sections 0453-0459: if the egress backhaul link is not available, IAB-node reroutes the packet by selecting an alternative destination associated with the destination of the packet; IAB-node then rewrites the header of the packet with the alternative destination (claimed “performing (b) and performing (c) in response to (ii)”). Refer to Sections 0033-0564. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein performing the rerouting procedure by performing at least one of (a), (b) or (c) comprises at least one of: performing (a), performing (b) in response to (i) no available egress BH link being selected according to (a), and performing (c) in response to (ii) no available egress BH link being selected according to (b) (not in reference; claim is in “or” form); performing (b) and performing (c) in response to (ii); performing (a) and performing (c) in response to (i) (not in reference; claim is in “or” form); or, performing (a) and performing (b) in response to (i) (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so to reroute packets if an egress link is not available.
Referring to claim 20, Yi et al disclose in Figures 1-23 … comparing a BAP routing ID in a BAP header of the data packet to an ingress BAP routing ID of an entry of the header rewriting configuration to determine a first matched entry of the header rewriting configuration … Sections 0185-0186: After receiving the BAP packet, the third IAB-node compares the routing identifier in the header of the BAP packet with ingress routing identifiers in entries in the routing mapping relationship configuration information. If the routing identifier in the header of the BAP packet is the same as an ingress routing identifier in one of the entries, it indicates that the routing identifier in the header of the BAP packet matches the ingress routing identifier in the mapping relationship configuration information, and a BAP address of an ingress identifier routing in an entry in the configuration information of this mapping relationship may be the BAP address of the second node, or the second virtual BAP address of the second node, or the first virtual BAP address of the first node, which are destinations that can be used by the third IAB-node to configure a routing table according to Figure 4. Refer to Sections 0003-0011 and 0055-0293.
Yi et al do not disclose wherein performing (b) comprises: comparing a BAP routing ID in a BAP header of the data packet to an ingress BAP routing ID of an entry of the header rewriting configuration to determine a first matched entry of the header rewriting configuration; and in response to an egress BH link associated with the first matched entry being available, selecting the egress BH link associated with the first matched entry to transmit the data packet and performing the BAP header rewriting procedure.
Fujishiro et al disclose in Sections 0380-0465 disclose a BAP header rewriting method for re-routing for rewriting the header of the BAP packet from a previous routing ID to a new routing ID in accordance with the BAP header rewriting table for re-routing (claimed “(b) a header rewriting configuration based rerouting procedure”). Sections 0164, 0167, 0351, 0352, 0354, 0400-404, 0452-0456, 0546, and 0555 disclose a method of IAB-node performing a re-routing using a routing table: IAB-node receives a BAP packet; when an entry matching the destination and the path ID included in the header of the BAP packet is present in the routing table, and an egress backhaul link corresponding to a next hop BAP address of the entry is available, IAB-node selects the egress backhaul link (claimed “in response to an egress BH link associated with the first matched entry being available, selecting the egress BH link associated with the first matched entry to transmit the data packet and performing the BAP header rewriting procedure”). Refer to Sections 0033-0564. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein performing (b) comprises: comparing a BAP routing ID in a BAP header of the data packet to an ingress BAP routing ID of an entry of the header rewriting configuration to determine a first matched entry of the header rewriting configuration; and in response to an egress BH link associated with the first matched entry being available, selecting the egress BH link associated with the first matched entry to transmit the data packet and performing the BAP header rewriting procedure. One would have been motivated to do so to forward packets to an available egress BH link according to a routing table.
Referring to claim 21, Yi et al disclose in Figures 1-23 disclose wherein the header rewriting configuration includes a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing (cross-topology BAP routing management and configuration) … ; and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network node to:
Receive a data packet to be routed between two topologies. Sections 0013, 0027, 0071-0074, 0084, 0086-0088, 0091, 0116, 0137, 0167, 0173, 0201, 0243, and 0259: the third IAB-node receives the routing mapping relationship configuration information transmitted by the first IAB-node, wherein the routing mapping relationship configuration information is used for cross-topology BAP routing management and configuration between two topologies.
Compare a BAP routing ID in a BAP header of the data packet to an ingress BAP routing ID of an entry of the header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing to determine a second matched entry of the header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing ... Sections 0185-0186: After receiving the BAP packet, the third IAB-node compares the routing identifier in the header of the BAP packet with ingress routing identifiers in entries in the routing mapping relationship configuration information. If the routing identifier in the header of the BAP packet is the same as an ingress routing identifier in one of the entries (claimed “second matched entry”), it indicates that the routing identifier in the header of the BAP packet matches the ingress routing identifier in the mapping relationship configuration information, and a BAP address of an ingress identifier routing in an entry in the configuration information of this mapping relationship may be the BAP address of the second node, or the second virtual BAP address of the second node, or the first virtual BAP address of the first node, which are destinations that can be used by the third IAB-node to configure a routing table according to Figure 4. Refer to Sections 0003-0011 and 0055-0293.
Yi et al do not disclose wherein the header rewriting configuration includes a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting; and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the network node to: receive a data packet to be routed between two topologies; compare a BAP routing ID in a BAP header of the data packet to an ingress BAP routing ID of an entry of the header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing to determine a second matched entry of the header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing; and in response to an egress BH link associated with the second matched entry being unavailable, perform a rerouting procedure to transmit the data packet.
Fujishiro et al disclose in Figures 1-27 and Sections 0110-0324 a BAP header rewriting method for inter-topology routing for rewriting the header of the BAP packet from a previous routing ID to a new routing ID in accordance with a BAP header rewriting table for inter-topology routing. Sections 0380-0465 disclose a BAP header rewriting method for re-routing for rewriting the header of the BAP packet from a previous routing ID to a new routing ID in accordance with the BAP header rewriting table for re-routing. Section 0396: “…the header rewriting table for inter-topology routing described in the first embodiment and the header rewriting table for inter-donor-DU re-routing according to the third embodiment are configured. The two tables may include identifiers for identifying the respective tables.” (claimed “a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting”). Sections 0164, 0167, 0351, 0352, 0354, 0400-404, 0452-0456, 0546, and 0555 disclose a method of IAB-node performing a re-routing using a routing table: IAB-node receives a BAP packet; when an entry matching the destination and the path ID included in the header of the BAP packet is present in the routing table, and an egress backhaul link corresponding to a next hop BAP address of the entry is available, IAB-node selects the egress backhaul link. Sections 0453-0459: if the egress backhaul link is not available, IAB-node reroutes the packet by selecting an alternative destination associated with the destination of the packet; IAB-node then rewrites the header of the packet with the alternative destination (claimed “in response to an egress BH link associated with the second matched entry being unavailable, perform a rerouting procedure to transmit the data packet”). Refer to Sections 0033-0564. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein performing (b) comprises: comparing a BAP routing ID in a BAP header of the data packet to an ingress BAP routing ID of an entry of the header rewriting configuration to determine a first matched entry of the header rewriting configuration; and in response to an egress BH link associated with the first matched entry being available, selecting the egress BH link associated with the first matched entry to transmit the data packet and performing the BAP header rewriting procedure. One would have been motivated to do so to include a header rewriting configuration for inter-topology routing and a header rewriting configuration for rerouting, thereby enabling different header rewriting processes for inter-topology routing and rerouting, and to reroute packets if an egress link is not available.
Referring to claim 22, Yi et al disclose in Figures 1-23 … a next hop BAP address for an egress BAP routing ID … Sections 0106, 0112-0014, 0130, 0153, 0158, 0182, 0187, and Tables 1-2: the routing mapping relationship configuration information indicates configuration indicates an ingress BAP routing ID and an egress BAP routing ID. Sections 0100, 0123, 0147, 0187, 0255, 0344, and Table 1: the routing mapping relationship configuration information also indicates a mapping relationship between the egress BAP routing ID and a BAP address of the next hop of node (claimed “a next hop BAP address for the egress BAP routing ID”); Table 1 shows the relationship between the egress BAP routing ID of a destination and the corresponding BAP address of the next hop. Step 1201: the third IAB-node receives a BAP packet. Step 1202: the third IAB-node performs routing identifier rewriting on the header of the BAP packet, wherein the step of rewriting includes replacing a routing identifier in the BAP header with an egress routing identifier in the routing mapping relationship configuration information (claimed “rewriting the BAP routing ID in the BAP header of the data packet as the egress BAP routing ID”). Step 1203: the third IAB-node forwards the rewritten BAP packet. Refer to Sections 0003-0011 and 0055-0293.
Yi et al do not disclose wherein determining the egress BH link associated with the second matched entry being unavailable comprises determining that an egress BH link corresponding to a next hop BAP address for an egress BAP routing ID of the second matched entry is unavailable.
Fujishiro et al disclose in Figures 1-27 and Sections 0164, 0167, 0351, 0352, 0354, 0400-404, 0452-0456, 0546, and 0555 disclose a method of IAB-node performing a re-routing using a routing table: IAB-node receives a BAP packet; when an entry matching the destination and the path ID included in the header of the BAP packet is present in the routing table, and an egress backhaul link corresponding to a next hop BAP address of the entry is available, IAB-node selects the egress backhaul link. Sections 0453-0459: if the egress backhaul link is not available, IAB-node reroutes the packet by selecting an alternative destination associated with the destination of the packet; IAB-node then rewrites the header of the packet with the alternative destination. Refer to Sections 0033-0564. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein determining the egress BH link associated with the second matched entry being unavailable comprises determining that an egress BH link corresponding to a next hop BAP address for an egress BAP routing ID of the second matched entry is unavailable. One would have been motivated to do so to reroute packets if an egress link is not available.
Referring to claim 24, Yi et al disclose in Figures 1-23 … determining that an egress BH link corresponding to a next hop BAP address for an egress BAP routing ID …, and wherein performing the BAP header rewriting procedure comprises rewriting the BAP routing ID in the BAP header of the data packet as the egress BAP routing ID … Sections 0106, 0112-0014, 0130, 0153, 0158, 0182, 0187, and Tables 1-2: the routing mapping relationship configuration information indicates configuration indicates an ingress BAP routing ID and an egress BAP routing ID. Sections 0100, 0123, 0147, 0187, 0255, 0344, and Table 1: the routing mapping relationship configuration information also indicates a mapping relationship between the egress BAP routing ID and a BAP address of the next hop of node (claimed “a next hop BAP address for the egress BAP routing ID”); Table 1 shows the relationship between the egress BAP routing ID of a destination and the corresponding BAP address of the next hop. Step 1201: the third IAB-node receives a BAP packet. Step 1202: the third IAB-node performs routing identifier rewriting on the header of the BAP packet, wherein the step of rewriting includes replacing a routing identifier in the BAP header with an egress routing identifier in the routing mapping relationship configuration information (claimed “rewriting the BAP routing ID in the BAP header of the data packet as the egress BAP routing ID”). Step 1203: the third IAB-node forwards the rewritten BAP packet. Refer to Sections 0003-0011 and 0055-0293.
Yi et al do not disclose wherein determining the egress BH link associated with the first matched entry being available comprises determining that an egress BH link corresponding to a next hop BAP address for an egress BAP routing ID of the first matched entry is available, and wherein performing the BAP header rewriting procedure comprises rewriting the BAP routing ID in the BAP header of the data packet as the egress BAP routing ID of the first matched entry.
Fujishiro et al disclose in Figures 1-27 and Sections 0164, 0167, 0351, 0352, 0354, 0400-404, 0452-0456, 0546, and 0555 disclose a method of IAB-node performing a re-routing using a routing table: IAB-node receives a BAP packet; when an entry matching the destination and the path ID included in the header of the BAP packet is present in the routing table, and an egress backhaul link corresponding to a next hop BAP address of the entry is available, IAB-node selects the egress backhaul link (claimed “determining the egress BH link associated with the first matched entry being available comprises determining that an egress BH link corresponding to a next hop BAP address for an egress BAP routing ID of the first matched entry is available”); IAB-node then rewrites the header of the BAP packet with the egress link (claimed “performing the BAP header rewriting procedure comprises rewriting the BAP routing ID in the BAP header of the data packet as the egress BAP routing ID of the first matched entry”). Refer to Sections 0033-0564. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein determining the egress BH link associated with the first matched entry being available comprises determining that an egress BH link corresponding to a next hop BAP address for an egress BAP routing ID of the first matched entry is available, and wherein performing the BAP header rewriting procedure comprises rewriting the BAP routing ID in the BAP header of the data packet as the egress BAP routing ID of the first matched entry. One would have been motivated to do so to facilitate routing of packets to the next hop by rewriting packet headers using the egress BAP routing ID of the next hop.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20230209396 to Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0286-0338 wherein a packet from an ingress BAP routing ID is routing to a next hop according to an egress BAP routing ID. Refer to Sections 0057-0406.
U.S. Publication No. 20220132393 to Akl et al disclose in Figures 1-15 and Sections 0084-0102 wherein a first routing identifier carries a BAP address of an IAB-node; modifying the first routing identifier to a second routing identifier may comprise a change of destination BAP address of the packet or modifying the first routing identifier to a second routing identifier may comprise a change of BAP path ID of the packet, both of which are header rewriting configurations based on an ingress BH RLC CH between a pre-hop node and an IAB-node. Refer to Sections 0027-0122.
U.S. Publication No. 20240196262 to Teyeb et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0104-0111 wherein an IAB-node includes the current timestamp on the BAP header of UL packets as it forwards them to a first hop. IAB nodes, when forwarding the data included with that BAP packet to the next hop, may copy the timestamp that was included in the ingress BAP packet to the BAP header of the egress BAP packet. Refer to Sections 0014-0131.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
September 3, 2026