DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kou et al. (WO2021/192943; Pub. No. US2023/0122992 is being used for translation purposes).
As to claim 1, Kou discloses a wiring member 10 (figs. 1-3), comprising:
a base member 40 including a support surface;
a first wire-like transmission member group 20B including a plurality of first wire-like transmission members 20; and
a second wire-like transmission member group 20C including a plurality of second wire- like transmission members 20, wherein
the first wire-like transmission member group includes a first parallel section in which the plurality of first wire-like transmission members are fused (¶0047) in a parallel state to the support surface (figs. 1-3),
the second wire-like transmission member group includes a second parallel section in which the plurality of second wire-like transmission members are fused (¶0047) in a parallel state to the support surface in a position adjacent to the first parallel section (figs. 1-3), and
an interval (fig. 3, see area where fixing part FP4 is located; ¶0044) between the first parallel section and the second parallel section is larger than an interval between the first wire-like transmission members in the first parallel section and an interval between the second wire-like transmission members in the second parallel section (fig. 2).
As to claim 4, Kou discloses that each of the first wire-like transmission members and each of the second wire-like transmission members are a same as each other regarding a material of an outermost surrounding surface and a thickness (¶0033, 0037; each of the wires are the same).
As to claim 5, Kou discloses that a width of the first wire-like transmission member group and a width of the second wire-like transmission member group are a same as each other (¶0033, 0037; each of the wires are the same).
As to claim 6, Kou discloses that the interval between the plurality of first wire-like transmission members in the first wire-like transmission member group and the interval between the plurality of second wire- like transmission members in the second wire-like transmission member group are a same as each other (¶0041 discloses that the wires 20A, 20B, and 20C can each have intervals smaller, equal to, or larger than the diameters of the wires. Since they are all formed of the same wires with the same size, the intervals would be equal).
As to claim 8, Kou discloses a third wire-like transmission member group 20A1 including a plurality of third wire-like transmission members, wherein the third wire-like transmission member group includes a third parallel section in which the plurality of third wire-like transmission members are fused in a parallel state to the support surface in a position adjacent to the second parallel section on a side opposite to the first parallel section, and an interval between the second parallel section and the third parallel section is larger than an interval between the second wire-like transmission members in the second parallel section and an interval between the third wire-like transmission members in the third parallel section (fig. 3).
As to claim 9, Kou discloses a method of manufacturing a wiring member 10 for fusing a plurality of first wire-like transmission members 20B in a first wire-like transmission member group 20 and a plurality of second wire-like transmission members 20C in a second wire-like transmission member group 20 to a support surface of a base member 40, comprising:
fusing the plurality of first wire-like transmission members in a parallel state to the support surface in a first parallel section (¶0047),
fusing the plurality of second wire-like transmission members in a parallel state to the support surface in a second parallel section adjacent to the first parallel section (¶0047), and
making an interval (fig. 3, see area where fixing part FP4 is located; ¶0044) between the first parallel section and the second parallel section larger than an interval between the first wire-like transmission members in the first parallel section and an interval between the second wire-like transmission members in the second parallel section (fig. 2).
As to claim 10, Kou discloses a process of fusing the plurality of second wire-like transmission members in a parallel state to the support surface is performed in the second parallel section separately from a process of fusing the plurality of first wire-like transmission members in a parallel state to the support surface in the first parallel section (figs. 2-3, see FP1, FP2, FP3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kou et al. (WO2021/192943; Pub. No. US2023/0122992 is being used for translation purposes) in view of Fry (Patent No. US 3,733,428).
As to claim 2, Kou does not disclose that a thickness of each of the first wire-like transmission members and a thickness of each of the second wire-like transmission members are different from each other.
Fry discloses a backing sheet 14 with wiring members 11 having different diameters (figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a thickness of each of the first wire-like transmission members and a thickness of each of the second wire-like transmission members be different from each other as similarly taught by Fry since it was known in the art that the size of a conductor depends on its intended use. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a thickness of each of the first wire-like transmission members and a thickness of each of the second wire-like transmission members be different from each other as similarly taught by Fry, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kou et al. (WO2021/192943; Pub. No. US2023/0122992 is being used for translation purposes) in view of Kohori et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0168359).
As to claim 3, Kou does not disclose that a material of an outermost surrounding surface of each of the first wire-like transmission members and a material of an outermost surrounding surface of each of the second wire-like transmission members are different from each other.
Kohori discloses a cable with a conductor with a first insulating layer 13 and another conductor with a second insulating layer 23.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the material of the outermost surrounding surface of each of the first wire-like transmission members and a material of an outermost surrounding surface of each of the second wire-like transmission members be different from each other as similarly taught by Kohori, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kou et al. (WO2021/192943; Pub. No. US2023/0122992 is being used for translation purposes) in view of Ishida et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0392963).
As to claim 7, Kou does not explicitly disclose that a contact mark of a fusion tool is formed between the first wire-like transmission member group and the second wire-like transmission member group in the base member.
Ishida discloses a contact mark of a fusion tool (figs. 2 and 4).
Kou discloses various types of fusion means such as ultrasonic fusion, heating pressurizing fusion, hot air fusion, and high-frequency fusion (¶0048). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wiring member of Kou have a contact mark of a fusion tool be formed between the first wire-like transmission member group and the second wire-like transmission member group in the base member as similarly taught by Ishida since it is well known in the art that the fusion process leaves a mark.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gross et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0182890) discloses different sized conductors attached to a substrate.
Nguyen (Patent No. US 5,502,287) discloses a plurality of conductors attached to a substrate.
Nguyen et al. (Patent No. US 5,327,513) discloses a plurality of conductors fused to a substrate.
/AMOL H PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847