DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan et al. (Muruganathan), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0250727 in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (Khoshnevisan), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0028703 and further in view of in view of Huang et al. (Huang), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0112415.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Muruganathan discloses a method of transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report by a user equipment (UE) (having a transceiver, processor and memory; see circuitry in figure 15) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving a CSI report configuration, the CSI report configuration including a plurality of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources and a plurality of sub-configurations (such as NZP CSI-RS) related to the plurality of CSI-RS resources respectively, determining a plurality of CSIs based on the plurality of CSI-RS resources and the plurality of sub-configurations; and transmitting the CSI report based on the plurality of CSIs (In some embodiments, a method performed by a wireless device for CSI reporting includes: receiving a configuration for a plurality of Non-Zero Power (NZP) CSI-RS resources from a base station; performing channel measurement on the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources; selecting N of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources; performing CSI computations and/or calculating CSI parameters including one or more of: one Rank Indicator (RI), N Precoding Matrix Indicators (PMIs), and one Channel Quality Indicator (CQI); and reporting the calculated CSI parameters including one or more of: one RI, N PMIs, one CQI along with one or more of the following as part of CSI reporting: a single CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI) indicating the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources; N CRIs indicating the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources) (0097).
Muruganathan, however, fails to specifically disclose wherein each of the plurality of sub-configurations includes a power control offset (PCO) value.
In a similar field of endeavor, Khoshnevisan discloses non-coherent joint transmission hypothesis evaluation in multi-transmit receive point deployments. Khoshnevisan further discloses sub-configurations sent to a mobile device from a base station to include a power control offset (PCO) value (For example, UE 120 may receive RRC signaling configuring the power control offset ratio for each hypothesis, each CRI, and/or each resource pair. Additionally, or alternatively, UE 120 may receive a CSI report configuration message identifying the power control offset ratio) (0053).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Muruganathan with the teachings of Khoshnevisan. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
It should be noted that Muruganathan does briefly disclose report quantities (For each CSI reporting setting, a UE feeds back a set of CSIs, which may include one or more of a CRI (CSI-RS resource indicator), a RI, a PMI and a CQI per CW, depending on the configured report quantity) (0024).
The combination of Muruganathan and Khoshnevisan further fails to disclose
wherein the CSI report configuration includes information regarding report quantities and information regarding a first report quantity to be commonly reported for the plurality of sub-configurations and a second report quantity to be reported for each of the plurality of sub-configurations from among the report quantities, and wherein the CSI report includes only one report quantity value common to the plurality of sub-configurations for the first report quantity and include respective report quantity values of the plurality of sub-configurations for the second report quantity.
In a similar field of endeavor, Huang discloses handling null A-CSI report overlap with other uplink transmissions. Huang further discloses where multiple report quantities from a base station can have various configurations wherein the mobile station CSI report transmitted to the base station is based on the configuration sent by the base station (For instance, a report quantity might not be comprised in the DCI. In some instances, the report quantity can assign resources to send a CSI-report back to the base station. As indicated supra, a NULL value can indicate that there is nothing to report back to the base station. In some aspects, the report quantity can be comprised in a CSI report configuration transmitted by the base station in radio resource control (RRC) 703. The report quantity can essentially instruct the UE to report back a certain quantity that the UE has measured.) (0055).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Muruganathan and Khoshnevisan with the teachings of Huang. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, Muruganathan discloses a base station (BS) for receiving a channel state information (CSI) report from a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that, when executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations including: transmitting a channel state information (CSI) report configuration, the CSI report configuration including a plurality of CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources and a plurality of sub-configurations related to the plurality of CSI-RS resources, respectively, receiving the CSI report including CSIs related to the plurality of sub-configurations(In some embodiments, a method performed by a wireless device for CSI reporting includes: receiving a configuration for a plurality of Non-Zero Power (NZP) CSI-RS resources from a base station; performing channel measurement on the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources; selecting N of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources; performing CSI computations and/or calculating CSI parameters including one or more of: one Rank Indicator (RI), N Precoding Matrix Indicators (PMIs), and one Channel Quality Indicator (CQI); and reporting the calculated CSI parameters including one or more of: one RI, N PMIs, one CQI along with one or more of the following as part of CSI reporting: a single CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI) indicating the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources; N CRIs indicating the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources) (0097).
Muruganathan, however, fails to specifically disclose wherein each of the plurality of sub-configurations includes a power control offset (PCO) value.
Khoshnevisan discloses sub-configurations sent to a mobile device from a base station to include a power control offset (PCO) value (For example, UE 120 may receive RRC signaling configuring the power control offset ratio for each hypothesis, each CRI, and/or each resource pair. Additionally, or alternatively, UE 120 may receive a CSI report configuration message identifying the power control offset ratio) (0053).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Muruganathan with the teachings of Khoshnevisan. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
It should be noted that Muruganathan does briefly disclose report quantities (For each CSI reporting setting, a UE feeds back a set of CSIs, which may include one or more of a CRI (CSI-RS resource indicator), a RI, a PMI and a CQI per CW, depending on the configured report quantity) (0024).
The combination of Muruganathan and Khoshnevisan further fails to disclose
wherein the CSI report configuration includes information regarding report quantities and information regarding a first report quantity to be commonly reported for the plurality of sub-configurations and a second report quantity to be reported for each of the plurality of sub-configurations from among the report quantities, and wherein the CSI report includes only one report quantity value common to the plurality of sub-configurations for the first report quantity and include respective report quantity values of the plurality of sub-configurations for the second report quantity.
Huang discloses where multiple report quantities from a base station can have various configurations wherein the mobile station CSI report transmitted to the base station is based on the configuration sent by the base station (For instance, a report quantity might not be comprised in the DCI. In some instances, the report quantity can assign resources to send a CSI-report back to the base station. As indicated supra, a NULL value can indicate that there is nothing to report back to the base station. In some aspects, the report quantity can be comprised in a CSI report configuration transmitted by the base station in radio resource control (RRC) 703. The report quantity can essentially instruct the UE to report back a certain quantity that the UE has measured.) (0055).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Muruganathan and Khoshnevisan with the teachings of Huang. The motivation for this modification would have been to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 4, and 18, the combination of Muruganathan, Khoshnevisan and Huang as modified discloses wherein each of the plurality of sub-configurations further includes information regarding a number of antenna ports (Up to 8 antenna ports are possible in each NZP CSI-RS resource.) (Muruganathan, 0091), and wherein the determining of the plurality of CSIs includes at least a rank indicator (RI) value, a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) value, or a layer indicator (LI) value for each of the plurality of sub-configurations (In some embodiments, a method performed by a wireless device for CSI reporting includes: receiving a configuration for a plurality of Non-Zero Power (NZP) CSI-RS resources from a base station; performing channel measurement on the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources; selecting N of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources; performing CSI computations and/or calculating CSI parameters including one or more of: one Rank Indicator (RI), N Precoding Matrix Indicators (PMIs), and one Channel Quality Indicator (CQI); and reporting the calculated CSI parameters including one or more of: one RI, N PMIs, one CQI along with one or more of the following as part of CSI reporting: a single CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI) indicating the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources; N CRIs indicating the selected N NZP CSI-RS resources; and no CRI.) (Muruganathan, 0097).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, the combination of Muruganathan, Khoshnevisan and Huang as modified discloses wherein, based on the first report quantity including an RI, the CSI report includes one RI value common to the plurality of sub-configurations (For each CSI reporting setting, a UE feeds back a set of CSIs, which may include one or more of a CRI (CSI-RS resource indicator), a RI, a PMI and a CQI per CW, depending on the configured report quantity.) (Muruganathan, 0024 and Huang, see 0055).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, the combination of Muruganathan, Khoshnevisan and Huang as modified discloses wherein, based on the second report quantity including an RI, the CSI report includes respective RI values for the plurality of sub-configurations (For each CSI reporting setting, a UE feeds back a set of CSIs, which may include one or more of a CRI (CSI-RS resource indicator), a RI, a PMI and a CQI per CW, depending on the configured report quantity.) (Muruganathan, 0024 and Huang, see 0055).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 8, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 16, prior art fails to suggest or render obvious wherein the CSI report configuration includes information regarding a reference PCO value from among PCO values in the plurality of sub-configurations, wherein, based on the second report quantity including a channel quality indicator (CQI) index, the CSI report includes i) a first CQI value obtained based on the reference PCO value from among a plurality of CQI values obtained based on the plurality of sub-configurations, and ii) differential CQI values, and wherein the differential CQI values indicate differences between the first CQI value and the other CQI values that are not the first CQI value from among the plurality of CQI values.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, they are indicated allowable based on their dependence from claims 2 and 16, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0330073 discloses handling configurations for reporting CSI.
Song et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0376876 discloses CSI report feedback method, terminal device and network device.
Zhang et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0232402 discloses CSI report type configuration.
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646