Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08-12-2026 has been entered and considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19-20 remain rejected as discussed below.
Claims 3, 7, 11, 14, and 18 are objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kadiri et al (US 2021/0127448). Hereinafter referred to as Kadiri.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 16. Kadiri discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to receive configuration information on at least one condition parameter associated with radio resource control (RRC) state transition for multicast reception (see at least figure 5); and trigger an RRC connection resume procedure to enter an RRC connected state from an RRC inactive state in response to the at least one condition parameter being fulfilled when the UE is receiving multicast or when the UE is configured to receive the multicast in the RRC inactive state (see at least paragraphs [0045] and [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-6, 8-9, 12-13, 15, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri in view of Qi et al (WO 2022/082588). Hereinafter referred to as Qi.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16. Kadiri discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the at least one condition parameter comprises a radio link quality threshold and a state transition timer associated with the radio link quality threshold, and the RRC connection resume procedure is triggered when: a radio link quality of a serving cell of the UE is lower than or equal to the radio link quality threshold for a time interval of the state transition timer. However, Qi, from the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one condition parameter comprises a radio link quality threshold and a state transition timer associated with the radio link quality threshold, and the RRC connection resume procedure is triggered when: a radio link quality of a serving cell of the UE is lower than or equal to the radio link quality threshold for a time interval of the state transition timer (see at least Embodiment 5). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Qi, as indicated, into the communication method of Kadiri for the purpose of managing resources.
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 19. Kadiri discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the at least one condition parameter comprises at least one packet loss threshold, wherein each packet loss threshold is associated with a multicast session or a multicast radio bearer (MRB), and the RRC connection resume procedure is triggered when: a packet loss ratio of a multicast session of a multicast reception or an MRB of a multicast reception is higher or equal to a corresponding packet loss threshold. However, Qi, from the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one condition parameter comprises at least one packet loss threshold, wherein each packet loss threshold is associated with a multicast session or a multicast radio bearer (MRB), and the RRC connection resume procedure is triggered when: a packet loss ratio of a multicast session of a multicast reception or an MRB of a multicast reception is higher or equal to a corresponding packet loss threshold (see at least pages 7-8). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Qi, as indicated, into the communication method of Kadiri for the purpose of managing resources.
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 20. Kadiri discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the at least one condition parameter is a timer, wherein the timer is started by the UE in response to entering the RRC inactive state for multicast reception, and wherein the RRC connection resume procedure is triggered in response to the timer expiring. However, Qi, from the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one condition parameter is a timer, wherein the timer is started by the UE in response to entering the RRC inactive state for multicast reception, and wherein the RRC connection resume procedure is triggered in response to the timer expiring (see at least embodiment 5). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Qi, as indicated, into the communication method of Kadiri for the purpose of managing resources.
Regarding claim 6. Kadiri discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception that the at least one condition parameter comprises a multicast inactivity timer being started or restarted in response to receiving a media access control (MAC) service data unit (SDU) for multicast traffic channel (MTCH-) logical channel by the UE in the RRC inactive state, and wherein the RRC connection resume procedure is triggered in response to the multicast inactivity timer expiring. However, Qi, from the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one condition parameter comprises a multicast inactivity timer being started or restarted in response to receiving a media access control (MAC) service data unit (SDU) for multicast traffic channel (MTCH-) logical channel by the UE in the RRC inactive state, and wherein the RRC connection resume procedure is triggered in response to the multicast inactivity timer expiring (see at least PTM mode and embodiment 5). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Qi, as indicated, into the communication method of Kadiri for the purpose of managing resources.
Regarding claims 8 and 15. Kadiri discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of causing the UE to stop or cancel evaluating whether the at least one condition parameter is fulfilled in response to: an RRC connection resume procedure being triggered by upper layer or by periodic radio access network (RAN)-based notification area (RNA) update or by response to a RAN paging; an RRC connection setup procedure being triggered by response to a core network (CN) paging; an RRC resume message being received; or an RRC setup message being received. However, Qi, from the same field of endeavor, teaches causing the UE to stop or cancel evaluating whether the at least one condition parameter is fulfilled in response to: an RRC connection resume procedure being triggered by upper layer or by periodic radio access network (RAN)-based notification area (RNA) update or by response to a RAN paging; an RRC connection setup procedure being triggered by response to a core network (CN) paging; an RRC resume message being received; or an RRC setup message being received (see at least handling MBS configuration update). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Qi, as indicated, into the communication method of Kadiri for the purpose of managing resources.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on 08-12-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants’ representative argues that the prior art of record fails to “the UE to receive configuration information on at least one condition parameter associated with radio resource control (RRC) state transition for multicast reception; and trigger an RRC connection resume procedure to enter an RRC connected state from an RRC inactive state in response to the at least one condition parameter being fulfilled when the UE is receiving multicast or when the UE is configured to receive the multicast in the RRC inactive stat”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, in figure 5, the prior art of record discloses receiving an MRB configuration including idle/inactive-state configuration information and limitations governing multicast/broadcast reception, the reference further discloses maintaining the MRB during RRC_inactive and subsequently transitioning to RRC_connected using the maintained MRB. The examiner further notes that the claim does not restrict the recited condition parameter to a particular “radio link quality, packet loss ratio, inactivity timer expiry, or any other metric”. Accordingly, the claim should not be interpreted as requiring a specific type of condition parameter absent an express limitations or definition. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the examiner may interpret the parameter broadly, consistent with the specification and the understanding of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, the reference discloses that the UE may transition from RRC_INACTIVE to RRC_CONNECTED by RRC connection resumption, as illustrated in figure 4. Nevertheless, whether the reference anticipates the claim in its entirety additionally depends on whether the identified configuration parameters are disclosed as conditions whose fulfillment causes the UE to trigger RRC connection resumption (see at least paragraphs [0051]-[0052]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 11, 14 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note: in order to be allowable, the claims would have to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476