DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on May 14, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims have the same common special technical feature and do not lack unity. This is not found persuasive because the reference cited discloses a composition comprising all the components of the instant composition claims. Therefore, the common technical feature is not special and evidence has been provided.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 2 and 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on May 14, 2026.
Claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefiniteness
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims make reference to a figure for the determination of the ratios of algin, konjac gum and xanthan gum without providing numbers to aid in determining the proper ratio. Therefore it is not clear what number are encompassed by the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 - Anticipation
1) Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mintel, (Record ID 6053473).
Mintel disclose a Dry Scalp Treatment comprising aqua (water), glycerin, algin and xanthan gum.
In regards to claim 5, the composition is a gel that is suitable for the scalp, which would make it suitable for skin.
Mintel anticipates the instant claims.
2) Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mintel, (Record ID 6616081).
Mintel discloses a gold moist eye mask comprising water, glycerin, propylene glycol, xanthan gum, glucomannan (konjac gum) and sodium hyaluronate.
Mintel anticipates the instant claims.
3) Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (CN 107157896).
Sun et al. disclose a facial mask comprising konjac, xanthan gum and algin. The composition comprises 20% konjac, 16% xanthan gum and 40% algin (Example 1).
Sun et al. anticipate the instant claims.
4) Claims 1, 3-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (CN 105342873).
Ding et al. disclose a skin care gel comprising 0.1-1 pt. wt. sodium alginate, 0.1-1 pt. wt. gellan gum, 0.1-1 pt. wt. konjac gum (0.4%), 0.1-20 pts. wt. polyhydric alcohol, 0.1-1 pt. wt. agar, 0.05-50 pts. wt. gelatin, 0.1-5 pts. wt. calcium ion solution, 0.01-20 pts. wt. active substance, 0.005-20 pts. wt. toner, 0.01-5 pts. wt. xanthan gum (2%), 0.01-5 pts. wt. carrageenan, 0.01-5 pts. wt. locust bean gum, 0.01-5 pts. wt. algin (2%), 0.01-5 pts. wt. sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, 0.01-5 pts. wt. hydroxyethyl cellulose, 0.01-5 pts. wt. hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, 0.01-5 pts. wt. sclerotium gum, 0.01-5 pts. wt. Arabic gum, 0.01-5 pts. wt. Indian gum, 0.01-5 pts. wt. karaya gum, 0.01-5 pts. wt. guar gum, 0.01-5 pts. wt. tamarind gum, 0.01-5 pts. wt. pectin, 0.01-5 pts. wt. sodium hyaluronate, 0.01-10 pts. wt. starch, 0.01-10 pts. wt. glucose, 0.5-5 pts. wt. magnesium aluminum silicate, 0.1-10 pts. wt. Tremella polysaccharide, and balance water.
The amount of components equal 244 parts using the highest values of each range. When 1 to 10 times water is added, the amount of algin, konjac and xanthan gum meet the limitations of the instant claims. In regards to claims 11-12, see Indefiniteness Rejection above.
At the highest amount, the three components meet the limitation of instant claim 3 reciting 0.2 to 5.0% by weight of i).
In regards to claim 4, the composition is a gel that is suitable for the skin, which would make it suitable for hair.
In regards to claim 6, the composition comprises humectants.
Ding et al. anticipate the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obviousness
Claims 3 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (CN 105342873).
Ding et al. are discussed above and is believed to anticipate the instant claims. However, purely arguendo and for the purposes of this rejection, Ding et al. differ from the instant claims insofar as it does not disclose the amounts of the claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added 3 times the amount of water to the composition of Ding et al. because this is an amount suggested by Ding et al.
In regards to the ratio, the ratio would determine the properties of the gel composition because they are gelling agents. Therefore, it would have taken no more than the relative skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have adjusted the ratios of konjac, algin and xanthan gum motivated to obtain the desired rheology of the composition.
Claims 1, 3-6 and 11-12 are rejected.
Claims 2 and 9-10 are withdrawn.
No claims allowed.
/LEZAH ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612