DETAILED ACTION
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
This application a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2022/079407 (international filing date: 03/04/2022) and does not claim priorities from any domestic application or to any foreign application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PURKAYASTHA et al. (US 2022/0225457 A1, hereinafter PURKAYASTHA), in view of SIOMINA et al. (US 2020/0359241 A1, hereinafter SIOMINA).
Regarding claim 1, PURKAYASTHA teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (PURKAYASTHA, see at least fig. 2, e.g. various apparatus components)
and configured to cause the UE to (PURKAYASTHA, in general, see fig. 3 and corresponding paragraphs 62-83, see also fig. 4 and its paragraphs 84-103 for additional relevant information):
receive a first configuration associated with a state of a secondary cell group (SCG) from a network, wherein the state of the SCG corresponds to a deactivated state (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 71 and 73, “...As shown by reference number 312, the UE may receive, from the master node, an RRC reconfiguration... the RRC reconfiguration may include an IE that is associated with RLM measurements and beam measurements, as well as measurement reporting in the SCG deactivated state...”, note that either or both steps 302 or 304 could also be applied);
receive an activation indication associated with the SCG from the network (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 80, “...The UE may transition to the SCG activated state based at least in part on the SCG activation command received from the master node...”); and
access the SCG via a random access channel (RACH) procedure (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 81, “...As shown by reference number 316, the UE may perform the RACH procedure with the secondary node after the UE transitions to the SCG activated state...”).
PURKAYASTHA does not specifically teach receive an indication indicating the UE not to perform a radio link monitoring (RLM) operation on the SCG while the state of the SCG corresponds to the deactivated state; and in response to receiving the indication, perform all of: stopping a physical layer problem timer; stopping a timer for initiating failure recovery based on triggering a measurement report; resetting a counter for consecutive out-of-synchronization indication; and resetting a counter for consecutive in-synchronization indication.
SIOMINA teaches receive an indication indicating the UE not to perform a radio link monitoring (RLM) operation on the SCG while the state of the SCG corresponds to the deactivated state; and in response to receiving the indication, perform all of: stopping a physical layer problem timer; stopping a timer for initiating failure recovery based on triggering a measurement report; resetting a counter for consecutive out-of-synchronization indication; and resetting a counter for consecutive in-synchronization indication (SIOMINA, in general, see fig. 18 and corresponding paragraphs in view of at least para. 108-110, TABLE 1, as well as at least para. 160-183; in particular, see at least para. 333-337 in view of at least para. 109, TABLE 1, as well as para. 181, e.g. steps 1820-1850, note that para. 109 discloses “...For example, the UE may abandon the ongoing RLM procedure by resetting all the RLM associated parameters, such as IS/OOS counters by setting these counters to zero, stopping or re-setting the RLF related timers, removing estimated DL quality measurements or removing estimated historic samples for IS/OOS evaluations and measurement performed based on the previously configured resources, etc. In certain embodiments, the IS/OOS counters may be N310, N311, N313 or N314. In certain embodiments, the RLF related timers may be T310, T311, or T313...”, also note that para. 181 discloses “...stop the timers T310, T312, T313 [see TABLE 1] and any other RLF related timer or failure related timer that can be affected by RLM parameters...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate SIOMINA into PURKAYASTHA such that measurement procedure may be provided for the purpose of monitoring data rate, latency and other factors on which the one or more embodiments improve (see para. 325).
Regarding claim 2, PURKAYASTHA in view of SIOMINA teaches claim 1.
PURKAYASTHA further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to access the SCG via the RACH procedure in response to at least one of: an expiry of a time alignment timer (TAT), declaring a radio link failure (RLF) associated with the SCG, or detecting a beam failure associated with the SCG. (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 81, “...As shown by reference number 316, the UE may perform the RACH procedure with the secondary node after the UE transitions to the SCG activated state. For example, the UE may determine that a timing advance (TA) timer has expired. The UE may perform the RACH procedure to access the PSCell associated with the SCG based at least in part on the TA timer being expired...”)
Regarding claim 4, PURKAYASTHA in view of SIOMINA teaches claim 1.
PURKAYASTHA further teaches receive a second configuration associated with a set of transmission reception points (TRPs) for the SCG of the network (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 64 along with para. 26, for some non-limiting examples, “...As shown by reference number 304, the UE may receive BFD reference signals. The UE may receive the BFD reference signals from the secondary node. The BFD reference signals may be received on a PSCell while the UE is operating in the SCG deactivated state. The BFD reference signals may be periodic CSI-RSs. The RLM reference signals may be received on a beam or a set of beams at the UE...”, note that “...A base station (BS) is an entity that communicates with user equipment (UEs) and may also be referred to as an NR BS, a Node B, a gNB, a 5G node B (NB), an access point, a transmit receive point (TRP), or the like...”);
perform a beam failure detection operation while the state of the SCG corresponds to the deactivated state (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 65-66, “...As shown by reference number 306, ... Additionally or alternatively to performing RLM reference signal measurements, the UE may perform BFD reference signal measurements on the PSCell while the UE is operating in the SCG deactivated state. The UE may measure the received BFD reference signals to obtain the BFD reference signal measurements....”);
and in response to detecting a beam failure on one or more TRPs within the set of TRPs, transmit first information to the network via a radio resource control (RRC) message (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 67, “...As shown by reference number 310, the UE may transmit, to the master node associated with an MCG, an SCG failure information message... Alternatively, the UE may transmit the SCG failure information message based at least in part on the BFD, which may be based at least in part on the BFD reference signal measurements. The UE may transmit the SCG failure information message based at least in part on an SCG failure recovery procedure initiated at the UE. In other words, the UE may initiate an SCG failure recovery procedure, which may involve transmitting the SCG failure information message, via the MCG based at least in part on the UE detecting PSCell RLF or the UE detecting a beam failure...”),
wherein the first information includes at least one of:
index information of the one or more TRPs;
a beam failure detection (BFD) reference signal (RS) set identity (ID) of the one or more TRPs;
a cell index for a primary cell of a second cell group (PSCell) of the SCG;
a cell index for a secondary cell (SCell) of the SCG;
a candidate RS ID for a failed TRP within the one or more TRPs; or
an indication indicating whether one or more candidate beams for the one or more TRPs are found (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 58 in view of para. 67, note that for one non-limiting example, para. 58 discloses “...The UE may initiate the BFR based at least in part on performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure on a new beam from a list of candidate beams configured by the base station...”, in other words, the UE may transmit the SCG failure information message based at least in part on an SCG failure recovery procedure initiated at the UE with information of candidate beams).
Regarding claim 5, PURKAYASTHA in view of SIOMINA teaches claim 1.
PURKAYASTHA further teaches perform a beam failure detection operation while the state of the SCG corresponds to the deactivated state (PURKAYASTHA, see at least par. 64, “...As shown by reference number 304, the UE may receive BFD reference signals. The UE may receive the BFD reference signals from the secondary node. The BFD reference signals may be received on a PSCell while the UE is operating in the SCG deactivated state...”);
and in response to detecting a beam failure on a primary cell of a second cell group (PSCell) of the SCG, transmit second information to the network via a radio resource control (RRC) message (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 67, “...As shown by reference number 310, the UE may transmit, to the master node associated with an MCG, an SCG failure information message... Alternatively, the UE may transmit the SCG failure information message based at least in part on the BFD, which may be based at least in part on the BFD reference signal measurements. The UE may transmit the SCG failure information message based at least in part on an SCG failure recovery procedure initiated at the UE. In other words, the UE may initiate an SCG failure recovery procedure, which may involve transmitting the SCG failure information message, via the MCG based at least in part on the UE detecting PSCell RLF or the UE detecting a beam failure...”),
wherein the second information includes at least one of:
a cell index for a primary cell of the PSCell;
a cell index for a secondary cell (SCell) of the SCG;
a candidate RS ID for a failed TRP within the PSCell;
an indication indicating whether one or more candidate beams for a transmission reception point (TRP) are found (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 58 in view of para. 67, note that for one non-limiting example, para. 58 discloses “...The UE may initiate the BFR based at least in part on performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure on a new beam from a list of candidate beams configured by the base station...”, in other words, the UE may transmit the SCG failure information message based at least in part on an SCG failure recovery procedure initiated at the UE with information of candidate beams);
index information of a first failed TRP in two or more TRPs within the PSCell, in response to detecting beam failures on the two or more TRPs;
a BFD RS set ID of the first failed TRP, in response to detecting the beam failures on the two or more TRPs; or
a time gap between BFD operations of two TRPs within the PSCell, in response to detecting beam failures on the two TRPs.
Regarding claim 6, PURKAYASTHA in view of SIOMINA teaches claim 4.
PURKAYASTHA further teaches wherein the network comprises a master cell group (MCG), and wherein, in response to transmitting the first information the first information is transferred by the MCG to the SCG. (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 67-68, “...As shown by reference number 310, the UE may transmit, to the master node associated with an MCG, an SCG failure information message... In some aspects, the master node may forward the SCG failure information message to the secondary node...”)
Regarding claim 7, PURKAYASTHA in view of SIOMINA teaches claim 4.
PURKAYASTHA further teaches wherein the RRC message is a SCG failure information message. (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 67-68, “...As shown by reference number 310, the UE may transmit, to the master node associated with an MCG, an SCG failure information message... In some aspects, the master node may forward the SCG failure information message to the secondary node...”)
Regarding claim 8, PURKAYASTHA in view of SIOMINA teaches claim 1.
PURKAYASTHA further teaches wherein, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to access the SCG by performing the RACH procedure using a random access (RA) resource set for beam failure recovery (BFR), in response to: receiving the activation indication associated with the SCG; and detecting a beam failure associated with the SCG. (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 81 along with para. 67, “...As shown by reference number 316, the UE may perform the RACH procedure with the secondary node after the UE transitions to the SCG activated state. ... The UE may perform the RACH procedure based at least in part on the RACH parameter configuration, which may be received at the UE via the RRC reconfiguration or via the SCG activation command...”, note that para. 67 discloses “...The UE may transmit the SCG failure information message based at least in part on an SCG failure recovery procedure initiated at the UE. In other words, the UE may initiate an SCG failure recovery procedure, which may involve transmitting the SCG failure information message, via the MCG based at least in part on the UE detecting PSCell RLF or the UE detecting a beam failure...”)
Regarding claim 9, PURKAYASTHA in view of SIOMINA teaches claim 1.
PURKAYASTHA further teaches wherein, the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to access the SCG by performing the RACH procedure using a random access (RA) resource set for beam failure recovery (BFR), in response to detecting a beam failure associated with the SCG and in response to at least one of a time alignment timer (TAT) not being running and declaring a radio link failure (RLF) associated with the SCG. (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 81 along with para. 67, “...As shown by reference number 316, the UE may perform the RACH procedure with the secondary node after the UE transitions to the SCG activated state. For example, the UE may determine that a timing advance (TA) timer has expired. The UE may perform the RACH procedure to access the PSCell associated with the SCG based at least in part on the TA timer being expired...”, note that para. 67 discloses “...The UE may transmit the SCG failure information message based at least in part on an SCG failure recovery procedure initiated at the UE. In other words, the UE may initiate an SCG failure recovery procedure, which may involve transmitting the SCG failure information message, via the MCG based at least in part on the UE detecting PSCell RLF or the UE detecting a beam failure...”)
Regarding claim 10, PURKAYASTHA in view of SIOMINA teaches claim 1.
PURKAYASTHA further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
receive a message including both a random access (RA) resource set and the activation indication associated with the SCG (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 79, “...In some aspects, the UE may receive, from the master node, an SCG activation command to transition the UE from the SCG deactivated state to the SCG activated state. The SCG activation command may indicate the RACH parameter configuration...”),
and access the SCG via the RACH procedure using the RA resource set in the message (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 81, “...The UE may perform the RACH procedure based at least in part on the RACH parameter configuration, which may be received at the UE via the RRC reconfiguration or via the SCG activation command...”).
Regarding claim 11, PURKAYASTHA in view of SIOMINA teaches claim 1.
PURKAYASTHA further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: receive an indication indicating which random access (RA) resource set is used for the RACH procedure, and access the SCG via the RACH procedure using a RA resource set indicated by the indication. (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 79 and 81, “...the UE may receive, from the master node, an SCG activation command to transition the UE from the SCG deactivated state to the SCG activated state. The SCG activation command may indicate the RACH parameter configuration...”, note that “...The UE may perform the RACH procedure based at least in part on the RACH parameter configuration, which may be received at the UE via the RRC reconfiguration or via the SCG activation command...”)
Regarding claim 12, PURKAYASTHA in view of SIOMINA teaches claim 1.
PURKAYASTHA further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: initiate a SCG failure information procedure, in response to failing to access the SCG or in response to detecting a SCG activation failure associated with the SCG (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 63, 65, and 66 in view of para. 57 and 59, e.g. steps 302, 306, and 308, “...As shown by reference number 308, the UE may detect a PSCell RLF based at least in part on the RLM reference signal measurements. For example, the UE may detect the PSCell RLF based at least in part on the RLM reference signal measurements not satisfying a threshold...”, note that para. 57 discloses “...The UE may detect RLF based at least in part on an out-of-sync indication and/or an in-sync indication. The out-of-sync indication may be associated with the RLM reference signals (e.g., all of the RLM reference signals configured for the UE) being less than a configured threshold (Qout). The out-of-sync indication may correspond to a presence of RLF for the UE. The in-sync indication may be associated with the RLM reference signals (e.g., any of the RLM reference signals configured for the UE) being greater than a configured threshold (Qin)...”),
and transmit a message including a failure type to the network (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 67 in view of para. 59, “...As shown by reference number 310, the UE may transmit, to the master node associated with an MCG, an SCG failure information message. The UE may transmit the SCG failure information message based at least in part on the PSCell RLF detection, which may be based at least in part on the RLM reference signal measurements...”, note that para. 59 discloses “...In the case of SCG RLF, SCG failure information may be communicated by the UE via an MCG to initiate a radio link recovery...”).
Regarding claim 13, PURKAYASTHA in view of SIOMINA teaches claim 12.
PURKAYASTHA further teaches wherein the failure type is set as at least one of:
a SCG activation failure;
a radio link failure (RLF) (PURKAYASTHA, see at least para. 67 in view of para. 59, “...As shown by reference number 310, the UE may transmit, to the master node associated with an MCG, an SCG failure information message. The UE may transmit the SCG failure information message based at least in part on the PSCell RLF detection, which may be based at least in part on the RLM reference signal measurements...”, note that para. 59 discloses “...In the case of SCG RLF, SCG failure information may be communicated by the UE via an MCG to initiate a radio link recovery...”);
a beam failure recovery failure, in response to initiating the RACH procedure for beam failure recovery (BFR) or in response to using a random access (RA) resource set for BFR for activating the SCG;
a SCG synchronization reconfiguration failure; or
a type related to a firstly occurred failure within two or more failures, in response to detecting the two or more failures during activating the SCG.
Regarding claim 14, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as a combination of claims 1 and 4. To be more specific, although reciting subject matters slightly different, one skilled in the art would have known claim 14 performs reverse (or corresponding) procedures of the combination of claims 1 and 4 (wholly or partially). For example, it would be a MN of claim 14 that performs the reverse (or corresponding) receiving from and transmitting to the UE of claims 1 and 4. Hence, the examiner applies the same rejection reasoning as set forth in claims 1 and 4.
Regarding claims 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20, these claims are rejected for the same reasoning as claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 12, respectively, except each of these claims is in system claim format.
To be more specific, PURKAYASTHA in view of SIOMINA also teaches a same or similar system comprising processor and memory (PURKAYASTHA, see at least fig. 2), which are well known in the art and commonly used for providing and enabling robust and reliable data communication hardware and software.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding independent claims 1, 14, and 16, since applicant's amendment necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, previous Office action's rejections are moot. Accordingly, corresponding dependent claims have also been rejected in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YEE F LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7577. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YEE F LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465