DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/28/2024, 06/04/2025, and 01/05/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 06/08/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The attempt to incorporate subject matter into this application by reference to PCT/CN2022/105560 is ineffective because the incorporation by reference was filed after the PCT date of 07/13/2022, which considered the filing date of the US application. As such, the incorporation by reference statement must be removed, as it introduces new matter by being filed after the filing date of the application.
See MPEP 608.01(p) I B: For the incorporation by reference to be effective as a proper safeguard, the incorporation by reference statement must be filed at the time of filing of the later-filed application. An incorporation by reference statement added after an application s filing date is not effective because no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date and MPEP 1893.03(b): An international application designating the U.S. has two stages (international and national) with the filing date being the same in both stages. Often the date of entry into the national stage is confused with the filing date. It should be borne in mind that the filing date of the international stage application is also the filing date for the national stage application. Specifically, 35 U.S.C. 363 provides that an international application designating the United States shall have the effect, from its international filing date under Article 11 of the treaty, of a national application for patent regularly filed in the Patent and Trademark Office as well as:
PCT Article 11(3) - ...an international filing date shall have the effect of a regular national application in each designated State as of the international filing date, which date shall be considered to be the actual filing date in each designated State. The specification amendment filed on 06/28/2024 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the incorporation by reference to PCT/CN2022/105560.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 10, 15, 21, and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, the term may be amended as “a side wall of the holder body” in line 3.
The term may be amended as “an automatic cleaning equipment” in line 3 of claim 10, and in lines 1-2 of claims 15, 21, and 28.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 215191259U, cited on 06/28/2024 IDS, hereinafter Wang ‘259), in view of Xu (CN 212679039U, cited on 06/28/2024 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Wang ‘259 discloses, in fig. 1, a self-cleaning dust collection holder (base station 02), comprising:
a holder body (base 2) comprising:
a water storage chamber provided at a top of the holder body and configured to accommodate a water storage tank (figs. 1 and 8 and Wang ‘259 English translation, p. 6:29-30, the base 2 [corresponds to the recited holder body] comprises a water storage chamber at a top of the base 2 to accommodate a water purifying tank 21 and a sewage tank 22. Bottom of the tanks 21, 22 are inserted in an opening of the base 2 as shown in fig. 8. The opening is the recited water storage chamber), but does not disclose a dust collection chamber provided, side by side with the water storage chamber, at the top of the holder body and configured to accommodate a dust collection hood; and a wind duct provided along substantially a height direction of the holder body, wherein a dust collection port on a base of the holder body and the dust collection chamber are connected through the wind duct.
Xu teaches, in an analogous automatic cleaning device field of endeavor, a dust collection chamber provided, side by side with the water storage chamber, at the top of the holder body and configured to accommodate a dust collection hood (figs. 1 and 3 and Xu English translation, p. 4:21-5:2, a main machine 1 [corresponds to the recited holder body] comprises a chamber to accommodate a garbage recycling box 8 [corresponds to the recited dust collection hood]. The garbage recycling box 8 is disposed side by side with a cleaning water tank 2. Therefore, by combining with Wang ‘259, the recited dust collection chamber would be disposed side by side with the recited water storage chamber at the top of the recited holder body); and
a wind duct provided along substantially a height direction of the holder body, wherein a dust collection port on a base of the holder body and the dust collection chamber are connected through the wind duct (fig. 3 and Xu English translation, p. 4:21-5:2, a connecting device 7 [corresponds to the recited wind duct] is disposed along a height direction and the connecting device 7 connects the chamber of the garbage recycling box 8 and a dirt suction opening 73 [corresponds to the recited dust collection port] on a machine shell bottom plate 9 [corresponds to the recited base]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the holder body of Wang ‘259 to provide the dust collection chamber, the dust collection hood, the wind duct, and the dust collection port as taught by Xu so that the cleaning device can store collected dust into a docking station.
Regarding claim 5, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising: a sewage tank and a clean water tank provided side by side on the water storage chamber (Wang ‘259 fig. 1, the sewage tank 22 and the water purifying tank 21 [corresponds to the recited clean water tank] are disposed side by side on the water storage chamber), and the dust collection hood provided on the dust collection chamber and side by side with the sewage tank and the clean water tank (Xu figs. 1 and 3, the garbage recycling box 8 [corresponds to the recited duct collection hood] is disposed side by side with the cleaning water tank 2. By combining with Wang ‘259, the garbage recycling box 8 of Xu would be disposed side by side with the sewage tank 22 and the water purifying tank 21 of Wang ‘259).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the self-cleaning dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu to provide the dust collection hood side by side with the water tank as taught by Xu in order to pack all water tanks and the dust collection hood in a small space of the holder body so that cleaning apparatus can be made small to utilize a space effectively.
Regarding claim 10, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein a washing chamber provided with a forward opening is formed at a lower part of the self-cleaning dust collection holder body, and the washing chamber is adapted to automatic cleaning equipment (Wang ‘259 English translation, p. 6:17-38 and figs. 1-2 and 10, the base 2 [corresponds to the recited holder body] includes a containing cavity 20 [corresponds to the recited opening], which opens forward of the base 2. The cavity 20 includes a nozzle 212 and concave cavity 231 used for cleaning a sweeping machine [corresponds to the recited automatic cleaning equipment]. Therefore, the concave cavity 231 in the cavity 20 forms the recited washing chamber).
Regarding claim 11, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein a washing tank is provided in the washing chamber, and is configured to clean a cleaning part of the automatic cleaning equipment after the automatic cleaning equipment is in adapted connection with the washing chamber (Wang ‘259 English translation, p. 5:35-6:28 and figs. 1-5 and 10, a main plate 252 of the recited washing chamber forms a water containing groove 2521 [corresponds to the recited washing tank]. The groove 2521 is connected with the sewage tank 22. The water from the nozzle 212 used for cleaning the sweeping machine [corresponds to the recited automatic cleaning equipment] is drained into the groove 2521 through filter holes 2311. Therefore, the groove 2521 is associated with the cleaning of the sweeping machine).
Regarding claim 12, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the dust collection port and the washing tank are provided, one behind the other, in a substantially parallel manner on the base of the holder body (Xu fig. 3, a washing apparatus including cleaning brushes 5 and cleaning scraping strips 6 is disposed behind the dirt suction port 73 [corresponds to the dust collection port] on the base in a parallel manner. By combining with Wang ‘259, because the washing chamber of Wang ‘259 includes the water containing groove 2521 [corresponds to the recited washing tank], the washing tank would be disposed behind the dust collection port).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base of Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu to provide the dust collection port and the washing tank in the parallel manner as taught by Xu so that sucking dirt from a robot and cleaning the robot can be performed simultaneous when the robot docks to a docking station.
Regarding claim 13, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising: a bottom plate, wherein the bottom plate is detachably connected to the holder body (Xu English translation, p. 5:18-21 and fig. 5, the machine body shell bottom plate 9 [corresponds to the recited bottom plate] is detachably set on a cleaning dock 11, which is equivalent to the washing chamber of the holder body).
Wang ‘259 discloses a plate 2051 in front of the base 2 (see figs. 2 and 8) which appears to be detachable, however, specification of Wang ‘259 does not present explanation regarding the plate 2051.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu to provide the bottom plate as taught by Xu. It provides a ramp for the cleaning robot to enter the docking station, and it can be washed by itself because it is detachable.
Regarding claim 14, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the wind duct is at least partially provided on a side wall of the holder body (Xu, fig. 3, the connecting device 7 [corresponds to the recited wind duct] is connected at a side of the garbage recycling box 8 [corresponds to the recited dust collection hood]. Because Wang ‘259 teaches the water tanks are held in the chamber having front, rear, and side walls, by combining with Wang ‘259, the connecting device 7 of Xu would be at least partially provides on the side wall).
Alternatively, specification of the instant application presents the wind duct on the side wall makes a wind duct path to be reduced (¶ 0044). The connecting device 7 of Xu appears to be disposed close to a rear side. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu to provide the wind duct on a rear wall of the holder body as long as the wind duct provides fluid communication in a short path between the dust collection hood and the dust collection port since applicant has not disclosed that by doing so produces any unexpected results or is critical to the design, and it appears the connecting device 7 of Xu would perform equally as well by doing so, and because a person or ordinary skill in the art would readily dispose the wind duct the rear wall as long as it can deliver dust to the garbage recycling box 8/duct collection hood.
Regarding claim 15, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein a dust collection system comprises automatic cleaning equipment, and the self-cleaning dust collection holder (Wang ‘259 English translation, p. 5:3-5, a cleaner system comprises a cleaning machine/sweeper 01 [corresponds to the recited automatic cleaning equipment] and a base station 02 [corresponds to the recited self-cleaning dust collection holder]).
Claims 2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ‘259 in view of Xu, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above respectively, and in further view of Wang et al. (CN 214128451U, cited on 06/28/2024 IDS, hereinafter Wang ‘451).
Regarding claim 2, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose a boss is provided in the water storage chamber, is attached to a rear wall of the water storage chamber, and extends upwardly from a bottom of the water storage chamber to a height lower than the rear wall of the water storage chamber; and a plurality of raised openings is formed in a top of the boss, and is configured to be connected to the water storage tank.
Wang ‘451 teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a boss is provided in the water storage chamber, is attached to a rear wall of the water storage chamber, and extends upwardly from a bottom of the water storage chamber to a height lower than the rear wall of the water storage chamber; and a plurality of raised openings is formed in a top of the boss, and is configured to be connected to the water storage tank (see annotated Wang ‘451 fig. 3 below and Wang ‘451 English translation, p. 6:30-7:13, interfaces 1111 [correspond to the recited raised openings] are connected to a water purifying tank 2200 and a sewage tank 2100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu to provide the boss and the plurality of raised openings as taught by Wang ‘451 for fluid communication with clean water and sewage water in the cleaning apparatus.
Annotated Wang ‘451 Figure 3
Regarding claim 6, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 5, but does not disclose a vertically extending partition is provided in the water storage chamber, and divides the water storage chamber into two parts, one part for accommodating the sewage tank and the other part for accommodating the clean water tank.
Wang ‘451 teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a vertically extending partition is provided in the water storage chamber, and divides the water storage chamber into two parts, one part for accommodating the sewage tank and the other part for accommodating the clean water tank (see annotated Wang ‘451 fig. 3 above, the partition is provided in the water storage chamber and it is vertically extended).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu to provide the partition as taught by Wang ‘451. It helps placing the clean water tank and the sewage tank onto the dust collection holder correctly.
Regarding claim 7, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu and Wang ‘451 teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 6, wherein the sewage tank and the clean water tank are partially located outside the water storage chamber when the sewage tank and the clean water tank are assembled in the water storage chamber (Wang ‘259, fig. 1, the water purifying tank 21 [corresponds to the recited clean water tank] and the sewage tank 22 are located outside the water storage chamber when they are placed on the holder body); and the dust collection hood is partially located outside the dust collection chamber when the dust collection hood is assembled on the dust collection chamber (Xu, fig. 3, Xu disclose the cleaning water tank 2 and the garbage recycling box 8 [corresponds to the recited dust collection hood]. By combining with Wang ‘259, the garbage recycling box 8 can be partially located outside the chamber like the water tanks when it is placed on the holder body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu and Wang ‘451 to provide the dust collection hood to be partially located outside the dust collection chamber for easy installation and removal of the dust collection hood from the holder body so that the dust in the dust collection hood can be emptied conveniently.
Regarding claim 8, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu and Wang ‘451 teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the raised openings comprise: an air pump opening and a sewage tank connection opening, provided in an upper part of the boss and corresponding to an assembling position of the sewage tank; and a clean water tank connection opening, provided in the upper part of the boss and corresponding to an assembling position of the clean water tank (annotated Wang ‘451 fig. 3 above and Wang ‘451 English translation, p. 6:30-7:3, a first cavity 1110 accommodates the sewage tank 2100 wherein the boss of the first cavity 1110 comprises a first interface 1111a [corresponds to the recited sewage tank connection opening] and a second interface 1111b [corresponds to the recited air pump opening]. The second interface 1111b is connected with an air pump; p. 6:9-13, a second cavity 1120 is corresponding to the water purifying tank 2200, and the boss of the second cavity 1120 comprises an interface [corresponds to the recited clean water tank connection opening]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu and Wang ‘451 to provide the recited raised openings as taught by Wang ‘451 for fluid communication with clean water tank and sewage tank in the cleaning apparatus.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ‘259 in view of Xu, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Hu (CN 2687022Y).
Regarding claim 3, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein an opening of the water storage chamber or the dust collection chamber is oriented upward (Wang ‘259, fig. 1, the recited water storage chamber for holding the water purifying tank 21 and the sewage tank 22 has an opening oriented upward), but does not disclose the opening is also oriented forward.
Hu teaches, in a container device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the opening of the water storage chamber or the dust collection chamber is also oriented forward (figs. 4-5 and Hu English translation, p. 3:35-4:9, a box for containing an article comprises a high rear wall 10 and a short front wall 11, which makes the box to have an opening oriented upward and forward. Wang ‘259 discloses the chamber for holding the water tank wherein the chamber has the front wall, side wall, and the rear wall. The walls of Wang ‘259 do not have height differences, but by combining with Wang ‘259, the rear wall can be shaped to be higher than the front wall so that the opening can be oriented upward as well as forward).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chamber of Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu to provide the forward opening as taught by Hu. It allows a user to easily observe the articles in the box/chamber (Hu English translation, p. 3:35-4:7). A user can identify clean water tank, sewage water tank, and the dust box easily.
Regarding claim 4, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu and Hu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the water storage chamber and the dust collection chamber are formed by the rear wall, a front wall and a side wall of the holder body in a surrounding manner, and the side wall of the holder body connects the rear wall and the front wall (Wang ‘259 fig. 1, the recited water storage chamber is surrounded by the recited rear, front, and side walls wherein the side wall connects the rear and front walls. Xu discloses the recited dust collection hood, and by combining with Xu, the recited dust collection chamber would have the rear, front, and side walls similarly), wherein the rear wall of the holder body is higher than the front wall of the holder body (Hu English translation, p. 3:35-4:9 and figs. 4-5, the rear wall 10 of the box is higher than the front wall 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chamber of Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu and Hu to provide the higher rear wall as taught by Hu. It allows a user to easily observe the articles in the box/chamber (Hu English translation, p. 3:35-4:7). A user can identify clean water tank, sewage water tank, and the dust box easily.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ‘259 in view of Xu, as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Liu et al. (CN 113384198A, cited on 01/05/2026 IDS, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 9, Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose explicitly the dust collection hood comprises an opening in sealed connection with an end face of the dust collection chamber.
Liu teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the dust collection hood comprises an opening in sealed connection with an end face of the dust collection chamber (fig. 3 and Liu English translation p. 8:39-9:9, a dust bag 7 [corresponds to the recited dust collection hood] has an opening coupled with a soft rubber ring 63 when it is placed in a dust collecting box 6 [corresponds to the recited dust collection chamber]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection hood of Wang ‘259 as modified by Xu to provide the sealed opening as taught by Liu in order to improve tight sealing connection of the dust collecting box (Liu English translation, p. 9:4-9).
Claims 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 215191259U, cited on 06/28/2024 IDS, hereinafter Wang ‘259), in view of Gao et al. (CN 215191283U, cited on 06/28/2024 IDS, hereinafter Gao).
Regarding claim 16, Wang ‘259 discloses, in fig. 1, a self-cleaning dust collection holder (base station 02), comprising:
a holder body (base 2) comprising:
a water storage chamber at a top of the holder body (figs. 1 and 8 and Wang ‘259 English translation, p. 6:29-30, the base 2 [corresponds to the recited holder body] comprises a water storage chamber at a top of the base 2 to accommodate a water purifying tank 21 and a sewage tank 22. Bottom of the tanks 21, 22 are inserted in an opening of the base 2 as shown in fig. 8. The opening is the recited water storage chamber), wherein
a water storage tank is removably provided in the water storage chamber (fig. 1, the water tank includes a handle for installing and removing); but does not disclose a dust collection hood removably sleeves the dust collection chamber to form a closed dust collection bin for dust collection; and a water storage chamber and a dust collection chamber provided side by side at a top of the holder body, wherein in an assembling state, an opening of the water storage tank is oriented upward, and an opening of the dust collection hood is oriented downward.
Gao teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a dust collection hood removably sleeves the dust collection chamber to form a closed dust collection bin for dust collection (fig. 2 and Gao English translation, p. 9:31-33, a dust collection box 101 [corresponds to the recited dust collection hood] is detachably mounted on an integration station 1 [corresponds to the recited dust collection chamber]; p. 15:9-11 and 16:25-27, a sewage collecting tank 102 and a clean water tank 103 are also detachably mounted); and a water storage chamber and a dust collection chamber provided side by side at a top of the holder body (fig. 2, the dust collecting box 101, the sewage collecting tank 102, and the clear water tank 103 are disposed side by side. Because Wang ‘259 teaches the chamber at the top of the holder body, by combining with Wang ‘259, the water storage chamber and the dust collection chamber would be provided side by side at the top of the holder body), wherein in an assembling state, an opening of the water storage tank is oriented upward (fig. 7, a first sewage inlet 1022 [corresponds to the opening] of the sewage collecting tank 102 is oriented upward), and an opening of the dust collection hood is oriented downward (fig. 5, a dust outlet 1013 of the dust collecting box 101 [corresponds to the recited opening of the dust collection hood] is oriented downward).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 to provide the water storage tank and the dust collection hood as taught by Gao so that the cleaning device can perform both wet cleaning and dry cleaning.
Regarding claim 21, Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein a dust collection system comprises automatic cleaning equipment, and the self-cleaning dust collection holder (Wang ‘259 English translation, p. 5:3-5, a cleaner system comprises a cleaning machine/sweeper 01 [corresponds to the recited automatic cleaning equipment] and a base station 02 [corresponds to the recited self-cleaning dust collection holder]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ‘259 in view of Gao, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Hu.
Regarding claim 17, Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the water storage chamber and the dust collection chamber are formed by the rear wall, a front wall and a side wall of the holder body in a surrounding manner, and the side wall of the holder body connects the rear wall and the front wall (Wang ‘259 fig. 1, the recited water storage chamber is surrounded by the recited rear, front, and side walls wherein the side wall connects the rear and front walls. Gao discloses the recited dust collection hood, and by combining with Gao, the recited dust collection chamber would have the rear, front, and side walls similarly), but does not disclose the rear wall of the holder body is higher than the front wall of the holder body.
Hu teaches, in a container device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the rear wall of the holder body is higher than the front wall of the holder body (Hu English translation, p. 3:35-4:9 and figs. 4-5, the rear wall 10 of the box is higher than the front wall 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chamber of Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao to provide the higher rear wall as taught by Hu. It allows a user to easily observe the articles in the box/chamber (Hu English translation, p. 3:35-4:7). A user can identify clean water tank, sewage water tank, and the dust box easily.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ‘259 in view of Gao, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Wang ‘451.
Regarding claim 18, Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the water storage tank comprises a sewage tank and a clean water tank (Wang ‘259 fig. 1, the sewage tank 22 and the water purifying tank 21 [corresponds to the recited clean water tank] are disposed on the water storage chamber), but does not disclose a vertically extending partition is provided in the water storage chamber, and divides the water storage chamber into two parts, one part for accommodating the sewage tank and the other part for accommodating the clean water tank.
Wang ‘451 teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a vertically extending partition is provided in the water storage chamber, and divides the water storage chamber into two parts, one part for accommodating the sewage tank and the other part for accommodating the clean water tank (see annotated Wang ‘451 fig. 3 above, the partition is provided in the water storage chamber and it is vertically extended).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao to provide the partition as taught by Wang ‘451. It helps placing the clean water tank and the sewage tank onto the dust collection holder correctly.
Regarding claim 19, Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao and Wang ‘451 teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 18, wherein the sewage tank and the clean water tank are partially located outside the water storage chamber when the sewage tank and the clean water tank are assembled in the water storage chamber (Wang ‘259, fig. 1, the water purifying tank 21 [corresponds to the recited clean water tank] and the sewage tank 22 are located outside the water storage chamber when they are placed on the holder body); and the dust collection hood is partially located outside the dust collection chamber when the dust collection hood is assembled in the dust collection chamber (Gao, fig. 2, Gao disclose the dust collecting box 101, a sewage collecting tank 102, and a clear water tank 103. By combining with Wang ‘259, the dust collecting box 101 can be partially located outside the chamber when it is placed on the holder body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao and Wang ‘451 to provide the dust collection hood to be partially located outside the dust collection chamber for easy installation and removal of the dust collection hood from the holder body so that the dust in the dust collection hood can be emptied conveniently.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ‘259 in view of Gao, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Liu.
Regarding claim 20, Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 16, but does not disclose explicitly the opening of the dust collection hood is in sealed connection with an end face of the dust collection chamber.
Liu teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the opening of the dust collection hood is in sealed connection with an end face of the dust collection chamber (fig. 3 and Liu English translation p. 8:39-9:9, a dust bag 7 [corresponds to the recited dust collection hood] has an opening coupled with a soft rubber ring 63 when it is placed in a dust collecting box 6 [corresponds to the recited dust collection chamber]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection hood of Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao to provide the sealed opening as taught by Liu in order to improve tight sealing connection of the dust collecting box (Liu English translation, p. 9:4-9).
Claims 22-24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 215191259U, cited on 06/28/2024 IDS, hereinafter Wang ‘259), in view of Gao et al. (CN 215191283U, cited on 06/28/2024 IDS, hereinafter Gao) and Hu (CN 2687022Y).
Regarding claim 22, Wang ‘259 discloses, in fig. 1, a self-cleaning dust collection holder (base station 02), comprising:
a holder body (base 2) comprising:
a water storage chamber at a top of the holder body (figs. 1 and 8 and Wang ‘259 English translation, p. 6:29-30, the base 2 [corresponds to the recited holder body] comprises a water storage chamber at a top of the base 2 to accommodate a water purifying tank 21 and a sewage tank 22. Bottom of the tanks 21, 22 are inserted in an opening of the base 2 as shown in fig. 8. The opening is the recited water storage chamber),
a water storage tank is removably provided in the water storage chamber (fig. 1, the water tank includes a handle for installing and removing in the water storage chamber), and a partial tank body of the water storage tank is located outside the water storage chamber (see fig. 1, the tanks 21, 22 are partially disposed outside the water storage chamber), but does not disclose a water storage chamber and a dust collection chamber provided side by side at a top of the holder body, and a dust collection hood is removably provided in the dust collection chamber.
Gao teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a water storage chamber and a dust collection chamber provided side by side at a top of the holder body (fig. 2, the dust collecting box 101, a sewage collecting tank 102, and a clear water tank 103 are disposed side by side. Because Wang ‘259 teaches the chamber at the top of the holder body, by combining with Wang ‘259, the water storage chamber and the dust collection chamber would be provided side by side at the top of the holder body), and a dust collection hood is removably provided in the dust collection chamber (fig. 2 and Gao English translation, p. 9:31-33, a dust collection box 101 [corresponds to the recited dust collection hood] is detachably mounted on an integration station 1 [corresponds to the recited dust collection chamber]; p. 15:9-11 and 16:25-27, a sewage collecting tank 102 and a clean water tank 103 are also detachably mounted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 to provide the water storage chamber and the dust collection chamber as taught by Gao so that the cleaning device can perform both wet cleaning and dry cleaning.
Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao teaches openings of the water storage chamber and the dust collection chamber are oriented upward, and a partial hood body of the dust collection hood is exposed outside the dust collection chamber.
Wang ‘259 teaches the opening of the water storage chamber is oriented upward (fig. 1) and the water tanks 21, 22 are partially disposed outside the water storage chamber. By combining with Gao, the opening of the dust collection chamber would also be oriented upward and a body of the dust collection box 101 [corresponds to the recited dust collection hood] would be exposed partially outside the chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao to provide the chamber oriented upward and the dust collection hood exposed outside the chamber so that the dust collection hood can be installed into or removed from the chamber easily.
Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao does not disclose openings of the water storage chamber and the dust collection chamber are also oriented forward.
Hu teaches, in a container device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, openings of the water storage chamber and the dust collection chamber are also oriented forward (figs. 4-5 and Hu English translation, p. 3:35-4:9, a box for containing an article comprises a high rear wall 10 and a short front wall 11, which makes the box to have an opening oriented upward and forward. Wang ‘259 discloses the chamber for holding the water tank wherein the chamber has the front wall, side wall, and the rear wall. The walls of Wang ‘259 do not height difference, but by combining with Wang ‘259, the rear wall can be shaped to be higher than the front wall so that the opening can be oriented upward as well as forward).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chamber of Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao to provide the forward opening as taught by Hu. It allows a user to easily observe the articles in the box/chamber (Hu English translation, p. 3:35-4:7). A user can identify clean water tank, sewage water tank, and the dust box easily.
Regarding claim 23, Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao and Hu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 22, wherein the water storage chamber and the dust collection chamber are formed by the rear wall, a front wall and a side wall of the holder body in a surrounding manner, and the side wall of the holder body connects the rear wall and the front wall (Wang ‘259 fig. 1, the recited water storage chamber is surrounded by the recited rear, front, and side walls wherein the side wall connects the rear and front walls. Gao discloses the recited dust collection hood, and by combining with Gao, the recited dust collection chamber would have the rear, front, and side walls similarly), wherein the rear wall of the holder body is higher than the front wall of the holder body (Hu English translation, p. 3:35-4:9 and figs. 4-5, the rear wall 10 of the box is higher than the front wall 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chamber of Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao and Hu to provide the higher rear wall as taught by Hu. It allows a user to easily observe the articles in the box/chamber (Hu English translation, p. 3:35-4:7). A user can identify clean water tank, sewage water tank, and the dust box easily.
Regarding claim 24, Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao and Hu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 22, further comprising: a sewage tank and a clean water tank provided side by side on the water storage chamber (Wang ‘259 fig. 1, the sewage tank 22 and the water purifying tank 21 [corresponds to the recited clean water tank] are disposed side by side on the water storage chamber), and the dust collection hood provided on the dust collection chamber and side by side with the sewage tank and the clean water tank (Gao fig. 2, the dust collecting box 101 [corresponds to the recited duct collection hood] is disposed side by side with the sewage collecting tank 102 and the clear water tank 103. By combining with Wang ‘259, the dust collecting box 101 would be disposed side by side with the sewage tank 22 and the water purifying tank 21 of Wang ‘259).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the self-cleaning dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao and Hu to provide the dust collection hood side by side with the water tank as taught by Gao in order to pack all water tanks and the dust collection hood in a small space of the holder body so that cleaning apparatus can be made small to utilize a space effectively.
Regarding claim 28, Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao and Hu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 22, wherein a dust collection system comprises automatic cleaning equipment, and the self-cleaning dust collection holder (Wang ‘259 English translation, p. 5:3-5, a cleaner system comprises a cleaning machine/sweeper 01 [corresponds to the recited automatic cleaning equipment] and a base station 02 [corresponds to the recited self-cleaning dust collection holder]).
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ‘259 in view of Gao and Hu, as applied to claim 24 above, and in further view of Wang ‘451.
Regarding claim 25, Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao and Hu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 24, but does not disclose a vertically extending partition is provided in the water storage chamber, and divides the water storage chamber into two parts, one part for accommodating the sewage tank and the other part for accommodating the clean water tank.
Wang ‘451 teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a vertically extending partition is provided in the water storage chamber, and divides the water storage chamber into two parts, one part for accommodating the sewage tank and the other part for accommodating the clean water tank (see f Wang ‘451 fig. 3 above, the partition is provided in the water storage chamber and it is vertically extended).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao and Hu to provide the partition as taught by Wang ‘451. It helps placing the clean water tank and the sewage tank onto the dust collection holder correctly.
Regarding claim 26, Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao, Hu, and Wang ‘451 teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 25, wherein the sewage tank and the clean water tank are partially located outside the water storage chamber when the sewage tank and the clean water tank are assembled in the water storage chamber (Wang ‘259, fig. 1, the water purifying tank 21 [corresponds to the recited clean water tank] and the sewage tank 22 are located outside the water storage chamber when they are placed on the holder body); and the dust collection hood is partially located outside the dust collection chamber when the dust collection hood is assembled in the dust collection chamber (Gao, fig. 2, Gao disclose the dust collecting box 101, a sewage collecting tank 102, and a clear water tank 103. By combining with Wang ‘259, the dust collecting box 101 can be partially located outside the chamber when it is placed on the holder body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection holder of Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao, Hu, and Wang ‘451 to provide the dust collection hood to be partially located outside the dust collection chamber for easy installation and removal of the dust collection hood from the holder body so that the dust in the dust collection hood can be emptied conveniently.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ‘259 in view of Gao and Hu, as applied to claim 22 above, and in further view of Liu.
Regarding claim 27, Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao and Hu teaches the self-cleaning dust collection holder as in the rejection of claim 22, but does not disclose explicitly the dust collection hood comprises an opening in sealed connection with an end face of the dust collection chamber.
Liu teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the dust collection hood comprises an opening in sealed connection with an end face of the dust collection chamber (fig. 3 and Liu English translation p. 8:39-9:9, a dust bag 7 [corresponds to the recited dust collection hood] has an opening coupled with a soft rubber ring 63 when it is placed in a dust collecting box 6 [corresponds to the recited dust collection chamber]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dust collection hood of Wang ‘259 as modified by Gao and Hu to provide the sealed opening as taught by Liu in order to improve tight sealing connection of the dust collecting box (Liu English translation, p. 9:4-9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2020/0367714) discloses a self-cleaning dust collection holder comprising a partitioned chambers for holding a dust collection hood.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723