DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because legal phraseology such as :The invention” is used. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature of “horizontal extension” as recited in claim 34 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25 and 31-34,37, 39-43,46,48,56-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thumm et al l (PG-Pub# 20210382092 A1) in view of Applicants ‘ Admitted prior art.
As to claim 25, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as shown in figure 5 comprising; a) a current measuring resistor (2) with al) a first connection part (element “3” on the left side of the current measuring resistor (2)) made of a conductor material for introducing the electrical current to be measured into the current measuring resistor (2) ,a2) a second connection part element “3” on the right side of the current measuring resistor (2) made of a conductor material for conducting the electrical current to be measured out of the current measuring resistor, and a3) a resistor element (4) made of a resistance material, the resistor element being arranged in the direction of current flow between the first connection part and the second connection part, so that the electrical current to be measured flows through the resistor element, and with b) a circuit board (8) , which is electrically connected at at least two connection points to the two connection parts (3) of the current measuring resistor. It is noted that Thumm et al do not teach wherein the connection parts of the current measuring resistor are each connected to the circuit board at the connection points via a press connection with a material bond. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have connection parts (3) of the current measuring resistor connected to the circuit board (8) at the connection points via a press connection with a solder (material bond) for the purpose of fixing them together as one solid structure for measuring the current flowing through them.
As to claim 31, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claim 25 and it appears that wherein at least one of the connection parts (3) and the circuit board (8) have a surface structuring at the connection points.
As to claim 32, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claims 25 and 31 but do not explicitly mention about wherein the surface structuring contains at least one of the following materials: a) ENIG, b) ENEPIG, c) gold, d) copper, e) nickel-phosphorus, f) silver. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the surface structuring at the connections points in the device of Thumm et al have a conductive material such as gold since gold has good electrical conductivity property.
As to claim 33, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claims 25 but do not disclose a) at least one of the press connections includes a mechanical connection and an electrical connection between the circuit board and the connection parts of the current measuring resistor, b) the mechanical connection is spatially separated from the electrical connection and electrically insulated. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to consider that the press connections includes a mechanical connection and an electrical connection between the circuit board and the connection parts of the current measuring resistor would be another alternative choice for press connections since this type of the connection would not change the operation of the device.
As to claim 34, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claims 25 but do not disclose the press connections each have a horizontal extension parallel to the circuit board of at most 1 mm in order to enable precise voltage measurement at the connection parts. However, the dimension of the press connection of at most 1mm would be considered as an obvious choice since this dimension depends on the dimension of the connection points of the connection parts (3).
AS to claim 37, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claims 25 wherein the circuit board (8) is equipped with at least one electrical or electronic component “conductive track” and the component is connected to the circuit board by one of a press connection.
As to claim 39, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claims 25 but do not mention about the circuit board is connected at least four connection points to the two connection parts of the current measuring resistor, b) the four connection points form a rectangle, and c) the connection points each form a plurality of measuring channels in pairs, wherein the measuring channels each measure the voltage between the two connection parts of the current measuring resistor. However, the rearrangement for the connection points between the circuit board and the current measuring resistor would be considered as an obvious design choice since this arrangement would depend on the arrangement of connection points on both circuit board and the current measuring resistor. (see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)
As to claim 40, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claim 39 but do not explicitly mention about the connection points of the two measuring channels are arranged crosswise. However, this arrangement of connection points of the two measuring channels in crosswise would be considered as an obvious choice since this arrangement would not change the operation of the current measuring device of Thumm et al
As to claim 41, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claim 39 but do not explicitly mention about the connection points of the two measuring channels are arranged in parallel. However, this arrangement of connection points of the two measuring channels in parallel would be considered as an obvious choice since this arrangement would not change the operation of the current measuring device of Thumm et al
As to claim 42, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claims 25. It appears that the circuit board (8) is connected at at least two of the connection points to the two connection parts (3) of the current measuring resistor in order to measure the voltage dropping across the resistor element of the current measuring resistor, and b) the circuit board is connected to the resistor element at at least one of the connection points in order to enable a center tap on the resistor element.
As to claim 43, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claims 25. It appears that the circuit board (8) is connected at two of the connection points to the first connection part (3) and at one of the connection points to the second connection part (3), the three connection points forming a closed voltage mesh.
As to claim 46, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claims 25. It appears that the circuit board (8) is a rigid circuit board.
As to claim 48, the apparatus of Thumm et al as recited in claim 25 perform the method steps as recited in claim 48.
As to claim 56, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claims 25 for performing the method steps as recited in claim 48 but Thumm et al do not explicitly mention about producing a surface structuring on at least one of the connection parts and on the resistor element at the connection points before pressing together the circuit board and the connection parts of the current measuring resistor. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that a surface structuring on at least one of the connection parts and on the resistor element at the connection points has to be formed for the purpose of introducing conductive adhesive material between the connection parts and on the resistor element before pressing them together.
As to claim 57, as mentioned in claim 56, the surface structure is formed between the connection parts and on the resistor element with a conductive adhesive material but does not explicitly mention about the surface structure material contains gold. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use “gold” as a conductive adhesive material since gold has a best electrical conductivity property.
Claim 26-28 and 49-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thumm et al (PG-Pub# 20210382092 A1) as applied to claims 25 and 48 above, and further in view of Applicants ‘ admitted prior art.
As to claim 26, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claim 25, but do not explicitly mention about the press connection is a press-sinter connection.
Applicants admitted prior art (see paragraph# 0017) teach it is well known in the art to use this press-sinter connection as “press connection”.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a press connection in the device of Thumm et al with press-sinter connection as taught by Applicants’admitted prior art for the purpose of connecting both the circuit board (8) and the connection parts (3) in the device of Thumm et al together firmly.
As to claim 27, Thumm et al l in view of Applicants’ admitted prior art disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claim 26 and wherein the press-sinter connection contains an additional sinter material.
As to claim 28, Thumm et al in view of prior art disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claim 26. However, it would have been well known as admitted by Applicants (see paragraph# 0017) to use this press-sinter connection as “press connection” and this press-sinter connection contains an additional sinter material and this additional sinter material is silver or copper.
As to claim 49, Thumm et al in view of Applicants’ admitted prior art disclose a current measuring device for performing the method steps as recited in claims 25 and 48 using a press-sinter connection for pressing the circuit board and connection parts together. It is well known in the art that the press sinter connection uses heat to introduced at the connection points, so that is formed between the circuit board and the connection parts.
As to claim 50, Thumm et al in view of Applicants’ admitted prior art disclose a current measuring device for performing the method steps as recited in claims 25 and 48-49 using a press-sinter connection. It is noted that when press-sinter connection.is used, a sintering material is additionally added at the connection points before the pressing together.
As to claim 51, Thumm et al in view of Applicants’ admitted prior art disclose a current measuring device for performing the method steps as recited in claims 25 and 48-49 but do not explicitly mention about the heat input at the connection points leads to heating to a sintering temperature. However, since the press sinter connection is used, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that the heat input at the connection points leads has to be at a sintering temperature for the purpose of making connections between the circuit board and the connection points.
As to claim 52, the sintering temperature as mentioned in claim 51 has to be below the melting temperature of the conductor material and the resistance material , otherwise both circuit board and the connection points will not be pressed and fixed permanently.
As to claim 53, it appears that the sintering temperature is greater than +100° C and the sintering temperature is at most +500° C.
Claim 29-30,54-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thumm et al l (PG-Pub# 20210382092 A1) as applied to claims 25 and 48 above, and further in view of Hetzler (DE 10 2011121902A1) .
As to claim 29, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claim 25 but do not explicitly teach the press connection is a press-adhesive connection.
Hetzler teaches it is well-known in the art to use press-adhesive connection as the press connection.
It would have been well known in the art to use a press adhesive connection as a press connection as taught by Hetzler to the device of Thumm et al since the adhesive material is common used for strong and durable connection without using mechanical fasteners.
As to claim 30, Thumm et al l in view of Hetzler disclose a current measuring device for measuring an electric current as mentioned in claim 25-26 but do not explicitly mention that thepress adhesive connection comprises an epoxy adhesive. However, it would have been well known in the art that the adhesive connection in the device of Hetzler would comprise an
Epoxy adhesive.
As to claim 54, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for performing the method steps as recited in claim 48 but do not mentioned about coating connection parts and the resistor element with an adhesive before pressing them together.
Hetzler teaches it is well-known in the art to use press-adhesive connection as the press connection.
It would have been well known in the art to coat connection parts and the resistor element with an adhesive as taught by Hetzler since the adhesive material is common used for strong and durable connection without using mechanical fasteners.
As to claim 55, Thumm et al in view of Hetzlet disclose current measuring device for performing the method steps as recited in claims 25 and 48 coating connection parts and the resistor element with an adhesive. It would have been obvious that when the adhesive is used as coating connection, this connection takes place without additional heat input.
9. Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thumm et al (PG-Pub# 20210382092 A1) as applied to claims 25 and 48 above, and further in view of Onimaru et al (PG-Pub # 20150022225).
As to claim 38, Thumm et al in view of Hetzlet disclose current measuring device for performing the method steps as recited in claims 25 but do not mention about the circuit board (8) is equipped with an analog-to-digital converter.
Onimaru et al teach it is well known in the art to provide circuit board (21) with
n analog-to-digital converter (30) as shown in figure 5.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art provide the circuit board (8) in the device of Thumm et al with an analog-to-digital converter for the purpose of converting an analog signal to a digital signal.
Claims 59-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thumm et al (PG-Pub# 20210382092 A1) as applied to claims 25 and 48 above, and further in view of Guttenplan et al (Pat# 4,191,920).
As to claim 59, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for performing the method steps as recited in claim 48 but do not mentioned about contact fingers are formed in the circuit board, which project from the circuit board.
Guttenplan et al teach it would have been well-known in the art to have contact fingers (44) are formed in a circuit board (46) as shown in figure 2.
It would have been well known in the art to have the printed circuit in the device of Thumm et al including contact fingers as taught by Guttenplan et al for the purpose of making electrical contacts with the connection parts (3) and the current measuring resistor (2) during testing.
AS to claim 60, Thumm et al disclose a current measuring device for performing the method steps as recited in claims 48 and 59 but do not explicitly mention about slots are made in the circuit board in order to form the contact fingers. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to make slots in the circuit board (8) in the device of THumm et al for forming the contact fingers so that the contact fingers would be on the same surface of the circuit board
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 35-36,38, 44-45,47,58 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not disclose wherein a) the circuit board for contacting the current measuring resistor comprises a plurality of contact fingers which project from the circuit board, b) the contact fingers of the circuit board contact the current measuring resistor on its upper side and/or on its lower side, c) the current measuring resistor has recesses into each of which one of the contact fingers of the circuit board projects, d) one of the contact fingers in each case rests on the rear side of the circuit board, the current measuring resistor having a reduced thickness in the region of the recesses compared with the rest of the current measuring resistor, and e) the thickness of the connection parts in the region of the recesses is smaller than the thickness of the resistor element as recited in claim 35 and in combined with the limitation of claim 25. Claim 36 depend from objected claim 35, it is also objected to.
The prior art does not the circuit board is equipped with at least one of the following components: a) an analog-to-digital converter, b) a component for potential-separated data transmission, c) a microprocessor, wherein the microprocessor is arranged on the high side of the component for potential-separated data transmission or on the low side of the component for potential-separated data transmission, and d) an interface as recited in claim 38 and in combined with the limitations of claim 25.
The prior art does not disclose a current measuring device, wherein the circuit board contains an interface in order to transmit to an external evaluation unit via the interface, the interface being an analog interface: a) measured values of the voltage dropping between the connection parts and b) measured values of a temperature sensor arranged on the circuit board as recited in claim 44 and in combined with the limitations of claim 25.
The prior art does not disclose a current measuring device ,wherein a) the circuit board carries an evaluation unit which calculates the electrical current flowing through the current measuring resistor from the measured values of the voltage dropping between the connection parts, b) the evaluation unit is connected to a temperature sensor and takes the temperature into account when calculating the current flowing through the current measuring resistor for temperature correction, and c) the circuit board includes a digital interface, which is connected to the evaluation unit on the circuit board in order to output the electrical current calculated by the evaluation unit as recited in claim 45 and in combined with the limitation of claim 25.
The prior art does not disclose the current measuring device, wherein a) the current measuring resistor is of low resistance with an electrical resistance of at most 500μΩ, b) the current measuring resistor has a current carrying capacity of at least 100 A, c) the current measuring resistor is plate-shaped, d) the resistor element is plate-shaped, e) the connection parts are each plate-shaped, f) in the current measuring resistor the resistor element is connected to the connection parts by a welded joint, g) the current measuring resistor has an electrical resistance value with a temperature coefficient of at most 200 ppm/K, h) the conductor material of the connection parts of the current measuring resistor is one of copper, a copper alloy, aluminum and an aluminum alloy, i) the conductor material of the connection parts of the current measuring resistor has a lower specific electrical resistance than the resistance material of the resistor element of the current measuring resistor, j) the current measuring resistor has a length in the main current flow direction which is in the range of 5 mm-200 mm, k) the current measuring resistor has a width transverse to the main current flow di-reaction which is in the range of 10 mm-100 mm, l) the current measuring resistor has a thickness transverse to the main current flow direction which is in the range of 1 mm-5 mm, and m) the press connections each have an electrical contact resistance which is less than 1μΩ/mm.sup.2. as recited in claim 47 and in combined with the limitation of claim 25.
The prior art does not teach making recesses in the connection parts of the current measuring resistor, measuring the temperature coefficient of the electrical resistance value of the current measuring resistor during the manufacturing process, and adjusting the temperature coefficient of the electrical resistance value of the cur- rent measuring resistor by adjusting the depth of the recesses as recited in claim 58 and in combined with the limitations of claim 48.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kameko et al (Pat# 10,163,553) disclose Resistor And Method For Producing The Same
/VINH P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858