Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recited an acrylic compound comprising at least one selected from a group, but the group includes styrene, which is not an acrylic compound. Applicant should either delete styrene from the group or amended it to recite an acrylic group-containing styrene compound.
In claim 7, it is unclear what is meant by “an oxide film is removed”, noting that the claims recite an adhesive composition and not a method. Applicants should amend the claim to clarify whether the claim is a product-by-process claim where the solder particles or adhesive composition are obtained by a process involving removing an oxide film, or whether the claim requires the solder particles to be free of an oxide film.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sumi (JP 2003-55632 A).
An English-language machine translation of Sumi, which is attached, has been used in setting forth this rejection, and the paragraph numbers referred to herein are those of the machine translation.
In paragraph 1 Sumi discloses a tacky adhesive tape. In paragraphs 10-11 Sumi discloses that the tape comprises an adhesive component, which can be various acrylic compounds meeting the limitations of the acrylic compound of claim 1, and a dicyclopentadiene skeleton-containing epoxy resin, meeting the limitations of the dicyclopentadiene of claim 1. In paragraph 40 and the table on the last page of the translation, Sumi discloses sample compositions having 20 or 30 parts by weight of dicyclopentadiene (B1 or B2 in the examples) and 20 parts by weight of acrylic compound (A in the examples), leading to a ratio or 100 or 150 parts by weight of dicyclopentadiene per 100 parts by weight of acrylic compound, within the range recited in claim 2. In paragraph 11 Sumi discloses that the acrylic compound can be various alkyl (meth)acrylates recited in claim 3. In paragraph 28 Sumi discloses that the substrate of the adhesive tape can be various films, indicating that the adhesive is in the form of a film, as recited in claim 10.
Sumi does not specifically disclose the storage modulus of the composition at 100°. However, since the composition of Sumi meets the compositional limitations of the claims, including the specific acrylates recited in claim 3, it will possess the claimed properties. See MPEP 2112.01. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In light of the above, claims 1-3 and 10 are anticipated by Sumi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sumi in view of Lee (KR 101839945 B1).
The discussion of Sumi in paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference. Sumi discloses an adhesive tape composition meeting the limitations of claim 1, where the composition can comprise metals as conductive fillers, but does not specifically disclose the inclusion of solder particles.
An English-language machine translation of Lee, which is attached, has been used in setting forth this rejection, and the paragraph numbers referred to herein are those of the translation. In paragraph 16 Lee discloses a method of manufacturing a conductive adhesive comprising mixing solder particles with an adhesive resin, as recited in claim 4. In paragraph 69 Lee discloses that the solder particles can include the metals recited in claim 5. In paragraphs 82-85 Lee discloses that the melting point of the solder particles can be 220° C or lower, 150° C or lower, 140° C or lower, or 120° C or lower, all overlapping the ranges recited in claim 6. In paragraphs 16 and 89 Lee discloses that the method includes removing an oxide film from solder particles, as recited in claim 7. In paragraph 74 Lee discloses that the solder particles are present in an amount of 10 to 95% by weight, encompassing the ranges recited in claims 8-9.
The inclusion of the solder particles of Lee in the adhesive resin composition of Sumi therefore meets the limitations of claims 4-9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the solder particles of Lee in the adhesive resin composition of Sumi in according with the method of Lee, since Lee teaches in paragraphs in paragraphs 11-12 that the resulting adhesive resin has various favorable properties.
Conclusion
/JAMES C GOLOBOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771