DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on, 10/30/2025 04/15/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Specification, pages 2-3: the description, of Figures 6-8, is identical, which is improper. Each Figure needs to be described individually and uniquely, and, the descriptions of Figures may not be identical, they need to be different, from one another.
Claim Interpretation
Dependent Claim 25 is directed at “A base station”, and depends on Claim 12, directed at “A method”. These are two different statutory classes. There is case law that permits a dependent Claim to depend on an independent Claim of a different statutory class. Dependent Claim 25 is interpreted under this case law.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-15, 18, 20 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 3: “PBCH” needs to be defined, spelled out, in the Claim.
Claim 7, last line: “RV0” needs to be defined in the Claim.
Claim 8, line 3: “PO” needs to be defined, spelled out, in the Claim.
Claim 11, last line: “RV0” needs to be defined in the Claim.
Claim 18, line 3: “PO” needs to be defined, spelled out, in the Claim.
Claim 12, last line: “SSB” needs to be defined, spelled out, in the Claim.
Claim 24, line 5: “PBCH” needs to be defined, spelled out, in the Claim.
Dependent claims do not cure the deficiency of their parent claims.
Claim 4. method according to claim 1, wherein a number of repetitions is M times, wherein N is less than or equal to M, M is a positive integer, and a number of TOs is taken by subtracting 1 from a sum of a number of SSBs and the number of repetitions M. Importing the definitions from claim 1, Claim 4 recites: a number of repetitions is M times (target repetition transmission occasion (TO) according to the target SSB index), wherein N (target repetition TO corresponds to an N-th repetition in the SDT, and N is a positive integer) is less than or equal to M, M is a positive integer, and a number of TOs (target repetition transmission occasion) is taken by subtracting 1 from a sum of a number of SSBs (synchronization signal and PBCH block) and the number of repetitions M.
It is unclear what this Claim is.
Claim 14 is rejected similar to Claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-15, 18, 20 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by {Moderator (ZTE); "Summary on the physical layer aspects of small data transmission", 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 #107-e, R1-2112779, e-Meeting, November 11 - 19, 2021, 57 pages}, hereinafter ZTE.
Claim 1.
ZTE teaches a method for determining a time-domain resource transmission position, performed by a terminal device, comprising: performing a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) measurement to determine a target SSB index (page 49, line 37 to line 39. Last three lines of the page, in the vivo2 box); determining a target repetition transmission occasion (TO) according to the target SSB index (page 8, line 31 to line 39; last box, bottom of the page); and performing small data transmission (SDT) according to the target repetition TO, wherein the target repetition TO corresponds to an N-th repetition in the SDT, and N is a positive integer (page 7, line 24 to line 25; under Proposal #2.2) (page 8, line 31 to line 39; last box, bottom of the page).
Claim 2. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the target SSB index corresponds to a target beam direction (page 8, line 31 to line 39; last box, bottom of the page).
Claim 3. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein performing the synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) measurement to determine the target SSB index comprises: performing signal quality measurements on a plurality of SSBs to determine a target SSB, and determining a target SSB index of the target SSB (49:36 last box -50:4 top box).
Claim 4. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a number of repetitions is M times, wherein N is less than or equal to M, M is a positive integer, and a number of TOs is taken by subtracting 1 from a sum of a number of SSBs and the number of repetitions M (page 7, line 24 to line 25; under Proposal #2.2) (page 8, line 31 to line 39; last box, bottom of the page).
Claim 5. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein SSB indexes associated with TOs corresponding to M times of repetitions are the target SSB index (page 7, line 24 to line 25; under Proposal #2.2) (page 8, line 31 to line 39; last box, bottom of the page).
Claim 6. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the TOs corresponding to the M times of repetitions form one target physical uplink shared channel occasion (PO) (6:1-9; first box).
Claim 8. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the SDT comprises a plurality of configured grant periods, and one configured grant period comprises one PO, and one of the plurality of configured grant periods has a plurality of TOs for repetition, and other configured grant periods in the plurality of configured grant periods have one TO for repetition (6:1-9; first box).
Claim 10. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein a same hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number (HPN) is used for the plurality of configured grant periods (52:7-9; first box).
Claim 12. ZTE teaches a method for determining a time-domain resource transmission position, performed by a base station, comprising: receiving small data transmission (SDT) of a terminal device, and determining a target repetition transmission occasion (TO), wherein the target repetition TO corresponds to an N-th repetition in the SDT, and N is a positive integer (page 7, line 24 to line 25; under Proposal #2.2) (page 8, line 31 to line 39; last box, bottom of the page); and determining a target SSB index according to the target repetition TO (page 8, line 31 to line 39; last box, bottom of the page).
Claim 13. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the target SSB index corresponds to a target beam direction (page 8, line 31 to line 39; last box, bottom of the page).
Claim 14. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein a number of repetitions is M times, wherein N is less than or equal to M, M is a positive integer, and a number of TOs is taken by subtracting 1 from a sum of a number of SSBs and the number of repetitions M (page 7, line 24 to line 25; under Proposal #2.2) (page 8, line 31 to line 39; last box, bottom of the page).
Claim 15. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein SSB indexes associated with TOs corresponding to M times of repetitions are the target SSB index (page 7, line 24 to line 25; under Proposal #2.2) (page 8, line 31 to line 39; last box, bottom of the page): or the TOs corresponding to the M times of repetitions form one target physical uplink shared channel occasion (PO) (6:1-9; first box).
Claim 18. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the SDT comprises a plurality of configured grant periods, and one configured grant period comprises one PO, and one of the plurality of configured grant periods has a plurality of TOs for repetition, and other configured grant periods in the plurality of configured grant periods have one TO for repetition (6:1-9; first box); wherein the method further comprises: configuring or indicating for the terminal device with an L value in an L-th repetition corresponding to the TO for repetition in the other configured grant periods, where L is a positive integer (6:1-9; first box).
Claim 20. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein a same hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number (HPN) is used for the plurality of configured grant periods (52:7-9; first box); or a redundancy version (RV) sequence corresponding to one configured grant period with the plurality of TOs for repetition in the plurality of configured grant periods is {0, 0, 0,0}, or {0,3,0,3}, or {0,2,3,1}; or a RV corresponding to a plurality of configured grant periods with one TO for repetition in the plurality of configured grant periods is RV0.
Claim 22. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein determining the target repetition TO comprises: performing energy detection on a plurality of TOs during the N-th repetition; and determining the target repetition TO during the N-th repetition according to a result of the energy detection on the plurality of TOs (page 8, line 31 to line 39; last box, bottom of the page).
Claim 23. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 12, further comprising: indicating a time gap between the plurality of TOs for repetition to the terminal device (page 8, line 31 to line 39; last box, bottom of the page).
Claim 24 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 1 , with the addition of ZTE teaches a terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to (Examiner takes Official Notice that, a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to, is well known in the art).
Claim 25 is rejected substantially the same as the corresponding Claim 12, with the addition of ZTE teaches a base station, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured (Examiner takes Official Notice that, a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to, is well known in the art) to perform the method according to claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZTE as applied to claim 6 and 8 above, and further in view of Huang (US 20210400714 A1).
Claim 7. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein one configured grant period of the SDT comprises a plurality of POs, a redundancy version (RV) sequence corresponding to TOs in the target PO are {0,0,0,0}, or {0,3,0,3}, or {0,2,3,1}; or a RV corresponding to a TO in other POs except for the target PO in a plurality of POs is RV0 (6:1-9; first box).
ZTE does not explicitly teach the combination of the underlined feature, above.
ZTE does not explicitly teach the combination of these features: a redundancy version (RV) sequence {0,0,0,0}.
The missing elements are disclosed by Huang ([0160]- [0166]).
(AIA ) the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to which the claimed invention pertains, because: e.g., see Huang, Abstract, [0002]- [0007]. Examiner note: these technical details are in the 3GPP technical specifications, known to skilled artisan, therefore, this also falls under Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Therefore, the combination of references, discloses the combination of the claimed limitations.
Claim 11. ZTE teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein a redundancy version (RV) sequence corresponding to one configured grant period with the plurality of TOs for repetition in the plurality of configured grant periods is {0, 0, 0,0}, or {0,3,0,3}, or {0,2,3,1}; or a RV corresponding to a plurality of configured grant periods with one TO for repetition in the plurality of configured grant periods is RV0 (6:1-9; first box).
ZTE does not explicitly teach the combination of the underlined feature, above.
ZTE does not explicitly teach the combination of these features: a redundancy version (RV) sequence {0,0,0,0}.
The missing elements are disclosed by Huang ([0160]- [0166]).
(AIA ) the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to which the claimed invention pertains, because: e.g., see Huang, Abstract, [0002]- [0007]. Examiner note: these technical details are in the 3GPP technical specifications, known to skilled artisan, therefore, this also falls under Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Therefore, the combination of references, discloses the combination of the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and claims:
Huang (US 20210400714 A1) [0160]- [0166] A set of allowed periodicities P are defined in [12, TS 38.331]. The higher layer parameter cg-nrofSlots-r16, provides the number of consecutive slots allocated within a configured grant period. The higher layer parameter cg-nrofPUSCH-InSlot-r16 provides the number of consecutive PUSCH allocations within a slot, where the first PUSCH allocation follows the higher layer parameter timeDomainAllocation, and the remaining PUSCH allocations have the same length and PUSCH mapping type, and are appended following the previous allocations without any gaps. The same combination of start symbol and length and PUSCH mapping type repeats over the consecutively allocated slots. The higher layer parameter repK-R V defines the redundancy version pattern to be applied to the repetitions. If the parameter repK-RV is not provided in the configuredGrantConfig, the redundancy version for uplink transmissions with a configured grant shall be set to 0. Otherwise, for the nth transmission occasion among K repetitions, n=1, 2, . . . , K, it is associated with (mod(n−1,4)+1).sup.th value in the configured RV sequence. If a configured grant configuration is configured with Configuredgrantconfig-StartingfromRVO set to ‘off’, the initial transmission of a transport block may only start at the first transmission occasion of the K repetitions. Otherwise, the initial transmission of a transport block may start at [0163] the first transmission occasion of the K repetitions if the configured RV sequence is {0,2,3,1}, [0164] any of the transmission occasions of the K repetitions that are associated with RV=0 if the configured RV sequence is {0,3,0,3}, [0165] any of the transmission occasions of the K repetitions if the configured RV sequence is {0,0,0,0}, except the last transmission occasion when K≥8.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HOOMAN HOUSHMAND whose telephone number is (571)270-1817. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8-5 PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, AYMAN ABAZA can be reached at (571)270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/H.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465