DETAILED ACTION
This non-final rejection is responsive to the claims filed 28 June 2024. Claims 1-7 are pending. Claim 1 is an independent claim.
Claim Interpretation – 35 U.S.C. § 112(f)
Claim limitations of claim 1 have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “group editing request acceptance unit”, “a reference information generation unit”, “a group management unit”, and a “a query request acceptance unit” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a group editing request acceptance unit configure to receive”. This limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. §112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. The function of receiving may be performed in hardware, software, or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim 1 recites “a reference information generation unit configured to generate”. This limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. §112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. The function of generating may be performed in hardware, software, or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim 1 recites “a group management unit configured to create”. This limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. §112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. The function of creating may be performed in hardware, software, or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim 1 recites “a query request acceptance unit configured accept”. This limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. §112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. The function of accepting may be performed in hardware, software, or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konishi (US 2021/0064275 A1) hereinafter known as Konishi in view of Nagata (US 2019/0163171 A1) hereinafter known as Nagata.
Regarding independent claim 1, Konishi teaches:
A control apparatus communicably connected to a PLC apparatus, the PLC apparatus comprising: (Konishi: Fig. 1 and ¶[0043]-¶[0046]; Konishi teaches a control system with a controller 200.)
a memory unit in which addresses available on a PLC and data of current values at the addresses are recorded, and (Konishi: Fig. 1 and ¶[0054]; Konishi teaches controller 200 including a storage device 208 which contains publishing setting information and the user program. ¶[0050] further teaches variables, as part of the user program, which show the state of the controller 200 or drive device 300. The foregoing is interpreted as current values at addresses.)
a storage unit that manages a sequence program to be executed for each of namespaces and pieces of variable definition information related to variables defined for the addresses recorded in the memory unit, the pieces of variable definition information being for use in the sequence program for each of the namespaces, (Konishi: ¶[0049]; Konishi teaches variables in a user program belonging to predetermined namespaces. Fig. 13 and ¶[0131] teaches the sequence program as part of the user program.)
the control apparatus comprising: a control unit; and (Konishi: Fig. 1 and ¶[0048]; Konishi teaches a development assistance device 100.)
an input unit, (Konishi: Fig. 12 and ¶[0126]; Konishi teaches an I/O interface for user operation.)
wherein the control unit comprises: a group editing request acceptance unit configured to receive, via the input unit, an input of arbitrary addresses recorded in the memory unit or an input of arbitrary variables registered with the storage unit for each of the namespaces, the group editing request acceptance unit being configured to accept a request to create a group or a request to edit a group; (Konishi: Fig. 1 and ¶[0048]; Konishi teaches a development assistance device 100, which contains a development tool 30. ¶[0052] further teaches the development tool 30 of the user program is configured to set, for the namespace, a publishing setting for causing controller 200 to determine whether to publish variables belonging to the namespace. ¶[0096] further teaches the publishing setting can be set per variable belonging to each namespace.)
...
a group management unit configured to create a new group based on members ... in a case of accepting the request to create a group by the group editing request acceptance unit, and to additionally register members including the pieces of reference information into the group in a case of accepting the request to edit a group by the group editing request acceptance unit; and (Konishi: ¶[0052]; Konishi teaches the development tool 30 of the user program is configured to set, for the namespace, a publishing setting for causing controller 200 to determine whether to publish variables belonging to the namespace. ¶[0074]-¶[0075] further teach saving the published setting as publishing setting information 212, which associates variables with a publishing setting for each namespace.)
a query request acceptance unit configured to accept, via the input unit, a request to query an arbitrary group managed by the group management unit, and (Konishi: ¶[0116]; Konishi teaches accepting a namespace, a variable name, or communication protocol as a search key.)
the group management unit acquires, in response to the query request accepted by the query request acceptance unit, addresses and current values from the memory unit, and pieces of variable definition information from the storage unit, ... , and provides the addresses, the current values, and the pieces of variable definition information as queried information about members included in the group. (Konishi: ¶[0117]-¶[0118]; Konishi teaches the search displays each extracted variable and its publishing setting side by side.)
Konishi does not explicitly teach but Nagata teaches:
a reference information generation unit configured to generate pieces of reference information indicating where in the memory unit or the storage unit the addresses or the variables accepted by the group editing request acceptance unit are recorded; (Nagata: ¶[0040] and ¶[0045]; Nagata teaches address information (interpreted as reference information) defining logical addresses of variables included in a control program of the driving machine and acquires the variables managed in the controller. ¶[0059]-¶[0060] further teaches the logical addresses are logical positions on memory and each node defines a variable’s address, value, and type.)
... including the pieces of reference information ... including the pieces of reference information into the group ... (Nagata: Fig. 5 and ¶[0045], ¶[0076], and ¶[0079]; Nagata teaches adding the logical address (reference information) of each public variable as a node in address information 113 – the node including the logical address, the variably type, and a reference destination to another node.)
... based on pieces of reference information registered in the group requested to be queried ... (Nagata: ¶[0040]; Nagata teaches graphically displaying the state of the controller. ¶[0060], ¶[0062], and ¶[0067] further teach tracing the logical addresses to the target node and acquiring the variable’s type and value and further, a read request that returns variable’s values.)
Konishi and Nagata are in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as the references are directed to industrial control and monitoring PLC variables. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine an industrial control system for monitoring PLC variables that allows the user to designate the variables for publishing as taught in Konishi with further address information generation as taught in Nagata. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Hunt to include teachings of Hinckley, because the combination would allow generating address information for more efficient location of the variables, as suggested by Nagata: ¶[0059]-¶[0060].
Regarding claim 2, Konishi in view of Nagata further teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1.
Konishi further teaches:
wherein the namespaces are expressed by either POU names or system names of the PLC apparatus. (Konishi: ¶[0058]; Konishi teaches the namespaces defined for each controller name or drive device name.)
Regarding claim 3, Konishi in view of Nagata further teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1.
Konishi further teaches:
wherein the group management unit sets, for the group, display order of the members included in the group or/and property information including a creation date of the group, whether viewing is allowed or not, and whether editing is allowed or not. (Konishi: Figs. 9-11; Konishi teaches displaying the namespaces in alphabetical order.)
Regarding claim 4, Konishi in view of Nagata further teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1.
Konishi further teaches:
wherein the group management unit creates a plurality of subgroups based on pieces of correlation information indicating correlation relationships with the group. (Konishi: ¶[0072]; Konishi teaches that in addition to specifying whether to publish or not publish, setting reading or writing setting, which may be interpreted as a subgroup.)
Regarding claim 5, Konishi in view of Nagata further teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1.
Nagata further teaches:
wherein the reference information generation unit generates pieces of reference information for variables satisfying a condition specified via the input unit and generates a group satisfying the condition based on the generated pieces of reference information. (Nagata: ¶[0083]-¶[0086]; Nagata teaches sorting and selecting variables by a predetermined rule.)
Regarding claim 6, Konishi in view of Nagata further teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1.
Konishi further teaches:
comprising the PLC apparatus. (Konishi: Fig. 1 and ¶[0043]-¶[0046]; Konishi teaches a control system with a controller 200.)
Regarding claim 7, Konishi in view of Nagata further teaches the control apparatus according to claim 1.
Konishi further teaches:
wherein the control apparatus is included in the PLC apparatus. (Konishi: Fig. 1 and ¶[0043]-¶[0046]; Konishi teaches a control system with a controller 200.)
Conclusion
/ALEKSEY OLSHANNIKOV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118