DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39-40, 42-53 and 55-60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub No. 2018/0281344 to Duweltz in view of “Acronal MS 886 Technical Data Sheet” to BASF.
Regarding Claims 39-40, 42-53 and 55-60
Duweltz teaches a sterilization wrap and method of making comprising providing an outer layer comprising a thermoplastic material and providing an inner layer comprising a wet-laid nonwoven material and an acrylic or styrenic binder, wherein the outer layer is secured and bonded to the inner layer by at least a first weld area, and a second weld area along associated first and second edges wherein the wrap may only have two layers (Duweltz, abstract, paragraphs [0068]-[0077], [0115]-[0119], [0126], fig. 1-11). Duweltz teaches that in the weld area a surface of the inner layer may be exposed (Id.). Duweltz teaches that the inner layer may comprise 50 to 100% of cellulose fibers such as cotton fibers which would necessarily provide absorbency and would necessarily be either mercerized or un-mercerized, and between 0 and 50% of synthetic fibers such as PET or polypropylene which would necessarily provide moisture wicking properties (Id., paragraphs [0042]-[0053]). Duweltz teaches that the inner layer may be micro-creped (Id., paragraphs [0007], [0053]). Duweltz teaches that the basis weight of the outer layer may be between 30 and 60 gsm and the inner layer may be between 30 and 50 gsm, and therefore in total the wrap may comprise a basis weight between 60 and 110 gsm, which overlap the claimed ranges (Id., paragraph [0050] and [0067]). Duweltz teaches that the wrap is permeable to a sterilizing agent, impermeable to bacteria and meets the requirements of ISO 11607 part 1 as a sterile barrier system (Id., paragraphs [0005], [0014], [0054]). Duweltz teaches that the bond strength is greater than or equal to 100 cN/15mm (Id., paragraph [0033]). Duweltz teaches that the outer layer is directly secured and directly bonded to the inner layer by at least the first weld area and does not appear to teach the necessary addition of layers after the outer layer is secured and bonded to the inner layer (Id.).
Duweltz does not appear to teach that the acrylic or styrenic binder is specifically an anionic acrylate-styrene and/or acrylate-styrene-acrylonitrile. However, BASF teaches a binder for bonding nonwoven fabrics comprising anionic acrylic-styrene dispersions having acrylonitrile (BASF, page 1). BASF teaches that the binder provides nonwovens with high heat resistance and very little tendency to yellow (Id.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the composite of Duweltz and to use as the styrenic or acrylic binder, the binder of BASF, motivated by the desire to form a conventional composite having improved heat resistance and appearance.
Regarding Claim 53
The prior art combination does not appear to specify the amount of binder in the inner layer. However, it should be noted that the amount of binder is a result effective variable. As the relative amount of binder increases, the material exhibits improved fiber adhesion and durability at the expense of weight and cost. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the amount of binder since it has been held that where general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the present invention one would have been motivated to optimize the binder in order to provide the maximum strength and durability for the product.
Claim(s) 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Duweltz and BASF as applied to claims 39-40, 42-53 and 55-60 above in view of US Pub No. 2003/0176133 to Walker.
Regarding Claim 54
The prior art combination does not specify the addition of a surfactant. However, Walker teachers a binder dispersion composition including acrylates for high-wet strength fibrous substrates comprising anionic surfactants such as sodium lauryl ether sulfate (sodium laureth sulfate) in an amount of between 1 and 10% which overlaps the claimed range of between 0.5 and 5% (Walker, abstract, paragraph [0026], [0035], [0053]). Walker teaches that the surfactants improve dispersion (Id.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the composite of the prior art combination, and to use the specific anionic sulfonated fatty acid, such as sodium laureth sulfate, as taught by Walker, motivated by the desire to form a conventional composite comprising surfactants which are known in the art to be predictably suitable for use in fibrous binder applications as dispersing agents.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the first and second layers are not bonded. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the majority of strength of the weld area is due to the “thermo-fusible sheet,” Duweltz teaches that the “non-thermo-fusible sheet” comprises thermo-fusible compounds such as PET, PA or PP which result in a bond between the two layers (Id., paragraphs [0020], [0044], [0065]).
Applicant argues that Duweltz requires additional layers or overlapping portions in order to create the weld area. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims, with the exception of claim 41, do not exclude an overlapping configuration for the weld area.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to amended claim 41 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 41 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINCENT TATESURE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786