Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 5-8 in the reply filed on 08/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 are pending. Claims 5-8 are presented for this examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 06/28/2024 and 12/31/2025 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Instant claims 5-6 recite the limitations "the titanium alloy" in last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the titanium alloy is the titanium alloy base material as recited in step b) or something else.
As a result of rejected claim 5, all dependent claims are also rejected under the same statue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN111041273A) in view of Xi(CN110983105A) and evidenced by Ferrochrome (NPL document: “Ferrochrome(FeCr)”)
As for claims 5-7, Zhu discloses low cost of forging titanium alloy material used for gold head using low cost of ferromolybdenum, ferrochromium alloy to reduce the material cost.
The method comprising:
Mixing 0.016 kg ferromolybdenum , 0.016kg of ferrochromium alloy, 0.93 kg sponge titanium to make 1kg of titanium alloy material.
Hence, 0.016 kg ferromolybdenum is expected to be 1.6% by weight, which reads on instant claim 5 second wherein clause “wherein molybdenum is added in amount of 1 to 15% by weight with respect to total (1kg) of titanium alloy material.
0.016kg of ferrochromium alloy is expected to be 1.6% by weight, reads on instant claim 5 second wherein clause “wherein ferrochrome is added in amount of smaller than 4% by weight with respect to total (1kg) of titanium alloy material. It also reads on instant claim 6 required 0.5-2%.
Hence, instant claimed step a) adding ferrochrome to a mixture of Ti and Mo is met.
Vacuum melting and cooling to form an ingot, which reads on claimed step b) melting step
Forging several times by hot rolling to obtain a desired high strength forging titanium alloy material, which reads on claimed step c) hot forming.
Zhu differs from instant claim 5 such that it does not disclose composition of ferrochromium alloy and hot forging temperature and forming ratio as required by instant claim 7.
Xi discloses a similar preparation method of making Ti alloy by mixing sponge titanium, ferromolybdenum alloy and ferrochrome alloy, melting the mixture and cooling followed by forging.
Xi explicitly discloses ferrochrome alloy is low carbon ferrochromium such as FeCr69C0.06 ([0038]) which suggests the ferrochrome includes Fe 30%, Cr 69%, C 0.06%. Ferrochrome further evidences that low carbon ferrochromium is expected to have Si up to 1.5%. Hence, Xi suggests instant claim 5 required ferrochromium includes Fe 30%, Cr 69%, C 0.06% and Si up to 1.5%.
Xi also discloses hot forging 640 mm titanium alloy ingot at 850 degree C, 50 degree C below the phase transformation temperature of TB to obtain 60 mm titanium alloy bar, (Example 3 and English translation page 5 paragraph 3) which suggests forming temperature and forming ratio as required by instant claim 7.
Since Zhu aims to use low cost ferrochrome to reduce production cost and low carbon ferrochromium is a ferrochrome with low carbon content, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, at the time the invention is made to use low carbon ferrochrome and forging temperature and forming ratio as suggested by Xi, in the preparation process of Zhu, for the benefit of reduced carbon emission and low production cost and high strength as low carbon ferrochrome is expected to have low carbon content which leads to reduced carbon emission.
As for claim 8, Table 1a below further illustrates Zhu’s prepared Ti alloy has overlapping compositions and TS as claimed.
Table 1a
Element
Applicant
(weight %)
Zhu et al.
(weight %)
Abstract
Overlap
(weight %)
Mo
1-15
0.6-1.4
1-1.4
Cr
0.1-1.98
0.6-1.4
0.6-1.4
Fe
0.1-0.93
0.6-1.8
0.6-0.93
Si
0.01-0.09
O
<=0.4
0
0
TS (MPa)
1109-1510
>=720
1109-1510
With respect to Si amount, it is a resulting characteristic of claimed process of mixing same raw material of pure Ti with molybdenum and low ferrochrome including Fe, Si and C and Cr as claimed.
When a claimed process along with its resultant product reasonably appears to be substantially the same as, or an obvious variant of, a product disclosed by the prior art, the burden is on the applicant to prove that the prior art process and its resultant product does not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics attributed to the claimed product, and that it is of no moment whether the rejection is based on § 102 or § 103 since the burden on the applicant is the same. Cf. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 708 (Fed Cir. 1990); In re Best,562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977).
In the instant case, Since the starting raw material of Zhu in view of Xi has ferrochrome compositions including Fe, Si, C and Cr that meet the instant application composition and resulting Ti alloy is made from a similar process steps mixing, melting and hot forming , it is therefore reasonable to believe that the prepared Ti alloy composition such as Si would have naturally flowed following the suggestion of Zhu in view of Xi absent evidence of the contrary. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Double Patenting
Claims 5-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/725,512 (copending application’512) in view of Zhu (CN111041273A). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions claim a method of preparing a titanium alloy comprising adding ferrochrome in the amount of less than 4% with respect to total titanium alloy amount, melting and then cooling the molten to form a base material and then hot forming the base material. The ferrochrome includes Fe, Si, and C with remainder of Cr.
Copending application’512 does not disclose Mo is added in the amount of 1-15% with respect to total titanium alloy amount.
Zhu discloses a similar process of copending application’512 and explicitly discloses ferromolybdenum intermediate alloy ([0011][0026]) in the amount of 0.016 kg per 1 kg of total Ti alloy amount for the purpose of lowering production cost of making Ti alloy. 0.016 kg per 1 kg of total Ti alloy amount is expected to be 1.6% by weight.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art, at the time the invention is made to apply Zhu’s ferromolybdenum intermediate alloy in the amount of 0.016 kg per 1 kg of total Ti alloy amount, in the process of Copending application’512 for the benefit of lowering production cost.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JENNY R WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733