Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1 - 6 in the reply filed on 09/08/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7 - 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/08/2025.
Claim Interpretation
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the specification (as filed), at page 5, line 16, “oF100%” appears to be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “4” in Fig. 1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 6 of copending Application No. 18/725,971 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they seek to encompass the same invention (i.e., a method for analysing a device for spraying a pharmaceutical fluid product comprising providing a spray head having a spray orifice, providing a receiving surface comprising a plurality of discrete contact zones (i.e., perforated plate), the contact zones being electrically conductive (i.e., charging of the perforated plate with an electrostatic charge), passing a flow of ionized gas through the orifice (i.e., compressed air), visualizing the impact zone and analysing the visualization of the impact zone in order to determine whether or not said impact zone complies with predetermined specifications).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As to Claim 1, line 1 states “The method”. Examiner suggests to replace “The” with “A” such that it reads “A method”.
As to Claim 5, both lines 4 and 5 state “the spray heads”. Examiner suggests to replace “heads” with “head” to be consistent with limitations of independent claim 1 from which the instant claim depends on.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1, the instant claim recites the limitation “the impact zone” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim.
As to Claim 1, the instant claim recites the limitation “said visualization” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim.
As to Claim 4, the instant claim recites the limitation “said step for analysis” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim.
As to Claim 4, the instant claim recites the limitation “the geometry” in line 2 and “the symmetry” in lines 2 - 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim.
As to Claim 4, the instant claim recites the limitation “said flow of compressed gas” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim.
As to Claim 5, the instant claim recites the limitation “said flow of compressed gas” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim.
As to Claim 5, the instant claim recites the limitation “said planar extent” in lines 4 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation resulting in unclear scope of the claim.
As to Claim 6, the instant claim recites the limitation “means of man-machine interface” in last line. It is vague/unclear as to what structure the “man-machine interface” refers to. Examiner notes that the specification at page 3 only recites “visualizing said impact zone by means of a man-machine interface” without describing the structure or element it uses. Furthermore, pages 6 – 7 describing processing means 40 which is provided to “visualize the impact zone” (page 6 last paragraph). However, it is not clear if the processing means 40 is the man-machine interface (i.e., considered as user interface) or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0376106 A1 to Boisvilliers (hereinafter “Boisvilliers”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0198307 A1 to Jones et al. (hereinafter “Jones”).
Regarding Claim 1, Boisvilliers teaches the method for analysing a device for spraying a pharmaceutical fluid product (see abstract see Fig. 3), characterized in that it comprises the following steps:
-providing a spray head (see spray head 1, Fig. 3, see, abstract and claim 1) for a device for spraying a pharmaceutical fluid product, said spray head comprising a spray orifice (see spray orifice 2, Fig. 3, see claim 1).
Even though Boisvilliers teaches providing a receiving surface as illustrated at Figs. 3 – 6 where the flow 5 is being analyzed for further analysis, Boisvilliers does not explicitly teach providing a receiving surface comprising a plurality of discrete contact zones separated by voids, said contact zones being electrically conductive, and passing a flow of ionised gas through said spray orifice of said spray head, said flow of ionised gas being charged with electrons,
Jones, in the field of ionization spot measurement and validation systems, teaches providing a receiving surface comprising a plurality of discrete contact zones separated by voids (see detector or sensor for instance at Figs. 4A – 6C which illustrates detectors such as 403, 503 and 603 which have receiving surface with discrete contact zones separated by space/voids, see paragraphs [0182]-[0183], [0196] – [0197] and [0208] – [0209]), said contact zones being electrically conductive (detector array 403, 503 or 603 which may comprise a conductive detector as described at paragraphs [0056], [0199], see also paragraphs [0069] – [0071] describing the detector comprising two or more spaced apart detectors), and passing a flow of ionised gas through said spray orifice of said spray head (see paragraphs [0163] – [0164] describing the various embodiments directed to an apparatus comprising an ion source 10 that emits a spray of charged droplets towards the receiving surface, see paragraph [0182] describing spray of charged droplets directed at a surface of a measurement region or detector array 403), said flow of ionised gas being charged with electrons (see paragraphs [0182] – [0183], [0191] – [0197] describing use of spray of charged droplets, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the receiving surface and ionized gas of Jones into Boisvilliers in order to efficiently and accurately determine one or more parameters or properties including profile or geometry of the spray of charged droplets impacting a surface of a detector. The modification further improves overall quality and reliability of the system (see also paragraphs [0024] – [0028]).
Boisvilliers in view of Jones as modified above further teaches;
-sending said flow of ionised gas onto said receiving surface (see generator means 24 for causing a test fluid to pass through the spray head 1 of Boisvilliers and/or see ion source of Jones that emits a spray of charged droplets towards the receiving surface, see paragraph [0182] of Jones describing spray of charged droplets directed at a surface of a measurement region or detector array 403),
-visualising the impact zone for said flow of ionised gas on said receiving surface (see strioscopic setup 20 of Boisvilliers which aid in displaying the flow of the test fluid leaving the spray orifice 2 and/or see paragraphs [0181], [0203] of Jones which describe using a camera which detects the surface), and
-analysing said visualisation of said impact zone in order to determine whether or not said impact zone complies with predetermined specifications (see paragraphs [0044] – [0048] of Boisvilliers which describes analyzer means 30 for determining whether or not the test-fluid spray coming from said spray head complies with predetermined specification, see Figs. 4 – 6 showing images obtained with the method of the invention and in which it is possible to measure and/or to evaluate the cone angle of the spray, Figs. 7 – 8 further illustrate test-fluid that is classed as being compliant and non-compliant respectively and/or see for instance paragraphs [0189] – [0194] and Fig. 5 of Jones).
Regarding Claim 2, Boisvilliers in view of Jones as modified above teaches in which said flow of ionised gas is a flow of compressed air (see compressed air source at the generator means 24 of Fig. 1 of Boisvilliers).
Regarding Claim 3, Boisvilliers in view of Jones as modified above teaches in which said flow of ionised gas (F1) is a flow of ionised pulsed air (see paragraphs [0163] – [0164] of Jones describing the various embodiments directed to an apparatus comprising an ion source that emits a spray of charged droplets towards the receiving surface, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 4, Boisvilliers in view of Jones as modified above teaches in which said step for analysis comprises determining the geometry, in particular the symmetry, of the impact zone for said flow of compressed gas on said receiving surface (see paragraphs [0038], [0167], [0179] and claim 3 of Jones describing determining one or more parameters related to a geometry, symmetry of the spray of charged droplets).
Regarding Claim 5, Boisvilliers in view of Jones as modified above teaches in which said predetermined specifications comprise a predetermined planar extent of the impact zone for said flow of compressed gas on said receiving surface, in a manner such that the spray heads for which said planar extent is similar to said predetermined planar extent are classified as compliant, and the spray heads for which said planar extent is different from said predetermined planar extent are classified as non-compliant (see paragraphs [0016], [0047] and claim 4 of Boisvilliers and/or see Fig. 5 and paragraphs [0189] – [0195] of Jones, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the Double Patenting rejection and 112 rejections can be overcome and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. However, an updated search will again be made upon applicant’s response.
Regarding Claim 6, none of the prior art of record appear to teach an operating cycle comprising connecting said receiving surface to ground in order to eliminate any electrical charges (see arrangement at Figs. 1, 2 illustrating base 14 which is preferably insulating and which may be connected to ground), and detecting each contact zone (see contact zone 12, Figs. 1, 2) which becomes charged with negative ions in contact with said flow of ionized gas flow in combination with remaining limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form accompanying this office action which includes the following relevant prior art:
Bettinelli (U.S. 2016/0216108 A1) teaches a device for controlling the distribution of fluid ejected from a fluid nebulizing dispenser comprising a discharging nozzle for a nebulized fluid, detecting means for detecting the temperature difference between at least part of the nebulized fluid ejected from the dispenser ant at least one contrast space being arranged so as to be at least partially incident to the nebulized fluid.
Marriott et al. (U.S. 2014/0033979 A1) teaches A system for monitoring the application of coating to a surface of a substrate, the coating being applied as a spray from a plurality of nozzles spaced apart along at least one dimension of the substrate, the system comprising: a coherent radiation source arranged to direct a beam of coherent radiation through said spray; an imaging device for obtaining an image of said beam as it propagates through said spray, and a computing device having a processor to receive an input from said imaging device and process said image in order to determine variations in a characteristic indicative of the presence of said spray.
Savkar et al. (U.S. 5,047,612) teaches apparatus and method for controlling powder deposition in a plasma spray process comprising a plasma plume and target or workpiece 16.
/MARRIT EYASSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855