DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ong et al. (US 2011/0224565; hereinafter “Ong”).
Regarding claim 23, Ong discloses a system for triaging sepsis patients, comprising: memory (e.g. ¶¶ 59); at least one processor (e.g. ¶¶ 59); and a prediction module comprising a predictive model, wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed by the processor(s), cause the processor(s) to: receive electrocardiogram data (ECG data) comprising data of a plurality of heart beats from a patient (e.g. ¶¶ 168); determine a value for each of a plurality of heart rate variability (HRV) metrics and each of a plurality of heart rate n-variability (HRnV) metrics from the ECG data (e.g. ¶¶ 199-203); transform the heart rate n-variability metrics into respective vector representations (e.g. ¶¶ 87-90); determine one or more kernel metrics based on a combination of at least two vector representations (e.g. ¶¶ 247-248); apply the predictive model to the values and the kernel metrics to determine a sepsis risk category for the patient from a plurality of sepsis risk categories (e.g. ¶¶ 151-153, 139 – where sepsis risk is a consideration).
Regarding claim 32, Ong discloses a method for triaging sepsis patients, comprising: receiving electrocardiogram data (ECG data) comprising data of a plurality of heart beats from a patient (e.g. ¶¶ 168); determining a value for each of a plurality of heart rate variability (HRV) metrics and each of a plurality of heart rate n-variability (HRnV) metrics from the ECG data (e.g. ¶¶ 199-203); transforming the heart rate n-variability metrics into respective vector representations (e.g. ¶¶ 87-90); determining one or more kernel metrics based on a combination of at least two vector representations (e.g. ¶¶ 247-248); applying a predictive model to the values and the kernel metrics to determine a sepsis risk category for the patient from a plurality of sepsis risk categories (e.g. ¶¶ 151-153, 139 – where sepsis risk is a consideration).
Regarding claims 24 and 33, Ong discloses the kernel metrics are determined using any one of: cosine similarity function, polynomial kernel function, sigmoid kernel function, RBF kernel function, Laplacian kernel function or Chi-squared kernel function (e.g. ¶¶ 240).
Regarding claims 25 and 34, Ong discloses the processor(s) are further configured to receive data, the data comprising at least one of patient demographic data and clinical data, and the processor(s) applies the predictive model to the values to determine a sepsis risk category for the patient by applying the predictive model to the patient data (e.g. ¶¶ 151-153, 139 – where sepsis risk is a consideration).
Regarding claims 26 and 35, Ong discloses at least one of the HRnV parameters is NNxn, where: N is a number of conventional RR intervals (RRIs) combined to form a single RR n-interval (RRnI), N «N where N is a total number of RRIs in the ECG data; 1snsN; x is an absolute variation multiple; and NNxn is a number of times an absolute difference between successive RRnls exceeds xn milliseconds (e.g. ¶¶ 200-217).
Regarding claims 28 and 37, Ong discloses x is 50 (e.g. ¶¶ 211).
Regarding claims 27 and 36, Ong discloses at least one of the HRnV parameters is pNNxn, where: N is a number of conventional RR intervals combined to form a single RR n- interval (RRnI), N «N where N is a total number of RRIs in the ECG data;1snsN;x is an absolute variation multiple; andpNNxn is a number of times an absolute difference between successive RRnls exceeds xn milliseconds, expressed as a proportion of N (e.g. ¶¶ 210-217).
Regarding claims 29 and 38, Ong discloses the predictive model is a machine learning model trained on past data from a pool of patients, to identify patterns in the values corresponding to the sepsis risk categories (e.g. ¶¶ 222, 255-258, etc.).
Regarding claims 30 and 39, Ong discloses the HRV parameters and/or HRnV parameters comprise at least one of a time domain parameter, a frequency domain parameter, a Poincare parameter, a deviation parameter, an entropy parameter, and a detrended fluctuation analysis (DFA) parameter (e.g. ¶¶ 162).
Regarding claims 31 and 40, Ong discloses the HRV parameters and/or HRnV parameters comprise one or more parameters from Table 1 (e.g. ¶¶ 314-315).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796