DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention I and SEQ ID NO: 25 in the reply filed on 06/25/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 32-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 17-31 and SEQ ID NO: 25 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) 2nd Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 17-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 17 encompasses any mutant “comprising mutations, compared with an amino acid sequence as shown in SEQ ID NO: 3, occurred at positions 85, 86, 87, and (i) one or both of 62 and 67, and (ii) one or both of 107 and 121 thereof”. However, the claim is vague and indefinite since it is unclear if the mutant comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO, and the specific mutations and biological function of the mutant are not known and not recited in the claim. Dependent claims 18-31 are also rejected because they do not correct the defect. For examination purposes the claims will not be limited to any specific biological function, amino acid sequence and structure, and any specific mutations.
Claim 31 recites that the mutant according to claim 17 “has a sequence as shown in one of SEQ ID NOs: 22, 25 and 43, or has a sequence as shown in one of SEQ ID NOs: 24, 26, 30, 31, 35 and 36”. However, each of the recited SEQ ID Nos are nucleotide sequences and are not amino acid sequences. Thus, the claim is vague and indefinite since the specific amino acid sequence of the mutant is not known and not recited in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to a broad and widely varying genus of mutants having any biological activity and amino acid sequence and structure, comprising any mutations, compared with an amino acid sequence as shown in SEQ ID NO: 3, occurred at positions 85, 86, 87, and (i) one or both of 62 and 67, and (ii) one or both of 107 and 121 thereof. According to MPEP 2163:
“For each claim drawn to a genus: The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A), above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B), above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C), above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014)…”
According to MPEP 2163.02:
“The courts have described the essential question to be addressed in a description requirement issue in a variety of ways. An objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, "does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed." In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed. The test for sufficiency of support in a parent application is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon "reasonably conveys to the artisan that the inventor had possession at that time of the later claimed subject matter." Ralston Purina Co. v. Far-Mar-Co., Inc., 772 F.2d 1570, 1575, 227 USPQ 177, 179 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (quoting In re Kaslow, 707 F.2d 1366, 1375, 217 USPQ 1089, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 1983)).”
The reference of Chica et al. (Curr Opin Biotechnol. 2005 Aug;16(4):378-84; PTO 892) teaches that the complexity of the structure/function relationship in enzymes has proven to be the factor limiting the general application of rational enzyme modification and design, where rational enzyme modification and design requires in-depth understanding of structure/function relationships. The reference of Singh et al. (Curr Protein Pept Sci. 2017, 18, 1-11; PTO 892) reviews protein engineering methods including directed evolution, rational design, semi-rational design, and de-novo design; and states that despite the availability of a growing database of protein structures and highly sophisticated computational algorithms, protein engineering is still limited by the incomplete understanding of protein functions, folding, flexibility, and conformational changes (see entire publication especially Figs.1 and 3, and page 7, left column, lines 8-17). The reference teachings only provide guidance for searching and screening for the mutant.
The specification as originally filed does not disclose a representative number of species encompassed by the claimed genus by actual reduction to practice. The specification as originally filed does not provide a correlation between function and structure to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to predict which amino acid sequences, structures, and amino acid mutations that correlate with the mutant having luciferase activity.
Hence, the specification does not provide sufficient written description to inform one of ordinary skill in the art that applicants were in possession at the time the application was filed of the claimed broad and widely varying genus of mutants having any biological activity and amino acid sequence and structure, comprising any mutations, compared with an amino acid sequence as shown in SEQ ID NO: 3, occurred at positions 85, 86, 87, and (i) one or both of 62 and 67, and (ii) one or both of 107 and 121 thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Accession Q9BLZ2 (01-JUN-2001; reference of record) in view of R20180105772A (01 October 2018; IDS filed 02/12/2025), Bornscheuer et al. (Curr Protoc Protein Sci. 2011 Nov;Chapter 26:Unit26.7; reference of record).
Accession Q9BLZ2 teaches the Gaussia princeps Luciferase having an amino acid sequence that is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 3 (see attached alignment).
KR20180105772A teaches a Gaussia luciferase variant having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant application and at least one of the 60th amino acid Methionine (M), the 88th amino acid Lysine (K), the 89th amino acid Phenylalanine (F) and the 103th amino acid Serine (S) is mutated (see claim 1 and sequence table).
Bornscheuer et al. teach protein engineering strategies to improve or change the properties of proteins, teach concepts for protein engineering using rational design including substitution and/or deletion of amino acids, directed evolution, and combinations of them where different strategies are presented for identifying the best mutagenesis method, how to identify desired variants by screening or selection, and examples for successful applications are shown which enable researchers to choose the most promising tools to solve their protein engineering challenges (see entire publication especially pages 26.7.1- 26.7.10 and Tables 26.7.1, 26.7.2, and 26.7.3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and/or combine the reference teachings to make the claimed invention by using the protein engineering strategies engineering strategies of Bornscheuer et al. on the Gaussia princeps luciferase of Accession Q9BLZ2 to arrive at the claimed mutant having the amino acid sequence and amino acid mutations recited in any of the claims. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this in order to obtain a mutant for further studies on the biological activities and properties or can be used as a luciferase in assay methods for analyte detection. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have a reasonable expectation of success because modifying enzymes and proteins are known in the art as shown by the above reference teachings. Hence, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 17-31are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 19048534, claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 19110042. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
The claims and/or specification of the copending applications teach and/or suggest the claimed mutant, comprising mutations, compared with an amino acid sequence as shown in SEQ ID NO: 3, occurred at positions 85, 86, 87, and (i) one or both of 62 and 67, and (ii) one or both of 107 and 121 thereof.Thus, the teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/CHRISTIAN L FRONDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652