DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Claims 16-27 are pending.
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (claims 16-27) in the reply filed 8/1/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the grounds that the claimed inventions share a special technical feature that makes a contribution over the prior art, and therefore unity of invention exists. Applicant argues that the inventive concept of a pharmaceutical composition comprising L-ascorbic acid 6-palmitate, a beta-cyclodextrin, and isotonic solution is free of the art.
This is not found persuasive because Applicant has not shown that the claimed special technical feature makes a contribution over the prior art. The claimed technical feature is a pharmaceutical composition comprising L-ascorbic acid 6-palmitate, a beta-cyclodextrin, and isotonic solution. Kole et al. (US20200254073, published 8/13/2020) discloses a composition comprising isotonic saline (par. [0061]), (2-hydroxypropyl)-beta-cyclodextrin (HPBCD) (par. [0062]) and ascorbyl palmitate (AKA L-ascorbic acid 6-palmitate) (par. [0064]). While the Examiner acknowledges that the composition of Kole comprises other ingredients, the language of the claim does not exclude other ingredients. Further, the intent for which the composition is designed is not given patentable weight, so the distinct use of Kole’s composition for CNS disorders does not exclude it as prior art in the instant case.
Although “picking, choosing, and combining various disclosures not directly related to each other by the teachings of the cited reference... has no place in... a 102, anticipation rejection,” picking and choosing may be entirely proper in an obviousness rejection. In re Arkley, 455 F.2d 586, 587 (CCPA 1972).
The only difference between Kole and the instant claims is that Kole does not teach the specific combination of components as claimed in a single embodiment, or with sufficient specificity to be anticipatory. The specific combination of features claimed is disclosed within the teaching of Kole, but ‘such ‘picking and choosing within several variable does not necessarily give rise to anticipation. Where, as here, Kole does not provide any explicit motivation to select this specific combination of variables, anticipation cannot be found. However, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” See MPEP 2141(1). Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of various disclosed ingredients from within Kole's disclosure, to arrive at compositions such as that being sought.
The restriction is therefore deemed proper and is made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 19-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kole et al. (US20200254073, published 8/13/2020) in view of Braat et al. (The lack of effect of benzalkonium chloride on the cilia of the nasal mucosa in patients with perennial allergic rhinitis: a combined functional, light, scanning and transmission electron microscopy study, Clinical and Experimental Allergy, Vol. 25 Issue 10, pp. 957-965, published October 1995).
Kole teaches methods and formulations for treating CNS disorders that involves using an intranasal delivery method (abstract). The composition as taught by Kole comprises at least one antioxidant or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (par. [0007]). The formulation may also comprise buffering agents, of which isotonic saline is named as one such agent (par. [0061]). The formulation may also comprise an additional antioxidant, of which ascorbyl palmitate (AKA L-ascorbic acid 6-palmitate) is one such agent (par. [0064]). The formulation may also comprise an odor-alleviating agent, of which (2-hydroxypropyl)-beta-cyclodextrin is one such agent (par. [0062]). Kole also teaches that the composition may be in a lyophilized form (par. [0052]). Finally, Kole notes that the composition may also include a preservative, though no preservatives are named as examples (pars. [0064] and {0088]). In all, the composition as taught by Kole comprises, in part, isotonic saline, ascorbyl palmitate, and HPBCD, and this composition may be in a lyophilized form (cf. claim 16 and 27).
However, Kole does not teach the inclusion of benzalkonium chloride in particular.
This deficiency is made up for by the teachings of Braat.
Braat teaches the use of benzalkonium chloride as a preservative in nasal sprays (abstract). Braat teaches that benzalkonium chloride is often used in nasal spray compositions (introduction). Braat teaches that benzalkonium chloride has the benefit of no ciliostatic effect when applied over 6 weeks, which is desirable in nasal spray formulations (conclusion).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the teachings of Kole with the teachings of Braat. As Kole relates to an invention of an intranasal spray for delivery of the composition to the brain, and Braat teaches the use of benzalkonium chloride as a preservative in compositions of nasal sprays, one would reasonably look to Braat to inform Kole. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include the benzalkonium chloride as a preservative in a composition as taught by Kole as Kole teaches the optional inclusion of a preservative, and preservatives are commonly included in compositions to maintain stability of the composition. One would elect to include benzalkonium chloride over other preservatives as Braat points to the benefit of benzalkonium chloride when applied to nasal spray compositions, as Braat demonstrates that continued application of a nasal spray that comprises benzalkonium chloride did not have a ciliostatic effect in vitro, as described supra. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in applying the benzalkonium chloride as taught as a preservative in nasal spray composition by Braat to the CNS-active nasal spray of Kole as Kole already teaches the inclusion of preservatives, and Braat teaches benzalkonium chloride as a successful preservative in nasal sprays. The resulting composition when taught by Kole and informed by Braat would comprise, in part, isotonic saline, HPBCD, ascorbyl palmitate (cf. claim 16), and, further, benzalkonium chloride (cf. claims 17-18). As described supra, the composition may also be lyophilized (cf. claim 27).
Therefore, the composition as taught by Kole and Braat aligns with the instantly claimed invention as described in claims 16-18 and 27. Therefore, these claims are rejected.
Conclusion
Claims 16-18 and 27 are rejected. Claims 19-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
/MATTHEW RYAN BURKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/DAVID J BLANCHARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1619