DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7, and 9-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Regarding Claims 1; “a first part which generates heat” is unclear; whereas busbars do not generate heat and/or is not the origin of heat but rather conducts heat. The office herein notes that the applicants only disclose a first part as a busbar, and only disclose the busbar as generating heat without presenting any other structures as a first part which actually generates heat. It is noted that the applicant’s para. 0010 discloses a busbar 3a (first part); the busbar 3a is made of copper and generates heat when transferring power; and the busbar 3a which is the heat generating part-as set forth by para.’s 0016, 0020, 0023, 0026, and 0033; and further para. 0007 discloses the first part generates heat.
Claims 1-7, and 9-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claims 1; “a first part which generates heat” is unclear; whereas busbars do not generate heat and/or is not the origin of heat but rather conducts heat. Regarding Claim 5; “the space between the first rib portion and the heat dissipation member is filled with compound 4” is unclear; whereas “a space” (as disclosed by para. 0014 which presents a space between 2a and 3a is filled with the filler) is already asserted in claim 4, and the space is claim 5 appears to denote a different space (as disclosed by para. 0014 which presents a space between 2a and 2b is also filled with the filler), and thus claim 5 shall otherwise present the space as “another space”—if so intended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Lee 2022/0167525) in view of (Nakagami 2011/0189035).
Regarding Claim 1; Lee discloses a power conversion device (whereas 100 denotes a power semiconductor cooling module comprising a converter—as set forth by para.’s 0005-0006) comprising: a first part which generates heat (as constituted by a bus bar-130; see 112(b) rejection); a second part (a second part—as constituted by a power module element 120 which is an inverter—as set forth by para. 0006 and 0032) for which dust-proofing is suggested (whereas 111 is enclosed by a lid 110 with the power converted disposed internal thereto so as to atleast in-part block any external dust from the converter—as depicted by Fig. 5); a cooler which cools the first part; and a heat dissipation member which is provided between the first part and the cooler, and which dissipates the heat generated by the first part, to the cooler (whereas a heat dissipation member 160 and/or 170 heat is transferred from 130 to a cooler defined by 150 and/or including a bottom wall of 111 in direct contact therewith--as set forth by para.’s 0090 and 0093), wherein the cooler has a first rib portion forming a labyrinth structure around an outer periphery of the second part (as depicted by Fig.’s 4-5--whereas the bottom wall of 111 further comprise vertical side walls which constitutes a rib extending around a periphery of the second part-120 and defines atleast four sides defining atleast four passage directions to constitute a labyrinth passage between 111 and 150; NOTE: the claim does not assert a housing so as to limit the construction of the rib(s) or cooler etc), a cutout portion is provided to the first rib portion, and the heat dissipation member is placed at the cutout portion (as depicted by Fig.’s 4-5—whereas the rib defines a cutout portion via internal space thereto which accommodates the heat dissipation member-160—as set forth by para. 0028). Except, Lee does not explicitly disclose dust-proofing needed for the second part. However, Nakagami discloses dust-proofing needed for a part/power module (as set forth by para. 0100—power module-38-fig. 14 covered by a lid improves dust-proof properties), and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the power module element as dust-proof since it was known in the art that the power module element is covered by a lid-112-Fig. 5 which will improve power conversion reliability for driving a motor for a hybrid electric vehicle, as intended by Lee at para.’s 0032-0033.
Regarding Claim 4; Lee discloses the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein a space between the first part and the heat dissipation member is filled with a heat-dissipating filler (whereas 160 is surrounds a length of the first part 130—para. 0066-0067; 160 is atleast in part between 130 and a portion of the heat dissipation member-170 constitutes a filler defined by a plastic material—para. 0073).
Regarding Claim 6; the power conversion device according to claim 1, wherein at the cutout portion of the first rib portion, the first rib portion and the heat dissipation member are connected without any gap (as depicted by Fig. 4--whereas at least one side of 160 and/or 170 contacts a corresponding portion of the first rib of 111 without a gap).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5, 9-14, 16-20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 2; the power conversion device according to claim 1, further comprising a structure member covering the second part, wherein the structure member has a second rib portion forming the labyrinth structure, together with the first rib portion.
Regarding Claim 5; the power conversion device according to claim 4, wherein at the cutout portion of the first rib portion, the space between the first rib portion and the heat dissipation member is filled with the filler. Note: deemed as allowable, assuming the space is another space, as discussed in the 112b rejection.
Regarding Claim 7; the power conversion device according to claim 6, wherein the heat dissipation member is formed such that a length thereof in a direction vertical to a contact surface with the cooler is the same as a length in the vertical direction of the first rib portion.
Regarding Claim 15; the power conversion device according to claim 4, wherein at the cutout portion of the first rib portion, the first rib portion and the heat dissipation member are connected without any gap.
Claim 8 is herein deemed as allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance, wherein the inventive structure is defined by the underlined claim construction, and the combination of bolded limitations thereof is not found in the prior art of record and/or the citated references below:
Regarding Claim 8; a power conversion device comprising: a busbar connected to a power converter and extending outward from the power converter; a cooler which is provided under the power converter and cools the power converter; a first rib provided at the cooler and for forming a labyrinth structure for providing dust-proofing for the power converter, and a second rib formed at a resin mold covering the power converter from above; a heat spreader for dissipating heat of the busbar, the heat spreader being formed at a cutout portion where the first rib is cut out around the busbar; and a filler filling a space between the heat spreader and the busbar, wherein both of heat dissipation for the busbar and dust-proofing for the power converter are realized by the heat spreader and the filler.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Claim 1; the applicant argues on page(s) 8-10 that the 112(b) rejection that “a first part which generates heat” is unclear is erroneous and should be withdrawn since one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that busbars generate heat when transferring electrical power due to resistive losses, and as disclosed in the specification at para. 0010, the busbar-3a is made of copper and generates heat when transferring power which describes a well-known physical phenomenon: electrical resistance in conductors causes heat generation when current flow through them. The office hereby notes that the applicant hereby admits that the busbar generates heat “when transferring power” and/or “when current flow through them” neither of which is asserted in the claim, and thus a first part which generates heat is presented only without proper association of the transferring power or conducting current so as to define an operative claim construction which constitutes a cause or origin of power or current, and thus it is herein noted that a first part or even a bus bar when present alone does not necessitate power, current or heat. As such, the 112(b) rejection is herein maintained. Further, the applicant argues on page(s) 11-13, that Lee does not disclose a first rib portion forming a labyrinth structure around an outer periphery of the second part. As an initial matter, the applicant’s specification discloses a labyrinth structure-6 is formed by first rib 2b and second rib 3b (which is NOT asserted), and thus a so-called complex labyrinth with overlapping winding paths or passages as intended by the applicant is NOT wholly defined or necessitated by the claim as asserted. It is further noted that the applicant does not otherwise present any drawings which only denotes a first rib alone defining a more complex labyrinth The office hereby notes that a labyrinth which is only defined by the first part only has to in-part present a labyrinth structure in which multiple passages which intersect and change directions reads on the limitation as asserted. As such, as depicted by Fig. 4-a first rib defined by vertical side walls of 111 defines a labyrinth structure at least four passages which change directions around an outer periphery of the second part-120. Going further, the applicant argues on page 13 that Lee does not disclose a cutout portion provided to the first rib. As an initial matter, “provided to” does not explicitly assert any particular manner by which a cutout is provided to the first rib, and thus provided to may be construed in more than one than one manner including a) a cutout disposed through the actual structure of the first rib, b) the first rib associated with a cutout by atleast in-part defining, in-part surrounding or in-part covering a cutout portion. It is hereby noted that the applicant has not positively asserted any structure which actually comprises a cutout or how the first rib portion is actually provided thereto. The office hereby notes that atleast a portion of an internal space defined by the 110 constitutes a cutout portion which accommodates heat dissipation member 160 and is atleast in-part defined by or surrounded by the vertical wall portion which defines the first rib portion, and thus the Lee reads on 160 placed at the cutout portion provided to the first rib portion, as asserted. As such, if the applicant so intends to assert the cutout portion extends through or beyond a surface of the first rib portion then the claim may be deemed as distinct. Otherwise, the rejections are hereby maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COURTNEY L SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841