Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Park, USPG_Pub. 20160112667.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display device (fig. 2 is the diagram of components of the multimedia device 100 shown in fig. 1a, b; Para. 58), comprising:
a communication unit (fig. 2, 210) receiving a content from outside (Para. 60, 78);
a display including a display area for outputting the content (fig. 2, 280; Para. 63);
a motor controlling the display to expose a partial area of the display area to the outside ( Para. 56 (motor not shown)); and
a controller configured to control the communication unit, the display, and the motor (Para. 56, 76), wherein the controller is further configured to:
parse metadata of the content, change the display to one of a zero view, a first partial view, and a full view at a first time point based on the metadata, and output the content to the display area of the changed display, wherein the zero view is a state of minimally exposing the display area to the outside, wherein the first partial view is a state of exposing a first area of the display area to the outside (fig. 23; Para. 247 (by extracting aspect ratio from received metadata to set the display size-the system can set the flexible screen to different sizes depending on extracted metadata-the different sizes are interpreted to meet one of zero view medium view or maximum view-see full screen in Para. 91)), and
wherein the full view is a state of maximally exposing the display area to the outside (Para. 91).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the display device, wherein based on text information included in the metadata, the controller outputs the text information while changing the display based on the metadata (fig. 8-9; Para. 90-91).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the display device, wherein the controller changes the display to one of the zero view, the first partial view, a second partial view, and the full view at a second time based on the metadata, wherein the second partial view is characterized in exposing a second area of the display area to the outside, and wherein the second area is wider than the first area (Para. 192).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the display device, wherein sizes of the first area and the second area are determined based on a manufacturer of the display device (Para. 181-183 (partitioning using preset value as designed to accommodate closed caption or avoid caption being blocked is a design feature-so preset value may have been set by the display manufacturer)).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses a method of controlling a display device including a display having a changed size of a display area exposed to outside (fig. 8-9; Para. 90-91), the method comprising:
receiving a content from the outside (Para. 60, 78);
parsing metadata of the content (Para. 247 (extracting meets parsing));
changing the display to one of a zero view, a first partial view, and a full view at a first time point based on the metadata (Para. 90-91); and
outputting the content to the display area of the changed display, wherein the zero view is a state of minimally exposing the display area to the outside, wherein the first partial view is a state of exposing a first area of the display area to the outside (fig. 23; Para. 247 (by extracting aspect ratio from received metadata to set the display size-the system can set the flexible scree to different sizes depending on extracted metadata-the different sizes are interpreted to meet one of zero view medium view or maximum view-see full screen in Para. 91)), and
wherein the full view is a state of maximally exposing the display area to the outside (Para. 91).
Claim Objections
Claims 5-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art fails to teach or to reasonably disclose changing the screen sizes based on movement of user in relation to an exercise related content.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY BANTAMOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2422