DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.03.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 12/24/2025 does not place the Application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-17 are currently pending. In response to Office Action mailed on 09/25/2025, Applicant has amended claims 1 and 14, and added new claim 17.
Status of the Rejections
Due to Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 14, all rejections from the Office Action mailed on 09/25/2025 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha et al. (KR 10-2012-0079590).
Regarding claim 14, Ha discloses an electrode assembly (interconnector 20 that connects adjacent solar cells 10s, see figures 1-6) (see pages 1-8 of translation) for connecting a front surface (top surface) of a first solar cell (10A) to a back surface (bottom surface) of a second solar cell (10B) (see figure 2), the electrode assembly comprising:
a plurality of conductive elements (interconnectors 20 in combination with finger electrode 13, see figures 1-3), wherein at least one of the conductive elements (20+13) comprises:
Figure 1: Solar cell module as shown in figure 2 of Ha
a first surface (top surface) for contacting the front surface (top surface) of the first solar cell (10A) (see figure 2 or annotated figure); and
a second surface (bottom surface) for contacting the back surface (bottom surface) of the second solar cell (10B) (see figure 2 or annotated figure), the second surface (bottom surface) being arranged opposite the first surface (top surface) (see figure 2 or annotated figure);
wherein at least a portion of each of the first and second surfaces (top and bottom surfaces of interconnector 20 as shown in annotated figure 2) comprises a coating (adhesive materials 20a and 20b, fig. 4 or 5, pages 6-7 of translation) for connecting the respective surfaces of the at least one conductive element (20+13) to a surface (top/bottom surface) of the solar cell (10A and 10B);
wherein the second surface (bottom surface) is configured to define a contact area which is substantially smaller than the contact area defined by the first surface (top surface) (see figure 6 that shows first/top portion having width W1 wider than the width W2 of second/bottom portion, and thus the second surface has smaller contact area to the respective solar cell surface) (see also page 8),
wherein the electrode assembly further comprising an insulating and optically transparent film (antireflection film 15, fig. 3a), wherein at least a portion (finger electrode 13) of the conductive elements (20+13) is partially embedded within the insulating and optically transparent film (15) (see fig. 3a) such that at least a portion (top side) of at least one of the first and second surfaces of the at least one conductive element (20+13) is exposed (at finger electrode 13, see figure 3a) from the film (15) to form an ohmic contact with the respective front and back surfaces of the first and second solar cells 10A and 10B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (KR 10-2012-0079590) in view of Umetani et al. (US 2009/0159116 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ha discloses an electrode assembly (interconnector 20 that connects adjacent solar cells 10s, see figures 1-6) (see pages 1-8 of translation) for connecting a front surface (top surface) of a first solar cell (10A) to a back surface (bottom surface) of a second solar cell (10B) (see figure 2), the electrode assembly comprising:
a plurality of conductive elements (interconnectors 20, see figure 1 or 2), wherein at least one of the conductive elements (20) comprises:
Figure 2: Solar cell module as shown in figure 2 of Ha
a first surface (top surface) for contacting the front surface (top surface) of the first solar cell (10A) (see figure 2 or annotated figure); and
a second surface (bottom surface) for contacting the back surface (bottom surface) of the second solar cell (10B) (see figure 2 or annotated figure), the second surface (bottom surface) being arranged opposite the first surface (top surface) (see figure 2 or annotated figure);
wherein at least a portion of each of the first and second surfaces (top and bottom surfaces of interconnector 20 as shown in annotated figure 2) comprises a coating (adhesive materials 20a and 20b, fig. 4 or 5, pages 6-7 of translation) for connecting the respective surfaces of the at least one conductive element (20) to a surface (top/bottom surface) of the solar cell (10A and 10B);
wherein the second surface (bottom surface) is configured to define a contact area which is substantially smaller than the contact area defined by the first surface (top surface) (see figure 6 that shows first/top portion having width W1 wider than the width W2 of second/bottom portion, and thus the second surface has smaller contact area to the respective solar cell surface) (see also page 8).
However, Ha does not disclose the at least one conductive element comprises a cross sectional shape which is non-symmetrical about a central lateral plane of the at least one conductive element, wherein the central lateral plane extends in a horizontal direction through a longitudinal axis of the at least one conductive element, wherein the first surface is on a first side of the central lateral plane and the second surface is on a second side of the central lateral plane.
Umetani discloses an electrode assembly wherein a conductive element (3, fig. 2a) comprises a cross sectional shape which is non-symmetrical about a central lateral plane of the at least one conductive element (3).
Umetani further discloses that the central lateral plane extends in a widthwise (vertical) direction through a longitudinal axis of the at least one conductive element, wherein the first surface is on a first side of the central lateral plane and the second surface is on a second side of the central lateral plane (see annotated figure).
Umetani further discloses that the at least one conductive element comprises a width (vertical direction), an axial length (horizontal direction), and a depth (thickness), wherein the length is greater than the width and the depth (see fig. 2a), wherein the cross-sectional shape is transverse to the axial length (see fig. 2a).
Umetani further discloses the conductive element allows to reduce a warp that occurs in the solar cell ([0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the non-symmetrical shape as taught by Umetani to form the conductive elements of Ha such that warp that is generated in the solar cell can be reduced.
Regarding claim 2, Ha further discloses that the second surface is substantially curved (curves outwardly from the edge to the middle or connection portion, see figure 3a or 6). See also figure 2a of Umetani that shows curvature as recess 7.
Figure 3: Solar cell as shown in figure 3a of Ha
Regarding claim 3, Ha further discloses that the second surface curves outwardly from the conductive element (20) (see figure 6 that shows interconnector 20 curves outwardly from the edge to the middle or connection portion, see figure 3a or 6).
Regarding claim 4, Ha further discloses that the at least one conductive element (20) comprises a cross section shaped as an elliptical segment (middle part having curved surface that has elliptical segment, see figure 6 or annotated figure 3). Fig. 2a of Umetani also shows the curvature segment as position 7.
Figure 4: Solar cell module as shown in figure 6 of Ha
Regarding claim 5, Ha further discloses that the second surface is substantially flat (portion that is connected to 10B is flat, see fig. 6) (alternatively, see figure 2, 4b or 5b).
Regarding claim 6, Ha further discloses that the first surface is substantially flat (portion that is connected to 10A is flat, see fig. 6) (alternatively, see figure 2, 4b or 5b).
Regarding claim 7, Ha further discloses that the first surface is substantially parallel to the second surface (see figure 2, 4b, 5b or 6).
Regarding claim 8, Ha further discloses that the at least one conductive element (20) comprises a third surface (middle portion, see figure 2 or annotated figure 1) arranged between the first and second surfaces (top and bottom portions, see annotated figure 1), the third surface being configured to space apart the first surface from the second surface (see figure 2 or annotated figure 1) (see also figure 4b, 5b or 6).
Regarding claim 9, Ha further discloses that the third surface (middle portion of 20) is substantially flat (see figure 4b or 5b).
Regarding claim 10, Ha further discloses that the third surface (middle portion of 20) is substantially curved (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 11, Ha further discloses that the third surface (middle portion of 20) curves outwardly from the conductive element (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, Ha further discloses that coating (20a and 20b) is configured to substantially cover the first and second surfaces (see figure 4b).
Regarding claim 13, Ha further discloses that coating (20a and 20b) is configured to substantially cover each of the conductive element's surfaces (see figure 4b).
Regarding claim 15, Ha discloses a solar cell assembly (solar cell module 100, figure 1, and pages 1-8) comprising a first solar cell (10A), a second solar cell (10B) and an electrode assembly (interconnectors 20) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the plurality of conductive elements (20) are configured to electrically couple a front surface (top surface) of the first solar cell (10A) with a back surface (bottom surface) of the second solar cell (10B) (see figure 1 or 2).
Regarding claim 16, Ha discloses a method of manufacturing a solar cell assembly (solar cell module 100, figure 1, and pages 1-8) according to claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15), the method comprising:
arranging the second solar cell (10B) so that its back surface (bottom surface) faces in a substantially upward direction (see figure 1, 2, 4b, 5b or 6);
overlaying a first section of the electrode assembly (20) onto the back surface (bottom surface) of the second solar cell (10B) such that the second surface (bottom surface) of the at least one conductive element (20) is arranged in contact with the back surface (bottom surface) (see figure 1, 2, 4b, 5b or 6);
connecting the second surface (bottom surface) of the at least one conductive element (20) onto the back surface of the second solar cell (10B) (see figure 1, 2, 4b, 5b or 6);
overlaying the front surface (top surface) of the first solar cell (10A) onto a second section of the electrode assembly (20) such that the first surface (top surface) of the at least one conductive element (20) is arranged in contact with the front surface (top surface) (see figure 1, 2, 4b, 5b or 6); and
connecting the first surface (top surface) of the at least one conductive element (20) onto the front surface (top surface) of the first solar cell (10A) (see figure 1, 2, 4b, 5b or 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by the amendments.
Applicant argues that Ha as modified by Umetani fails to disclose that that the at least one conductive element comprises a width, an axial length, and a depth, wherein the length is greater than the width and the depth, wherein the cross-sectional shape is transverse to the axial length.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Umetani discloses that the at least one conductive element comprises a width (vertical direction), an axial length (horizontal direction), and a depth (thickness), wherein the length is greater than the width and the depth (see fig. 2a), wherein the cross-sectional shape is transverse to the axial length (see fig. 2a).
With respect to claim 14, Applicant argues that Ha fails to disclose a portion of the conductive element is embedded in an insulating and optically transparent film.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. A portion of conductive element (finger 13, fig. 3a) is embedded in insulating layer 15 (see above grounds of rejection.
Correspondence/Contact Information
/GOLAM MOWLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721