DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.03.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 18 and 19 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: claims 18 and 19 are directed to solar cell module that is distinct from previously presented claims. Claim 18 does not require the dimensions as required by claim 1. Claim 19 requires specific shape which is distinct from claim 4.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 18 and 19 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 07/02/2026 does not place the Application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-19 are currently pending. In response to Office Action mailed on 01/12/2026, Applicant has amended claims 1 and 14, and added new claims 18-19. Claims 18-19 are withdrawn from consideration as being part of non-elected invention.
Status of the Rejections
Due to Applicant’s amendment of claim 14, the rejection from the Office Action mailed on 01/12/2026 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is presented below.
Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha et al. (KR 10-2012-0079590) in view of Chang et al. (US 2014/0299187 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Ha discloses an electrode assembly (interconnector 20 that connects adjacent solar cells 10s, see figures 1-6) (see pages 1-8 of translation) for connecting a front surface (top surface) of a first solar cell (10A) to a back surface (bottom surface) of a second solar cell (10B) (see figure 2), the electrode assembly comprising:
a plurality of conductive elements (interconnectors 20 in combination with finger electrode 13, see figures 1-3), wherein at least one of the conductive elements (20+13) comprises:
Figure 1: Solar cell module as shown in figure 2 of Ha
a first portion comprising a first surface (top surface) for contacting the front surface (top surface) of the first solar cell (10A) (see figure 2 or annotated figure); and
a second portion comprising a second surface (bottom surface) for contacting the back surface (bottom surface) of the second solar cell (10B) (see figure 2 or annotated figure), the second surface (bottom surface) being arranged opposite the first surface (top surface) (see figure 2 or annotated figure);
wherein at least a portion of each of the first and second surfaces (top and bottom surfaces of interconnector 20 as shown in annotated figure 2) comprises a coating (adhesive materials 20a and 20b, fig. 4 or 5, pages 6-7 of translation) for connecting the respective surfaces of the at least one conductive element (20+13) to a surface (top/bottom surface) of the solar cell (10A and 10B);
wherein the second surface (bottom surface) is configured to define a contact area which is substantially smaller than the contact area defined by the first surface (top surface) (see figure 6 that shows first/top portion having width W1 wider than the width W2 of second/bottom portion, and thus the second surface has smaller contact area to the respective solar cell surface) (see also page 8),
wherein the electrode assembly further comprising a first insulating and optically transparent film (antireflection film 15, fig. 3a), wherein at least a portion (finger electrode 13) of the conductive elements (20+13) is partially embedded within the first insulating and optically transparent film (15) (see fig. 3a) such that at least a portion (top side) of at least one of the first and second surfaces of the at least one conductive element (20+13) is exposed (at finger electrode 13, see figure 3a) from the first insulating and optically transparent film (15) to form an ohmic contact with the respective front surface of the first and second solar cells 10A and 10B).
However, Ha does not disclose the second portion of the at least one conductive element is partially embedded within the second insulating and optically transparent film such that at least a portion of the second surface of the at least one conductive element is exposed from the second insulating and optically transparent film to form an ohmic contact with the back surface of the second solar cell.
Chang is directed to a bifacial solar cell wherein an insulating and optically transparent film (31 and/or 32) is formed on the back surface of the solar cell (fig. 1 and [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the insulating and optically transparent film of Chang on the back surface of the solar cells of Ha as taught by Chang in order to allow for a bifacial solar cell such that light can be received from both sides.
Thus, Chang as modified Chang discloses that the second portion of the at least one conductive element is partially embedded within the second insulating and optically transparent film such that at least a portion of the second surface of the at least one conductive element is exposed from the second insulating and optically transparent film to form an ohmic contact with the back surface of the second solar cell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 and 15-17 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Ha et al. (KR 10-2012-0079590) in view of Umetani et al. (US 2009/0159116 A1) is the closest prior art.
Ha discloses an electrode assembly (interconnector 20 that connects adjacent solar cells 10s, see figures 1-6) (see pages 1-8 of translation) for connecting a front surface (top surface) of a first solar cell (10A) to a back surface (bottom surface) of a second solar cell (10B) (see figure 2), the electrode assembly comprising:
a plurality of conductive elements (interconnectors 20, see figure 1 or 2), wherein at least one of the conductive elements (20) comprises:
Figure 2: Solar cell module as shown in figure 2 of Ha
a first surface (top surface) for contacting the front surface (top surface) of the first solar cell (10A) (see figure 2 or annotated figure); and
a second surface (bottom surface) for contacting the back surface (bottom surface) of the second solar cell (10B) (see figure 2 or annotated figure), the second surface (bottom surface) being arranged opposite the first surface (top surface) (see figure 2 or annotated figure);
wherein at least a portion of each of the first and second surfaces (top and bottom surfaces of interconnector 20 as shown in annotated figure 2) comprises a coating (adhesive materials 20a and 20b, fig. 4 or 5, pages 6-7 of translation) for connecting the respective surfaces of the at least one conductive element (20) to a surface (top/bottom surface) of the solar cell (10A and 10B);
wherein the second surface (bottom surface) is configured to define a contact area which is substantially smaller than the contact area defined by the first surface (top surface) (see figure 6 that shows first/top portion having width W1 wider than the width W2 of second/bottom portion, and thus the second surface has smaller contact area to the respective solar cell surface) (see also page 8).
However, Ha does not disclose the at least one conductive element comprises a cross sectional shape which is non-symmetrical about a central lateral plane of the at least one conductive element, wherein the central lateral plane extends in a horizontal direction through a longitudinal axis of the at least one conductive element, wherein the first surface is on a first side of the central lateral plane and the second surface is on a second side of the central lateral plane.
Umetani discloses an electrode assembly wherein a conductive element (3, fig. 2a) comprises a cross sectional shape which is non-symmetrical about a central lateral plane of the at least one conductive element (3).
Umetani further discloses that the central lateral plane extends in a widthwise (vertical) direction through a longitudinal axis of the at least one conductive element, wherein the first surface is on a first side of the central lateral plane and the second surface is on a second side of the central lateral plane (see annotated figure).
Umetani further discloses that the at least one conductive element comprises a width (vertical direction), an axial length (horizontal direction), and a depth (thickness), wherein the length is greater than the width and the depth (see fig. 2a), wherein the cross-sectional shape is transverse to the axial length (see fig. 2a).
Umetani further discloses the conductive element allows to reduce a warp that occurs in the solar cell ([0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the non-symmetrical shape as taught by Umetani to form the conductive elements of Ha such that warp that is generated in the solar cell can be reduced.
However, Ha as modified does not disclose the width being greater than the depth, wherein the cross-sectional shape is transverse to the axial length and is in a depth wise direction extending along the depth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by the amendments.
Applicant argues that Ha does not disclose the at least one conductive element comprises a cross sectional shape which is non-symmetrical about a central lateral plane of the at least one conductive element, wherein the central lateral plane extends in a horizontal direction through a longitudinal axis of the at least one conductive element, wherein the first surface is on a first side of the central lateral plane and the second surface is on a second side of the central lateral plane.
This argument is directed to claim 14 as amended and is moot in view of new ground of rejection as presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence/Contact Information
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721