DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to preliminary amendments filed on 6/28/2024.
Claims 1-8, 10-12, & 14 remain pending. Claims 1-8, 10-12, & 14 have been examined and are rejected.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2024/004659 and claims priority to provisional application 63/457,768 filed 4/6/2023 and provisional application 64/457,772 filed 4/6/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/9/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12, & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (WO 2024/156089 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Cheng teaches:
A method of monitoring a downlink signal by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving configuration information including a cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) configuration from a cell; (receiving, from a network, first configuration information for a first cell DTX/DRX pattern used by a first serving cell of the UE, the first configuration information comprising a first periodicity of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first offset for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, a first active duration length for the for the first cell DTX/DRX pattern, and first UE behavior information defining one or more UE behaviors for a first non-active serving cell mode [Cheng: 0110; Fig. 10]);
transmitting an uplink signal to the cell; (performing first communication with the network on the first serving cell according to the first non-active serving cell mode during the first non-active duration of the first cell DTX/DRX pattern [Cheng: 0112; Fig. 10]);
and determining whether to monitor a downlink signal in response to the uplink signal in an inactive period of cell DTX determined based on the configuration information; (a base station may configure the UE whether to monitor some and/or all SPS occasions corresponding to an initial SPS transmission and/or to an SPS retransmission during a non-active duration of the cell DTX/DRX pattern [Cheng: 0052-55]);
wherein whether to monitor the downlink signal is determined based on a type of the uplink signal; (a UE may be configured to perform various permitted communications with a serving cell during a non-active serving cell duration at the serving cell while suspending non-permitted communications, wherein the permitted communications may include: CBRA, CFRA, RAR monitoring, RAR scheduled uplink, BFD, BFR, etc. [Cheng: 0045-47; 0083-84]).
With regard to Claim 2, Cheng teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that the uplink signal is an uplink signal for a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) or a contention-free Random Access Channel procedure (CFRA), the UE performs monitoring of the downlink signal even during the inactive period of the cell DTX; (a UE may be configured to perform various permitted communications with a serving cell during a non-active serving cell duration at the serving cell while suspending non-permitted communications, wherein the permitted communications may include: CBRA, CFRA, RAR monitoring, RAR scheduled uplink, BFD, BFR, etc. [Cheng: 0045-47; 0083-84]).
With regard to Claim 3, Cheng teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that the uplink signal is a scheduling request (SR) physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the UE performs monitoring of the downlink signal even during the inactive period of the cell DTX; (the UE, during a non-active duration of the cell DTX/DRX pattern, monitors for dynamic UL and/or DL grants, performs semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) reception, and/or performs transmission of one or more of a CG-PUSCH, a RACH, an SR, a RACH and/or an SRS [Cheng: 0032]. Examiner notes the Scheduling Request (SR) is transmitted on the PUCCH).
With regard to Claim 6, Cheng teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that the uplink signal is an uplink signal that is not related to a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) or a contention-free Random Access Channel procedure (CFRA), the UE does not perform monitoring of the downlink signal in the inactive duration of the cell DTX; (a UE may be configured to perform various permitted communications with a serving cell during a non-active serving cell duration at the serving cell while suspending non-permitted communications, wherein the permitted communications may include: CBRA, CFRA, RAR monitoring, RAR scheduled uplink, BFD, BFR, etc. [Cheng: 0045-47; 0083-84]).
With regard to Claim 7, Cheng teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information further includes a cell discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration related to the cell, and based on that the uplink signal is a scheduling request (SR) physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), the UE transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) even during the inactive period of the cell DTX determined based on the cell DRX configuration; (the UE, during a non-active duration of the cell DTX/DRX pattern, monitors for dynamic UL and/or DL grants, performs semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) reception, and/or performs transmission of one or more of a CG-PUSCH, a RACH, an SR, a RACH and/or an SRS [Cheng: 0032]. Examiner notes the Scheduling Request (SR) is transmitted on the PUCCH).
With regard to Claim 8, Cheng teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the downlink signal is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled with a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI); (the UE monitors for a PDCCH addressed by a cell RNTI (C-RNTI) (corresponding to an SPS retransmission) [Cheng: 0056]).
With regard to Claims 10-12 & 14, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claims 1-3 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claims. Accordingly, claims 10-12 & 14 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (WO 2024/156089 A1) in view of Wu et al. (US 2025/0203649 A1).
With regard to Claim 4, Cheng teaches the method of claim 2, but does not teach:
wherein, the UE performs monitoring of the downlink signal only in a common search space (CSS) from a UE specific search space (USS) and the CSS.
In a similar field of endeavor involving operations performed by the UE during the Non-active time of DTX of the base station, Wu discloses:
wherein, the UE performs monitoring of the downlink signal only in a common search space (CSS) from a UE specific search space (USS) and the CSS; (the UE determines the search space where the PDCCH to be monitored is located based on the network configuration [Wu: 0030], wherein the UE may be configured to not monitor the PDCCH in the UE-specific search space (USS) and the PDCCH in the Type3 CSS, but to monitor the PDCCH on other search spaces [Wu: 0173; 0176-77]. Examiner notes that the other search spaces would include at least the Type0 PDCCH CSS referenced in [Wu: 0149]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng in view of Wu in order to monitor the downlink signal only in a common search space (CSS) in the system of Cheng.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cheng with Wu as doing so strikes a power balance between energy savings and maintaining network operation by allowing the UE to monitor for common control messages associated with the CSS, while suspending monitoring of user traffic messages associated with the USS.
With regard to Claim 5, Cheng teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein the CSS is a specific type of CSS configured from the cell; (the UE determines the search space where the PDCCH to be monitored is located based on the network configuration [Wu: 0030], wherein the UE may be configured to not monitor the PDCCH in the UE-specific search space (USS) and the PDCCH in the Type3 CSS, but to monitor the PDCCH on other search spaces [Wu: 0173; 0176-77]. Examiner notes that the other search spaces would include at least the Type0 PDCCH CSS referenced in [Wu: 0149]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Maleki et al. (US 2026/0173203 A1) which teaches when the UE is configured with gNB DTX, it is also configured with a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), search space (SS), reference signals, or CORESET/search space configuration, wherein the UE continues to monitor the downlink but according to a second one or more PDCCH/SS/reference signal/CORESET/search space configurations when the network is in DTX inactive period [0051-52].
In the case of amendments, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/AUSTIN J MOREAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446