DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a final action in response to amendment filed on 08/25/2026. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument directed to claim objection and 112(f) has been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection has been withdrawn. Examiner, however, notes the newly added claim language may include a different typo. Please see claim objection section below.
Applicant’s argument directed to 101 rejection has been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that the claim require physical actions of switching and therefore can not be practically performed in human mind. Examiner agrees to the extent that computer device such as mobile device is required. However, a claim requiring computer can still be mental process. See MPEP 2106.04 (a) (2) III C. In this case, these actions, as analyzed in step 2A prong 2, are merely generally linking the abstract idea into the computer requirement.
Applicant goes on to argue the physical change integrate abstract idea into practical application. Examiner respectfully disagree for at least two reasons. First, claim does not require physical change. The power-on/off limitation is part of Markush grouping and therefore is not required. Instead, claim merely require mode changes. Second, mode changes, at most requires computer device being involved. as noted above, a claim requiring computer can still be mental process. Further, at this level of breadth, the computer device is merely being used to limit the abstract idea into an intended operational environment. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Similarly, Applicant’s step 2B argument is based on the same rationale, please see above.
Applicant’s argument on 102 rejection has been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that establishment of connection does not indicate device has been activated. It also does not indicate power switching.
Regarding power switching, please see above regarding claim interpretation. As of establishing connection, examiner disagree with Applicant’s position. Instead, an established connection would indicate activation. Further, examiner notes the cited portion indicates sending notification based on whether the device is in a do not disturb (DND) state. Therefore, Cary teaches the limitation.
As per Applicant’s further argument regarding Cary’s control being opposite, examiner respectfully disagree. Applicant argues establishing connection causes suppression. Examiner disagree as being a normal state is the trigger that causes notification to occur.
Applicant goes on to argue change of power state. Please see above.
Applicant lastly argues Cary doesn’t teach a trigger indicating an earlier activation. Examiner disagree as Cary’s system indicates its in normal state.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Objection
Claims 1-9 are objected because it appears “while the notification device” appears to be a typographical error of “wherein the notification device”. As currently written, “while the notification device” may suggest notification occurs when notification device is in an off-state or a standby state. However, further claim limitation “suspending output …. until the trigger is obtained, and causing …. to output the notification … when the trigger is obtained” makes it clear that notification (e.g., audio or visual notification) does not take place when device is in an off-state or a standby state. This is also consistent with 0028 and 0045 of PG-Pub. Therefore, it appears the word “while” is used to describe the state of notification device at the obtaining event information step. The relationship may be better worded using “wherein”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they recite an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A prong 1
As per claim 1, with the exception of physical devices and hardware, all the steps performed recites an abstract idea. Specifically, these steps recites mental process where a person can mentally decide notification information being generated. Examiner notes the obtainer and conditions as claimed, is broad enough to encompass rules stored in table form such as those shown in Fig. 2 and Fig. 4, which only require simple binary judgement (e.g., is TV on? is water level low?, etc.). As of notification, claim is broad enough to encompass merely displaying information. Displaying information is a mental process as being similar to Electric Power Group’s displaying the result. Therefore, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A prong 2
The additional elements are the physical devices and hardware, which are merely used to perform the abstract idea (e.g., have information transmitted/send or being used to perform abstract idea). All the devices are also merely generic computer components discussed in high generality. Therefore, these additional elements are nothing more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea onto a generic computer, as well as being generally linking the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Even viewed as an ordered combination, the additional elements are still merely generally linking the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Such additional element would not integrate the abstract idea into practical application and therefore claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As noted above in step 2A prong 2, of which the analysis is still applicable in step 2B, the additional elements are nothing more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea onto a generic computer and generally linking the abstract idea to a particular field of use, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination. They would not provide significantly more either. Therefore, claim 1 is not eligible.
Claims 3-7 merely further limit the abstract idea with additional rules that can still be manually performed in human mind and using additional elements that can still be similarly analyzed as those of claim 1. They would therefore be analyzed similarly and arrive at the same conclusion.
Claims 8-9 contain limitations substantially similar to claim 1 and would therefore they would not be eligible over similar rationale set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cary (US 20150350129)
As per claim 1, Cary discloses a notification system comprising:
Processor configured to perform operations comprising:
Obtaining event information about an event that has occurred, from an information source device or an information source service that is a source of information to be notified by a notification device, while the notification device is in an off-state or a standby state (0070, cocordination device determine whether to forward message to mobile device. See Fig. 2A for the relationship among coordinating device 215a, server 205, and mobile device 220a. See 0230 regarding Do Not Disturb (DND) mode);
After obtaining the event information, obtaining, based on an operation log of the notification device, a trigger indicating that the notification device has been activated, wherein the trigger is one of (i) switching of a power of the notification device from an off-state to an on-state or (ii) returning of the notification device from a standby state to the on-state (0074, condition used to determine which devices are to suppress alert. Condition can be whether connection can be established. See 230 determination based on whether device is in a do-not-disturb mode. See 0223 that 0230 can be performed in coordination device. See 0261 regarding identifying paired device (operation log) as well as whether device is proximate); and
suspending output of notification information indicating content of the event from the notification device until the trigger is obtained, and causing the notification device to output the notification information when the trigger is obtained (0074-0075, presenting message when satisfied or suppressed based on condition. See Fig. 2A, where devices 220a and 220b may or may not output alert based on conditions).
As per claim 3, Cary further discloses the notification system according to claim 1, wherein
the switching or returning is caused by direct operation of the notification device by a user (0303, user action changes mode).
As per claim 4, Cary further discloses the notification system according to claim 1, wherein
when a plurality of notification devices each being the notification device are present in a same space, the processor obtains the trigger based on an operation log of each of the plurality of notification devices (0261, devices paired are identified (operation log) as well as whether device is proximate is assessed. See 0256 that the process is performed in coordinating device).
As per claim 5, Cary discloses the notification system according to claim 1, comprising:
a plurality of notification devices each being the notification device (see Fig. 2A, mobile devices 220a and 220b), wherein
when the processor estimates an area in which a user is present based on an operation of an external device different from the plurality of notification devices, the processor causes a notification device in the area among the plurality of notification devices to output the notification information (0070-0072, coordination device forward message to other device for display. See Fig. 2A where coordination device 215 is separate from mobile device 220a or 220b).
As per claim 6, Cary further discloses the notification system according to claim 1, wherein
when a plurality of items of event information each corresponding to one of a plurality of events and the trigger are obtained, the processor causes the notification device to output summary information indicating a summary of content of the plurality of events, the plurality of items of event information each being the event information, the plurality of events each being the event (0100, notification can be stacked).
As per claim 7, Cary further discloses t notification device comprising:
A notification device-side processor configured to perform device-side operations comprising:
Obtaining an instruction to output the notification information from the notification system according to claim 1 (Fig. 2A); and
Outputting the notification information when the instruction is obtained (Fig. 2A).
Claims 8-9 contains limitations substantially similar to claim 1 and are rejected under similar rationale set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GEORGE CHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/GEORGE CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628