DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant’s filing dated July 31st, 2026.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/142375 filed on December 27th, 2022; and claims benefit of foreign priority of CN202111622501.X filed on December 28th, 2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s remarks July 31st, 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on July 31st, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 31st, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 contains the trademark/trade name “Span”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe sorbitan monooleate and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinelli (WO 2017/115238 A1); in view of Abad (WO2013/041967 A2).
Regarding claims 1-9 and 11-17, Pinelli teaches a composition useful for treating presbyopia (page 4, lines 20-22) comprising <0.40% pilocarpine, which can be present as a pharmaceutically acceptable salt (e.g. pilocarpine nitrate) (page 7, lines 17-27); <0.090% an alpha-stimulant agonist, namely naphazoline and pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof (e.g. naphazoline hydrochloride) (page 7, lines 17-23 and 28-30; page 8, line 1); and <0.090% a non-steroid anti-inflammatory agent (NSAID), namely ketorolac (page 7, lines 17-23; page 8, lines 2-7). Pinelli teaches that the pH value of the composition ranges between 4.5-8.5 (page 12, lines 10-11). Pinelli teaches that the composition may further comprise boric acid (page 15, Example 1, lines 3-5); citric acid (page 6, lines 26-30; page 10, lines 20-28); polysorbate 80 (page 10, lines 20-28); EDTA (page 10, lines 20-28; page 16, lines 25-26) and polyoxyethylene (page 10, lines 24-25; page 11, lines 10-11).
Pinelli does not explicitly teach a composition with 0.5-1.5% muscarinic acetylcholine receptor M3 agonist, 0.005-0.5% naphazoline and 0.1-1% ketorolac, or the specific weights of the claimed excipients.
Abad teaches a composition useful for treating presbyopia (page 3, lines 24-30; page 7, lines 26-29) comprising 0.01-4% pilocarpine (page 3, lines 30-32; page 9, lines 4-6; page 33, claim 6); 0.01-0.5% an alpha-stimulant agonist, namely naphazoline (page 3, lines 32-34; page 9, lines 6-7; page 33, claim 10); and 0.01-2% a non-steroid anti-inflammatory agent (NSAID) (page 3, lines 27-30; page 9, lines 7-8). Abad teaches that the composition may further comprise boric acid (page 17, lines 8-10); citric acid (page 17, lines 8-10); sodium citrate buffer (page 17, line 12); polysorbate 80 (page 18, line 1); and EDTA (page 17, line 18).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the amount of pilocarpine, naphazoline and ketorolac taught by Pinelli, in view of the teachings of Abad, as a starting point for optimizing the amount of pilocarpine, naphazoline and ketorolac utilized to treat presbyopia since both Pinelli and Abad, in their respective composition teachings, teaches the combination of muscarinic acetylcholine receptor M3 agonist, namely pilocarpine, naphazoline and an NSAID, namely ketorolac is useful for treating presbyopia and because dosage and treatment regimen are result-effective variables, i.e. a variable that achieves a recognized result. Therefore, the determination of the optimum or workable dosages would have been well within the practice of routine experimentation by the skilled artisan. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the compositions and the criticality of the claimed dosage range, the determination of the optimum or workable dosing regimen given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II)(A) and In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). ("[W]here the general conditions of claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
Taken together, all of this would result in the composition of instant claims 1-9 and 11-17 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected.
No claim is allowed.
/C.L.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691