DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 2-13 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 07/29/2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites ‘the geospatial coordinates of the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content’; however, it should recite - - geospatial coordinates of the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites receive one or more pieces of geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal, register the received one or more pieces of geospatial content, the one or more pieces of geospatial content registered in the database, the pieces of geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal, the one or more uploaded pieces of geospatial content, each registered piece of geospatial content. The relationship between these elements is unclear. It is unclear how the “received one or more pieces of geospatial content” and “the one or more uploaded pieces of geospatial content” are intended to relate to “receive one or more pieces of geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal” (emphasis added). It is further unclear these limitations relate to “the pieces of geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal”. It is unclear how “the one or more pieces of geospatial content registered in the database” is intended to relate to “each registered piece of geospatial content” For the purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted as: receive one or more first pieces of geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal, register second received one or more pieces of geospatial content, third one or more pieces of geospatial content registered in the database, fourth pieces of geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal, fifth one or more uploaded pieces of geospatial content, each sixth registered piece of geospatial content
Claim 2 further recites “a predetermined plurality of content types” and “each of the plurality of content types”. The relationship between these elements is unclear. It is unclear whether the types are intended to be the same or different types. For the purposes of examination, this limitation are interpreted as: a first predetermined plurality of content types, each of a second plurality of content types
Regarding claims 3-13, claims 3-13 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for depending on an indefinite parent claim. Limitations regarding pieces of content and content types are likewise rejected and interpreted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilskalns (US 20110214047 A1, published 09/01/2011) in view of Kritt et al. (US 20130268193 A1, published 10/10/2013) in further view of Kohori et al. (US 20220221865 A1, published 07/14/2022), hereinafter Kohori.
Regarding claim 2, Pilskalns teaches the claim comprising:
A geospatial information system which is connected communicably with a user terminal and provides geospatial information to the user terminal, the geospatial information system comprising (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0001], This application further claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 60/801,784, filed on May 19, 2006, entitled "GEOSPACE SYSTEM FOR SHARING INFORMATION IN A GEOSPATIAL CONTEXT,"; [0024], The term "map" refers to any spatial representation of information. In the case most commonly evoked herein, the map may depict the spatial organization of features within a physical landscape, including roadways, population centers, natural features (rivers, lakes, etc.), and so on. In other cases, the map may depict the spatial organization of features within some other physical setting, such the organization of various features that make up the layout of office space; [0034], FIG. 1 shows an exemplary system 100 for use in annotating a map. In the illustrated (but non-limiting) environment shown in FIG. 1, the system 100 includes server-side map processing functionality (MPF) 102' for interacting with one or more client devices, such as representative client device 104):
a database configured to manage one or more pieces of geospatial content; a memory storing computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory, wherein the one or more processors, by executing the computer-executable instructions, are configured to (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0037], The raw map source 108 can generate a map based on information collected from various sources, such as satellite photographs, aerial photographs, various cartographic databases [0048], the annotation module 122 can allow the user to upload certain objects to an object store 124. For example, the user can upload digital pictures, media files, text documents, etc. to the object store 124. The annotation module 122 can then allow the user to link an uploaded object stored in the object store 124 to a selected location on the map; [0062], Any client device, such as the representative client device 104, can be implemented as a computer-type processing device. Exemplary computer-type processing devices include personal computers, laptop computers, mobile telephones, personal digital assistants (PDAs), tablet-type input devices, game consoles, set-top boxes, various types of wearable computers, and so forth; [0063], FIG. 2 shows processing functionality 200 that generically represents any server-type computer that can be employed by the server-side MPF 102' or the raw map source 108. The processing functionality 200 can also generically represent a client-side processing device, such as representative client device 104; [0064], The processing functionality 200 includes various kinds of memory, such as RAM 202 and ROM 204. The processing functionality 200 also includes a controller 206. The controller 206 can represent one or more central processing units (CPUs) or some other type of processing engine. The processing functionality 200 can perform various operations identified above when the controller 206 executes instructions that are stored in the memories (202, 204). The processing functionality 200 also optionally includes various media devices 208, such as a hard disk module, an optical disk module, and so forth. The media devices 208 can be used to store information on a more permanent basis than, for example, the RAM 202. In the context of a server-type computer, one or more of the above-described data-storing media can store code instructions that carry out the functions of the MPF 102' when implemented by the controller 206; [0167], In step 1502, the system 100 optionally receives the user's instruction to upload an object, and then receives the actual uploaded object itself for storage in the object store 124);
receive one or more pieces of geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal; register the received one or more pieces of geospatial content in the database (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0037], The raw map source 108 can generate a map based on information collected from various sources, such as satellite photographs, aerial photographs, various cartographic databases [0048], the annotation module 122 can allow the user to upload certain objects to an object store 124. For example, the user can upload digital pictures, media files, text documents, etc. to the object store 124. The annotation module 122 can then allow the user to link an uploaded object stored in the object store 124 to a selected location on the map; [0167], In step 1502, the system 100 optionally receives the user's instruction to upload an object, and then receives the actual uploaded object itself for storage in the object store 124);
and provide one or more types of geospatial information screens displaying at least a part of the one or more pieces of geospatial content registered in the database, to the user terminal, wherein each of the pieces of geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal has one content type selected from among a predetermined plurality of content types, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: identify, for each of the one or more uploaded pieces of geospatial content, a content type of the each of the one or more uploaded pieces of geospatial content; and register each of the one or more uploaded pieces of geospatial content in the database in a predetermined registration format corresponding to the identified content type of the each of the one or more uploaded piece of geospatial content, wherein each predetermined registration format corresponding to each of the plurality of content types includes geospatial coordinates associated with each registered piece of geospatial content (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0047], The annotation module 122 can associate an object with a defined location within a map. The annotation module 122 can perform this task by linking the object to a defined X-Y position in the coordinate system of the map. In one implementation, this linking is performed by allowing the user to manually point to a location in the map. In another implementation, the object may already have position information associated therewith, such as in the case of a digital photograph that may incorporate GPS data that describes the location where the photograph was taken. In the latter case, the annotation module 122 can include a conversion module (not shown) which converts various ways of representing position information into a standard representation of position. This provision effectively allows different sources of geographic information to be combined together, such as by allowing an object with an X-Y position specified using a first coordinate system to be placed on a map that is structured using a second coordinate system; [0048], the annotation module 122 can allow the user to upload certain objects to an object store 124. For example, the user can upload digital pictures, media files, text documents, etc. to the object store 124. The annotation module 122 can then allow the user to link an uploaded object stored in the object store 124 to a selected location on the map; [0072], Beginning with FIG. 3, the user interface 300 is shown as including several sections; [0073], One such section is a map display section 302. The map display section 302 presents a map 304. In the entirely exemplary case of FIG. 3, the map 304 depicts the U.S. state of Washington; [0076], An annotation section 310 of the user interface 300 allows the user to attach different types of objects to the map 304, including, but not limited to: path-type objects; alphanumeric label-type objects; iconic label-type objects; image-type objects; media-type objects (audio, video, etc.); web link-type objects; document-type objects; RSS fed link-type objects; additional map information, and so on. More specifically, the annotation section 310 is implemented as a graphical toolbar that includes separate commands. The separate commands allow the user to link different respective objects to the map 304; [0077], the MPF 102' allows a user to link an object to the map 304 by first uploading the object to the object store 124. The user can initiate this uploading operation by activating an "Upload Objects" command tab 312. The user can then select a desired location on the map 304 by moving a position indicator 314 to the desired location (e.g., by using a mouse device to move the position indicator 314 to the desired location). The user can then activate an appropriate command within the annotation section 310. For instance, if the user has uploaded a document-type object, the user can activate a "Doc" command within the annotation section 310 to link this object to the map 304. The MPF 102' then links the selected object to the selected location on the map 304. In the example of FIG. 3, the visible item 306 represents a document-type object in the map 304. The user may activate the document-type object by clicking on the visible item 306; [0095], The depiction of FIG. 4 shows a street-level depiction of the city of Spokane. Note that the expanded depiction of the map 304 in FIG. 4 includes various visible items that were not presented in the state-level depiction shown in FIG. 3. These visual items represent corresponding objects that have been attached to the map 304 by the author-user (see also [0096-0103]; [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally),
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: acquire a specified condition arbitrarily specified by a user with respect to one or more predetermined search conditions; search the database for one or more pieces of geospatial content matching the specified condition; create a first type of geospatial information screen having a first content display area which displays a predetermined map and one or more images of the one of more searched pieces of geospatial content in a manner where the one or more images are superimposed at one or more positions corresponding to the geospatial coordinates of the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content on the predetermined map; and provide the first type of geospatial information screen to the user terminal (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0037], The raw map source 108 can specify the location of elements within such a map using any kind of coordinate system. In a common case, the map has two dimensions. The elements in this type of map can be unambiguously described by specifying the X-Y coordinates of these elements; [0055], map search module 128 allows a user to perform a search that involves map information. The map search module 128 can use the map information in different ways in performing a search. In one technique, the search module 128 can allow the user to search within an individual map by specifying a bounding box within the map. The bounding box demarcates a rectangular area within the map, although the annotation module 128 can also allow the user to select a bounding area having another shape. The user can also specify at least one selection criterion. Based on these selections, the map search module 128 determines whether any objects within the bounding box satisfy the selection criterion. The map search module 128 can then present the results of its determination to the user; [0056], search module 128 can allow the user to specify a data source and a bounding box. The search module 128 can extract one or more parameters based on objects identified within the bounding box, and can then use these parameters to construct a search term; [0057], map search module 128 can allow the user to search a collection of maps, potentially created by different respective users. In operation, the user can enter a search term (and optionally a bounding box); [0072], Beginning with FIG. 3, the user interface 300 is shown as including several sections; [0073], map 304 also includes information that is overlaid on the raw map data; [0095], The depiction of FIG. 4 shows a street-level depiction of the city of Spokane. Note that the expanded depiction of the map 304 in FIG. 4 includes various visible items that were not presented in the state-level depiction shown in FIG. 3. These visual items represent corresponding objects that have been attached to the map 304 by the author-user (see also [0096-0103]; [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally; [0154], The user can draw the bounding box 1402 on the map 304 in any manner, such as by performing a click and drag operation using a mouse device. (Alternatively, the map search module 128 can allow the user to define a bounding region of arbitrary shape, e.g., by drawing the boundary of this region in free-form fashion on the map 304 using the mouse device.) The map search module 128 can also allow the user to enter at least one selection criterion, such as a key term. In operation, the map search module 128 can then investigate the objects that may appear within the defined bounding box 1402 to determine whether these objects satisfy the selection criterion. If they do, the map search module 128 can convey this fact to the user in some manner, such as by presenting a list of the matching objects, or by highlighting the matching items on the map 304 itself; [0156], the user's selection criterion can identify a particular type of object that the user is looking for, such as an image-type object; see also [0076]),
wherein the plurality of content types includes at least: an image content type; and one or more other content types different from the image content type, and wherein, when the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content include an image belonging to the image content type and one or more pieces of geospatial content belonging to the one or more other content types, the one or more processors are configured to display, in the first content display area: the predetermined map in a first layer; an actual image of the image in a second layer superimposed in front of the first layer; and one or more icons of the one or more pieces of geospatial content belonging to the one or more other content types in a third layer (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0037], The raw map source 108 represents any entity or combination of entities that produces an underlying digital map. As stated above, the term "map" is intended to have broad connotation, referring to any representation of the spatial organization of features within an area. In the case most commonly evoked, a map represents a tract of land that shows the location of roadways, population centers, natural landscape features, and so forth. The raw map source 108 can generate a map based on information collected from various sources, such as satellite photographs, aerial photographs, various cartographic databases, and so forth. The raw map source 108 can specify the location of elements within such a map using any kind of coordinate system; [0055], map search module 128 allows a user to perform a search that involves map information. The map search module 128 can use the map information in different ways in performing a search. In one technique, the search module 128 can allow the user to search within an individual map by specifying a bounding box within the map. The bounding box demarcates a rectangular area within the map, although the annotation module 128 can also allow the user to select a bounding area having another shape. The user can also specify at least one selection criterion. Based on these selections, the map search module 128 determines whether any objects within the bounding box satisfy the selection criterion. The map search module 128 can then present the results of its determination to the user; [0056], search module 128 can allow the user to specify a data source and a bounding box. The search module 128 can extract one or more parameters based on objects identified within the bounding box, and can then use these parameters to construct a search term; [0057], In another case, the map search module 128 can allow the user to search a collection of maps, potentially created by different respective users. In operation, the user can enter a search term (and optionally a bounding box). The search module 128 can then investigate the collection of maps to determine whether it includes any objects which match the search term. In performing its search of the maps, the map search module 128 can also perform a supplemental search in one or more other data sources, or otherwise rely on the information in these data sources; [0072-0073], Beginning with FIG. 3, the user interface 300 is shown as including several sections; [0073], map 304 also includes information that is overlaid on the raw map data; [0095], The depiction of FIG. 4 shows a street-level depiction of the city of Spokane. Note that the expanded depiction of the map 304 in FIG. 4 includes various visible items that were not presented in the state-level depiction shown in FIG. 3. These visual items represent corresponding objects that have been attached to the map 304 by the author-user (see also [0096-0103]; [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally; [0154], The user can draw the bounding box 1402 on the map 304 in any manner, such as by performing a click and drag operation using a mouse device. (Alternatively, the map search module 128 can allow the user to define a bounding region of arbitrary shape, e.g., by drawing the boundary of this region in free-form fashion on the map 304 using the mouse device.) The map search module 128 can also allow the user to enter at least one selection criterion, such as a key term. In operation, the map search module 128 can then investigate the objects that may appear within the defined bounding box 1402 to determine whether these objects satisfy the selection criterion. If they do, the map search module 128 can convey this fact to the user in some manner, such as by presenting a list of the matching objects, or by highlighting the matching items on the map 304 itself; [0156], the user's selection criterion can identify a particular type of object that the user is looking for, such as an image-type object; see also [0076])
However, Pilskalns fails to expressly disclose an actual image of the image in a second layer superimposed in front of the first layer; and one or more icons of the one or more pieces of geospatial content belonging to the one or more other content types in a third layer superimposed in front of the second layer. In the same field of endeavor, Kritt teaches:
an actual image of the image in a second layer superimposed in front of the first layer; and one or more icons of the one or more pieces of geospatial content belonging to the one or more other content types in a third layer superimposed in front of the second layer (Kritt Figs. 1-8; [0051], A non-limiting example of personalized route generation may be described with reference to FIGS. 3-6. FIG. 3 describes different images and videos that are overlaid on an electronic map 300. Additionally and/or alternatively, different online picture albums showing different pictures may be overlaid over an electronic map 400 (FIG. 4). The position of the images in the map may include the actual geo-coordinate location. Map navigators may view different images while navigating the map. In some embodiments, different users and/or a service provider may share the images/videos in the electronic map. Additionally and/or alternatively the image or videos in the map may be restricted to social networking friends, friends of friends etc; [0052], Image objects may be extracted from the images stored with the electronic map, for example by a service provider's server. The extracted image objects may be stored as part of the electronic map at the service provider's server. Accordingly, location and/or concentration of image objects may be identified)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated an actual image of the image in a second layer superimposed in front of the first layer; and one or more icons of the one or more pieces of geospatial content belonging to the one or more other content types in a third layer superimposed in front of the second layer as suggested in Kritt into Pilskalns. Doing so would be desirable because Kritt creates electronic map, the personalized route featuring one or more object viewing interests (see Kritt [0002]). The system of Kritt would improve the system of Pilskalns because generally, computer users view a lot of images, such as videos or pictures (see Kritt [0003]). FIG. 3 describes different images and videos that are overlaid on an electronic map 300 (see Kritt [0051]) in a plurality of layers, thereby providing an efficient and effective way to present the user with a plurality of different types of desired objects on map, in locations where objects may be highly concentrated (see Kritt [0052]), thereby increasing the usefulness and utility of the system.
However, Pilskalns in view of Kritt fails to expressly disclose wherein the plurality of content types includes at least: an orthoimage content type; and one or more other content types different from the orthoimage content type; an orthoimage belonging to the orthoimage content type; an actual image of the orthoimage in a second layer superimposed in front of the first layer; one or more other content types in a third layer superimposed in front of the second layer In the same field of endeavor, Kohori teaches:
wherein the plurality of content types includes at least: an orthoimage content type; and one or more other content types different from the orthoimage content type; an orthoimage belonging to the orthoimage content type; an actual image of the orthoimage in a second layer superimposed in front of the first layer; one or more other content types in a third layer superimposed in front of the second layer (Kohori Figs. 1-11; [0066], First, the map acquisition unit 82 of the wireless communication terminal 7 acquires an orthophoto (S101). Orthophotos are obtained by conducting orthorectification on aerial photographs (central projection) captured by an aircraft or satellite to correct a distortion by orthographic projection transformation; [0070], Subsequently, the display control unit 81 of the wireless communication terminal 7 causes the wireless communication terminal 7 to display the orthophoto and the field area in a superimposed manner (S104). As illustrated in FIG. 6, the display control unit 81 superimposes the orthophoto and the image representing the field area created from the orthophoto to create a display image. Then, as illustrated in FIG. 7, the display control unit 81 performs the process to display this display image on the display unit 73 of the wireless communication terminal 7. As the orthophoto contains information (building, river, road, etc.) other than the field, displaying the orthophoto and the field area in a superimposed manner makes it easy for the user to identify the desired field; [0071], although the orthophoto and the image representing the field area are both superimposed according to the present embodiment, another image may be further superimposed. Another image to be superimposed may be a map associating a position (area) with usage, such as a land use map or city planning map; [0073], the image obtained by superimposing the orthophoto and the field area is referred to as a superimposed image. The user checks the superimposed image illustrated in FIG. 7. For example, as illustrated in the lower section of FIG. 7, the user selects a unit field area so as to check the information about the selected unit field area. The information about the unit field area includes, for example, the field name, address, and registration date. Furthermore, the field name may be changed in accordance with the user input)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the plurality of content types includes at least: an orthoimage content type; and one or more other content types different from the orthoimage content type; an orthoimage belonging to the orthoimage content type; an actual image of the orthoimage in a second layer superimposed in front of the first layer; one or more other content types in a third layer superimposed in front of the second layer as suggested in Kohori into Pilskalns in view of Kritt. Doing so would be desirable because previous systems are time-consuming and troublesome for users (see Kohori [0004]). The present invention has been made in consideration of the above circumstances, and its primary object is to provide an system with which it is possible to properly register geographic objects (see Kohori [0005]). Additionally, Kohori would improve the systems of Pilskalns in view of Kritt by further clarifying a plurality of different desired types of objects that can be superimposed on each other and further superimposed on a map (see Kohori [0070-0071])., such as orthophotos, which accurately represent the shape and position of terrain (see Kohori [0066]).
Regarding claim 4, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the plurality of content types further includes at least an analysis data content type representing analysis data which analyzes one or more pieces of geospatial content, and wherein, when the searched pieces of geospatial content include the image, analysis data belonging to the analysis data content type, and one or more other pieces of geospatial content belonging to the one or more content types different from the image content type or the analysis data content type, the one or more processors are further configured to display, in the first content display area: the predetermined map in a first layer; an actual image of the image in the second layer; an image of the analysis data in the third layer; and one or more icons of the one or more other pieces of geospatial content in a forth layer (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0037], The raw map source 108 represents any entity or combination of entities that produces an underlying digital map. As stated above, the term "map" is intended to have broad connotation, referring to any representation of the spatial organization of features within an area. In the case most commonly evoked, a map represents a tract of land that shows the location of roadways, population centers, natural landscape features, and so forth. The raw map source 108 can generate a map based on information collected from various sources, such as satellite photographs, aerial photographs, various cartographic databases, and so forth. The raw map source 108 can specify the location of elements within such a map using any kind of coordinate system; [0047], the object may already have position information associated therewith, such as in the case of a digital photograph that may incorporate GPS data that describes the location where the photograph was taken. In the latter case, the annotation module 122 can include a conversion module (not shown) which converts various ways of representing position information into a standard representation of position; [0055], map search module 128 allows a user to perform a search that involves map information. The map search module 128 can use the map information in different ways in performing a search. In one technique, the search module 128 can allow the user to search within an individual map by specifying a bounding box within the map. The bounding box demarcates a rectangular area within the map, although the annotation module 128 can also allow the user to select a bounding area having another shape. The user can also specify at least one selection criterion. Based on these selections, the map search module 128 determines whether any objects within the bounding box satisfy the selection criterion. The map search module 128 can then present the results of its determination to the user; [0056], search module 128 can allow the user to specify a data source and a bounding box. The search module 128 can extract one or more parameters based on objects identified within the bounding box, and can then use these parameters to construct a search term; [0057], In another case, the map search module 128 can allow the user to search a collection of maps, potentially created by different respective users. In operation, the user can enter a search term (and optionally a bounding box). The search module 128 can then investigate the collection of maps to determine whether it includes any objects which match the search term. In performing its search of the maps, the map search module 128 can also perform a supplemental search in one or more other data sources, or otherwise rely on the information in these data sources; [0072-0073], Beginning with FIG. 3, the user interface 300 is shown as including several sections; [0073], map 304 also includes information that is overlaid on the raw map data; [0095], The depiction of FIG. 4 shows a street-level depiction of the city of Spokane. Note that the expanded depiction of the map 304 in FIG. 4 includes various visible items that were not presented in the state-level depiction shown in FIG. 3. These visual items represent corresponding objects that have been attached to the map 304 by the author-user (see also [0096-0103]; [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally; [0154], The user can draw the bounding box 1402 on the map 304 in any manner, such as by performing a click and drag operation using a mouse device. (Alternatively, the map search module 128 can allow the user to define a bounding region of arbitrary shape, e.g., by drawing the boundary of this region in free-form fashion on the map 304 using the mouse device.) The map search module 128 can also allow the user to enter at least one selection criterion, such as a key term. In operation, the map search module 128 can then investigate the objects that may appear within the defined bounding box 1402 to determine whether these objects satisfy the selection criterion. If they do, the map search module 128 can convey this fact to the user in some manner, such as by presenting a list of the matching objects, or by highlighting the matching items on the map 304 itself; [0156], the user's selection criterion can identify a particular type of object that the user is looking for, such as an image-type object; see also [0076])
Kritt further teaches: an actual image of the image in the second layer; an image of the analysis data in the third layer; and one or more icons of the one or more other pieces of geospatial content in a forth layer superimposed in front of the third layer (Kritt Figs. 1-8; [0051], A non-limiting example of personalized route generation may be described with reference to FIGS. 3-6. FIG. 3 describes different images and videos that are overlaid on an electronic map 300. Additionally and/or alternatively, different online picture albums showing different pictures may be overlaid over an electronic map 400 (FIG. 4). The position of the images in the map may include the actual geo-coordinate location. Map navigators may view different images while navigating the map. In some embodiments, different users and/or a service provider may share the images/videos in the electronic map. Additionally and/or alternatively the image or videos in the map may be restricted to social networking friends, friends of friends etc; [0052], Image objects may be extracted from the images stored with the electronic map, for example by a service provider's server. The extracted image objects may be stored as part of the electronic map at the service provider's server. Accordingly, location and/or concentration of image objects may be identified)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated an actual image of the image in the second layer; an image of the analysis data in the third layer; and one or more icons of the one or more other pieces of geospatial content in a forth layer superimposed in front of the third layer as suggested in Kritt into Pilskalns. Doing so would be desirable because Kritt creates electronic map, the personalized route featuring one or more object viewing interests (see Kritt [0002]). The system of Kritt would improve the system of Pilskalns because generally, computer users view a lot of images, such as videos or pictures (see Kritt [0003]). FIG. 3 describes different images and videos that are overlaid on an electronic map 300 (see Kritt [0051]) in a plurality of layers, thereby providing an efficient and effective way to present the user with a plurality of different types of desired objects on map, in locations where objects may be highly concentrated (see Kritt [0052]), thereby increasing the usefulness and utility of the system.
Kohori further teaches:
the orthoimage; one or more other pieces of geospatial content belonging to the one or more content types different from the orthoimage content; an actual image of the orthoimage in the second layer (Kohori Figs. 1-11; [0066], First, the map acquisition unit 82 of the wireless communication terminal 7 acquires an orthophoto (S101). Orthophotos are obtained by conducting orthorectification on aerial photographs (central projection) captured by an aircraft or satellite to correct a distortion by orthographic projection transformation; [0070], Subsequently, the display control unit 81 of the wireless communication terminal 7 causes the wireless communication terminal 7 to display the orthophoto and the field area in a superimposed manner (S104). As illustrated in FIG. 6, the display control unit 81 superimposes the orthophoto and the image representing the field area created from the orthophoto to create a display image. Then, as illustrated in FIG. 7, the display control unit 81 performs the process to display this display image on the display unit 73 of the wireless communication terminal 7. As the orthophoto contains information (building, river, road, etc.) other than the field, displaying the orthophoto and the field area in a superimposed manner makes it easy for the user to identify the desired field; [0071], although the orthophoto and the image representing the field area are both superimposed according to the present embodiment, another image may be further superimposed. Another image to be superimposed may be a map associating a position (area) with usage, such as a land use map or city planning map; [0073], the image obtained by superimposing the orthophoto and the field area is referred to as a superimposed image. The user checks the superimposed image illustrated in FIG. 7. For example, as illustrated in the lower section of FIG. 7, the user selects a unit field area so as to check the information about the selected unit field area. The information about the unit field area includes, for example, the field name, address, and registration date. Furthermore, the field name may be changed in accordance with the user input)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the orthoimage; one or more other pieces of geospatial content belonging to the one or more content types different from the orthoimage content; an actual image of the orthoimage in the second layer as suggested in Kohori into Pilskalns in view of Kritt. Doing so would be desirable because previous systems are time-consuming and troublesome for users (see Kohori [0004]). The present invention has been made in consideration of the above circumstances, and its primary object is to provide an system with which it is possible to properly register geographic objects (see Kohori [0005]). Additionally, Kohori would improve the systems of Pilskalns in view of Kritt by further clarifying a plurality of different desired types of objects that can be superimposed on each other and further superimposed on a map (see Kohori [0070-0071])., such as orthophotos, which accurately represent the shape and position of terrain (see Kohori [0066]).
Regarding claim 11, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: register one or more pieces of geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal in association with one or more projects arbitrarily set by the user; allow the user to select a first registration method of registering one or more pieces of geospatial content in association with one project and a second registration method of registering a plurality of pieces of geospatial content in association with a plurality of projects; when the second registration method is selected and a plurality of pieces of geospatial content are uploaded from the user terminal, automatically classify the uploaded plurality of pieces of geospatial content into a plurality of groups; allow the user to execute desired modification for each of the classified plurality of groups; allow the user to set a project for each of the classified plurality of groups; register in the database the one or more pieces of geospatial content belonging to each of the classified plurality of groups in association with the set project; receive a request to open a project desired by the user from the user terminal; in response to the request to open the desired project, create the first type of geospatial information screen for the desired project by using one or more pieces of geospatial content in the database in association with the desired project; and provide the first type of geospatial information screen for the desired project to the user terminal (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0025], An object may be composed of, but is not limited to, textual or symbolic (e.g., iconic) labels, digital pictures, video files; [0046], video content (such as MPEG video, etc.); path-related information; [0047], The annotation module 122 can associate an object with a defined location within a map. The annotation module 122 can perform this task by linking the object to a defined X-Y position in the coordinate system of the map. In one implementation, this linking is performed by allowing the user to manually point to a location in the map. In another implementation, the object may already have position information associated therewith, such as in the case of a digital photograph that may incorporate GPS data that describes the location where the photograph was taken; [0048], the annotation module 122 can allow the user to link the same uploaded object to multiple locations within a single map or various locations in different respective maps; [0049], The manual mode of the annotation module 122 also allows the user to annotate the map with a path. For example, the path may represent a travel route; [0052], the annotation module 122 can store the annotated map in the map store 120. In one implementation, the MPF 102' can store a map in the map store 120, yet store the map's objects separately in the object store 124. The map and its associated objects can be linked together using a pointer mechanism or some other linking mechanism. For example, a map can include an associated metadata file which provides file names or other codes which identify the objects used in the map, as well as position data which describe where the objects are placed in the map. The separate storage of maps and objects is efficient because it allows several maps to reference the same object without requiring redundant copies of the objects to be stored; [0076], An annotation section 310 of the user interface 300 allows the user to attach different types of objects to the map 304, including, but not limited to: path-type objects; alphanumeric label-type objects; iconic label-type objects; image-type objects; media-type objects (audio, video, etc.); [0081], The map summary section 318 includes two portions, an expanded portion 320 and a collapsed portion 322. The expanded portion 320 provides a detailed summary of the contents of the map entitled "Wedding Planner." The collapsed portion 322 provides a collapsed (or abbreviated) summary of the contents of other maps that the user has created, such as "Example Map 2," "Example Map 3," and so on. The user interface 300 allows the user to activate one of the maps in the collapsed portion 322, causing the user interface 300 to summarize the selected map in the expanded portion 320 (instead of the collapsed portion 322); in complementary fashion, this operation also causes the map that was previously featured in the expanded portion 320 to now be summarized in the collapsed portion 322; [0079], the user has previously labeled the map 304 as "Wedding Planner." The user can then activate the "Create New" command in the map-creation section 316 to create a map having the specified title; [0091], an author-user has created an annotated map 304 for use in coordinating wedding-related activities; [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally; [0111], As pictorially presented in FIG. 6, a single object stored in the object store 124 can be linked to two or more maps, such as Map A and Map B. This provision is advantageous because it reduces the processing and storage burdens placed on the system 100, and it may also result in a better user experience for the user (who does not have to perform redundant uploading operations to add an object to multiple locations within a single map or various locations in multiple different maps); [0113], Starting with FIG. 7, the user can activate the object uploading module 602 by clicking on the tab 312. This activates an object-upload user interface 702; [0114], A second command allows the user to rename the object. A third command allows the user to delete the object)
Regarding claim 12, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the first type of geospatial information screen has a tag editing area configured to allow the user to edit a tag of each piece of geospatial content displayed on the first type of geospatial information screen (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0025], An object may be composed of, but is not limited to, textual or symbolic (e.g., iconic) labels, digital pictures, video files; [0046], video content (such as MPEG video, etc.); path-related information; [0047], The annotation module 122 can associate an object with a defined location within a map. The annotation module 122 can perform this task by linking the object to a defined X-Y position in the coordinate system of the map. In one implementation, this linking is performed by allowing the user to manually point to a location in the map. In another implementation, the object may already have position information associated therewith, such as in the case of a digital photograph that may incorporate GPS data that describes the location where the photograph was taken; [0076], An annotation section 310 of the user interface 300 allows the user to attach different types of objects to the map 304, including, but not limited to: path-type objects; alphanumeric label-type objects; iconic label-type objects; image-type objects; media-type objects (audio, video, etc.); [0089], A second sub-portion 326 of the expanded portion 320 provides an overview of objects that have been added to the map 304. Namely, the second sub-portion 326 lists the names of the objects that have been added to the map 304, as previously defined by the user using the annotation section 310; [0091], an author-user has created an annotated map 304 for use in coordinating wedding-related activities; [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally; [0113], Starting with FIG. 7, the user can activate the object uploading module 602 by clicking on the tab 312. This activates an object-upload user interface 702. The object-upload user interface 702 includes two portions. A first portion 704 allows the user to browse through a collection of objects and select a desired object for uploading. The browsing operation is initiated by activating a Browse command. As a result of the browsing operation, the user in the specific scenario shown in FIG. 7 has selected an image-type object stored on the client device 104 as "C:desktop/picture_107." The user can initiate the actual uploading process by activating an "Upload Now" command. This action prompts the object uploading module 602 to present a user prompt 706. The user prompt 706 asks the user to provide a label for the uploaded image-type object. This label defines the title of the image-type object in the object store 124; [0114], A second command allows the user to rename the object. A third command allows the user to delete the object; [0115], Advancing to FIG. 8, this presentation of the user interface 300 allows the user to activate the annotation attachment module 604 so as to attach the uploaded image-type object to the map 304; [0116], The user next clicks on the "Image" command 710 in the annotation section 310 (shown in FIG. 7). This prompts the annotation attachment module 604 to activate a specialized image annotation portion 802 (shown in FIG. 8). The image annotation portion 802 allows the user to display a list 804 of image-type objects that can be attached to the map 304)
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilskalns in view of Desmons (US 20140331136 A1, published 11/06/2014).
Regarding claim 3, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the plurality of content types includes at least a moving image content type, wherein, when the one or more pieces of geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal include a moving image belonging to the moving image content type, the one or more processors are further configured to: specify respective geospatial coordinates of a start point and an end point of the moving image; and register in the database the moving image in a registration format for moving image content type in which the moving image is associated with the respective geospatial coordinates of the start point and the end point of the moving image, wherein, when the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content include the moving image, the one or more processors are further configured to: arrange a realistic-image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0025], An object may be composed of, but is not limited to, textual or symbolic (e.g., iconic) labels, digital pictures, video files; [0046], video content (such as MPEG video, etc.); path-related information; [0047], The annotation module 122 can associate an object with a defined location within a map. The annotation module 122 can perform this task by linking the object to a defined X-Y position in the coordinate system of the map. In one implementation, this linking is performed by allowing the user to manually point to a location in the map. In another implementation, the object may already have position information associated therewith, such as in the case of a digital photograph that may incorporate GPS data that describes the location where the photograph was taken; [0048], the annotation module 122 can allow the user to upload certain objects to an object store 124. For example, the user can upload digital pictures, media files, text documents, etc. to the object store 124; [0049], The manual mode of the annotation module 122 also allows the user to annotate the map with a path. For example, the path may represent a travel route; [0076], An annotation section 310 of the user interface 300 allows the user to attach different types of objects to the map 304, including, but not limited to: path-type objects; alphanumeric label-type objects; iconic label-type objects; image-type objects; media-type objects (audio, video, etc.); [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally)
However, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori fails to expressly disclose wherein, when the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content include the moving image, the one or more processors are further configured to: arrange a realistic-image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; display a camera position mark at a position on a movement locus from the geospatial coordinates of the start point up to the geospatial coordinates of the end point of the moving image on a map in the first content display area; play back and display the moving image in the realistic-image display area; and move the camera position mark along the movement locus from the start point toward the end point in accordance with a playback time point when playing back the moving image in the realistic-image display area. In the same field of endeavor, Desmons teaches:
wherein, when the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content include the moving image, the one or more processors are further configured to: arrange a realistic-image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; display a camera position mark at a position on a movement locus from the geospatial coordinates of the start point up to the geospatial coordinates of the end point of the moving image on a map in the first content display area; play back and display the moving image in the realistic-image display area; and move the camera position mark along the movement locus from the start point toward the end point in accordance with a playback time point when playing back the moving image in the realistic-image display area (Desmons Figs. 1-8; [0020], play back the video along with a digital map so that a location on the map is displayed for the portion of the video being played; [0023], a video data file is synchronized with a geographic data file when there is a relationship created between the two files, data sets, or discrete data elements, or the files or data sets are integrated, such that the scenes in the video have a substantially accurate real world relationship to a geographic data element in the geographic data; [0024], With such synchronization, a digital map display may identify a route along a map commensurate with the recorded video and may identify a specific point on the map, such as through an illuminated point or flashing icon that moves along the displayed route in accordance with the location of the particular part of the video being shown. A third party or a third party device may thus access the synchronized data and display or otherwise use the synchronized data. So, for example, a third party may preview a ride and get a sense for the difficulty of the ride by watching the video and also viewing the geographic information to understand the climbs, descents and flat sections of the ride; [0042], As shown in FIG. 3B, when the video and map data are displayed, the user may fast forward, rewind, or otherwise alter the video frame being displayed, and an icon 318 on the map 316 will move along the route to the location corresponding to the image in the video window 302. In the example illustrated in FIG. 3B, the user has forwarded the video to a frame, shown in the video window 302 at 4 minutes and 54 seconds into the video, which video has a total elapsed time of 8 minutes and 45 seconds. As shown, the map illustrated in the map window 304 shows an arrow along the highlighted route. The arrow corresponds to the data element (latitude and longitude) recorded about 4 minutes and 54 seconds from the start of the video illustrated by the solid flag (the last data element at 8:45 is identified at the checkered flag on the map); [0043], the web-uploader allows the user to synchronize the start of the geographic data with the beginning of the video file and to also identify the end of the geographic data)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein, when the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content include the moving image, the one or more processors are further configured to: arrange a realistic-image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; display a camera position mark at a position on a movement locus from the geospatial coordinates of the start point up to the geospatial coordinates of the end point of the moving image on a map in the first content display area; play back and display the moving image in the realistic-image display area; and move the camera position mark along the movement locus from the start point toward the end point in accordance with a playback time point when playing back the moving image in the realistic-image display area as suggested in Desmons into Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori. Doing so would be desirable because the present disclosure relate to video and geographic information coordination, and more particularly to systems and methods that facilitate the sharing of video information synchronized with geographic information (see Desmons [0002]). Video recording technology has become ubiquitously available (see Desmons [0003]). Similarly, systems for recording geographic location data, like geographic positioning system (GPS) data, have also become ubiquitously available (see Desmons [0004]). Despite these such amazing advances and proliferation of video technologies and geographic location technologies, there is a lack of technologies that bring these two platforms together (see Desmons [0005]). With such synchronization, a digital map display may identify a route along a map commensurate with the recorded video and may identify a specific point on the map, such as through an illuminated point or flashing icon that moves along the displayed route in accordance with the location of the particular part of the video being shown. A third party or a third party device may thus access the synchronized data and display or otherwise use the synchronized data. So, for example, a third party may preview a ride and get a sense for the difficulty of the ride by watching the video and also viewing the geographic information to understand the climbs, descents and flat sections of the ride. The data file or files with the synchronized information may also be used by exercise equipment in an automated way. Including real video and actual geographic information linked or otherwise synchronized with the video provides numerous possible creative uses for the data (see Desmons [0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the plurality of content types includes at least dimensional data content type, wherein, when the geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal includes the dimensional data belonging to the dimensional data content type, the one or more processors are further configured to register in the database the dimensional data in association with a geospatial coordinate of a geospatial region in which the dimensional data exists, and wherein, when the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content include the dimensional data, the one or more processors are further configured to: arrange a dimensional data display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; and display the dimensional data in the dimensional data display area (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0025], An object may be composed of, but is not limited to, textual or symbolic (e.g., iconic) labels, digital pictures, video files; [0046], video content (such as MPEG video, etc.); path-related information; [0047], The annotation module 122 can associate an object with a defined location within a map. The annotation module 122 can perform this task by linking the object to a defined X-Y position in the coordinate system of the map. In one implementation, this linking is performed by allowing the user to manually point to a location in the map. In another implementation, the object may already have position information associated therewith, such as in the case of a digital photograph that may incorporate GPS data that describes the location where the photograph was taken; [0048], the annotation module 122 can allow the user to upload certain objects to an object store 124. For example, the user can upload digital pictures, media files, text documents, etc. to the object store 124; [0049], The manual mode of the annotation module 122 also allows the user to annotate the map with a path. For example, the path may represent a travel route; [0076], An annotation section 310 of the user interface 300 allows the user to attach different types of objects to the map 304, including, but not limited to: path-type objects; alphanumeric label-type objects; iconic label-type objects; image-type objects; media-type objects (audio, video, etc.); [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally)
However, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori fails to expressly disclose wherein the plurality of content types includes at least three-dimensional data content type, wherein, when the geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal includes the three- dimensional data belonging to the three-dimensional data content type, the one or more processors are further configured to register in the database the three-dimensional data in association with a geospatial coordinate of a geospatial region in which the three-dimensional data exists, and wherein, when the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content include the three- dimensional data, the one or more processors are further configured to: arrange a three-dimensional data display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; and display the three-dimensional data in the three-dimensional data display area. In the same field of endeavor, Desmons teaches:
wherein the plurality of content types includes at least three-dimensional data content type, wherein, when the geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal includes the three- dimensional data belonging to the three-dimensional data content type, the one or more processors are further configured to register in the database the three-dimensional data in association with a geospatial coordinate of a geospatial region in which the three-dimensional data exists, and wherein, when the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content include the three- dimensional data, the one or more processors are further configured to: arrange a three-dimensional data display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; and display the three-dimensional data in the three-dimensional data display area (Desmons Figs. 1-8; [0020], play back the video along with a digital map so that a location on the map is displayed for the portion of the video being played; elevation information, speed information; [0023], GPS data may include a series of data elements describing latitude and longitude coordinates, and may also include elevation information; [0024], With such synchronization, a digital map display may identify a route along a map commensurate with the recorded video and may identify a specific point on the map, such as through an illuminated point or flashing icon that moves along the displayed route in accordance with the location of the particular part of the video being shown. A third party or a third party device may thus access the synchronized data and display or otherwise use the synchronized data. So, for example, a third party may preview a ride and get a sense for the difficulty of the ride by watching the video and also viewing the geographic information to understand the climbs, descents and flat sections of the ride. When elevation data is also included with the geographic data, an elevation profile may also be displayed and may also include some form of identifier related to the portion of the video being displayed; [0042], As shown in FIG. 3B, when the video and map data are displayed, the user may fast forward, rewind, or otherwise alter the video frame being displayed, and an icon 318 on the map 316 will move along the route to the location corresponding to the image in the video window 302. In the example illustrated in FIG. 3B, the user has forwarded the video to a frame, shown in the video window 302 at 4 minutes and 54 seconds into the video, which video has a total elapsed time of 8 minutes and 45 seconds. As shown, the map illustrated in the map window 304 shows an arrow along the highlighted route; The system may also provide a contour or elevation map or graph from elevation data that may be associated with each geographic data element, and that map or contour would be shown in a separate window. It is also possible to provide other map views, such as perspective type map display rendering that also includes elevation contours. Within such a perspective view, the viewer would both be able to see the position on the map as well as get a visual sense for the elevation or grade of the route being traveled; [0043], the web-uploader allows the user to synchronize the start of the geographic data with the beginning of the video file and to also identify the end of the geographic data)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the plurality of content types includes at least three-dimensional data content type, wherein, when the geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal includes the three- dimensional data belonging to the three-dimensional data content type, the one or more processors are further configured to register in the database the three-dimensional data in association with a geospatial coordinate of a geospatial region in which the three-dimensional data exists, and wherein, when the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content include the three- dimensional data, the one or more processors are further configured to: arrange a three-dimensional data display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; and display the three-dimensional data in the three-dimensional data display area as suggested in Desmons into Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori. Doing so would be desirable because the present disclosure relate to video and geographic information coordination, and more particularly to systems and methods that facilitate the sharing of video information synchronized with geographic information (see Desmons [0002]). Video recording technology has become ubiquitously available (see Desmons [0003]). Similarly, systems for recording geographic location data, like geographic positioning system (GPS) data, have also become ubiquitously available (see Desmons [0004]). Despite these such amazing advances and proliferation of video technologies and geographic location technologies, there is a lack of technologies that bring these two platforms together (see Desmons [0005]). With such synchronization, a digital map display may identify a route along a map commensurate with the recorded video and may identify a specific point on the map, such as through an illuminated point or flashing icon that moves along the displayed route in accordance with the location of the particular part of the video being shown. A third party or a third party device may thus access the synchronized data and display or otherwise use the synchronized data. So, for example, a third party may preview a ride and get a sense for the difficulty of the ride by watching the video and also viewing the geographic information to understand the climbs, descents and flat sections of the ride. The data file or files with the synchronized information may also be used by exercise equipment in an automated way. Including real video and actual geographic information linked or otherwise synchronized with the video provides numerous possible creative uses for the data (see Desmons [0024]). Within such a perspective view, the viewer would both be able to see the position on the map as well as get a visual sense for the elevation or grade of the route being traveled (see Desmons [0042]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Samadani et al. (US 20040217884 A1, published 11/04/2004), hereinafter Samadani, in further view of Yavagal et al. (US 20200242369 A1, published 07/30/2020), hereinafter Yavagal.
Regarding claim 5, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the plurality of content types includes at least a image content type, wherein, when the geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal includes a image belonging to the image content type, the one or more processors are further configured to register the image in association with a geospatial coordinate, wherein, when the one or more searched pieces of geospatial content include the image, the one or more processors are further configured to: arrange a image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; display a part of the image in the image display area (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0025], An object may be composed of, but is not limited to, textual or symbolic (e.g., iconic) labels, digital pictures, video files; [0046], video content (such as MPEG video, etc.); path-related information; [0047], The annotation module 122 can associate an object with a defined location within a map. The annotation module 122 can perform this task by linking the object to a defined X-Y position in the coordinate system of the map. In one implementation, this linking is performed by allowing the user to manually point to a location in the map. In another implementation, the object may already have position information associated therewith, such as in the case of a digital photograph that may incorporate GPS data that describes the location where the photograph was taken; [0048], the annotation module 122 can allow the user to upload certain objects to an object store 124. For example, the user can upload digital pictures, media files, text documents, etc. to the object store 124; [0049], The manual mode of the annotation module 122 also allows the user to annotate the map with a path. For example, the path may represent a travel route; [0076], An annotation section 310 of the user interface 300 allows the user to attach different types of objects to the map 304, including, but not limited to: path-type objects; alphanumeric label-type objects; iconic label-type objects; image-type objects; media-type objects (audio, video, etc.); [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally)
However, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori fails to expressly disclose arrange a image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; display a part of the image in the image display area; display a mark at a position corresponding to the geospatial coordinates of the viewpoint of the image on a predetermined map in the first content display area; and display, on the predetermined map of the first content display area, an indicator indicating an azimuth of a center position of the part of the image displayed in the image display area. In the same field of endeavor, Samadani teaches:
register the image in association with a geospatial coordinate of a viewpoint of the image and/or an azimuth of a predetermined spot of the image, arrange a image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; display a part of the image in the image display area; display a mark at a position corresponding to the geospatial coordinates of the viewpoint of the image on a predetermined map in the first content display area; and display, on the predetermined map of the first content display area, an indicator indicating an azimuth of a center position of the part of the image displayed in the image display area (Samadani Figs. 1-8; [0033], In the example shown in FIG. 1, the view produces a map-based presentation that includes iconic representations (3, 4, 5) corresponding to multimedia recorded during a vacationer's trip, overlaid upon a map of San Francisco; [0095], For visual multimedia such as photos and videos, the region of space viewed by the camera at capture time (i.e. its "field-of-view") may also be rendered in any of a variety of ways specifiable by the view Style parameters 204. In one exemplary style, the spatial extent of the camera field-of-view in the plane of the map is indicated by a colored or shaded region emanating from the multimedia icon location. Alternatively, an arrow emanating from the multimedia icon location can be used to indicate the central axis of the camera field of view within the plane of the map as shown in FIG. 5A. As shown in FIG. 5A, field-of-view data is shown symbolically on map 1 by appending an arrow to multimedia icon 5, with the direction of the arrow indicating the compass heading of the camera, and the length of the arrow indicating its approximate focus. For example, a long arrow 52a can indicate a distant setting in which the camera was focused on a distant object, while a short arrow 52b could indicate a close-up setting in which the camera was focused on a nearby object. The tilt angle of the camera may optionally be indicated by the choice of color or shading of the depicted region or arrow. For example, more intense shading of the field-of-view arrow or region at greater distances from its anchor point at the icon could indicate an upward tilt of the camera, while lighter shading at greater distances from the icon could indicate a downward camera tilt. For a field-of-view represented by an arrow, another method of indicating the camera tilt angle relative to the ground is to increase the arrow's thickness, going from the camera location to the arrow tip, in proportion to how upwardly directed the camera was. For fields-of-view represented as 2D shapes, another method of representing the camera tilt angle is to draw the 2D shape as if it is tilted relative to the map, with a shadow rendered so as to indicate the direction of its tilt. For video media, the field-of-view may be represented as the union of all the field-of-view renderings for multiple individual frames of the video, or some approximation or bounding hull thereof; [0096], One example of a user interface for viewing, modifying, and interacting with a Scrapbook Object is shown in FIG. 5. It consists of four windows. The first window 52 contains a path 1' and multimedia icons 5' overlaid on a map 2'. Within this first window, the user may 1) explore the rendered PEM data by scrolling or zooming the window; 2) select icons (for example, through double-clicking with a computer mouse) of multimedia that he wishes to play; 3) edit the path information in a graphical manner; 4) generate geo-temporal queries for relevant data from "geo-referenced" databases; and 5) perform a number of other map-based interactions. If the displayed icons include an indication of the camera's field of view, as described above, the editor will be able to verify whether any deletions or changes in the sequence of the individual multimedia files will result in sudden and potentially annoying changes in camera orientation or focus. A second window 54 provides tools for playing a movie-like "presentation" generated from this Scrapbook Object 10; examiner note: per the instant specification [0147], the azimuth is the sight direction)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated arrange a image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; display a part of the image in the image display area; display a mark at a position corresponding to the geospatial coordinates of the viewpoint of the image on a predetermined map in the first content display area; and display, on the predetermined map of the first content display area, an indicator indicating an azimuth of a center position of the part of the image displayed in the image display area as suggested in Samadani into Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori. Doing so would be desirable because still and video digital images with attached GPS data from a known recording device may be processed using known web-based systems for generating web-enabled maps overlaid with icons for accessing such digital images. Although these systems provide GPS data for the images on an individual and unrelated basis, no information is provided relating to GPS data occurring at times other than when the images are captured. In addition, no information is provided relating to GPS data occurring along a continuous path between points of capture (see Samadani [0006]). There are known user interfaces for displaying photos in a map where the photos are shown on the map according to location tags associated with the photo. However, these interfaces do not display path information associated with the photos or route information between the photos (see Samadani [0008]). At present there are no known user interfaces for displaying and/or interacting with a map including a continuous path and multimedia associated with points along the path (see Samadani [0009]).
However, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Samadani fails to expressly disclose at least a panoramic image content type, includes a panoramic image belonging to the panoramic image content type, the panoramic image, arrange a panoramic image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; arrange a panoramic image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; display a part of the panoramic image in the panoramic image display area; display a mark at a position corresponding to the geospatial coordinates of the viewpoint of the panoramic image on a predetermined map in the first content display area; and display, on the predetermined map of the first content display area, an indicator indicating an azimuth of a center position of the part of the panoramic image displayed in the panoramic image display area. In the same field of endeavor, Yavagal teaches:
at least a panoramic image content type, includes a panoramic image belonging to the panoramic image content type, the panoramic image, arrange a panoramic image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; arrange a panoramic image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; display a part of the panoramic image in the panoramic image display area; display a mark at a position corresponding to the geospatial coordinates of the viewpoint of the panoramic image on a predetermined map in the first content display area; and display, on the predetermined map of the first content display area, an indicator indicating an azimuth of a center position of the part of the panoramic image displayed in the panoramic image display area (Yavagal Figs. 1-16; [0023], As illustrated in FIG. 1, the server(s) 112 may receive (120) video data. In some examples, the video data may be captured by the image capture device 110 and may be panoramic video data having a field of view beyond 180 degrees; [0024], The server(s) 112 may receive (122) annotation data associated with the video data; locations; [0040], The panoramic video data may include a plurality of video frames (e.g., sequence of image frames, each image frame associated with a particular time) and the portion of the panoramic video data displayed on the display 104 (e.g., cropped image, image data, etc.) may be associated with a position (e.g., x and y pixel coordinates) within the panoramic video data, a direction (e.g., a directional viewpoint included in the panoramic video data) associated with the panoramic video data and/or an angle (e.g., an azimuth) of the portion relative to a reference location (e.g., a front of the video/image capturing device); [0041], the panoramic video data (e.g., panoramic image); multiple images taken from multiple cameras combined to make a single frame of the panoramic video data); [0045], FIG. 2A illustrates an example of panoramic video data according to embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 2A, an image capture device 110 may use camera(s) 115 to capture panoramic video data 210 including a panoramic field of view 250; [0047], the angle of view may be an azimuth, which is an angular measurement in a spherical coordinate system that describes when a vector from the image capture device 110 to a point of interest is projected perpendicularly onto a reference plane; [0048], FIG. 2B illustrates an example of a user interface including an angle indicator according to embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 2B, the device 102 may display the cropped image 212, the panoramic image 210 and an angle indicator 214 on the display 104. The angle indicator may be a visual representation of the angle of view relative to the reference location. The angle indicator 214 may indicate to a user 10 of the device 102 that the cropped image 212 only displays a portion of the overall panoramic image 210 and the position of the cropped image 212 within the panoramic image 210. In addition, a symbol 216 may indicate to the user 10 the portion of the panoramic image 212 included in the cropped image 212. Using the user interface illustrated in FIG. 2B, the user 10 may instruct the device 102 to shift from displaying a first direction (e.g., 0 degrees) in the cropped image 212 to displaying a second direction (e.g., 90 degrees) in the cropped image 212. As a result, the cropped image 212 would be updated to display the second direction, the symbol 216 would be moved within the panoramic image 210 and the angle indicator 214 would change to illustrate the angle associated with the second direction (e.g., 90 degrees); [0099], FIG. 10C illustrates the server(s) 112 grouping video data based on a capture location (e.g., geographic location such as Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinates or the like). As illustrated in FIG. 10C, locations of video clips 1030 are shown on a map 1032 representing New England)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated at least a panoramic image content type, includes a panoramic image belonging to the panoramic image content type, the panoramic image, arrange a panoramic image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; arrange a panoramic image display area in the first type of geospatial information screen; display a part of the panoramic image in the panoramic image display area; display a mark at a position corresponding to the geospatial coordinates of the viewpoint of the panoramic image on a predetermined map in the first content display area; and display, on the predetermined map of the first content display area, an indicator indicating an azimuth of a center position of the part of the panoramic image displayed in the panoramic image display area as suggested in Yavagal into Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Samadani. Doing so would be desirable because with the advancement of technology, the use and popularity of electronic devices has increased considerably. Electronic devices are commonly used to capture videos. These videos are sometimes shared with friends and family using online systems, including social networking systems. Disclosed herein are technical solutions to improve how the videos are generated (see Yavagal [0002]). Electronic devices are commonly used to capture video data. The devices may capture video data over a lengthy period of time and some devices may capture a wide field of view in order to capture video showing a wide area. Given the amount of captured video, certain devices may upload video data to a remote server with greater processing/storage resources for purposes of editing, storage, etc. However, editing the captured videos typically requires a user to review the captured videos to select videos and edit the selected videos, requiring an amount of time and a level of commitment. As a result, captured videos are often left unedited due to the amount of time and/or a lack of commitment (see Yavagal [0020]). To generate output data, including images and videos, devices, systems and methods are disclosed that apply rules to input video data to determine potential types of output to generate (and potential themes to apply to the output), such as a location based theme (see Yavagal [0021], [0084]). Capturing a panoramic image would enable the user to create an image with a wider field of view than a standard image (see Yavagal [0034]), thereby better enabling the user to capture desired content.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Koepke (US 20150237473 A1, published 08/20/2015).
Regarding claim 7, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, in the first type of geospatial information screen, allow the user to select one or more pieces of geospatial content and allow the user to select an overlap display format or a divisional display format as a format for displaying the geospatial content, and wherein, when the user selects a plurality of pieces of geospatial content and selects the divisional display format, in the first type of geospatial information screen, the one or more processors are further configured to: create a second type of geospatial information screen having a plurality of second content display areas; display the selected plurality of pieces of geospatial content in the plurality of second content display areas such that the selected plurality of pieces of geospatial content can be mutually browsed and compared; and provide the second type of geospatial information screen to the user terminal (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0025], An object may be composed of, but is not limited to, textual or symbolic (e.g., iconic) labels, digital pictures, video files; [0046], video content (such as MPEG video, etc.); path-related information; [0047], The annotation module 122 can associate an object with a defined location within a map. The annotation module 122 can perform this task by linking the object to a defined X-Y position in the coordinate system of the map. In one implementation, this linking is performed by allowing the user to manually point to a location in the map. In another implementation, the object may already have position information associated therewith, such as in the case of a digital photograph that may incorporate GPS data that describes the location where the photograph was taken; [0048], the annotation module 122 can allow the user to upload certain objects to an object store 124. For example, the user can upload digital pictures, media files, text documents, etc. to the object store 124; [0049], The manual mode of the annotation module 122 also allows the user to annotate the map with a path. For example, the path may represent a travel route; [0076], An annotation section 310 of the user interface 300 allows the user to attach different types of objects to the map 304, including, but not limited to: path-type objects; alphanumeric label-type objects; iconic label-type objects; image-type objects; media-type objects (audio, video, etc.); [0081], The map summary section 318 includes two portions, an expanded portion 320 and a collapsed portion 322. The expanded portion 320 provides a detailed summary of the contents of the map entitled "Wedding Planner." The collapsed portion 322 provides a collapsed (or abbreviated) summary of the contents of other maps that the user has created, such as "Example Map 2," "Example Map 3," and so on. The user interface 300 allows the user to activate one of the maps in the collapsed portion 322, causing the user interface 300 to summarize the selected map in the expanded portion 320 (instead of the collapsed portion 322); in complementary fashion, this operation also causes the map that was previously featured in the expanded portion 320 to now be summarized in the collapsed portion 322; [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally)
However, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Samadani fails to expressly disclose create a second type of geospatial information screen having a plurality of second content display areas arranged side by side; display the selected plurality of pieces of geospatial content in the plurality of second content display areas such that the selected plurality of pieces of geospatial content can be mutually browsed and compared. In the same field of endeavor, Koepke teaches:
create a second type of geospatial information screen having a plurality of second content display areas arranged side by side; display the selected plurality of pieces of geospatial content in the plurality of second content display areas such that the selected plurality of pieces of geospatial content can be mutually browsed and compared (Koepke Figs. 1-77; abs., A digital media platform that enables content to be mapped to the context of location. The platform can allow users to create, view and share packages of multimedia content (drops) that are posted to points on a digital map; [0220], As shown in FIG. 54, the first time a user taps drop icon 1200, a preview for that drop can open from the bottom and the map can re-center on that drop. Tapping the same drop icon a second time can open the drop to full view. To browse drops, as indicated by the shaded overlay in FIG. 55 a user can perform swipe 5500 sideways to view the next drop, which can be determined by proximity. As shown in FIG. 56, once swiped far enough, the next drop 5600 can snap into place on preview panel 5610 causing the map to re-center on new drop)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated create a second type of geospatial information screen having a plurality of second content display areas arranged side by side; display the selected plurality of pieces of geospatial content in the plurality of second content display areas such that the selected plurality of pieces of geospatial content can be mutually browsed and compared as suggested in Koepke into Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori. Doing so would be desirable because one of the undisputed significant apps of the smartphone era is the map application. It is ubiquitous, popular, simple, incredibly accurate and essentially useful. And yet in all the time that it has been available it has yet to evolve beyond the basic utility of providing location and directions (see Koepke [0003]). The platform of the present disclosure, also referred to as "Dropcast," introduces a new dimension in mobile location, by mining and refining compellingly engaging content, and serving it up in a context-relevant way to users' current or selected locations. Dropcast is targeted towards making the map come alive using music, videos, personal stories, etc (see Koepke [0004]). Additionally, the system of Koepke would improve the system of Pilskalns by providing a simple and user-friendly content display and navigation method that would better enable a user to view and navigate desired content.
Regarding claim 13, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori teaches all the limitations of claim 7, further comprising:
wherein the plurality of content types further includes an analysis data content type representing analysis data obtained by analyzing one or more piece of geospatial content, and wherein, when analysis data belonging to the analysis data content type relating to one or more of the selected plurality of pieces of geospatial content exists in the database and the selected plurality of pieces of geospatial content are displayed in the plurality of second content display areas in the second type of geospatial information screen, the one or more processors are further configured to additionally display the analysis data relating to the one or more of the selected plurality of pieces of geospatial content in the second type of geospatial information screen (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0037], The raw map source 108 represents any entity or combination of entities that produces an underlying digital map. As stated above, the term "map" is intended to have broad connotation, referring to any representation of the spatial organization of features within an area. In the case most commonly evoked, a map represents a tract of land that shows the location of roadways, population centers, natural landscape features, and so forth. The raw map source 108 can generate a map based on information collected from various sources, such as satellite photographs, aerial photographs, various cartographic databases, and so forth. The raw map source 108 can specify the location of elements within such a map using any kind of coordinate system; [0047], the object may already have position information associated therewith, such as in the case of a digital photograph that may incorporate GPS data that describes the location where the photograph was taken. In the latter case, the annotation module 122 can include a conversion module (not shown) which converts various ways of representing position information into a standard representation of position; [0055], map search module 128 allows a user to perform a search that involves map information. The map search module 128 can use the map information in different ways in performing a search. In one technique, the search module 128 can allow the user to search within an individual map by specifying a bounding box within the map. The bounding box demarcates a rectangular area within the map, although the annotation module 128 can also allow the user to select a bounding area having another shape. The user can also specify at least one selection criterion. Based on these selections, the map search module 128 determines whether any objects within the bounding box satisfy the selection criterion. The map search module 128 can then present the results of its determination to the user; [0056], search module 128 can allow the user to specify a data source and a bounding box. The search module 128 can extract one or more parameters based on objects identified within the bounding box, and can then use these parameters to construct a search term; [0057], In another case, the map search module 128 can allow the user to search a collection of maps, potentially created by different respective users. In operation, the user can enter a search term (and optionally a bounding box). The search module 128 can then investigate the collection of maps to determine whether it includes any objects which match the search term. In performing its search of the maps, the map search module 128 can also perform a supplemental search in one or more other data sources, or otherwise rely on the information in these data sources; [0072-0073], Beginning with FIG. 3, the user interface 300 is shown as including several sections; [0073], map 304 also includes information that is overlaid on the raw map data; [0095], The depiction of FIG. 4 shows a street-level depiction of the city of Spokane. Note that the expanded depiction of the map 304 in FIG. 4 includes various visible items that were not presented in the state-level depiction shown in FIG. 3. These visual items represent corresponding objects that have been attached to the map 304 by the author-user (see also [0096-0103]; [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally; [0154], The user can draw the bounding box 1402 on the map 304 in any manner, such as by performing a click and drag operation using a mouse device. (Alternatively, the map search module 128 can allow the user to define a bounding region of arbitrary shape, e.g., by drawing the boundary of this region in free-form fashion on the map 304 using the mouse device.) The map search module 128 can also allow the user to enter at least one selection criterion, such as a key term. In operation, the map search module 128 can then investigate the objects that may appear within the defined bounding box 1402 to determine whether these objects satisfy the selection criterion. If they do, the map search module 128 can convey this fact to the user in some manner, such as by presenting a list of the matching objects, or by highlighting the matching items on the map 304 itself; [0156], the user's selection criterion can identify a particular type of object that the user is looking for, such as an image-type object; see also [0076])
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Koepke in further view of Yavagal et al. (US 20200242369 A1, published 07/30/2020), hereinafter Yavagal.
Regarding claim 8, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Koepke teaches all the limitations of claim 7, further comprising:
wherein the plurality of content types includes at least a image content type, and wherein, in a case where a plurality of images belonging to the image content type are displayed in the divisional display format, when the user performs an operation of panning or tilting any one of the plurality of displayed images, the one or more processors are further configured to pan or tilt all of the plurality of displayed images in accordance with the operation of the user (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0025], An object may be composed of, but is not limited to, textual or symbolic (e.g., iconic) labels, digital pictures, video files; [0046], video content (such as MPEG video, etc.); path-related information; [0047], The annotation module 122 can associate an object with a defined location within a map. The annotation module 122 can perform this task by linking the object to a defined X-Y position in the coordinate system of the map. In one implementation, this linking is performed by allowing the user to manually point to a location in the map. In another implementation, the object may already have position information associated therewith, such as in the case of a digital photograph that may incorporate GPS data that describes the location where the photograph was taken; [0048], the annotation module 122 can allow the user to upload certain objects to an object store 124. For example, the user can upload digital pictures, media files, text documents, etc. to the object store 124; [0049], The manual mode of the annotation module 122 also allows the user to annotate the map with a path. For example, the path may represent a travel route; [0076], An annotation section 310 of the user interface 300 allows the user to attach different types of objects to the map 304, including, but not limited to: path-type objects; alphanumeric label-type objects; iconic label-type objects; image-type objects; media-type objects (audio, video, etc.); [0081], The map summary section 318 includes two portions, an expanded portion 320 and a collapsed portion 322. The expanded portion 320 provides a detailed summary of the contents of the map entitled "Wedding Planner." The collapsed portion 322 provides a collapsed (or abbreviated) summary of the contents of other maps that the user has created, such as "Example Map 2," "Example Map 3," and so on. The user interface 300 allows the user to activate one of the maps in the collapsed portion 322, causing the user interface 300 to summarize the selected map in the expanded portion 320 (instead of the collapsed portion 322); in complementary fashion, this operation also causes the map that was previously featured in the expanded portion 320 to now be summarized in the collapsed portion 322; [0075], The map display section 302 also includes a scale-adjustment mechanism 308. The scale-adjustment mechanism 308 allows the user to adjust the scale (e.g., magnification) of the map 304. A focus-adjustment mechanism (not shown) allows the user to adjust the view (e.g., focus) of the map 304 using any type of conventional technique. For example, the focus-adjustment mechanism can allow the user to adjust the focus of the map 304 by clicking and dragging on the map 304. The focus-adjustment mechanism can also be implemented using directional arrows (not shown) which allow the user to adjust the focus of the map 304 by activating appropriate directional arrows, e.g., N (north), S (south), E (east), and W (west) arrows; [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally; [0109], FIGS. 6-10 provide further details regarding the annotation module 122. To begin with, FIG. 6 shows a first version of the annotation module 122, where the annotation module 122 is configured to allow a user to manually upload objects (document-type objects, image-type objects, media-type objects, etc.) to the object store 124, and then link the objects to a map)
However, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Koepke fails to expressly disclose a panoramic image content type, a plurality of panoramic images belonging to the panoramic image content type, panning or tilting any one of the plurality of displayed panoramic images, pan or tilt all of the plurality of displayed panoramic images. In the same field of endeavor, Yavagal teaches:
a panoramic image content type, a plurality of panoramic images belonging to the panoramic image content type, panning or tilting any one of the plurality of displayed panoramic images, pan or tilt all of the plurality of displayed panoramic images (Yavagal Figs. 1-16; [0023], As illustrated in FIG. 1, the server(s) 112 may receive (120) video data. In some examples, the video data may be captured by the image capture device 110 and may be panoramic video data having a field of view beyond 180 degrees; [0024], The server(s) 112 may receive (122) annotation data associated with the video data; locations; [0040], The panoramic video data may include a plurality of video frames (e.g., sequence of image frames, each image frame associated with a particular time) and the portion of the panoramic video data displayed on the display 104 (e.g., cropped image, image data, etc.) may be associated with a position (e.g., x and y pixel coordinates) within the panoramic video data, a direction (e.g., a directional viewpoint included in the panoramic video data) associated with the panoramic video data and/or an angle (e.g., an azimuth) of the portion relative to a reference location (e.g., a front of the video/image capturing device); [0041], the panoramic video data (e.g., panoramic image); multiple images taken from multiple cameras combined to make a single frame of the panoramic video data); [0045], FIG. 2A illustrates an example of panoramic video data according to embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 2A, an image capture device 110 may use camera(s) 115 to capture panoramic video data 210 including a panoramic field of view 250; [0047-0048], FIG. 2B illustrates an example of a user interface including an angle indicator according to embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 2B, the device 102 may display the cropped image 212, the panoramic image 210 and an angle indicator 214 on the display 104. The angle indicator may be a visual representation of the angle of view relative to the reference location. The angle indicator 214 may indicate to a user 10 of the device 102 that the cropped image 212 only displays a portion of the overall panoramic image 210 and the position of the cropped image 212 within the panoramic image 210. In addition, a symbol 216 may indicate to the user 10 the portion of the panoramic image 212 included in the cropped image 212. Using the user interface illustrated in FIG. 2B, the user 10 may instruct the device 102 to shift from displaying a first direction (e.g., 0 degrees) in the cropped image 212 to displaying a second direction (e.g., 90 degrees) in the cropped image 212. As a result, the cropped image 212 would be updated to display the second direction, the symbol 216 would be moved within the panoramic image 210 and the angle indicator 214 would change to illustrate the angle associated with the second direction (e.g., 90 degrees); [0099], FIG. 10C illustrates the server(s) 112 grouping video data based on a capture location (e.g., geographic location such as Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinates or the like). As illustrated in FIG. 10C, locations of video clips 1030 are shown on a map 1032 representing New England)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a panoramic image content type, a plurality of panoramic images belonging to the panoramic image content type, panning or tilting any one of the plurality of displayed panoramic images, pan or tilt all of the plurality of displayed panoramic images as suggested in Yavagal into Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Koepke. Doing so would be desirable because with the advancement of technology, the use and popularity of electronic devices has increased considerably. Electronic devices are commonly used to capture videos. These videos are sometimes shared with friends and family using online systems, including social networking systems. Disclosed herein are technical solutions to improve how the videos are generated (see Yavagal [0002]). The devices may capture video data over a lengthy period of time and some devices may capture a wide field of view in order to capture video showing a wide area. Given the amount of captured video, certain devices may upload video data to a remote server with greater processing/storage resources for purposes of editing, storage, etc. However, editing the captured videos typically requires a user to review the captured videos to select videos and edit the selected videos, requiring an amount of time and a level of commitment. As a result, captured videos are often left unedited due to the amount of time and/or a lack of commitment (see Yavagal [0020]). To generate output data, including images and videos, devices, systems and methods are disclosed that apply rules to input video data to determine potential types of output to generate (and potential themes to apply to the output), such as a location based theme (see Yavagal [0021], [0084]). Capturing a panoramic image would enable the user to create an image with a wider field of view than a standard image (see Yavagal [0034]), thereby better enabling the user to capture desired content. Electronic devices are commonly used to capture video data.
Regarding claim 9, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Koepke in further view of Yavagal teaches all the limitations of claim 8, further comprising:
wherein in a case where a plurality of the images belonging to the image content type are displayed in the divisional display format, when the user specifies one spot on a map of the first type of geospatial information screen, the one or more processors are further configured to cause all of the displayed images to be directed to the specified one spot (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0025], An object may be composed of, but is not limited to, textual or symbolic (e.g., iconic) labels, digital pictures, video files; [0046], video content (such as MPEG video, etc.); path-related information; [0047], The annotation module 122 can associate an object with a defined location within a map. The annotation module 122 can perform this task by linking the object to a defined X-Y position in the coordinate system of the map. In one implementation, this linking is performed by allowing the user to manually point to a location in the map. In another implementation, the object may already have position information associated therewith, such as in the case of a digital photograph that may incorporate GPS data that describes the location where the photograph was taken; [0048], the annotation module 122 can allow the user to upload certain objects to an object store 124. For example, the user can upload digital pictures, media files, text documents, etc. to the object store 124; [0049], The manual mode of the annotation module 122 also allows the user to annotate the map with a path. For example, the path may represent a travel route; [0076], An annotation section 310 of the user interface 300 allows the user to attach different types of objects to the map 304, including, but not limited to: path-type objects; alphanumeric label-type objects; iconic label-type objects; image-type objects; media-type objects (audio, video, etc.); [0081], The map summary section 318 includes two portions, an expanded portion 320 and a collapsed portion 322. The expanded portion 320 provides a detailed summary of the contents of the map entitled "Wedding Planner." The collapsed portion 322 provides a collapsed (or abbreviated) summary of the contents of other maps that the user has created, such as "Example Map 2," "Example Map 3," and so on. The user interface 300 allows the user to activate one of the maps in the collapsed portion 322, causing the user interface 300 to summarize the selected map in the expanded portion 320 (instead of the collapsed portion 322); in complementary fashion, this operation also causes the map that was previously featured in the expanded portion 320 to now be summarized in the collapsed portion 322; [0075], The map display section 302 also includes a scale-adjustment mechanism 308. The scale-adjustment mechanism 308 allows the user to adjust the scale (e.g., magnification) of the map 304. A focus-adjustment mechanism (not shown) allows the user to adjust the view (e.g., focus) of the map 304 using any type of conventional technique. For example, the focus-adjustment mechanism can allow the user to adjust the focus of the map 304 by clicking and dragging on the map 304. The focus-adjustment mechanism can also be implemented using directional arrows (not shown) which allow the user to adjust the focus of the map 304 by activating appropriate directional arrows, e.g., N (north), S (south), E (east), and W (west) arrows; [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally; [0109], FIGS. 6-10 provide further details regarding the annotation module 122. To begin with, FIG. 6 shows a first version of the annotation module 122, where the annotation module 122 is configured to allow a user to manually upload objects (document-type objects, image-type objects, media-type objects, etc.) to the object store 124, and then link the objects to a map)
Yavagal further teaches:
a plurality of the panoramic images belonging to the panoramic image content type, all of the displayed panoramic images to be directed to the specified one spot (Yavagal Figs. 1-16; [0023], As illustrated in FIG. 1, the server(s) 112 may receive (120) video data. In some examples, the video data may be captured by the image capture device 110 and may be panoramic video data having a field of view beyond 180 degrees; [0024], The server(s) 112 may receive (122) annotation data associated with the video data; locations; [0040], The panoramic video data may include a plurality of video frames (e.g., sequence of image frames, each image frame associated with a particular time) and the portion of the panoramic video data displayed on the display 104 (e.g., cropped image, image data, etc.) may be associated with a position (e.g., x and y pixel coordinates) within the panoramic video data, a direction (e.g., a directional viewpoint included in the panoramic video data) associated with the panoramic video data and/or an angle (e.g., an azimuth) of the portion relative to a reference location (e.g., a front of the video/image capturing device); [0041], the panoramic video data (e.g., panoramic image); multiple images taken from multiple cameras combined to make a single frame of the panoramic video data); [0045], FIG. 2A illustrates an example of panoramic video data according to embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 2A, an image capture device 110 may use camera(s) 115 to capture panoramic video data 210 including a panoramic field of view 250; [0047-0048], FIG. 2B illustrates an example of a user interface including an angle indicator according to embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 2B, the device 102 may display the cropped image 212, the panoramic image 210 and an angle indicator 214 on the display 104. The angle indicator may be a visual representation of the angle of view relative to the reference location. The angle indicator 214 may indicate to a user 10 of the device 102 that the cropped image 212 only displays a portion of the overall panoramic image 210 and the position of the cropped image 212 within the panoramic image 210. In addition, a symbol 216 may indicate to the user 10 the portion of the panoramic image 212 included in the cropped image 212. Using the user interface illustrated in FIG. 2B, the user 10 may instruct the device 102 to shift from displaying a first direction (e.g., 0 degrees) in the cropped image 212 to displaying a second direction (e.g., 90 degrees) in the cropped image 212. As a result, the cropped image 212 would be updated to display the second direction, the symbol 216 would be moved within the panoramic image 210 and the angle indicator 214 would change to illustrate the angle associated with the second direction (e.g., 90 degrees); [0099], FIG. 10C illustrates the server(s) 112 grouping video data based on a capture location (e.g., geographic location such as Global Positioning System (GPS) coordinates or the like). As illustrated in FIG. 10C, locations of video clips 1030 are shown on a map 1032 representing New England)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a plurality of the panoramic images belonging to the panoramic image content type, all of the displayed panoramic images to be directed to the specified one spot as suggested in Yavagal into Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Koepke. Doing so would be desirable because with the advancement of technology, the use and popularity of electronic devices has increased considerably. Electronic devices are commonly used to capture videos. These videos are sometimes shared with friends and family using online systems, including social networking systems. Disclosed herein are technical solutions to improve how the videos are generated (see Yavagal [0002]). Electronic devices are commonly used to capture video data. The devices may capture video data over a lengthy period of time and some devices may capture a wide field of view in order to capture video showing a wide area. Given the amount of captured video, certain devices may upload video data to a remote server with greater processing/storage resources for purposes of editing, storage, etc. However, editing the captured videos typically requires a user to review the captured videos to select videos and edit the selected videos, requiring an amount of time and a level of commitment. As a result, captured videos are often left unedited due to the amount of time and/or a lack of commitment (see Yavagal [0020]). To generate output data, including images and videos, devices, systems and methods are disclosed that apply rules to input video data to determine potential types of output to generate (and potential themes to apply to the output), such as a location based theme (see Yavagal [0021], [0084]). Capturing a panoramic image would enable the user to create an image with a wider field of view than a standard image (see Yavagal [0034]), thereby better enabling the user to capture desired content.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Samadani et al. (US 20040217884 A1, published 11/04/2004), hereinafter Samadani.
Regarding claim 10, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein when one or more pieces of geospatial content uploaded from the user terminal are received, the one or more processors are further configured to: specify a time and a date of each of the received pieces of geospatial content; allow the user to set arbitrary one or more tags to each of the received pieces of geospatial content; and register each of the received pieces of geospatial content in the database in association with the specified time and date and the one or more set tags, and wherein the one or more predetermined search conditions include at least a condition for narrowing the searched one or more pieces of geospatial content and a tag condition for narrowing the searched one or more pieces of geospatial content by the one or more tags (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0037], The raw map source 108 can specify the location of elements within such a map using any kind of coordinate system; [0055], map search module 128 allows a user to perform a search that involves map information. The map search module 128 can use the map information in different ways in performing a search. In one technique, the search module 128 can allow the user to search within an individual map by specifying a bounding box within the map. The bounding box demarcates a rectangular area within the map, although the annotation module 128 can also allow the user to select a bounding area having another shape. The user can also specify at least one selection criterion. Based on these selections, the map search module 128 determines whether any objects within the bounding box satisfy the selection criterion. The map search module 128 can then present the results of its determination to the user; [0056], search module 128 can allow the user to specify a data source and a bounding box. The search module 128 can extract one or more parameters based on objects identified within the bounding box, and can then use these parameters to construct a search term; [0057], map search module 128 can allow the user to search a collection of maps, potentially created by different respective users. In operation, the user can enter a search term (and optionally a bounding box); [0073], Beginning with FIG. 3, the user interface 300 is shown as including several sections; [0073], map 304 also includes information that is overlaid on the raw map data; [0095], The depiction of FIG. 4 shows a street-level depiction of the city of Spokane. Note that the expanded depiction of the map 304 in FIG. 4 includes various visible items that were not presented in the state-level depiction shown in FIG. 3. These visual items represent corresponding objects that have been attached to the map 304 by the author-user (see also [0096-0103]; [0104], FIG. 5 shows an example of the user interface 300 after the end-user activates one of the objects shown in FIG. 4. Namely, in the scenario shown in FIG. 5, the end-user has clicked on the visual item 414, which is associated with an image-type object. This user action prompts the user interface 300 to present an overlaid window 502 that shows a picture of the bride, Sally; [0113], Starting with FIG. 7, the user can activate the object uploading module 602 by clicking on the tab 312. This activates an object-upload user interface 702. The object-upload user interface 702 includes two portions. A first portion 704 allows the user to browse through a collection of objects and select a desired object for uploading. The browsing operation is initiated by activating a Browse command. As a result of the browsing operation, the user in the specific scenario shown in FIG. 7 has selected an image-type object stored on the client device 104 as "C:desktop/picture_107." The user can initiate the actual uploading process by activating an "Upload Now" command. This action prompts the object uploading module 602 to present a user prompt 706. The user prompt 706 asks the user to provide a label for the uploaded image-type object. This label defines the title of the image-type object in the object store 124; [0114], A second command allows the user to rename the object. A third command allows the user to delete the object; [0115], Advancing to FIG. 8, this presentation of the user interface 300 allows the user to activate the annotation attachment module 604 so as to attach the uploaded image-type object to the map 304; [0116], The user next clicks on the "Image" command 710 in the annotation section 310 (shown in FIG. 7). This prompts the annotation attachment module 604 to activate a specialized image annotation portion 802 (shown in FIG. 8). The image annotation portion 802 allows the user to display a list 804 of image-type objects that can be attached to the map 304; [0124], GPS data and time data (indicating the order in which the photographs were taken) can be extracted to automatically reconstruct the user's route while on vacation; [0154], The user can draw the bounding box 1402 on the map 304 in any manner, such as by performing a click and drag operation using a mouse device. (Alternatively, the map search module 128 can allow the user to define a bounding region of arbitrary shape, e.g., by drawing the boundary of this region in free-form fashion on the map 304 using the mouse device.) The map search module 128 can also allow the user to enter at least one selection criterion, such as a key term. In operation, the map search module 128 can then investigate the objects that may appear within the defined bounding box 1402 to determine whether these objects satisfy the selection criterion. If they do, the map search module 128 can convey this fact to the user in some manner, such as by presenting a list of the matching objects, or by highlighting the matching items on the map 304 itself; [0156], the user's selection criterion can identify a particular type of object that the user is looking for, such as an image-type object; [0221], the system 100 can allow the user to link together several maps corresponding to different respective instances in time. The system 100 can allow the user to annotate each map in the manner defined above based on a particular theme of an application. For instance, in one such application, the user can generate a series of maps which show the spread of pollution in a certain region over time, with each map representing a depiction of the area at a particular point in time. Each map can be annotated with objects which represent pollution sources at a particular point in time, etc; claim 9, associating the object with the first location; and associating first time data with the object and the first location; linking the object to the second location within the map includes: associating the object with the second location; and associating second time data with the object and the second location; and the first time data represents a particular date/time and the second time data represents a different date/time;)
However, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori fails to expressly disclose at least a period condition for narrowing the searched one or more pieces of geospatial content by the specified time and date. In the same field of endeavor, Samadani teaches:
at least a period condition for narrowing the searched one or more pieces of geospatial content by the specified time and date (Samadani Figs. 1-8; [0033], In the example shown in FIG. 1, the view produces a map-based presentation that includes iconic representations (3, 4, 5) corresponding to multimedia recorded during a vacationer's trip, overlaid upon a map of San Francisco; [0037], the displayed multimedia icons can be limited to those falling within a particular time period or within a particular geographic area, or to multimedia files having particular associated attributes such as "favorite" or "unedited" or "private"; [0040], the time and location information of the path within the PEM can facilitate a search for supplemental multimedia that is relevant to the PEM; inserted multimedia files are preferably tagged with data fields that detail 1) the actual time and location of their creation; [0053], The default calendar-based view shows a range of dates and times encompassing all of the times associated with data in the PEM; [0056], The Select View 24 can also provide user control to select what data is displayed within the view. For instance, only multimedia within a bounded time and/or space, or that correspond to some specially named or labeled subset of the PEM data, such as "Favorites" may be displayed according to the selected view; [0058], the path time data portion of the PEM data can include both the calendar date and the time in some known time reference system such as Coordinated Universal Time (UTC); [0068], restrict the rendering to one or more different temporal or spatial portions of a trip (for example, those within specified geographic boundaries or within one or more intervals in time); [0072], list of what portions, according to their associated time stamps, of the PEM are to be displayed in this view; [0083], TimeInterval 264 defines a StartTime 266 and an EndTime 268, so that the list 246 of these for a particular view 202 define the time windows of the portions of the PEM path that are to be displayed in the view; [0096], One example of a user interface for viewing, modifying, and interacting with a Scrapbook Object is shown in FIG. 5. It consists of four windows. The first window 52 contains a path 1' and multimedia icons 5' overlaid on a map 2'. Within this first window, the user may 1) explore the rendered PEM data by scrolling or zooming the window; 2) select icons (for example, through double-clicking with a computer mouse) of multimedia that he wishes to play; 3) edit the path information in a graphical manner; 4) generate geo-temporal queries for relevant data from "geo-referenced" databases)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated at least a period condition for narrowing the searched one or more pieces of geospatial content by the specified time and date as suggested in Samadani into Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori. Doing so would be desirable because still and video digital images with attached GPS data from a known recording device may be processed using known web-based systems for generating web-enabled maps overlaid with icons for accessing such digital images. Although these systems provide GPS data for the images on an individual and unrelated basis, no information is provided relating to GPS data occurring at times other than when the images are captured. In addition, no information is provided relating to GPS data occurring along a continuous path between points of capture (see Samadani [0006]). There are known user interfaces for displaying photos in a map where the photos are shown on the map according to location tags associated with the photo. However, these interfaces do not display path information associated with the photos or route information between the photos (see Samadani [0008]). At present there are no known user interfaces for displaying and/or interacting with a map including a continuous path and multimedia associated with points along the path (see Samadani [0009]). Additionally, the system of Samadani would add additional desired query functionality, such as narrowing a search by time and date, thereby increasing the usefulness and useability of the system.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 2-12, the addition of claim 13, and the cancellation of claim 1. The corrections to the drawings are approved and the objection to the drawings is respectfully withdrawn. The interpretation of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is respectfully withdrawn. The previous objections to claims 1-5 and 9 are respectfully withdrawn. Claims 2-13 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding independent claim 2, the Applicant alleges that Pilskalns as described in the previous Office action, does not explicitly teach the claimed three- layer display arrangement in which: (i) a predetermined map is displayed in a first layer; (ii) an actual image of an orthoimage is superimposed in a second layer in front of the first layer; and (iii) one or more icons of geospatial content belonging to one or more content types different from the orthoimage content type are superimposed in a third layer in front of the second layer, as has been amended to the claim. Examiner has therefore rejected independent claim 2 under 35 U.S.C § 103 as unpatentable over Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Applicant further alleges Pilskalns does not explicitly teach amended claim 7. Examiner has therefore rejected independent claim 2 under 35 U.S.C § 103 as unpatentable over Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Koepke.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Applicant further alleges Pilskalns does not explicitly teach allowing the user to select between: (i) a first registration method for registering one or more pieces of geospatial content in association with one project; and (ii) a second registration method for registering a plurality of pieces of geospatial content in association with a plurality of projects. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the rejection above, Pilskalns discloses a user can associate objects with a plurality of different projects, such as maps “Wedding Planner”, “Example Map 2”, “Example Map” and so on. The system provides the user with a first registration method for registering one or more pieces of geospatial content in association with one project/map and a second registration method for registering a plurality of pieces of geospatial content in association with a plurality of projects ([0079-0081]). Users can create new maps/projects ([0091]) and assign objects to the maps ([0046-0047]). Additionally, Pilskalns discloses providing a method to associate individual objects with two or more projects/maps ([0111]). Thus, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori is considered to teach claim 11 (see Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0025], [0046-0049], [0052], [0076], [0081], [0079], [0091], [0104], [0111], [0113], [0114]).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Applicant further alleges Pilskalns does not explicitly teach analysis data relating to the selected plurality of pieces of geospatial content to be displayed in the second type of geospatial information screen. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the rejection above, Pilskalns discloses receiving raw map data ([0037]), analyzing objects to identify location information, and converting the location information to link the object to a defined X-Y position in the coordinate system of the map ([0047]). Users can view a plurality of analyzed object information on the map ([0072-0073]). Users can also search the analyzed object information on the map to select a plurality of objects ([0055-0057], [0154]). Users can adjust the scale of maps to select a plurality of analyzed objects ([0095]). Users can further activate the analyzed objects ([0104]). Examiner notes the claims place no limitations on what the analysis data content type representing analysis data obtained by analyzing one or more piece of geospatial content must comprise. Thus, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori in further view of Koepke is considered to teach claim 13 (see (Pilskalns Figs. 1-21; [0037], [0047], [0055-0057], [0072-0073], [0095-0103]; [0104], [0154-0156], [0076]).
Applicant states that the dependent claims recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding the independent claims. However, as discussed above, Pilskalns in view of Kritt in further view of Kohori is considered to teach the independent claims, and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Anderson (US 7085650 B2) see Figs. 1-10 and col. 11 [line 31].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN T REPSHER III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143