Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “individual service area” in claim 1 and “operation determination module” in claim 10.
“individual service area” - spec. pg. 18 - servers with one or more processors running application service.
“operation determination module” - drawings. Fig. 3 processor and software on apparatus 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SU et al. US 2017/0350611 A1.
SU teaches:
[Claim 1] An information processing system for a home appliance, comprising:
at least one home appliance; [Fig. 1 20 - air purifier]
a terminal configured to process information of the at least one home appliance; [para. 0013 and 0019, “user interface”]
an individual service area configured to provide an individual service; [para. 0012, “official website”] and
an information processing apparatus [control system 30, 31, 32] connected to the terminal and the at least one home appliance through a network [para. 0012, “Communication between the controller and at least one of the ventilating means and the air purifier may take place in a wireless fashion.”] and
configured to provide an application service using the individual service, wherein the information processing apparatus is configured to:
receive basic information of a user using the at least one home appliance; [para. 0048, “In the shown example, the control system 30 comprises a controller 31 and a data collector 32 which may be a sensor which can provide real-time indoor air quality data and/or software which can download daily outdoor air quality data from an official website.”]
confirm that an indoor environment is environmental information requiring air purification from the basic information by using the individual service; [para. 0054, “According to a second option, the arrangement 1 for air management of the room 100 is a big data assisted arrangement. Information about the outdoor air quality can be obtained from an official website by a suitable data collector at any position where the Internet is accessible.”]
confirm a first state of a first home appliance of the at least one home appliance; [Fig. 2 air purifier “off”]
maintain the first home appliance in the first state in response to the environmental information, [Fig. 2 air purifier remains off with YES branch if outdoor air quality is better than indoor air quality]
change a state of a second home appliance [bidirectional fan ON: Supply] of the at least one home appliance in response to the environmental information [Fig. 2 data retrieved from website server for outdoor air quality], or transmit a message to the user in response to the environmental information.
SU teaches:
[Claim 2] The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the basic information comprises at least one of a user's behavior, a user's voice, or detection information of an air quality sensor. [para. 0048-0053 indoor air quality data received from sensor and outdoor quality from server]
SU teaches:
[Claim 3] The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the first home appliance is an air purifier [air purifier 20], the first state is a state in which the air purifier is operating or stopped [Fig. 2 air purifier off or on], and the second home appliance is a ventilation device [Bidirectional Fan, ventilator 10].
SU teaches:
[Claim 4] The information processing system according to claim 3, wherein changing of a state of the ventilation device comprises changing the ventilation device to operate. [Fig. 2 “Bidirectional fan ON”]
SU teaches:
[Claim 5] The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein, after the state of the second home appliance is changed, the state of the first home appliance is stopped. [Fig. 2 ventilator OFF and air purifier ON]
SU teaches:
[Claim 6] The information processing system according to claim 5, wherein the first home appliance is an air purifier [air purifier 20], and the second home appliance is a ventilation device [ventilator 10].
SU teaches:
[Claim 7] The information processing system according to claim 6, wherein the ventilation device is changed in state to operate [Fig. 2 FAN ON and air purifier OFF], and the air purifier is stopped, or the message is a message to start ventilation [Fig. 2 commands to Bidirectional Fan (ventilator) “ON”].
SU teaches:
[Claim 8] The information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the first state is an operation stop state of the air purifier [Fig. 2 air purifier OFF when indoor quality is “good enough”], the user's basic information [Fig. 2 indoor sensor indicates indoor air quality is not good enough, “NO”] is an operation start signal of the air purifier [Fig. 2 turns on air purifier if outdoor air quality is not better than indoor from data on internet server], the first home appliance is the air purifier [air purifier 20], and the second home appliance is a ventilation device [ventilator 10].
SU teaches:
[Claim 9] The information processing system according to claim 7, wherein the message is a message to stop the ventilation. [Fig. 2 “Bidirectional Fan OFF”]
SU teaches:
[Claim 10] An information processing apparatus for a home appliance, comprising:
an I/O module [controller 31] configured to communicate with at least one external home appliance; [para. 0048, “The controller 31 and the data collector 32 may be integrated into the ventilator 10 as shown in FIG. 1, but another positioning of the controller 31 and the data collector 32 is also possible, including a positioning on the air purifier 20.”]
a memory configured to store outdoor environment information; [para. 0048, controller and data collector receive outdoor air quality from website] and
an operation determination module configured to:
compare indoor environment information, in which a user using the at least one home appliance resides, with the outdoor environment information to confirm that air purification is necessary, [Fig. 2 outdoor air quality compared to indoor air quality]
maintain the first home appliance in a first state that is a current state, and change a state of a second home appliance or transmit a message for air purification to the user. [Fig. 2 air purifier remains off and ventilator turned on]
SU teaches:
[Claim 11] The information processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein, after the state of the second home appliance is changed, the state of the first home appliance is changed from first state to a second state. [Fig. 2 air purifier turned ON]
SU teaches:
[Claim 12] An information processing method for a home appliance, comprising:
receiving user's basic information; [Fig. 2 indoor air quality sensor data]
allowing an information processing apparatus to identify air purification information from the basic information using an individual service in an individual service area; [Fig. 2 outdoor sensor data/ data from internet]
comparing indoor environmental information with outdoor environmental information; [Fig. 2 “If outdour[sic] air quality is better than indoor air quality”] and
perform a first process of operating a ventilation device in a ventilation state after maintaining a state of an air purifier to purify air [Fig. 3 both air purifier and ventilator ON “when outdoor air quality is bad and indoor CO2 level is high] or
a second process of operating the air purifier in a state in which the ventilation device is stopped to purify the air. [Fig. 3 air purifier ON, fan OFF]
[Claim 13] The information processing method according to claim 12, wherein the basic information is a user's action at a predetermined time.
SU teaches:
[Claim 14] The information processing method according to claim 12, wherein, when the ventilation device operates in the ventilation state, the air purifier is stopped. [Fig. 2 air purifier off ventilator ON]
SU teaches:
[Claim 15] The information processing method according to claim 12, wherein, after performing the ventilation through the ventilation device, the ventilation device is changed to the stop state, and the air cleaner operates. [Fig. 2 air purifier ON, ventilator OFF]
SU teaches:
[Claim 16] The information processing method according to claim 12, wherein the indoor environment information and the outdoor environment information contain a concentration of carbon dioxide. [Fig. 3 CO2 levels compared between indoor and outdoor]
SU teaches:
[Claim 18] The information processing method according to claim 12, wherein the first process or the second process is performed without being notified to the user. [Figs 2 and 3 operate without user notifications]
SU teaches:
[Claim 19] An information processing method for a home appliance, comprising:
receiving user's basic information; [Figs 2 and 3 sensor data from indoor quality sensor ]
allowing an information processing apparatus to identify air purification information from the basic information using an individual service in an individual service area; [Figs. 2 and 3 outdoor air quality received from data from internet via website (server)] and
operating a ventilation device in a ventilation state after maintaining a state of an air purifier to purify air [Fig. 2 outdoor quality better than indoor, air purifier remains off, ventilator ON] or transmitting a message to the user.
SU teaches:
[Claim 20] The information processing method according to claim 19, wherein, when the ventilation device is in the ventilation state, the air purifier is stopped,[Fig. 2] and after the ventilation device operates in the ventilation state for a predetermined time, the air purifier operates again. [para. 0019, “According to an alternative, the control system may be adapted to run a time counter program for controlling the duration of the operation of the ventilating means and the air purifier, respectively.”]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SU et al. US 2017/0350611 A1 in view of Rivera US 2022/0325910 A1.
SU does not teach the following limitation, however, Rivera teaches:
[Claim 17] The information processing method according to claim 12, wherein the individual service operates by an AI server. [para. 0099, “The exemplary disclosed system may for example include cloud computing clusters performing predictive analysis. For example, the exemplary neural network may include a plurality of input nodes that may be interconnected and/or networked with a plurality of additional and/or other processing nodes to determine a predicted result. Exemplary artificial intelligence processes may include filtering and processing datasets, processing to simplify datasets by statistically eliminating irrelevant, invariant or superfluous variables or creating new variables which are an amalgamation of a set of underlying variables, and/or processing for splitting datasets into train, test and validate datasets using at least a stratified sampling technique.”]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Rivera with those of SU. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because Rivera teaches that machine learning/AI can be performed in the “cloud” (servers) to create prediction algorithms. (See para. 0099).
Conclusion
/GARY COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115