DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naseer-Ul-Islam et al. (US 2022/0264389, “Naseer-Ulf-Islam”) in view of Wallentin et al. (US 2023/0217280, “Wallentin”).
Regarding claim 21, Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches a method for performing a conditional handover (CHO) by a User Equipment(UE) in a wireless communication system supporting network slicing (UE of FIG. 6), the method comprising:
receiving, from a source base station, a measurement configuration message (FIG. 6 step S61 “Measurement Control”, [0135], [0035]) {including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message};
transmitting, to the source base station, the measurement report message (FIG. 6 step S63 “Measurement Report (add); FIG. 3, step S33 “Measurement Report”, [0035] “The source gNB performs measurement control (S1) of the terminal UE. A configured event (S2) triggers the UE to send a measurement report (S3) to the serving gNB”) {based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold};
receiving, from the source base station, a conditional handover command message (FIG. 6, S66 “Handover Command”. [0135], [0035] “The source gNB performs measurement control (S1) of the terminal UE. A configured event (S2) triggers the UE to send a measurement report (S3) to the serving gNB”. Step 49 “CHO execution condition” indicates the handover command is a CHO command); and
{transmitting, to the source base station, a response message to the conditional handover command message}; and,
performing a conditional handover to a neighboring base station when a predetermined condition is satisfied (FIG. 6, upon step S49 “CHO execution condition…”, steps S620, S621, S622, S611 are executed, [0137]-[0140]),
wherein the conditional handover command message is based on a handover response message from a neighboring base station in response to a handover request message transmitted from the source base station to the neighboring base station (FIG. 6, S66 “Handover Command” is a result of S64 “Handover Request (prepare)”,i.e., claimed “handover request message”, sent by source gNB to target gNB and S65 “Handover Request ACK”, i.e., claimed “handover response message” sent by target gNB to Source gNB, [0135], [0110]),
wherein the handover response message from the neighboring base station is based on a result of an admission control performed by the neighboring base station for network slice admitted or supported by the neighboring base station (FIG. 6, S65 “Handover Request ACK” includes “PDU sessions of slice A, BC : accepted”, [0129]), resources for the network slices being established by the neighboring base station ([0050] “network slices can also be provided with dedicated resources including the radio resources.” In FIG. 6 message S65 stating “slice A, B, C : accepted” indicates network slices A, B, C resources can be provided by the target gNB), and
wherein the conditional handover command message includes information about network slice admitted or supported by the neighboring base station (FIG. 6, S65 “Handover Request ACK” includes “PDU sessions of slice A, BC : accept”, S66 “Handover Command” message includes “PDU sessions of slide A,B, D accept” [0135], [0110] “The target cell also prepares (with S35) the HO command (of S36) in a way that indicates this conditional acceptance and allows the UE to try to continue the conditionally accepted PDU sessions during the HO execution”), at least one network slice to be applied to the UE being confirmatively determined prior to execution of the conditional handover, (in FIG. 6, the execution of the CHO includes steps S620, S621, S622 and S611. [0142] ”the UE uses a dedicated RACH preamble (in Msg 1) to indicate the requested accepted/rejected slices in step S620” Note: UE requests accepted slices at the start of CHO execution teaches slices are “being confirmatively determined” by the UE prior to the execution process)
{wherein the UE applies the at least one network slice corresponding to a configuration included in the conditional handover command message for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover, using the resources established by the neighboring base station}.
Naseer-Ul-Islam does not teach
a measurement configuration message including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message
the measurement report message based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold
and transmitting, to the source base station, a response message to the conditional handover command message.
Wallentin teaches
a measurement configuration message including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message ([0161] “The UE can be provided with a measurement configuration including the low threshold (not shown in the figure)”)
the measurement report message based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold ([0161] “Upon performing measurements that meet the low threshold, the UE can send a measurement report to the serving node (operation 1)”)
and transmitting, to the source base station, a response message to the conditional handover command message ([0162] “the source node then sends the UE a RRCReconfiguration message that includes a “CHO Configuration”, which can include the high threshold. After responding with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message (operation 7), the UE continues to perform measurements and whenever the high threshold condition is met for a target cell, it can detach from the source cell”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features
a measurement configuration message including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message
the measurement report message based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold
and transmitting, to the source base station, a response message to the conditional handover command message,
as taught by Wallentin in Naseer-Ul-Islam to improve mobility robustness.
Naseer-Ul-Islam does not clearly teaches wherein the UE applies the at least one network slice corresponding to a configuration included in the conditional handover command message for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover, using the resources established by the neighboring base station.
However, Naseer-Ul-Islam in FIG. 6 teaches step S66 “Handover Command” message includes “PDU sessions of slide A,B, D accept” and S622 RACH Response (MSG2) includes “bitmap 1101 indicating slices A, B and D and finally accepted” which suggests the UE will use at least one of the accepted slices A, B and D indicated by both S66 “Handover Command” and S622 RACH Response (MSG2). Further Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches [0050] “network slices can also be provided with dedicated resources including the radio resources.” Therefore, it is obvious that Naseer-Ul-Islam suggests the claimed feature wherein the UE applies the at least one network slice corresponding to a configuration included in the conditional handover command message for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover, using the resources established by the neighboring base station.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features wherein the UE applies the at least one network slice corresponding to a configuration included in the conditional handover command message for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover, using the resources established by the neighboring base station, to utilize special benefits provided the network slices such as Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication (URLLC) (see Naseer-Ul-Islam [0043]).
Regarding claim 22, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches claim 21 and further teaches
wherein a priority is configured in relation to the at least one network slice admitted or supported by the neighboring base station ([0049] - Each PDU session can belong to a particular network slice identified by the S-NSSAI and associated QoS profile (for example, how much latency, throughput, priority be given to that PDU session).
Regarding claim 23, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches claim 21 and further teaches wherein the handover request message includes information about at least one network slice related to the UE (FIG. 4, S44 “Handover Request (prepare)” includes “PDU sessions of slice A,B,C and D”).
Regarding claim 24, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches claim 21 and further teaches wherein the handover response message is based on a slice-aware admission control of the neighboring base station considering the at least one network slice related to the UE included in the handover request message (FIG. 4, S44 “Handover Request ACK” includes information “PDU sessions of slice A,B: Accept, slice C: Reject, slice D: Accept if HO execution occurs within time period T” [0114] – “Among the supported slices A, B and D, the target gNB decides on accepting slices A, B and “conditionally accepting” slice D”).
Regarding claim 25, Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches a method for performing a conditional handover (CHO) by a source base station in a wireless communication system supporting network slicing (Source gNB of FIG. 6), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a measurement configuration message (FIG. 6 step S61 “Measurement Control”, [0135], [0035]) {including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message};
receiving, from the UE, the measurement report message (FIG. 6 step S63; FIG. 3, step S33 “Measurement Report”, [0035] “The source gNB performs measurement control (S1) of the terminal UE. A configured event (S2) triggers the UE to send a measurement report (S3) to the serving gNB”) {based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold};
transmitting, to a neighboring base station, a handover request message based on the measurement report message (FIG. 6 step S64 “Handover Request (prepare)”);
receiving, from the neighboring base station, a handover response message based on a result of an admission control performed by the neighboring base station for network slice admitted or supported by the neighboring base station (FIG. 6, S66 “Handover Command” is a result of S64 “Handover Request (prepare)”,i.e., claimed “handover request message”, sent by source gNB to target gNB and S65 “Handover Request ACK”, i.e., claimed “handover response message” sent by target gNB to Source gNB, [0135], [0110]), resources for the network slices being established by the neighboring base station ([0050] “network slices can also be provided with dedicated resources including the radio resources.” In FIG. 6 message S65 stating “slice A, B, C : accepted” indicates network slices A, B, C resources can be provided by the target gNB);
transmitting, to the UE, a conditional handover command message including information about one network slice admitted or supported by the neighboring base station (FIG. 6, S66 “Handover Command”. [0135], [0035] “The source gNB performs measurement control (S1) of the terminal UE. A configured event (S2) triggers the UE to send a measurement report (S3) to the serving gNB”. Step 49 “CHO execution condition” indicates the handover command is a CHO command), at least one network slice to be applied to the UE being confirmatively determined prior to the execution of the conditional handover, based on the handover response message (in FIG. 6, the execution of the CHO includes steps S620, S621, S622 and S611. [0142] ”the UE uses a dedicated RACH preamble (in Msg 1) to indicate the requested accepted/rejected slices in step S620” Note: UE requests accepted slices at the start of CHO execution teaches slices are “being confirmatively determined” by the UE prior to the execution process) ; and
{receiving, from the UE, a response message to the conditional handover command message}; and
performing a conditional handover procedure with the UE when a predetermined condition is satisfied at the UE (FIG. 6, upon step S49 “CHO execution condition…”, steps S620, S621, S622, S611 are executed, [0137]-[0140]),
{wherein the network slice corresponding to a configuration included in the conditional handover command message is applied to the UE for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover, using the resource established by the neighboring base station}
Naseer-Ul-Islam does not teach
a measurement configuration message including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message
the measurement report message based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold
and receiving, from the UE, a response message to the conditional handover command message;.
Wallentin teaches
a measurement configuration message including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message ([0161] “The UE can be provided with a measurement configuration including the low threshold (not shown in the figure)”)
the measurement report message based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold ([0161] “Upon performing measurements that meet the low threshold, the UE can send a measurement report to the serving node (operation 1)”)
and receiving, from the UE, a response message to the conditional handover command message; ([0162] “the source node then sends the UE a RRCReconfiguration message that includes a “CHO Configuration”, which can include the high threshold. After responding with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message (operation 7), the UE continues to perform measurements and whenever the high threshold condition is met for a target cell, it can detach from the source cell”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features
a measurement configuration message including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message
the measurement report message based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold
and receiving, from the UE, a response message to the conditional handover command message,
as taught by Wallentin in Naseer-Ul-Islam to improve mobility robustness.
Naseer-Ul-Islam does not clearly teaches wherein the network slice corresponding to a configuration included in the conditional handover command message is applied to the UE for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover, using the resource established by the neighboring base station.
However, Naseer-Ul-Islam in FIG. 6 teaches step S66 “Handover Command” message includes “PDU sessions of slide A,B, D accept” and S622 RACH Response (MSG2) includes “bitmap 1101 indicating slices A, B and D and finally accepted” which suggests the UE will use at least one of the accepted slices A, B and D indicated by both S66 “Handover Command” and S622 RACH Response (MSG2). Further Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches [0050] “network slices can also be provided with dedicated resources including the radio resources.” Therefore, it is obvious that Naseer-Ul-Islam suggests the claimed feature wherein the network slice corresponding to a configuration included in the conditional handover command message is applied to the UE for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover, using the resource established by the neighboring base station.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features wherein the network slice corresponding to a configuration included in the conditional handover command message is applied to the UE for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover, using the resource established by the neighboring base station, to utilize special benefits provided the network slices such as Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication (URLLC) (see Naseer-Ul-Islam [0043]).
Regarding claim 26, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches claim 25 and further teaches
wherein a priority is configured in relation to the at least one network slice admitted or supported by the neighboring base station ([0049] - Each PDU session can belong to a particular network slice identified by the S-NSSAI and associated QoS profile (for example, how much latency, throughput, priority be given to that PDU session).
Regarding claim 27, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches claim 25 and further teaches wherein the handover request message includes information about at least one network slice related to the UE (FIG. 4, S44 “Handover Request (prepare)” includes “PDU sessions of slice A,B,C and D”).
Regarding claim 28, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches claim 27 and further teaches wherein the handover response message is based on a slice-aware admission control of the neighboring base station considering the at least one network slice related to the UE included in the handover request message (FIG. 4, S44 “Handover Request ACK” includes information “PDU sessions of slice A,B: Accept, slice C: Reject, slice D: Accept if HO execution occurs within time period T” [0114] – “Among the supported slices A, B and D, the target gNB decides on accepting slices A, B and “conditionally accepting” slice D”).
Regarding claim 29, Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches a user equipment (UE) for performing a conditional handover (CHO) in a wireless communication system supporting network slicing (UE of FIG. 6), the UE comprising: a processor; a memory; and a transceiver (FIG. 8, [0150]), wherein the processor is configured to:
control the transceiver to receive, from a source base station, a measurement configuration message (FIG. 6 step S61 “Measurement Control”, [0135], [0035]) {including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message};
control the transceiver to transmit, to the source base station, the measurement report message (FIG. 6 step S63 “Measurement Report (add); FIG. 3, step S33 “Measurement Report”, [0035] “The source gNB performs measurement control (S1) of the terminal UE. A configured event (S2) triggers the UE to send a measurement report (S3) to the serving gNB”) {based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold};
control the transceiver to receive, from the source base station, a conditional handover command message (FIG. 6, S66 “Handover Command”. [0135], [0035] “The source gNB performs measurement control (S1) of the terminal UE. A configured event (S2) triggers the UE to send a measurement report (S3) to the serving gNB”. Step 49 “CHO execution condition” indicates the handover command is a CHO command); and
{control the transceiver to transmit, to the source base station, a response message to the conditional handover command message}; and
perform a conditional handover to a neighboring base station when a predetermine condition is satisfied (FIG. 6, upon step S49 “CHO execution condition…”, steps S620, S621, S622, S611 are executed, [0137]-[0140]),
wherein the conditional handover command message is based on a handover response message from a neighboring base station in response to a handover request message transmitted from the source base station to the neighboring base station (FIG. 6, S66 “Handover Command” is a result of S64 “Handover Request (prepare)”,i.e., claimed “handover request message”, sent by source gNB to target gNB and S65 “Handover Request ACK”, i.e., claimed “handover response message” sent by target gNB to Source gNB, [0135], [0110]),
wherein the handover response message from the neighboring base station is based on a result of an admission control performed by the neighboring base station for network slice admitted or supported by the neighboring base station (FIG. 6, S65 “Handover Request ACK” includes “PDU sessions of slice A, BC : accepted”, [0129]) resources for the network slices being established by the neighboring base station ([0050] “network slices can also be provided with dedicated resources including the radio resources.” In FIG. 6 message S65 stating “slice A, B, C : accepted” indicates network slices A, B, C resources can be provided by the target gNB), and
wherein the conditional handover command message includes information about network slices admitted or supported by the neighboring base station (FIG. 6, S65 “Handover Request ACK” includes “PDU sessions of slice A, BC : accept”, S66 “Handover Command” message includes “PDU sessions of slide A,B, D accept” [0135], [0110] “The target cell also prepares (with S35) the HO command (of S36) in a way that indicates this conditional acceptance and allows the UE to try to continue the conditionally accepted PDU sessions during the HO execution”) at least one network slice to be applied to the UE being confirmatively determined prior to execution of the conditional handover (in FIG. 6, the execution of the CHO includes steps S620, S621, S622 and S611. [0142] ”the UE uses a dedicated RACH preamble (in Msg 1) to indicate the requested accepted/rejected slices in step S620” Note: UE requests accepted slices at the start of CHO execution teaches slices are “being confirmatively determined” by the UE prior to the execution process), and
{wherein the UE applies a network slice corresponding to the configuration included in the conditional handover command message for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover using the resources established by the neighboring base station}.
Naseer-Ul-Islam does not teach
a measurement configuration message including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message
the measurement report message based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold
and the transceiver to transmit, to the source base station, a response message to the conditional handover command message.
Wallentin teaches
a measurement configuration message including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message ([0161] “The UE can be provided with a measurement configuration including the low threshold (not shown in the figure)”)
the measurement report message based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold ([0161] “Upon performing measurements that meet the low threshold, the UE can send a measurement report to the serving node (operation 1)”)
and the transceiver to transmit, to the source base station, a response message to the conditional handover command message ([0162] “the source node then sends the UE a RRCReconfiguration message that includes a “CHO Configuration”, which can include the high threshold. After responding with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message (operation 7), the UE continues to perform measurements and whenever the high threshold condition is met for a target cell, it can detach from the source cell”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features
a measurement configuration message including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message
the measurement report message based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold
and the transceiver to transmit, to the source base station, a response message to the conditional handover command message,
as taught by Wallentin in Naseer-Ul-Islam to improve mobility robustness.
Naseer-Ul-Islam does not clearly teaches wherein the UE applies a network slice corresponding to the configuration included in the conditional handover command message for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover using the resources established by the neighboring base station.
However, Naseer-Ul-Islam in FIG. 6 teaches step S66 “Handover Command” message includes “PDU sessions of slide A,B, D accept” and S622 RACH Response (MSG2) includes “bitmap 1101 indicating slices A, B and D and finally accepted” which suggests the UE will use at least one of the accepted slices A, B and D indicated by both S66 “Handover Command” and S622 RACH Response (MSG2). Further Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches [0050] “network slices can also be provided with dedicated resources including the radio resources.” Therefore, it is obvious that Naseer-Ul-Islam suggests the claimed feature wherein the UE applies a network slice corresponding to the configuration included in the conditional handover command message for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover using the resources established by the neighboring base station.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features wherein the UE applies a network slice corresponding to the configuration included in the conditional handover command message for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover using the resources established by the neighboring base station, to utilize special benefits provided the network slices such as Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication (URLLC) (see Naseer-Ul-Islam [0043]).
Regarding claim 30, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches claim 29 and further teaches
wherein a priority is configured in relation to the at least one network slice admitted or supported by the neighboring base station ([0049] - Each PDU session can belong to a particular network slice identified by the S-NSSAI and associated QoS profile (for example, how much latency, throughput, priority be given to that PDU session).
Regarding claim 31, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches claim 29 and further teaches wherein the handover request message includes information about at least one network slice related to the UE (FIG. 4, S44 “Handover Request (prepare)” includes “PDU sessions of slice A,B,C and D”).
Regarding claim 32, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches claim 31 and further teaches wherein the handover response message is based on a slice-aware admission control of the neighboring base station considering the at least one network slice related to the UE included in the handover request message (FIG. 4, S44 “Handover Request ACK” includes information “PDU sessions of slice A,B: Accept, slice C: Reject, slice D: Accept if HO execution occurs within time period T” [0114] – “Among the supported slices A, B and D, the target gNB decides on accepting slices A, B and “conditionally accepting” slice D”).
Regarding claim 33, Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches a source base station for performing a conditional handover (CHO) in a wireless communication system supporting network slicing (Source gNB of FIG. 6), the source base station comprising: a processor; a memory; and a transceiver ([0147]), wherein the processor is configured to:
control the transceiver to transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a measurement configuration message (FIG. 6 step S61 “Measurement Control”, [0135], [0035]) {including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message};
control the transceiver to receive, from the UE, the measurement report message (FIG. 6 step S63; FIG. 3, step S33 “Measurement Report”, [0035] “The source gNB performs measurement control (S1) of the terminal UE. A configured event (S2) triggers the UE to send a measurement report (S3) to the serving gNB”) {based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold};
control the transceiver to transmit, to a neighboring base station, a handover request message based on the measurement report message (FIG. 6 step S64 “Handover Request (prepare)”);
control the transceiver to receive, from the neighboring base station, a handover response message based on a result of an admission control performed by the neighboring base station for network slice admitted or supported by the neighboring base station (FIG. 6, S66 “Handover Command” is a result of S64 “Handover Request (prepare)”,i.e., claimed “handover request message”, sent by source gNB to target gNB and S65 “Handover Request ACK”, i.e., claimed “handover response message” sent by target gNB to Source gNB, [0135], [0110]) resources for the network slices being established by the neighboring base station ([0050] “network slices can also be provided with dedicated resources including the radio resources.” In FIG. 6 message S65 stating “slice A, B, C : accepted” indicates network slices A, B, C resources can be provided by the target gNB);
control the transceiver to transmit, to the UE, a conditional handover command message including information about the network slice admitted or supported by the neighboring base station (FIG. 6, S66 “Handover Command”. [0135], [0035] “The source gNB performs measurement control (S1) of the terminal UE. A configured event (S2) triggers the UE to send a measurement report (S3) to the serving gNB”. Step 49 “CHO execution condition” indicates the handover command is a CHO command) at least one network slice to be applied to the UE being confirmatively determined prior to the execution of the conditional handover, based on the handover response message (in FIG. 6, the execution of the CHO includes steps S620, S621, S622 and S611. [0142] ”the UE uses a dedicated RACH preamble (in Msg 1) to indicate the requested accepted/rejected slices in step S620” Note: UE requests accepted slices at the start of CHO execution teaches slices are “being confirmatively determined” by the UE prior to the execution process); and
{control the transceiver to receive, from the UE, a response message to the conditional handover command message}; and
perform a conditional handover procedure with the UE when a predetermined condition is satisfied at the UE (FIG. 4, S49 “CHO execution condition expires within time period T”, S413 “Old preparations not valid anymore.” [0036] - the UE will only access the target gNB once an additional CHO execution condition expires. The condition is typically configured, e.g. by the source during HO Command),
{wherein the network slice corresponding to a configuration included in the conditional handover command message is applied to the UE for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover using the resource established by the neighboring base station}.
Naseer-Ul-Islam does not teach
a measurement configuration message including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message
the measurement report message based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold
and the transceiver to receive, from the UE, a response message to the conditional handover command message;.
Wallentin teaches
a measurement configuration message including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message ([0161] “The UE can be provided with a measurement configuration including the low threshold (not shown in the figure)”)
the measurement report message based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold ([0161] “Upon performing measurements that meet the low threshold, the UE can send a measurement report to the serving node (operation 1)”)
and the transceiver to receive, from the UE, a response message to the conditional handover command message; ([0162] “the source node then sends the UE a RRCReconfiguration message that includes a “CHO Configuration”, which can include the high threshold. After responding with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message (operation 7), the UE continues to perform measurements and whenever the high threshold condition is met for a target cell, it can detach from the source cell”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features
a measurement configuration message including a threshold for triggering a measurement report message
the measurement report message based on a measurement event criterion being satisfied according to the threshold
and the transceiver to receive, from the UE, a response message to the conditional handover command message,
as taught by Wallentin in Naseer-Ul-Islam to improve mobility robustness.
Naseer-Ul-Islam does not clearly teaches wherein the network slice corresponding to a configuration included in the conditional handover command message is applied to the UE for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover using the resource established by the neighboring base station.
However, Naseer-Ul-Islam in FIG. 6 teaches step S66 “Handover Command” message includes “PDU sessions of slide A,B, D accept” and S622 RACH Response (MSG2) includes “bitmap 1101 indicating slices A, B and D and finally accepted” which suggests the UE will use at least one of the accepted slices A, B and D indicated by both S66 “Handover Command” and S622 RACH Response (MSG2). Further Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches [0050] “network slices can also be provided with dedicated resources including the radio resources.” Therefore, it is obvious that Naseer-Ul-Islam suggests the claimed feature wherein the network slice corresponding to a configuration included in the conditional handover command message is applied to the UE for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover using the resource established by the neighboring base station.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the features wherein the network slice corresponding to a configuration included in the conditional handover command message is applied to the UE for the neighboring base station after execution and completion of the conditional handover using the resource established by the neighboring base station, to utilize special benefits provided the network slices such as Ultra-Reliable Low Latency Communication (URLLC) (see Naseer-Ul-Islam [0043]).
Regarding claim 34, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches claim 33 and further teaches wherein a priority is configured in relation to the at least one network slice admitted or supported by the neighboring base station ([0049] - Each PDU session can belong to a particular network slice identified by the S-NSSAI and associated QoS profile (for example, how much latency, throughput, priority be given to that PDU session).
Regarding claim 35, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches claim 25 and further teaches wherein the handover request message includes information about at least one network slice related to the UE (FIG. 4, S44 “Handover Request (prepare)” includes “PDU sessions of slice A,B,C and D”).
Regarding claim 36, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches claim 35 and further teaches wherein the handover response message is based on a slice-aware admission control of the neighboring base station considering the at least one network slice related to the UE included in the handover request message (FIG. 4, S44 “Handover Request ACK” includes information “PDU sessions of slice A,B: Accept, slice C: Reject, slice D: Accept if HO execution occurs within time period T” [0114] – “Among the supported slices A, B and D, the target gNB decides on accepting slices A, B and “conditionally accepting” slice D”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “Naseer fails to disclose the limitation “resource for the network slices being established” (page 13)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches [0050] “network slices can also be provided with dedicated resources including the radio resources.” Clearly, all accepted resource must be provided via mentioned resources. Also in an embodiment of FIG. 3, upon completing HO procedure via a random access procedure (steps 310-312), the UE receives S315 message indicating accepted rejected PDU session, “the UE releases (in step/stage S316) the resources associated with the rejected PDU session and/or slice” ([0110]). Obviously, the UE and the target gNB have established resources for the accepted slice upon the random access procedure and prior to receiving the final decision issued by the target gNB.
The Examiner submits Naseer-Ul-Islam teaches “resource for the network slices being established”
Further Applicant argues “Naseer fails to disclose the limitation “at least one network slice to be applied to the UE being confirmatively determined prior to execution of the conditional handover” of claim 21” (page 13).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In FIG. 6, the execution of the CHO includes steps S620, S621, S622 and S611. Paragraph [0142] states “the UE uses a dedicated RACH preamble (in Msg 1) to indicate the requested accepted/rejected slices in step S620.” UE requesting the accepted slices at the start of CHO execution at the start of CHO execution teaches slices are “being confirmatively determined” by the UE prior to the execution process.
Regarding the argument in section 4 of page 14, the Examiner submits Handover Request Ack includes slice A,B, D being accepted (FIG. 6, S65) which clearly teaches slices admitted/supported by the targe gNB. Also as mentioned above, paragraph [0110] recites “the UE releases (in step/stage S316) the resources associated with the rejected PDU session and/or slice”, indicates UE and the target gNB have established resource for the slice prior to the UE receiving the final decision issued by the target gNB.
The Examiner submits, Naseer-Ul-Islam in view of Wallentin teaches all limitations of claims 21-36.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/QUOC THAI N VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642