DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WU et al. (US 2022/0104370).
Regarding claim 1 WU discloses:
A hinge structure, comprising:
a base frame assembly (e.g. 10 FIG.7) comprising a first supporting face (e.g. shown FIG.7);
a supporting assembly (e.g. 21, 30/40 FIG.7) comprising a second supporting face (e.g. shown FIG.7);
a first rotating assembly (e.g. 23 FIG.12) rotatably coupled to the base frame assembly (e.g. shown FIG.12);
a second rotating assembly (e.g. 22 FIG.11) rotatably coupled to the base frame assembly, the second rotating assembly being slidably coupled to the supporting assembly (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.12); and
a coupling rod assembly (e.g. plural rod shaped structures connecting components shown FIG.12) hinged to the supporting assembly, the first rotating assembly and the second rotating assembly, wherein the coupling rod assembly comprises:
a first coupling rod having a first end hinged to the first rotating assembly and a second end hinged to the supporting assembly (e.g. 51 shown attached to 30 on one end and 23 on the other FIG.13); and
a second coupling rod (e.g. 224 FIG.11, 52 FIG.13) having a first end hinged to the second rotating assembly and a second end hinged to the first end of the coupling rod and the supporting assembly (e.g. through 30 shown FIG.13).
Regarding claim 3 WU discloses:
the first end of the first coupling rod is coaxially hinged to the first rotating assembly and the second end of the second coupling rod (e.g. shown FIG.13), and the first coupling rod and the second coupling rod are arranged side by side between the first rotating assembly and the second rotating assembly (e.g. shown FIG.13).
Regarding claim 4 WU discloses:
the supporting assembly comprises: a supporting member (e.g. 30/40 FIG.12) hinged to the first rotating assembly (e.g. shown FIG.12), the supporting member being also hinged to the coupling rod assembly (e.g. shown FIG.12); and
a fixed member (e.g. 21 FIG.10) slidably coupled to the second rotating assembly (e.g. shown FIG.9), the fixed member being also hinged to the coupling rod assembly (e.g. shown FIG.9), wherein the supporting member is rotatably coupled to the fixed member (e.g. shown FIG.12).
Regarding claim 5 WU discloses:
the supporting member comprises: a first hinge part (e.g. bottom of 30/40 shown FIG.12) hinged to the coupling rod assembly and the first rotating assembly (e.g. shown FIG.12).
Regarding claim 6 WU discloses:
the fixed member comprises: a second hinge part hinged to the coupling rod assembly (e.g. sections with holes therein shown FIG.10); and
a first sliding groove slidably coupled to the second rotating assembly (e.g. with 221 therethrough FIG.9).
Regarding claim 7 WU discloses:
a limiting member (e.g. 32/42 FIG.17) hinged to the supporting member, the limiting member being also slidably coupled to the fixed member (e.g. between 21 and 31 shown FIG.11).
Regarding claim 8 WU discloses:
the fixed member is provided with a second sliding groove (e.g. at least two shown FIG.17);
the limiting member is provided with a fixed part slidably coupled to the second sliding groove (e.g. where 31 interfaces with 32 FIG.11), wherein when the supporting assembly is in a folded state, the fixed part is abutted against a first end of the second sliding groove close to a side of the base frame assembly (e.g. shown FIG.11).
Regarding claim 9 WU discloses:
an extension direction of the second sliding groove is parallel to a sliding direction of the second rotating assembly and the supporting assembly (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.11).
Regarding claim 10 WU discloses:
the limiting member comprises a third hinge part (e.g. 324 FIG.11);
a side of the supporting assembly facing away from the second supporting face is provided with a first mounting part (e.g. face of 21 shown FIG.10), and the third hinge part of the limiting member is hinged to the first mounting part of the supporting assembly (e.g. shown FIG.11).
Regarding claim 11 WU discloses:
the fixed member is provided with a first arc-shaped sliding groove;
the supporting member is provided with a first sliding part (e.g. 332 FIG.12), and the first sliding part is arranged in the first arc-shaped sliding groove (213 FIG.12); wherein
when the supporting assembly is in a folded state, the first sliding part is abutted against a bottom of the first arc-shaped sliding groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.12).
Regarding claim 12 WU discloses:
the fixed member comprises an abutment inclined face (e.g. shown FIG.11), and an opening of the first arc-shaped sliding groove is toward a side of the abutment inclined face (e.g. shown FIG.11); and
when the supporting assembly is in the folded state, the supporting member is abutted against the abutment inclined face (e.g. shown FIG.11), the second supporting face is obliquely arranged with the first supporting face (e.g. shown FIG.7), and an inclination direction of the second supporting face is identical to a folding direction of the supporting assembly (e.g. indicated FIG.7).
Regarding claim 13 WU discloses:
a base frame (e.g. shown FIG.7), the first supporting face being located on the base frame (e.g. indicated FIG.7), the second rotating assembly being hinged to a side of the base frame facing away from the first supporting face (e.g. shown FIG.9); and
a cover plate (e.g. bottom of 10 shown not specifically denoted FIG.11), one of the cover plate and the base frame being provided with an arc-shaped protrusion (e.g. for 23 shown FIG.12), the other of the cover plate and the base frame being provided with an arc-shaped groove (e.g. for 23 shown FIG.12), the arc-shaped protrusion and the arc-shaped groove enclosing a second arc-shaped sliding groove (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.9), the second arc-shaped sliding groove being located at a side facing away from the first supporting face (e.g. shown FIG.9), the first rotating assembly being rotatably arranged in the second arc-shaped sliding groove (e.g. shown FIG.9).
Regarding claim 14 WU discloses:
a side of the base frame facing away from the first supporting face is provided with a second mounting part (e.g. section of 10 shown FIG.11), the second rotating assembly is hinged to the second mounting part (e.g. shown FIG.11), and the base frame is provided with an avoidance part at a position close to the second mounting part (e.g. shown FIG.11).
Regarding claim 15 WU discloses:
the first rotating assembly and the second rotating assembly are parallel to a rotation centerline of the base frame assembly and are not coaxial (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.12).
Regarding claim 16 WU discloses:
the second rotating assembly comprises: a first rotating member (e.g. 22 FIG.11); and
a second rotating member (e.g. 25 FIG.11), the first rotating member and the second rotating member are respectively coupled to opposite two sides of the base frame assembly (e.g. shown FIG.11).
Regarding claim 17 WU discloses:
the first rotating member or the second rotating member comprises:
a sliding part (e.g. 223 FIG.11) arranged on the supporting assembly, when the supporting assembly is switched from an unfolded state to a folded state, the sliding part sliding to an end close to the base frame assembly (e.g. shown FIG.12-FIG.13);
a rotating part (e.g. 222 FIG.11) arranged on the base frame assembly, the rotating part being hinged to the base frame assembly (e.g. shown FIG.11); and
a hinge part (e.g. with 224 therethrough FIG.11) arranged between the sliding part and the rotating part, and coaxially hinged to the coupling rod assembly.
Regarding claim 19 WU discloses:
An electronic device, comprising:
a display screen (e.g. 1100 FIG.7); and
a hinge structure (e.g. 100 FIG.8), comprising:
a base frame assembly (e.g. 10 FIG.7) comprising a first supporting face (e.g. shown FIG.7);
a supporting assembly (e.g. 21, 30/40 FIG.7) comprising a second supporting face (e.g. shown FIG.7);
a first rotating assembly (e.g. 23 FIG.12) rotatably coupled to the base frame assembly (e.g. shown FIG.12);
a second rotating assembly (e.g. 22 FIG.11) rotatably coupled to the base frame assembly, the second rotating assembly being slidably coupled to the supporting assembly (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.12); and
a coupling rod assembly (e.g. plural rod shaped structures connecting components shown FIG.12) hinged to the supporting assembly, the first rotating assembly and the second rotating assembly, wherein the display screen is arranged on the first supporting face and the second supporting face (e.g. shown FIG.7); and wherein
the coupling rod assembly comprises:
a first coupling rod having a first end hinged to the first rotating assembly and a second end hinged to the supporting assembly (e.g. 51 shown attached to 30 on one end and 23 on the other FIG.13); and
a second coupling rod (e.g. 224 FIG.11, 52 FIG.13) having a first end hinged to the second rotating assembly and a second end hinged to the first end of the coupling rod and the supporting assembly (e.g. through 30 shown FIG.13).
Regarding claim 20 WU discloses:
the first hinge part has an opening (e.g. gap between 30/40 and 10 FIG.12) not less than a sum of widths of the first end of the first rotating assembly, the first end of the first coupling rod and the second end of the second coupling rod (e.g. shown FIG.12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (US 2022/0104370) in view of LAIO et al. (US 2021/0181808).
Regarding claim 18 WU discloses:
The hinge structure according to claim 16
WU does not explicitly disclose:
a synchronization assembly coupled to the first rotating member and the second rotating member, the synchronization assembly being configured to synchronously drive the first rotating member and the second rotating member to unfold or fold
LIAO teaches:
a synchronization assembly (e.g. 163, 164 FIG.17) coupled to the first rotating member (e.g. 162 FIG.17) and the second rotating member (e.g. 161 FIG.17), the synchronization assembly being configured to synchronously drive the first rotating member and the second rotating member to unfold or fold (e.g. described paragraph [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of LIAO as pointed out above, in WU, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have would have recognized the teaching, suggestion, and motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (as pointed out above) to arrive at the claimed invention, and would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification would have allowed for: “so that a good supporting function can be provided for the flexible display” (paragraph [0010]) (e.g. to prevent screen damage from misfolding).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026-02-12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicants arguments with respect to the argued rods and their hingedness.
As a first matter it must be noted that the claims are interpreted in light of the specification without importing limitations from the specification into the claims (MPEP 2111) and that unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, the words of a claim must be given their “plain meaning”(MPEP 2111.01). As the applicant has not acted as their own lexicographer (MPEP 2111.01(IV)) and has not defined the argued term “hinged”, then one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the plain meaning as from a dictionary (merriam-webster.com/dictionary/hinged) provides the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. Merriam-Webster provides at least the following “a jointed or flexible device on which a door, lid, or other swinging part turns” as the plain meaning. Note that the definition provided does not require direct connection, only that the parts turn on the joint. As is shown in FIG.11 21/30 and 23 turns on/around 51 then it discloses the argued limitation(s) whether or not the argued elements are directly connected.
While 224 may slide relative to the first support plate 30, applicant is directed to FIG.11 which clearly shows that the connection between 224 and 30 is not a straight track, but instead is a curved track. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have understood that as a rod (as 224) travels along a curved track it must also necessarily rotate/turn. As the definition of “hinged” requires that the part turn on the joint, then one of ordinary skill in the art, giving the claims their plain meaning (MPEP 2111.01) and reading the claims in light of the specification without importing limitations from the specification into the claims (MPEP 2111), would understand that 224 is hinged to 22 and 30 even if it slides as it hinges.
As both 224 and 51 are connected to 30, both 224 and 51 are connected, through 30. As yet the claims do not require the argued rods connect directly.
Applicant previously argues that direct connection is required in order for the elements to be hinged, however with respect to 52, applicant argues that because 52 is fixed to 30 it is not hinged. Ultimately the question before the office is whether one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the argued elements to be hinged, not whether or not they are directly or indirectly connected or fixed (see definition of “hinged” above). As the angle between 23 and 30 changes 30 must turn on/around 52, as 30 turns on/around 52 then it is hinged to 52 as claimed insofar as one of ordinary skill in the art, giving the claims their plain meaning (MPEP 2111.01) and reading the claims in light of the specification without importing limitations from the specification into the claims (MPEP 2111), would understand the terms of the claim(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Limited examiner interviews are available.
/THERON S MILLISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841