DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17, 20, 23, and 24 are pending.
Domestic Benefit
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Instant application is a U.S. National Stage Entry of PCT/US2022/082555, filed 12/29/2022. PCT/US2022/082555 claims benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/294,769, filed 12/29/2021. Therefore, the effective filing date is 12/29/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 20, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for compounds of the formula in claim 1 where Ph is substituted with one or two C-1-3 haloalkyl or halogen substituents; and where R is C2-8 alkyl or C4-8 alkyl-O-alkyl, does not reasonably provide enablement for compounds of the formula of instant claim 1. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
To be enabling, the specification of the patent application must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561 (Fd. Cir. 1993). Explaining what is meant by "undue experimentation," the Federal Circuit has stated that:
The test is not merely quantitative, since a considerable amount of experimentation is permissible, if it is merely routine, or if the specification in question provides a reasonable amount of guidance with respect to the direction in which experimentation should proceed to enable the determination of how to practice a desired embodiment of the claimed invention. PPG v. Guardian, 75 F.3d 1558, 1564 (Fed. Cir. 1996). As pointed out by the court in In re Angstadt, 537 F.2d 498 at 504 (CCPA 1976), the key word is "undue", not "experimentation".
The factors that may be considered in determining whether a disclosure would require undue experimentation are set forth In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1988) at 1404 wherein, citing Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Apls. 1986) at 547 the court recited eight factors:
1- the quantity of experimentation necessary,
2- the amount of direction or guidance provided,
3- the presence or absence of working examples,
4- the nature of the invention,
5- the state of the prior art,
6- the relative skill of those in the art,
7- the predictability of the art, and
8- the breadth of the claims
These factors are always applied against the background understanding that scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability involved. In re Fisher, 57 CCPA 1099, 1108, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (1970). Keeping that in mind, the Wands factors are relevant to the instant fact situation for the following reasons:
The nature of the invention
The nature of the invention relates to compounds of the formula in claim 1. Such compounds are useful for the treatment of hair loss. This invention is also directed to compositions and methods comprising said compounds.
Predictability of the art
The hypothetical compounds in claim 1 would be unpredictable in terms of one skilled in the art being able to synthesize every possible compound claimed in instant claim 1. It is well established that “the scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved,” and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor. See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
In terms of the law, MPEP 2107.03 states “evidence of pharmacological or other biological activity of a compound will be relevant to an asserted therapeutic use if there is a reasonable correlation between the activity in question and the asserted utility. Cross v. Iizuka, 753 F.2d 1040, 224 USPQ 739 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Jolles, 628 F.2d 1322, 206 USPQ 885 (CCPA 1980); Nelson v. Bowler, 626 F.2d 853, 206 USPQ 881 (CCPA 1980).” If correlation is lacking, it cannot be relied upon, Ex parte Powers, 220 USPQ 924; Rey-Bellet and Spiegelberg v. Engelhardt v. Schindler, 181 USPQ 453; Knapp v. Anderson, 177 USPQ 688. Indeed, the correlation must have been established “at the time the tests were performed”, Hoffman v. Klaus, 9 USPQ2d 1657.
Level of skill in the art
An ordinary artisan in the area of drug development would have experience in synthesizing and screening chemical compounds for particular activities, such as a medical doctor or chemist. Screening of new drug candidates, while complex, is routine in the art. The process of finding new drugs that have in vitro activity against a particular biological target, (i.e., receptor, enzyme, etc.) is well known. Additionally, while high throughput screening assays can often be employed, developing a therapeutic method, as claimed, is generally not well-known or routine, given the complexity of certain biological systems.
4. The breadth of the claims
The scope of the claims involves compounds of the formula in claim 1, shown below.
Claim 1 is very broad in the number of variables and the options of substituents for each variable. There is an indefinite amount of hypothetical compounds included in claim 1.
5. The amount of direction provided, the presence or absence of working examples, and the quantity of experimentation necessary
The specification only provides the synthesis of 12 compounds . In all of the compounds synthesized, Ph is substituted with either one or two CF3 groups, and R is either C2-5 alkyl or C4 alkyl-O-alkyl. However, it would be assumed that the inventors are also enabled for Ph being substituted with C-1-3 haloalkyl or halogen substituents; and compounds where R is C2-8 alkyl or C4-8 alkyl-O-alkyl, since these substituents are similar in size and reactivity.
Synthesis methods are not taught in the specification to provide for the aforementioned variables to include all of the possible substituents listed in the claims. It would be expected that the varying ring sizes (e.g., R) and optional substituents (e.g., Ph and R) would change the reactivity of the compounds, and therefore may require alternate synthesis methods. It could also be possible that some combinations of compounds may not be able to be synthesized due to their instability (e.g., the undefined R and Ph optional substituents). It would require one skilled in the art, such as a chemist, to perform thousands of reactions to determine which compounds of the formula in claim 1 can be prepared and would require synthesis methods other than those provided in the specification. This is undue experimentation given the limited guidance and direction provided by Applicants.
Accordingly, the instant claims do not comply with the enablement requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a), since to practice the claimed invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation, with no assurance of success.
Claims 20, 23, and 24 are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected claim and failing to further limit the structure of the formula in claim 1.
Claims 1-5, 20, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "optionally substituted" renders the claims indefinite because the claims include elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "optionally substituted"), thereby rendering the scope of the claims unascertainable. The specification teaches, on page 2, that “substituents” have the “broadest meaning known to one of ordinary skill in the art”, and provides only nonlimiting examples of optional substituents. Therefore, there are an indefinite number of compounds falling under the scope of the instant claims in the absence of a definition of the optional substituents. Claims 2-5, 20, 23, and 24 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim and failing to define the optional substituents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 20, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Sun et al. (WO 2022006039 A1), hereinafter referred to as Reference ‘039.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Reference ‘039 teaches, in claim 1, compounds of the formula shown below. The compounds are taught, in claims 95 and 99, to grow hair and to treat alopecia and baldness, as in instant claims 20, 23, and 24.
Two specific compounds, taught in claim 90, are shown below. These compounds differ from the compounds of instant claims 1-3, 7, and 9 only in that they contain an -OMe group rather than an -OH group.
MPEP 2144.09 II: “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).”
While the exact compounds of claims 7 and 9 are not disclosed by Reference ‘039, it is generally noted that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen on a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Lincoln, 126 U.S.P.Q. 477, 53 U.S. P.Q. 40 (C.C.P.A. 1942); In re Druey, 319 F.2d 237, 138 U.S.P.Q. 39 (C.C. P.A. 1963); In re Lohr, 317 F.2d 388, 137 U.S.P.Q. 548 (C.C.P.A. 1963); In re Hoehsema, 399 F.2d 269, 158 U.S.P.Q. 598 (C.C.P.A. 1968); In re Wood, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S. P.Q. 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978); In re Hoke, 560 F.2d 436, 195 U.S.P.Q. 148 (C.C.PA.A. 1977); Ex parte Fauque, 121 U.S.P.Q. 425 (P.O.B.A. 1954); Ex parte Henkel, 130 U.S.P.Q. 474, (P.O.B.A. 1960). Given that applicant did not provide unexpected or unobvious results of the invention, it is concluded that the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known would provide the motivation to substitute the “methyl” group to a hydrogen.
Regarding the compounds of instant claims 4-6, 8, and 10-17, Reference ‘039 claim 1 teaches that R2 may be H, and, in claim 72, that Z is
. The scope of the claims of the prior art fully encompass the compounds of instant claims 4-6, 8, and 10-17, and specific examples in reference claim 90 only differ from the instant compounds on the presence or absence of a -CF3 group and/or an -OH group. MPEP 2144.08 states: “The closer the physical and/or chemical similarities between the claimed species or subgenus and any exemplary species or subgenus disclosed in the prior art, the greater the expectation that the claimed subject matter will function in an equivalent manner to the genus. See, e.g., Dillon, 919 F.2d at 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1904 (and cases cited therein).”
However, the instant compounds are rendered prima facie obvious in view of the prior art compounds, since the compounds are taught to be used for the same purpose, and the prior art suggests the changes needed to be made to arrive at the instant compounds. MPEP 2144.08 states: “If the claimed invention and the structurally similar prior art species share any useful property, that will generally be sufficient to motivate an artisan of ordinary skill to make the claimed species, (919 F.2d at 692, 16 USPQ2d at 1900-01). In fact, similar properties may normally be presumed when compounds are very close in structure. Dillon, 919 F.2d at 693, 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1901, 1904. See also In re Grabiak, 769 F.2d 729, 731, 226 USPQ 870, 871 (Fed. Cir. 1985) ("When chemical compounds have ‘very close’ structural similarities and similar utilities, without more a prima facie case may be made."). Thus, evidence of similar properties or evidence of any useful properties disclosed in the prior art that would be expected to be shared by the claimed invention weighs in favor of a conclusion that the claimed invention would have been obvious. Dillon, 919 F.2d at 697-98, 16 USPQ2d at 1905; In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 461, 195 USPQ 426, 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 1016, 173 USPQ 560, 562 (CCPA 1972)”.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success synthesizing compounds falling under the scope of the prior art compounds, in order to use said compounds for the same purpose, since both the structure and method of use are suggested or taught in the prior art.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-17, 20, 23, and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10, 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,559,490 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each.
The compounds in Patent ‘490 overlap with the scope of the instant compounds. Patent ‘490 teaches, in claim 10, that Y is -O-, and in claim 14, that R2 is H, as in the instant claims.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select the claimed compounds from the genus of the copending application since such compounds would have been suggested by the claims of the copending application. It has been held that a prior art disclosed genus of useful compounds is sufficient to render prima facie obvious a species falling within a genus. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423, 425 (CCPA 1971), followed by the Federal Circuit in Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 847 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ 2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989).
In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See also Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharm. USA, Inc., 518 F.3d 1353, 86 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Geneva Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. GlaxoSmithKline PLC, 349 F3d 1373, 1385-86, 68 USPQ2d 1865, 1875 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Here, the same compounds are recited in both the instant application and the patent. Although the patent does not claim methods, the disclosure of the patent (abstract) recites “methods of promoting hair growth or treating conditions…such as baldness or alopecia”.
Claims 1-17, 20, 23, and 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5, 93, 98, and 115 of copending Application No. 18/013,808 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The compounds claimed in copending Application ‘808 and the method of using said compound for promoting hair growth overlaps with the scope of the compounds and method of use in the instant application. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select the claimed compounds from the genus of the copending application since such compounds would have been suggested by the claims of the copending application. It has been held that a prior art disclosed genus of useful compounds is sufficient to render prima facie obvious a species falling within a genus. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423, 425 (CCPA 1971), followed by the Federal Circuit in Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 847 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ 2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Specific compounds taught in copending Application ‘808 differ by the substitution of an -H for a -CH3, or the absence of an -OH group. See above 103 rejection for prima facie obvious reasoning.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-17, 20, 23, and 24 are rejected.
/R.M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1624
/JEFFREY H MURRAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1624