DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed February 5, 2026 has been received, Claims 1-6 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the Specification/International Search Report is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manning (US 2009/0205097) in view of Beisemann (DE 102010048733 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Manning discloses a footwear shaper device, comprising a contoured insert (10d,10e) having a tapered distal end (i.e. toe end, as seen in annotated Figure below) and a wider proximal end (at Wa), a sheath (16) having a closed distal end (i.e. toe end of 16) and an open proximal end (i.e. foot opening of 16), and a pouch (10f creates a pouch) integrated with a top portion of the sheath, the pouch configured to receive the insert (as seen in Fig.2 & 3; para.16 & 20), wherein the footwear shaper device is fitted to a foot, and the foot is inserted into a shoe, such that the insert occupies vertical space between the wearer's foot and an interior upper portion of the shoe to reduce creasing of the shoe upper portion (as seen in Fig.2 & 3; para.12).
Manning does not disclose the insert having a graduated thickness. However, Beisemann teaches a contoured insert (1) having a graduated thickness (as seen in Fig.1 & 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insert of Manning to have a graduated thickness, as taught by Beisemann, in order to provide the desired level of cushioning to the top of a user’s foot, for enhanced comfort and support.
Regarding Claim 2, Manning discloses a footwear shaper device of claim 1, wherein the contoured insert is in a trapezoidal or tapered toe-box shape (see annotated Figure above).
Regarding Claim 3, Manning discloses a footwear shaper device of claim 1, wherein the contoured insert is in a round (of 10c) or square toe box shape (as seen in Fig.1).
Regarding Claim 4, Manning discloses a footwear shaper device of claim 1, wherein the contoured insert (10d,10e) has a three-dimensional polygonal configuration (as seen in Fig.1 & 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Manning discloses a footwear shaper device of claim 1, wherein the contoured insert is made from materials comprising, gel, silicone, natural fibers, synthetic fibers, foam, elastomers, hook-and loop closures, adhesives, elastics, and combinations thereof (para.16 & 18).
Regarding Claim 6, Manning discloses a method for reducing shoe upper creasing while encouraging natural foot mechanics during walking, the method steps comprising: obtaining the footwear shaper device of claim 1 (Abstract & see Claim 1 above), inserting a wearer’s foot, toes first, into a sheath (16) of the footwear shaper device, whereby a contoured insert (10d,10e) of the footwear shaper device rests on top of the wearer’s toes (para.12), inserting the wearer’s foot with the footwear shaper device into a shoe (20) having an interior upper portion, reducing a vertical distance between the shoe interior upper portion and a wearer’s metatarsals and phalanges (as seen in Fig.3, the height of 10d,10e would reduce the vertical height between the shoe and a wearer), and placing pressure with the contoured insert of the footwear shaper device against the shoe interior upper portion to prevent sagging and creasing of the shoe interior upper portion and a shoe top exterior while encouraging natural foot mechanics while walking (as seen in Fig.2; inasmuch as has been claimed by Applicant, the structure of Manning is capable of placing pressure on the shoe upper to prevent sagging and creasing, while also allowing a user to walk normally).
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732