DETAILED ACTION
The IDS filed 6/29/2024 was received and considered.
Claims 1-11 (preliminary amendment 6/29/2024) are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: The Examiner suggests replacing “An operating monitoring system” with “A system” to maintain consistency with the independent claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “task scheduler unit” (set of task scheduler units, the task scheduler set scheduling…) and “monitoring unit” (“monitoring unit determining…”) in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “unit” (“task scheduler unit” (set of task scheduler units, the task scheduler set scheduling…) and “monitoring unit” (“monitoring unit determining…”) in claim 1) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification discloses “task scheduler unit” and “monitoring unit”, but does not provide specific hardware or detailed steps such that a skilled artisan could determine the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claims 2-10 inherit the deficiency.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the task scheduler set” (lines 6-7) lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purposes of this Office Action, "the task scheduler set" is understood to refer to "set of task scheduling units" (line 6).
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the monitoring system” (line 9) lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purposes of this Office Action, "the monitoring system" is understood to refer to "system for monitoring" (lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the number of queries” (lines 10-11) lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the state of operation” (lines 17-18) lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Claims 2-10 inherit the deficiencies.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “the memory storage unit” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “the memory storage unit” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “the memory storage unit” lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Claims 6-9 inherit the deficiencies.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “being located in within the memory management unit” renders the claim indefinite, as the claim language is unclear as to the structural relationship between the memory unit and memory management unit.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “the task scheduler set” (lines 6-7) lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purposes of this Office Action, "the task scheduler set" is understood to refer to "set of task scheduling units" (line 6).
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “the number of queries” (line 13) lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “the state of operation” (line 20) lacks sufficient antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0275288 A1 (Sethumadhavan et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Sethumadhavan discloses a system for monitoring the operation of a computer, the computer (system 200, ¶49; Fig. 2) comprising: hardware blocks (monitoring system that includes different cores, ¶64), with the hardware blocks comprising a plurality of cores (¶64); a set of task scheduling units (processor-device comprises multiple cores, ¶64, ¶67; each process comprises a process ID (PID), ¶64), the task scheduler set scheduling execution of a task by assigning it an identifier (processor-device comprises multiple cores, ¶64, ¶67; each process comprises a process ID (PID), ¶64), and storing the identifier on a first memory storage unit (process ID recorded to enable associating/correlating the micro-architectural data with the process whose execution resulted in the obtained micro-architectural data, ¶64), the monitoring system comprising: a collection unit (micro-architectural performance counters and sampling unit, ¶63) counting the number of queries of each hardware block during execution of a task (the sampling unit 212 may be configured to obtain hardware micro-architectural data (including micro-architectural performance counter data) from the counters of the hardware monitored through data push procedures and/or through data pull procedures, ¶49; hardware-based controller devices include hardware-related performance counters that may be configured to count a variety of events such as cycles, instructions, cache misses, ¶50; micro-architectural data is stored in a database, ¶68), reading the identifier of the executed task in the first memory storage unit, forming an association between a query and the corresponding identifier, and storing each association formed on a second memory storage unit (system is configured for maintaining processes' PID's along with obtained micro-architectural data may enable tracking the behavior of processes as they switch execution to different hardware devices, ¶64); and a monitoring unit determining the state of operation of the computer by using the stored associations (AV engine 210, including sampling unit used to obtain time-based data of the output of the various hardware performance counters (and/or other output points) monitored for one or more processes, ¶64; the AV engine 210, may be configured to iteratively analyze training input data and the input data's corresponding output ( e.g., a determination of a process type and/or identification of a process corresponding to the input data), ¶69).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 2, Sethumadhavan disclose wherein each task is a software task (detection of anomalous program execution processes, ¶44; ¶64) and said collection unit is a physical component (hardware-based micro-architectural data (e.g., data from hardware performance counters) such as processor load density data, ¶47).
Regarding claim 3, Sethumadhavan discloses wherein a hardware block is a main memory (system comprises a hardware block in the form of main memory, ¶95) shared by the cores (monitoring system that includes different cores, ¶64), with the memory storage unit forming part of the main memory (database 214 is realized, at least in part on the hardware device being monitored, ¶67; AV engine can be configured for allocating one of a processor-device's multiple general purpose cores to execute a software realization of the database 214; a skilled artisan would understand that software executing on the system utilizes main memory1).
Regarding claim 5, Sethumadhavan discloses wherein the memory storage unit (performance counter) is a memory unit (sampling unit 212 is configured to obtain hardware micro-architectural data/counter data stored in the counters through data push procedures and/or through data pull procedures, ¶63) that is specific to a core (a system being monitored includes multiple processor cores (each with its own set of performance counters), ¶64).
Regarding claim 8, Sethumadhavan discloses wherein each core comprises a performance measurement unit (performance counter, ¶64), the memory unit specific to a core being contained within the performance measurement unit (the system being monitored includes multiple processor cores (each with its own set of performance counters that store performance data), ¶64; the sampling unit 212 may be configured to obtain hardware micro-architectural data (including micro-architectural performance counter data) from the counters of the hardware monitored through data push procedures and/or through data pull procedures, ¶63).
Regarding claim 9, Sethumadhavan discloses wherein each core comprises a performance measurement unit (performance counter; a system being monitored includes multiple processor cores (each with its own set of performance counters), ¶64), said collection unit (sampling unit) being formed by the entire set of performance measurement units (the sampling unit 212 may be configured to obtain hardware micro-architectural data (including micro-architectural performance counter data) from the counters of the hardware monitored through data push procedures and/or through data pull procedures, ¶63).
Regarding claim 10, Sethumadhavan discloses wherein the first memory storage unit (performance counter; a system being monitored includes multiple processor cores (each with its own set of performance counters), ¶64) is distinct from the second memory storage unit (sampling unit; the sampling unit 212 may be configured to obtain hardware micro-architectural data (including micro-architectural performance counter data) from the counters of the hardware monitored through data push procedures and/or through data pull procedures, ¶63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sethumadhavan, as applied to claim 1, in view of “A secure exception mode for fault-attack-resistant processing” (Yuce et al.).
Regarding claim 4, Sethumadhavan lacks wherein a hardware block is a debug support unit shared by the cores, with the memory storage unit forming part of the debug support unit. However, Yuce teaches that it was known to monitor for fault and side-channel attacks (§1, ¶1; §5.3) by monitoring a processor’s operation (p. 391, §3, ¶2) using a debug support unit (§5.3.1; see also §5.3.2, ¶2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify wherein a hardware block is a debug support unit shared by the cores, with the memory storage unit forming part of the debug support unit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to utilize a known mechanism (such as for the LEON3 core, Yuce, §5.3.2) to enable monitoring of the processor’s performance, as taught by Yuce.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sethumadhavan, as applied to claim 5, in view of US 2014/0040553 A1 (Liang et al.).
Regarding claim 6, Sethumadhavan lacks wherein each core comprises a tightly coupled memory unit, the memory unit specific to a core being the tightly coupled memory unit. However, Liang, in an analogous art (multi-core processing), teaches that it was known for processor cores to utilize tightly-coupled memory (TCM) as low-latency memory that provides a processing core with fast access to data without the unpredictably of other types of memory cache (¶24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sethumadhavan such that each core comprises a tightly coupled memory unit, the memory unit specific to a core being the tightly coupled memory unit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to utilize low-latency memory that provides a processing core with fast access to data, as taught by Liang.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sethumadhavan, as applied to claim 5, in view of US 2011/0179255 A1 (Pathirane et al.).
Regarding claim 7, Sethumadhavan lacks wherein each core comprises a memory management unit, the memory management unit specific to a core being located with the memory management unit. However, Pathirane teaches that it was known to provide a processing core with a memory management unit to control access to its memory (¶43). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sethumadhavan such that each core comprises a memory management unit, the memory management unit specific to a core being located with the memory management unit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to utilize a known architecture to provide a processing core access to memory, as taught by Pathirane.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190130104 A1 (Carlson; Paul et al.) teaches detecting side-channel exploits by monitoring cache misses and DTLB load misses by a CPU (¶¶19-20), including multiple cores (¶29), and analyzing the data with control circuitry, including machine learning (¶36, ¶42; see also ¶¶64-67). The performance monitoring circuitry maps an interrupt to a process identifier (PID) (¶67).
US 20230205872 A1 (Kotra; Jagadish B. et al.) teaches memory attacks such as rowhammer (¶23), including identifying a malicious thread (¶16) executing on a processor core (¶¶15-16) based on a counter for each memory row in a memory exceeding a threshold (¶17; ¶¶20-22 describes identifying the thread).
US 20200380130 A1 (Purushotham; Srinivas Bangalore et al.) teaches detecting side-channel attacks by monitoring processes associated (¶74) with memory accesses that exceed a threshold (¶¶68-74. The disclosure provides for a hypervisor 103, system functions 104, read/write request information 106, storage 107, memory controller 120, and memory 125 (¶20), where hypervisor 103 assigns a process identifier (PID) to each process, task, or other computing entity executing within an instance of system 102 (¶21; see also ¶¶34-35 and ¶38) and including a program for monitoring input/output (I/O) activity ( e.g., amounts of data, rates of data, etc.) associated with various tasks or applications, such as write activity associated with an executing process, internal and/or external network traffic activity, etc. (¶23; includes monitoring counters, ¶27).
“WHISPER: A tool for run-time detection of side-channel attacks” (Mushtaq, Maria, et al.) teaches detecting side-channel attacks (p. 83875, §3) using machine learning (p. 83876, §IV) using a multi-hardware block system (p. 83876, Figure 1). The system uses hardware performance counters (p. 83877, §3-B) monitoring queries to caches (p. 83878) that are accessed by an operating system (p. 83883, §V-A) in a shared memory architecture (pp. 83876-83877, IV-A).
“HexPADS: a platform to detect “stealth” attacks” (Payer, Mathias) teaches using performance counters, including a PMU to monitor performance events (p. 141, §3.2) related to specific processes (p. 141, ¶1, p. 142, Fig. 1).
“CBA-detector: An accurate detector against cache-based attacks using HPCs and pintools” (Zheng, Beilei, Jianan Gu, and Chuliang Weng) teaches detecting cache-based attacks using hardware performance counters (abstract) in a system including multiple cores sharing memory (p. 112, §3).
/Michael Simitoski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493
February 26, 2026
1 For example, “WHISPER: A tool for run-time detection of side-channel attacks” (Mushtaq, Maria, et al.) teaches detecting side-channel attacks (p. 83875, §3) using machine learning (p. 83876, §IV) using a multi-hardware block system (p. 83876, Figure 1) using a shared memory architecture (pp. 83876-83877, IV-A).