DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 8, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 4-6 of Remarks, Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the amended limitations of claim 1. In particular, the Applicant argues that Jang et al. (US Publication 2019/0237252) fails to teach a hollow pipe-shaped electrode pole that comprises a metal layer that is formed on the inner surface of the electrode pole and a metal that fills the inside of the electrode pole.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above assertion. Jang discloses forming a trench (T1, T2 – Figure 4B) that is hollow in nature (¶58-59). Jang further discloses using an atomic layer deposition process to form the electrodes 120 (¶60-61). Such a process involves multiple iterations, and therefore, a metal layer is formed on the inner surface of the trench. The trench is further filled with metal until the electrode formation process is complete (Figure 4C, ¶61). Thus, Jang discloses the limitations of amended claim 1. Furthermore, the Applicant has not distinguished between the metal layer and the filling metal. As shown in the Instant Rejection, any portion of elements 121 and 122 that is adjacent to the walls of T1 and T2 can be considered a metal layer, and any portion within the metal layer can be considered a metal filling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US Publication 2019/0237252).
Figure 2 of Jang with Examiner’s Comments (Figure 2EC)
In re claim 1, Jang discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a ceramic body (110, 210 – Figure 2, Figure 3, ¶23) in which a plurality of dielectric layers (Figure 2, Figure 3; Note that the substrate can be divided into an arbitrary number of layers.) are stacked;
a lower electrode (121, 122 on 110 – Figure 2, ¶23) formed on a lower surface of the ceramic body (Figure 2, Figure 3; Note that the Examiner is taking the top surface of 110 to be the ‘lower surface’.); and
an electrode pole (121 in T1, 122 in T2 – Figure 2, ¶23) formed from the lower surface of the ceramic body (110 – Figure 2) toward an inner center of the ceramic body (Figure 2), wherein the lower electrode comprises a first lower electrode (121 – Figure 2) and a second lower electrode (122 – Figure 2) formed on both sides of the lower surface of the ceramic body (Figure 2), and wherein the electrode pole comprises:
a first electrode pole (121 in T1 – Figure 2) formed on one side of the lower surface of the ceramic body (110 – Figure 2) and electrically connected to the first lower electrode (121 – Figure 2); and
a second electrode pole (122 in T2 – Figure 2) formed on the other side of the lower surface of the ceramic body (110 – Figure 2) and electrically connected to the second lower electrode (122 – Figure 2),
wherein the first electrode pole (121 in T1 – Figure 2) and the second electrode pole (122 in T2 – Figure 2) are disposed to be spaced apart from each other such that length directions thereof are parallel to a height direction of the ceramic body (Figure 2),
and wherein no inner electrode is disposed inside the ceramic body (Figure 2), and the first electrode pole (121 in T1 – Figure 2) and the second electrode pole (122 in T2 – Figure 2) are configured to function as electrodes to form capacitance therebetween (¶31),
wherein each of the first electrode pole and the second electrode pole has a hollow pipe shape (shape formed by T1 and T2, ¶59),
wherein a metal layer (ML1, ML2 – Figure 2EC) is formed on an inner surface of each of the first electrode pole and the second electrode pole, and
wherein an inside of each of the first electrode pole and the second electrode pole is filled with metal (MF1, MF2 – Figure 2EC).
In re claim 3, Jang discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Jang further discloses wherein the first electrode pole (121 in T1 – Figure 2) and the second electrode pole (122 in T2 – Figure 2) are formed to face each other at a location symmetrical to the lower surface of the ceramic body (top surface of 110 – Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US Publication 2019/0237252) in view of Fukudome et al. (US Publication 2008/0043400).
In re claim 4, Jang discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Jang further discloses the electrode poles (221 in 251, 222 in 252 – Figure 3, ¶52) can fully penetrate the ceramic substrate (210 – Figure 3, ¶51).
Jang does not disclose wherein a diameter of a cross section that is vertical to the length direction of the electrode pole is reduced toward an inner center of the ceramic body.
Fukudome discloses wherein a diameter of a cross section that is vertical to the length direction of the electrode pole (47 – Figure 2, Figure 5, ¶74) is reduced toward an inner center of the ceramic body (18 – Figure 2, ¶50, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the tapered conductors to suppress the amount of ringing (¶94: Fukudome).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US Publication 2019/0237252) in view of Masuda et al. (US Publication 2009/0154054).
In re claim 5, Jang discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 3, as explained above. Jang does not disclose wherein a plurality of first electrode poles are disposed along a length direction of the first lower electrode, and wherein a plurality of second electrode poles are disposed along a length direction of the second lower electrode, and the second electrode poles maintain the same interval as the interval of the first electrode poles, respectively.
Masuda discloses a plurality of first electrode poles (18 – Figure 1, ¶26) are disposed along a length direction of the first lower electrode (16 – Figure 1, ¶26), and wherein a plurality of second electrode poles (22 – Figure 1, ¶26) are disposed along a length direction of the second lower electrode (20 – Figure 1, ¶26), and the second electrode poles maintain the same interval as the interval of the first electrode poles, respectively (Figure 3; Note that the poles are evenly spaced.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the plurality of electrode poles as described by Masuda to increase the capacitance of the device (¶26: Masuda).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US Publication 2019/0237252).
In re claim 7, Jang discloses the multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Jang does not explicitly disclose the electrode pole is formed with a length that is equal to or smaller than a half of a height of the ceramic body. However, Jang discloses the depth of the trench, or electrode pole, is correlated to the capacitance of the device (¶31, ¶53, ¶67). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the length of the electrode pole to achieve a device having desired capacitance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shimabe et al. (US Publication 2015/0264815) [¶46]
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847