DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 12-18 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02 March 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tachibana (US 2018/0182536).
In regards to claim 1, Tachibana ‘536 discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a ceramic body (10 – fig. 3; [0045]) in which a plurality of dielectric layers (11 – fig. 2A; [0045]) are laminated;
a recessed part (16 – fig. 3; [0077]) formed to be depressed at a corner where a side surface of the ceramic body and a lower surface of the ceramic body come in contact with each other; and
a lower electrode (31 & 32 – fig. 3; [0078]) formed on the lower surface of the ceramic body.
In regards to claim 2, Tachibana ‘536 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, wherein the recessed part is formed to be depressed so that one side surface thereof is open (seen in fig. 3).
In regards to claim 3, Tachibana ‘536 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, wherein the recessed part is formed to be depressed so that a lower surface and one side surface thereof are open (fig. 3).
In regards to claim 4, Tachibana ‘536 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, wherein the recessed part is provided with a continuous curved surface that is formed to be depressed (fig. 3).
In regards to claim 7, Tachibana ‘536 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, wherein the ceramic body comprises an inner electrode (23 – fig. 2B & 3; [0050]) disposed inside the ceramic body, and wherein the inner electrode includes a first inner electrode spaced apart from the side surface of the ceramic body and having both ends that overlap the lower electrode (fig. 3).
Claim(s) 1-8 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahiko et al. (US 2002/0070442).
In regards to claim 1, Ahiko ‘442 discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a ceramic body (1 – fig. 14; [0096]) in which a plurality of dielectric layers are laminated ([0045]);
a recessed part (75 and/or 85 – fig. 13-16; [0121]) formed to be depressed at a corner where a side surface of the ceramic body and a lower surface of the ceramic body come in contact with each other; and
a lower electrode (portion of 44 on lower surface and/or portion of 55 on lower surface – fig. 13-16; [0096]) formed on the lower surface of the ceramic body.
In regards to claim 2, Ahiko ‘442 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, wherein the recessed part is formed to be depressed so that one side surface thereof is open (fig. 13-16).
In regards to claim 3, Ahiko ‘442 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, wherein the recessed part is formed to be depressed so that a lower surface and one side surface thereof are open (fig. 13-16).
In regards to claim 4, Ahiko ‘442 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, wherein the recessed part is provided with a continuous curved surface that is formed to be depressed (fig. 13-16).
In regards to claim 5, Ahiko ‘442 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 3, wherein the lower electrode is formed in a shape that opens the lower surface of the recessed part (fig. 13-16).
In regards to claim 6, Ahiko ‘442 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 5, wherein the lower electrode is formed to be depressed at a location that corresponds to the lower surface of the recessed part (fig. 13-16).
In regards to claim 7, Ahiko ‘442 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, wherein the ceramic body comprises an inner electrode (3 – fig. 16; [0100]) disposed inside the ceramic body, and wherein the inner electrode includes a first inner electrode (3 – fig. 16; [0100]) spaced apart from the side surface of the ceramic body and having both ends that overlap the lower electrode.
In regards to claim 8, Ahiko ‘442 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 7, wherein the inner electrode comprises a second inner electrode (2 – fig. 15; [0100]) disposed to be spaced apart from the first inner electrode and exposed to the recessed part.
In regards to claim 11, Ahiko ‘442 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, wherein the recessed part comprises a metal layer (443 and/or 553 – fig. 13-16; [0121]) formed on a surface of the recessed part and electrically connected to the lower electrode.
Claim(s) 1-3 & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US 2020/0350115).
In regards to claim 1, Kang ‘115 discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a ceramic body (110 – fig. 1; [0034]) in which a plurality of dielectric layers are laminated ([0034]);
a recessed part (R1 and/or R2 – fig. 2; [0036]) formed to be depressed at a corner where a side surface of the ceramic body and a lower surface of the ceramic body come in contact with each other; and
a lower electrode (portion of 121 on lower surface and/or portion of 122 on lower surface – fig. 2; [0037]) formed on the lower surface of the ceramic body.
In regards to claim 2, Kang ‘115 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, wherein the recessed part is formed to be depressed so that one side surface thereof is open (fig. 1-4).
In regards to claim 3, Kang ‘115 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, wherein the recessed part is formed to be depressed so that a lower surface and one side surface thereof are open (fig. 1-4).
In regards to claim 11, Kang ‘115 discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor of claim 1, wherein the recessed part comprises a metal layer (portion of 121 and/or 122 formed in recess – fig. 4; [0040]) formed on a surface of the recessed part and electrically connected to the lower electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang ‘115 in view of Tsutsumi et al. (US 2020/0066449).
In regards to claim 9,
Kang ‘115 fails to disclose wherein the ceramic body comprises a dummy electrode disposed inside the ceramic body and exposed to both side surfaces of the ceramic body.
Tsutsumi ‘449 discloses wherein the ceramic body (10 – fig. 1; [0026]) comprises a dummy electrode (11a and/or 11b – fig. 1; [0027]) disposed inside the ceramic body and exposed to both side surfaces of the ceramic body (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to from dummy electrodes as taught by Tsutsumi ‘449 in the ceramic body of Kang ‘115 so as to be exposed to surfaces parallel with the lower surface to obtain a device wherein a thin-film formed external electrode can be formed with good adhesion to the ceramic body.
In regards to claim 10,
Kang ‘115 as modified by Tsutsumi ‘449 further discloses wherein the dummy electrode is disposed inside the ceramic body and exposed through an upper surface of the recessed part (fig. 1 of Kang ‘115 and fig. 1 of Tsutsumi ‘449 – note the combination will have a dummy electrode formed at the lower surface of the body and at the upper surface of the recess to improved adhesion of plating layer formed thereon as an external electrode).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0019064 – fig. 1 & 7-8 JP2001244136A – fig. 1-4
US 2018/0332715 – fig. 1 US 8,716,741 – fig. 2
JP2002280253A – fig. 1 JP06163305A – fig. 2
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848