DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1, line 8, recites: “the first portion” which lacks an antecedent basis. For examination purposes, “the first portion” is interpreted to be “a first portion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0381653 A1 (the ‘653 reference, of record and cited in the European PCT Search Report dated 24/10/2025).
The reference discloses in Fig. 5 and related text a display device as claimed.
Referring to claim 11, the ‘653 reference discloses a display device, comprising:
a substrate (100);
a light emitting layer (320, para [131] (paragraph(s) [0131])), disposed on the substrate (100);
a metal layer (power supply line 10, para [74], and note that power supply lines are notoriously made of metal), disposed on the substrate (100);
a protective layer (109, para [125]), disposed on the substrate (100), wherein the metal layer (10) is located between the light emitting layer (320) and the protective layer (109); and
a first encapsulation layer (410, para [150]), covering the light emitting layer (320) and a first portion of the metal layer (10),
wherein a thickness of the first encapsulation layer (410) on the light emitting layer (320) is substantially equal to a thickness of the first encapsulation layer (410) on the first portion of the metal layer (10) (as clearly depicted in Fig. 5).
Referring to claim 14, the reference further discloses that the first encapsulation layer (410) comprises a (inherently) relatively rough surface, (a portion of) which is located between a first sidewall and a second sidewall of the metal layer (10).
4. Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0408482 A1 (the ‘482 reference).
The reference discloses in Fig. 7 and related text a display device as claimed.
Referring to claim 11, the ‘482 reference discloses a display device, comprising:
a substrate (601);
a light emitting layer (1022, para [131] (paragraph(s) [0131])), disposed on the substrate (601);
a metal layer (6032, para [131]), disposed on the substrate (601);
a protective layer (6031, para [131]), disposed on the substrate (601), wherein the metal layer (6032) is located between the light emitting layer (1022) and the protective layer (6031); and
a first encapsulation layer (1031, para [109]), covering the light emitting layer (1022) and a first portion of the metal layer (6032),
wherein a thickness of the first encapsulation layer (1031) on the light emitting layer (1022) is substantially equal to a thickness of the first encapsulation layer (1031) on the first portion of the metal layer (6032) (as clearly depicted in Fig. 7).
Referring to claim 14, the reference further discloses that the first encapsulation layer (1031) comprises a (inherently) relatively rough surface, (a portion of) which is located between a first sidewall and a second sidewall of the metal layer (6032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0381653 A1 (the ‘653 reference, of record and cited in the European PCT Search Report dated 24/10/2025).
Referring to claims 12-13, the reference discloses a display device as detailed above for claim 11, and further discloses:
an electrode (20, para [74]), disposed on the substrate (100); and
a second encapsulation layer (430, para [155]), covering the substrate (100) and close to the electrode (20).
Although the reference does not specifically disclose relative dimensions as claimed, the claimed relative dimensions (claim 12: wherein a difference between a thickness of the second encapsulation layer next to the electrode and a thickness of the first encapsulation layer on the light emitting layer is less than 10%; claim 13: wherein the thickness of the second encapsulation layer next to the electrode is substantially equal to the thickness of the first encapsulation layer on the light emitting layer) will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art (the reference discloses that both the second encapsulation layer 430 and the first encapsulation layer 410 are formed of inorganic thin films such as SiNx, para [150, 155]) unless there is evidence indicating such dimensions are critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation"; MPEP 2144.05.
6. Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0408482 A1 (the ‘482 reference).
Referring to claims 12-13, the reference discloses a display device as detailed above for claim 11, and further discloses:
an electrode (another metal layer 6032), disposed on the substrate (601); and
a second encapsulation layer (1032, para [109]), covering the substrate (601) and close to the electrode (6032).
Although the reference does not specifically disclose relative dimensions as claimed, the claimed relative dimensions (claim 12: wherein a difference between a thickness of the second encapsulation layer next to the electrode and a thickness of the first encapsulation layer on the light emitting layer is less than 10%; claim 13: wherein the thickness of the second encapsulation layer next to the electrode is substantially equal to the thickness of the first encapsulation layer on the light emitting layer) will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art (the reference discloses that both the second encapsulation layer 1032 and the first encapsulation layer 1031 are formed of inorganic thin films such as silicon nitride, aluminum oxide, or silicon oxide, para [109, 46-49]) unless there is evidence indicating such dimensions are critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation"; MPEP 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 1-10, insofar as in compliance with the claim objections detailed above, are allowable over the prior art of record.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to teach or render obvious a method for manufacturing a display device with all exclusive limitations as recited in claim 1, which may be characterized in removing a first portion of the release layer to expose the light emitting layer and the first portion of the first metal layer, and in forming a first encapsulation layer, which covers the light emitting layer, the first portion of the first metal layer, and a second portion of the release layer.
Conclusion
07-17-2026
/TU-TU V HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818